206928 User submitted reviews online!!
Meadowbrook Camping Area was rated 5 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (207) 443-4967
CGID7318

Meadowbrook Camping Area

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   2   2   7   1   1   5   1   1   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
We stayed here after viewing website and were a bit let down when we pulled in. It was a hot day the dingy office was not air conditioned and a bit dusty, the employees were nice but it just looked a bit run down for the price they charged. The roads were all dirt with loose rock pot holes and that's just the maybe 100 yards into the park I did not have to go past that to my site. I could not get level no matter how hard I tried.But as I looked around I was not the only unlevel camper. At 50 plus a nite just to park for the nite I was a bit annoyed. The bathroom we always check to see how they are. We both said rv showers tonight.The pool was ok, patched here and there but clean. At 830 am I was waken by chain saw by workmen getting fire wood, I thought your kidding me and he went at it for some time. Not many choices in this area to camp. Just feel its fair to ok at best. If I had to shower or use their bathrooms I may feel is less then fair but I did not use them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Tough to rate. One workcamper and the owner were extremely rude. Several other RV'ers claimed similar experiences. Other workcampers were friendly. The lobster dinner was great. Interior roads are very rough. Lots of dirt & dust all the time. We would not stay here again, but may come by for the lobster. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
The park was OK, but the staff was not. They had problems finding our reservations and then were extremely rude both when we arrived and again when we were leaving. We had issues with the electricity and they tried to blame it on our unit. They had to change their attitude when they discovered it was indeed their equipment! We had 2 sites and none of us will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$46
We camp with a 33 foot rig at full-hookup sites with electric, water and sewer. Spent a long weekend in mid-September here as a stopping point on our way to Acadia National Park. Large campsites, but not level. Campsites are available in full sun or shade. Kayaks and canoes can be rented for Beaver Pond on the grounds. By September, much of the pond was overgrown with vegetation, but still, kayaking on it was enjoyable. The campground had a lot of tent camping which provided a lot of woodsy trails to walk the dog. They have an onsite restaurant with two delightful owners. We bought homemade breads and purchased fresh vegetables and herbs there. What an unexpected bonus! The pool was still open in late September. It looked nice, but we didn’t test the waters. We usually follow driving directions from campground web sites for the last few miles. These took us right through the center of Bath ME and the last few miles of road were bad; follow your GPS or Google directions instead. Explore Popham State park at the edge of the peninsula along the ocean if you are here for a few days. The beach near the fort allows dogs. There is also a separate beach for swimming. We weren’t in love with this campground, but it’s well-kept and is a decent place to stay for a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$41
This is the worst Campground I have ever been to. After making reservations for two nights and looking at the site I was given I asked for a refund. They stated no refunds were given. The site was very un-level and rocky. Campground was in ruff condition. We were not told of refund policy when reservations were made or when checking in. We stayed about 20 minutes trying to fit our motorhome on the site and then checked out. the staff was rude and charged me for the two nights that I didn't stay. As far as I am concerned they stole my money. I would not recommend this campground to anyone! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Park needs to be updated and cleaned up. Buildings are rundown, roads are rutted and rocky, sites are on a hill, the seasonals at the front of the park are trashy. Speaking of trash, the dumpster was overflowing our entire visit and there was only one available, that we were aware of. We were required to pay extra for sewer although we didn't need or want it. Wi-Fi was extra. Its far off the main road and not a good road, either. My biggest complaint was their premium price for a run down facility. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
Rate quoted is P/A rate for 3 services. Out of the way, but that makes it quiet. Roads are gravel and very rough you will have no problem abiding by the speed limit. Water and sewer connections are at the back of the rig so make sure you have extensions. WiFi is $2.99 a day and is OK but not great by any means. As others have stated they have live or cooked lobster available. The place is not a resort but suits our needs quite well. I would stay here again as long as it was the P/A rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
After having traveled for 2 months this summer, this is by far the worst campground we have stayed in. The access roads are all dirt and rocky. The sites are rocky and unlevel. The ownership has put almost nothing into this place to maintain it or improve it. Can't imagine what this place would be like if it rained. This place is definitely not big rig friendly. The best thing to do if you are thinking of staying here is to find some other place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
I don't think I can say how bad this place was. The drive there was very long from the main road. Made you wonder if you were on the correct road. They charge your credit card as soon as you call to book, which was a week ahead for us and we had planned to pay cash upon arrival. There are no refunds no matter what. Our site was on a steep hill which we were supposed to back up in to, which we were unable to do as the trailer became stuck into the hill. We did damage to our trailer while trying. Thankfully our nearest camper neighbor showed us another route. The owners do not show you to your site nor offer any help. Big rigs have a really bad time as they try to get parallel parked beside the entrance. The entrance and exit are bad as they have big dips in them as they meet the road. For atmosphere, we got to see and hear a bunch of resident campers there, drinking and swearing. The more they drank, the louder they got. Their trailer had a large wooden structure (unpainted) attached to it along with an assortment of trucks and boats out behind it. Imagine the movie deliverance and you are pretty close. I told our next door neighbor as we were pulling out that I felt sorry for him because now he was in full view and ear shot of them. He said that although he was sitting on the wrong side of his motorhome father away yet, he could still here them cursing and swearing. It was no treat staying at this place and we will not stay there again. We were also in full sun with no shade. And we have repairs to do to our trailer including repairing the steps which got caught up in the hill and forced open which bent them so that they would not close unless you pushed them sideways with your feet. Needless to say, we have been fuming ever since staying there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Not as crowded as many commercial campgrounds and had some really cool things like freshly steamed lobster, ready to cook dutch oven meals, etc. Campground was quiet and had a nice feel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
