214768 User submitted reviews online!!
Glen Maury Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (540) 261-7321
CGID7304

Glen Maury Park

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   8   7   4   3   2   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
We stayed in the lower campground only which are large fields with random water/electric hookups. Water was good but a fellow camper said the polarity was reversed on the electric posts. We have a surge guard/RV power protector that solved the problem for us, but you may want to watch this issue. Lower sites have no sewer but a dump station is available. Restrooms were clean to start the day, but after a local sporting event at the field, they were very messy. The campground was pretty quiet & we liked that. We appreciated the Passport America rate & used the campground as a home base for local explorations. We would stay again for that rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
Campground will accept Passport America, but they gave me the group rate for a Bluegrass Concert package. There are several campgrounds here and we were in the lowest one, next to the river. There was a concert scheduled for the weekend which we were not staying for, but we got the rate anyway. Campground is on grass with utilities set at the back end of sites, near the perimeter road. There are plenty of electric outlets, but only one water outlet for every 2-4 sites, so you need a splitter to get city water. Sites were uneven on grass and in a wet season, could be an issue. There is NO cable or Wi-Fi, so that was a negative. I also did not even look at the bathhouse at the lower level. In talking with one gentleman who had been with the campground a while, he said the town just did not have the money to put into the campground. He also mentioned that last year there had been problems with locals taking things that were left out. However, it is an excellent spot to stay if you want to explore Lexington, VA and the historical sites all around. We'll probably stop again and spend a couple of days looking at VMI, Jackson/Lee historical interests, and some of the local wineries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
This park was absolutely beautiful! There were acres and acres of lush green grass, a few trees, and a flowing river. I am talking about the lower park, which, alas, has a dump station, but no sewer hook ups. We had a very large back in site, with a close up river view out our back window. One night, we were the only campers there, and the silence was wonderful. Our dog never wanted to leave. We would have stayed a month, since the monthly rates were less than $300, but for the lack of sewer. The upper sites were just to difficult to access with a bigger rig. These sites were wooded secluded, and did have full hook ups. We did see 3 or 4 bigger fifth wheels and trailers up there, but we decided not to risk it Just a quick warning, when you get to Buena Vista on the 60, be sure to turn south on the 501, by the Hardees restaurant. We continued out of town on the 60, still looking for the park, and immediately got stuck on a windy 8 percent climb up to the Blue Ridge Parkway before we could turn around! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
We have stayed her on numerous occasions. The only drawback is that there are no sewer, but with a "blue boy" that is not a problem. It is quiet and convenient to Lexington, VA. I would recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
We stayed here for three days visiting friends. The park was very crowded for a beach music festival, but we got a nice site on the river. The sites on the lower level have no sewer and only 30 amp and the upper level sites are too small for our 40 foot motorhome. Our little dog loved the wide open grass area where she could run around. It is a very nice park for the Passport America rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Grass sites in open field, with water and electric only. There are 2 campgrounds up the hill, but the roads are atrocious and the sites small and tight. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
We camped during the Bluegrass festival, Father's Day weekend . The campground's sites were nice, but not only did no one inform us that the water to the bathrooms and quite a few sites were not working, there were no apologies or discounts offered. We don't mind rough camping, but when we weren't prepared to do so, it posed some difficulties. We have camped here several times in the past, and I had bragged to other campers how well the campsites and restrooms were maintained. We were very disappointed with the lack of maintenance this year and will reconsider going back. Sorry Glen Maury Campground, but this trip only deserves a D+. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
The signage for this park is really, really bad. We wanted only to stay one evening and the attendant sent us up the hill to the upper campsites, when one by the river was perfectly fine as all of these were open. We really needed to dump our tanks and the attendant said the dump station was at the top. When we left later we saw there was another about 300 feet away from the office. It was hidden by some parked cars. After looking at the map given to us we wound up headed down into the day only area. With some difficulty we managed to turn around, and get into the campgrounds. We were led to believe that there were a lot of open sites. NOPE. We finally got into a "pull through" that required 6 inches of blocking to level. When we left we had to back out because the exit area was washed out, and would have cause damage to the area under our pin. If we would have been directed to the sites on the river( they are not shown on the map) the score would have a 6 or 7. On the plus side it is a nice drive, especially down the River Road towards the Natural Bridge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Full-hook ups are way up on a hill with very tight roads in RV area. "Pull-Thru" were not really that. Sights very unlevel. TV antenna excellent. Great view from top of mountain! Deer seen nightly. Staff seemed disorganized. Most of 22 full-hook-ups had permanent weekenders in them. No laundry facilities. Rally area at bottom had no sewer hook-ups, no trees, no designated site. Golf course right next door. Trails available. Nice location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This was the first time we had camped here and everything was great. We camped in the field, or rally area, and it was perfect for the kids to run and play. The pool was also large and had diving boards for the kids. Easy access to the river. Plenty going on and to do on the weekend. It was probably near capacity, but we didn't feel crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
The best part of this campground is the ease in locating it off I-81. The sites, while large, are not very level. Some of the water pipes are broke, as are some of the electric hookups. A little maintenance would really make this a great spot. Being a County facility, I'm not sure the level of funding it receives. It was quiet until one of several trains motored thru! That's annoying, but acceptable. Looked like there were a fair number of seasonals, but no rundown units. Good place for a stop over enroute to someplace else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
There three sections for camping. Full hookups are available at the top on sites 1-24 with the remainder W&E. Lower sites are along the river. Very scenic. Garbage pick-up each morning. Pool is extra charge. They do not take reservations and are first come basis only. We had no problem getting a full hookup site in mid July. Bath houses are older but clean. You are only 5 miles from Lexington with Washington & Lee and VMI universities. Very scenic and historical towns. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com