217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Knights Key RV Resort and Marina was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (305) 743-4343
CGID730

Knights Key RV Resort and Marina

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$54



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   7   7   7   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$54
I hesitate to rate this park for fear it will be so full we cannot get a reservation. We've been coming here since 2000, every year but one. This is a laid back, friendly park that is located in a pretty part of this world. They have many activities planned, but the beautiful part is the scenery. Nearby is a great restaurant called the Sunset Grille and Raw Bar, which we have frequented quite a few times. The 7 mile bridge is right here and a great place to walk or ride a bike. It's just like another home to us!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$70
Where to start, First off I paid for an ocean view, premium site and I would of had to get on the roof of the camper to see the water instead we stared at a wall of mangrove trees out of the back and a bunch of stored campers in front, of course they were full and we could not move. Don't get me wrong, they do have some out of this world views in many spots and they paid the same price I did. There is no sewer in the park and the people who left from our spot before we arrived felt compelled to dump gray water before they left and since the sites are all grass it made somewhat of a mess. They do have a honey wagon that drives around pumping poo all day for $10 a pump. Lots of very old trailers and motor homes but lots of high end stuff as well. Site was not level, blocks are a must, levelers will just sink in the ground. Had low voltage on 1 leg of the 50 amp, leg 1 was 124 volts, leg 2 was 106. Told the ladies at the office and they said they would look at it, didn't happen so we left 4 days early with no refund. Not going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$68
We frequent this RV park on an average of 6 times a year. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. A previous review complained of a sewer smell, couldn't be further from the truth. They must have the wrong park. I do wish they had a pool, but you can use the pool at the sunset grill next to the campground.....we have a boat so enjoy staying on the harbor sites with the boat right behind the RV, just hop in and head out for a day of fun on the water in the Florida Keys. Enjoy our morning coffee on the water at sunrise and a glass of wine at sunset, doesn't get better than that. Just a hop skip and a jump to Key West. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
We typically visit this campground around Easter time. It has an Inn that supplies campers with very old pool tables and ping pong tables. They serve breakfast and lunch also. The Inn does close after Easter but is great place to keep the kids busy. The beach is nice (rocky because after all, it is the Keys) and a floating dock (we call it the bird poo dock) is great for tanning or diving. There are not a lot of shade trees although you may find some near site 19. Great place for families. Just before the 7 mile bridge, and gorgeous views of the sunset. Bathrooms are clean most of the time but very old. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$70
Very friendly staff, sites were level, grass, pad for picnic table. Restrooms and showers need upgrade. Can't say they were dirty, just need attention. Location was great. Tiki bar was good and prices were reasonable. Great place if you are fishing. Now the bad news. Offensive odor most of the time, lots of road noise, no TV reception, no pool. I thought the $70/night was a bit high for what they offer. I would stay here again but think there are other places nicer for same or less money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$70
Practically all sites are on grassy surfaces, although there are some near the marina area that were gravel. We had an "ocean" site, but had hammock trees behind us so we really couldn't see the water. The restroom/showers were very nice and cleaned regularly. The WiFi signal was the strongest we found on any of the 9 parks we stayed at on this trip. Their Tiki bar was quite active and we attended one of their sunset cookouts. The other guests we met were very friendly and found that many of them have been coming to this park for years. While we aren't into fishing several of the other guests are and told us the fishing was great. We are daily walkers and found the Old 7 Mile Bridge, which is very close to the park, a great place to walk. Even though this place is right along US-1 you can utilize the Old 7 Mile Bridge and sidewalk into Marathon for biking. There are no sewer hookups, but they provide a pumpout service practically any time you need it. They could use some road improvements within the park as it rained one evening and there was standing water, especially around the Tiki bar area. The location of this park is great for exploring the rest of the Keys and it's less than an hour to Key West. We would definitely stay here in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$79