This is a nice, rustic campground, with a mix of sites for tenters, pop-ups, trailers and motorhomes. There are only a couple of 50 amp sites. Our site 56A was wooded and perfectly level, although it would be small for anything larger than our Roadtrek. As a result, the firepit was a bit close to the van. There is a nature trail that winds through the woods to a lovely beaver pond, where you can rent a canoe or kayak for only $5 for two hours to view the wildlife. The staff was friendly and accommodating. There is a restaurant on-site that offers lobster dinners, including corn, steamers, a potato and a 2+ lb lobster for only $20. Many of the tent sites are very private and situated in beautiful terrain. Two tent sites had wooden platforms, and one site, appropriately named the "Cliff" is actually at the edge of a stone cliff with beautiful views. The store has limited supplies, mostly the basics, and great local ice cream. The bathrooms and showers are old but clean. One of the nicest things about this campground was how dark and quiet it is at night. Other campers seemed to be friendly and respectful of ensuring they didn't intrude on anyone else's camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
We enjoyed this campground very much. There were 2 points that put this campground above others. First, they have a lobster pound right in the campground. They can cook you a lobster dinner that includes clams, corn, and potatoes. Second, there were only limited restrictions on the Passport America rate of $17.00 per night. Other campgrounds in the area would only offer the PA rate for 1 or 2 nights, or not on weekends. They also had a nice trail in the back woods that leads to a beaver pond. Because we made reservations late, the only site available for us was the overflow site. This site included water, sewer, and 30 amp electric. The only negative was this site was somewhat unlevel, although it was acceptable. If not for this, we would have given the campground a 10. And remember, this was the overflow site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We had site 16D, which was very level. There are some full hookups for 30 amp, but we could only see two full hookups for 50 amp. They have a very nice cafe right on site. Very good campground for the Bath area. We would definitely stay here again. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$21
Over all a nice place to camp - no matter what you camping style this campground has a site for you. Pull through for the largest of rigs to small tent camping in the heavy woods. Ours was a full hookup in the open with a view of the sky for the satellite. In most cases the sites are not improved - graded but basically follow the terrain contour. The daily complete lobster dinners for about $15 was a real draw for us. Our rate ($21) reflects the Passport/America discount. The bath house is in poor condition and would not handle the needs of a full campground with lots of tenter's. Staff is very helpful and the location is good for sightseeing. It is located about 7 miles south of Bath. 43.84176N 69.83645W We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
My family's fourth year at Meadowbrook didn't reveal any surprises regarding the campground. We reserved our preferred site early and the site was open when we got there. The roads were rough as they have been and some of the surrounding sites to us were tight and unlevel, but ours was nearly perfect. The most notable issue I would comment on was something I have been aware of for a long time, but never noticed until this year. That would be how absolutely quiet it is at Meadowbrook. We were there during the fourth of July weekend,the place was packed, and by 10 O'Clock, (even the night of the fourth) there wasn't a sound coming from any place on the grounds. No loud music, yelling, fireworks...nothing. Just quiet. You can sleep with windows open, and all you can hear are the crickets. I find that to be a wonderful addition for no extra cost! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
The spots are very unlevel, bring a lot of leveling blocks, the staff is great, too bad the owner does not do just a small amount of work on the sites !!! IF you use "STREET and TRIPS" it will take you to the wrong campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
We enjoyed our stay at this campground. Yes, the road in the park is rough. We were told that it had been fixed in the spring but a torrential rain washed it out. We were in space #1 which washn't exactly level but workable. We enjoyed having a free daily newspaper, being able to order a lobster dinner daily if we wanted, being able to hike in the woods and being close to Bath ME. Staff was friendly and willing to find out information they didn't know. We stayed two extra days because we enjoyed area so much. An added benefit was all the free apples! This campground had been a orchard at one time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Our 3rd summer visiting Meadowbrook,and overall we have been very pleased with our experiences. There is no doubt it is an old facility, and much of the park shows some sign of many harsh New England winters. The roads around the grounds are almost dangerous, wether you are walking, biking or driving. The wooded sites offer the most pleasant surroundings, but are few in number to campers much larger then 25'. The pool and rec. hall seem to keep the kid's content and the snack bar and camp store have the usual fare. The single greatest thing about Meadowbrook is the daily lobster cook-outs. Made to your personal order, the staff offers up as good a lobster dinner as any local restaurant without the wait or inconvenience of going out. Meadowbrook is located in a prime tourist region to many of Maine's most popular attractions. Nearby towns of Bath and Brunswick offer the convenience of small cities and you are only 3/4 hour to Freeport and L.L. Bean. Our family's favorite place to visit is Popham Beach. One of the most beautiful beaches in New England, it is only 25 minutes away. Over all, Meadowbrook Camping Area isn't perfect, but it is a full service facility to stay at while enjoying some of Maine's best attractions and not having to spend your life-savings on lodging. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
What the other reviewers have said about this park regarding the potholes are very true. Yes, there are seasonals as well. The park, however, has other redeeming feature. The owner is a 2nd generation owner and takes pride in providing a family environment. We met a few people who come to this campground every year. In our travels in New England, this campground is very typical for the area and we found the staff helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
Simply awful. Potholes in the roads throughout the campground. Swarming mosquitoes. Junky seasonal rigs -- mostly a seasonal place, we were passing through. Leveling looks to be an issue in most sites -- #52 is level but can accommodate only a short coach. Front desk help was incompetent. On the good side, you can order lobster to be cooked and pick it up on your schedule. Despite its proximity to family, would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com