214879 User submitted reviews online!!
Crow Butte Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (509) 875-2644
CGID7314

Crow Butte Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   10   9   8   5   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
An island in the sun! Surrounded by the magnificent Columbia River, the grounds are manicured and enjoy a variety of mature trees. Concrete pads and stellar maintenance - kudos to Benton County! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
A very nice park with nice grounds and nice camp sites. There's also a day use area and boat ramp. The only down side is there's a lot of nearby train traffic both day and night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This is a nice campground right on the Columbia River. RV sites are large and many have full hook ups. There are mature trees throughout and plenty of well manicured lawn. There's a large grassy day use area, a boat launch and a hiking trail. This is a great place to stay if you like to tour wineries or enjoy boating/swimming activities. We were in site 18 facing the river. At the back of site 20 there is a trail to the water, but most people were using our site, to the extent of walking through the middle, stepping over our dogs, etc. We ended up leaving early because of it. On the way to another campground, I emailed the park and in less than an hour had a very nice reply. I would recommend this park, but expect heavy foot traffic if you are in sites 20 or 18 and lighter foot traffic in sites 22 and 16. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This is our second time coming to Crow Butte and we will be back. One of the questions above is "Big Rig (40 foot length) access and the default is Yes. I walked around the park and there are some spaces that will accommodate a 40' but they are mostly back-in sites. I didn't see many that would fit a 40' that had a tow also. The park is way out, away from any other park so before you come you may want to call first and ask. The caretaker is very helpful and friendly. Also call for reservations in summer. We were here in mid-September weekend, it was rainy and the place was full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$11
We live in a 5th wheel, however, own a boat and like to tent camp on weekends and go fishing. We stayed here and had a great time. Our site was right on the water, easy access to the river, good fishing and the staff was very nice. The restrooms were clean and the grounds were beautiful. The sites were large and plenty of room for RV's, tents and vehicles. We will be visiting again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
I wrote a somewhat critical review in July. I also complained to the Port of Benton, who is presently managing the park. I received a 2 night complimentary visit, which I used in October. I am very pleased to report that the grounds were impeccable. The park was patrolled on a regular basis by management, and we were greeted by the caretaker. A wonderful improvement, and I am happy to see such a gorgeous park being restored. Great job Port of Benton. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Have been visiting Crow Butte for many more years than I care to remember and have always enjoyed our stays. Great hiking trails to Crow Butte and Sand Beach which afford awesome views over the Columbia River. Also as two boat launches for easy river access for skiing and fishing (bass fishing was great while we were there). Pads are exceptionally level and sites are very spacious. Keeping this from a 10 are two factors: 1. The restrooms while clean are unchanged from 30 years ago -- getting a bit dilapidated and, 2. The electric system is also the same as 30 years ago resulting, at times, in marginal voltage. The above issues should be resolved this winter as the plan is to update both the restrooms and the electric facilities (will put in 50 amps service). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is a lovely park with some management problems. Management has shifted from the state to a private group, and the park is now handled by the Port of Benton, who appear to be doing their best to get things right. We noted that a caretaker, camp host, etc., appeared to be non-existent. There was no one to check us in, no one to make sure that our spot was vacated by check-out time, no one to deal with a dog that barked all night etc. But despite all that, this is a lovely park. I've lived within 50 miles of it for 20 years and never visited. Now that I know that the Port of Benton has taken over and plans to make positive changes, I will plan to visit more often. There are beautiful sites right on the water (32-30-28-26). Also interesting groups of three sites together, but you'd only want to be in one of those if you were camping in a group--I would hate to be in one of those next to a stranger. Also, no grocery stores, gas stations, etc. nearby. There is Columbia Crest Winery about 15 miles away, and they do sell snacks but mostly wine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We stayed at this campground on the recommendation of the previous review. It is a real find. Although it is almost desert-like all around, there are plenty of trees and shade here. It is rather windy directly on the water. With the breeze and shade, it was a full 10 degrees cooler than the mainland. The restrooms and showers looked OK, but we didn't use them. The garbage bins were overflowing on a Monday after a busy weekend; the pickup isn't until Tuesday apparently. I spoke to the maintenance man - there is no host - and he said it was full on the weekend with some partiers. We stayed for one night on a Monday. There is a self registration process and apparently there is no way to make advance reservations. For RVs, the cost is $25, for tents it's $15. Would definitely stay here again, and for more than one night, but I would avoid weekends. The most desirable and level sites are right on the water. The way they group sites together is to have two or three adjacent parking places for two units to camp next to each other like a mini parking lot. I wouldn't like this if one of these sites were the last available. All sites are full hookup, amazingly. As remote as it is, there is cell service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
To start with, this is a campground and not an RV park. This used to be a Washington State Park, but was given back to the Feds... It is now run by the Crow Butte Park Association. This is an oasis in the middle of a sage brush desert. The park is actually located on an island in the Columbia River, with access only from the Washington side, west of Paterson. The lawns are nicely kept and are green. Sites are paved. There are multiple group sites which allow 2-3 families to camp together in one site with their rigs. Sites are well separated with decent privacy. Some sites have privacy fences separating them from neighboring sites. If you are into water sports, or fishing, this is a decent place to come to. Watch out for rattlesnakes. Management says that they are plentiful. We have not seen anything while here. The only reason this got a 9 and not a 10 is that it is remote, and you should bring gas and groceries with you as they are not close by. Hot weather, water sports, nice green lawns, water front access. What could be better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com