Pretty waterfront setting with water views from many areas. There's marina sites if you have a boat. There's also a club room a and tiki bar. The park is pleasant with some trees and grass. Sites are widely different, so be sure to get one that works for your rig. The park was very quiet. Wifi was very good - no cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$55
I love this place. It is funky, fun, friendly, and has beautiful scenery. The weather was warm and in fact it got too hot a few days. They have lots of nice activities on a regular basis and the staff and campers are so friendly. The rate is based on a month long stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$57
Location great for access to water and Marathon. We had oceanfront site that we pulled into so we had clear view of ocean from our front window. Open oceanfront area at tiki hut for great sunsets. It was awesome. Bathroom/showers small but clean and adequate. Staff very friendly and helpful. Site is dirt but had no problem leveling the RV. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$76
What a pleasurably surprise. Nice folks, great sunsets, perfect location. Even had food and entertainment at very reasonable prices. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$71
The staff is friendly. The sites are grass and sand with paved roads. The showers were clean with good hot water. The Tiki bar and sunsets were fantastic. We had some power problems when the weather got hot, low voltage. Our rate reflects a stay of a week and the discount. They have several different types of sites depending on the location. Check their rates. They only had 3 of the 4 washers working; they need more, and there always seemed to be a line there. Quiet location. They have pretty good Wi-Fi but the only cable is available in the club house and Tiki bar. No cable hook ups at the site. Verizon MiFi worked great. No sewer but for $10 they'll come around and suck you out or you can go to the dump station. Nice park, nice staff, good location in the central Keys for access to points of interest; reasonable rates for the Keys. Best bet if you can't get into the state parks. I'd be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$79
Rating is for the quality of the campground, not the value. Great location, clean & convenient, plus it is actually a campground rather than the more common Keys mobile home park with RVs packed in. Pros: friendly and helpful staff, shaded sites available at extra cost, some sites are relatively far back from US1 so reasonably quiet. Cons: Expensive, no sewer hookups, dump station is challenging to access, honey wagon available at extra cost, very pricey for what you get, so a poor value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$69
Very nice family park. Everyone has been very friendly to say the least. Beautiful marina sites that you can have your boat at your campsite. A great little Tiki Bar right on the water where you can watch the "green flash" as the sun sets over the 7 mile bridge. The Kyle Inn has good, inexpensive food and great little breakfasts. There are resident hermit crabs and iguanas that we were lucky enough to see. The ferry for Pigeon Key leaves right from the marina, so that is a GREAT day trip. The only down side (if you can call it that) is there are no sewer hook ups, but they will bring a tank to your RV and pump your tanks for a small fee, or you can bring your rig to the dump station for free. It is a nice touch that you can store your RV there and call them and they will bring it to a spot for you and set it up so all you have to do is pull in! I will definitely return to this park, it is definitely a hidden gem! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$68
We stay here every winter. The quoted rate is for an ocean site with 28% discount for a three month stay. There are no sewer hook ups but they do have a honey wagon for $10, free once a week for long term. The dump station is difficult, but with care you can do it. Cable TV is only available at certain sites through Comcast, not the park. No TV stations within range of your antenna so satellite is a must. Wi-Fi was upgraded with new APs. Deep water boat ramp, take care it is short and fish cleaning station. The Kyle Inn has inexpensive but good breakfast and good dinners Tuesday to Saturday. Tiki bar on the beach is open nightly. There is scheduled entertainment and bingo. The beach has very limited shallow water and drops off sharply and deep. Some of the ocean sites do have access to shallow sandy water but it can be mucky. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They treat us like family. They are working very hard to improve this CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$10
Wonderful camping experience I will always go back. The people were so friendly it was like one great big family. I was sad to leave. I have camped a lot of places but Knights Key tops my list. Easy access in and out of harbor with any size boat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
Park has nice level sites, water and electric but no sewer. The dump station was one of the worst designs possible: sharp curve, on a rise, low brick wall on driver's side which can't be seen from the drivers seat. On the passenger side, there is a significant drop (large enough to possibly roll the coach), and to top it off, the dump is raised. Suggestion: widen the road and rip out that brick wall. Good location for exploring the Keys, but don't miss the turn to the left just before 7 mile bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$52
This location could not be beat: we were right at the end of Seven Mile Bridge on Marathon and could go north or south along the Keys to different attractions. The rate was good at $52 a night for the area, but was only that low because of the show special at the Hershey RV show. When you look at the site map and look at sites that appear to be next to the water, look again and make sure there are not trees to the rear of the site. We didn't do that and found that the "trees" to the rear of the site were Mangrove trees completely blocking the view of the bay. So yes we were backed up right up to the water / trees. No we couldn't see anything but the trees. Overall though, in spite of the wind and the cold, (The worst winter in memory we were told over and over), it was a good trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$47
We arrived here in the heat of the day, and asked the lady which ones were available and what the price range was. We had a long, hot setup time, so we picked the place we thought was the best and started setting up. As you may know, setting up a popup trailer is a pretty detailed venture and about halfway through the setup, sweating like hogs, a lady drove up on a golf cart and told us that this site was $70 per night. I was quite irritated, as she had highlighted all the available spots with a range of prices between $45 and $56, and this spot was one of them. Well, I told her that it was not our fault and she said she could not give it to us for $56, because all the rest of the campers couldn't get it for that price (one big rig). I told her we would stay and my husband and I decided that was way too much money, to not even have a view of the ocean! We packed it all back up and moved to another spot. While we were setting up, the fire ants attacked my husband, and I mean, with a vengeance! There were fist sized holes in the ground where these humongous side crawling crabs came out. The smell of the seaweed was revolting! It smelled like a sewer, ALL THE TIME! The little bar (Kyle's) was closed and the internet only worked when you were right in front of it. The white sandy beach, is some pretty white sand spread out over a concrete block, with a ladder to go down into the water where all the smelly seaweed is and not able to see the bottom. We were so disappointed! Won't ever stay there again, much less on the ocean side of the keys. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
There is a lingering odor near the park. It always smelled like sewage, especially if the wind was blowing in your direction. No sewers in the park. Not the best park we have ever visited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$60
We stayed here for one week, so pricing reflects the weekly rate. Park was clean and well-maintained and staff friendly. WiFi available from a private vendor on-site, but only on a seasonal basis. A bit pricey at $25 per week and coverage was somewhat limited based on his single antenna. A big plus for this park was proximity to the services of Marathon and the fact that it costs quite a bit less than those in Key West. The three negatives were that there was a huge amount of dogs, hence a lot of barking, an occasional smell of raw sewage (whether this sewage smell was from a stagnant pond nearby or human waste, I couldn't say. We did notice a similar smell while passing several other RV parks in the Keys), and that fact that there were no sewer hookups, necessitating a $9 per dump charge (unless you want to unhook everything and drive to the on site dump). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$45
We stayed oceanside 2001 and 2002, opted to not make reservations and took chance they would have a site in January for us. We had the infield site in 2003, less expensive, easier to set up with less rock. The campground is fabulous! Sites are roomy, seasonals and transients all seem to be happy and enjoy chatting with everyone. The Tiki Bar on their little Sunset Beach is a fun gathering place to watch the awesome sunsets. The staff is really nice and although there are no sewer connections, for $8 or $9 the mobile tank will come and pump you out whenever you need to. It is a laid back campground, catering to boaters with a marina, fishing, sightseeing, etc. The 7 Mile Bridge is very nearby for biking or walking to little Pigeon Key Museum. The place is great and more wide open then the KOA up the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$45
This is an awesome CG with camping friends that have been returning for about 25+ years. It is not cheap, but because of the location at mile marker 47 on US Rte. 1, it demands it. Here for a month, set up a satellite dish and relaxed in the sun. Marathon is one of the best locations for good restaurants, shopping and things to do. The rates are reasonable if you pay up front for 3 months and that will get you a waterfront site too. Pay $9/week to get pumped out. It is a deal. It is a vacation spot I will never, ever forget. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com