218135 User submitted reviews online!!
Tionesta Recreation Area Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (814) 755-3512
CGID7327

Tionesta Recreation Area Campground

Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   8   9   8   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
This was our second COE campground & the sites here are gravel/dirt, shorter & much closer than Tioga. Also, the signs for the campground entrance are almost non-existent. We had three full hook-up sites, one with two tents & their 20 amp receptacle was out first night, this was repaired next day. The mens bathroom had no separate changing area & only one toilet stall. I was told the ladies bathroom was one of the worst experienced by the long-time tenters. It appears everything was hosed down with minimal or no cleaning. There appears to be some better sites at the other end away from the playground &/or in the other loop(s). We also had one rude neighbor, arrived & set-up late, then was up very early next morning with a fire going. At least one night, it was a lighter fluid game to see how high the flames could go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
This is another nice COE park. Below the dam in a valley. Lots of trees for shade. The only Corps park I have stayed at that have full hook ups. We had 50 amp, water and sewer for the price shown using the Golden Age pass. There is no antenna TV reception and limited Wi-Fi on our Sprint MiFi card. Verizon phones worked well. Nice showers and restrooms and level gravel sites. I will definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
I call this barking dog campground: bark bark here; bark, bark there; bark bark, everywhere. Also when I was here, there were loud drunks in the loop across from us. No offer was made to quiet them. I wouldn't bring small kids to this park. The pads are level, mostly gravel. There is room for the largest trailer or motorhome. Would I return? Yes: around here it's as good as it gets. Maybe next time I visit, it will have improved with less drunks and quieter dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Beautiful little campground set in a pretty location! The highway getting there is a bit narrow and winding but that's the area. This is right on the edge of the Allegheny National Forest. The campground backs up to a large, fast running river next to a dam. They have a lovely swimming area with grassy slope down to the river but it was closed for the season. We were delighted to find full hookups in this COE park. Our site (#44) was large, private and level and backed up to the river. We stayed two nights and enjoyed biking and hiking the campground and area. There is NO TV reception here. Campers with satellites stay in the far end of the campground where there are fewer trees. This campground closes mid Oct. Our rate was with our senior passport. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Very nicely maintained campground. Most sites are shaded and well spaced, though some could be a bit more level. Bathrooms/showers are old but very clean. Definitely recommend this campground if you are traveling in northwest PA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Very nice COE park, although the week we were here, the electric and water both went out and the water was brown the entire time. The small flies/gnats were everywhere, including your face. Sites needed leveling, some drastically. That said, the folks here were some of the nicest and despite all the problems we would camp here again. Small towns and beautiful scenery on the edge of Allegheny National Forest. Not a tourist trap kind of area. Come for the scenic beauty and hometown flavor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Great place to take a family. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
I had seen some really good comments on this place. We stayed here at the last minute and got site 55 which is surrounded by other camp sites but once you got set up and stuff it wasn't crowded. This place is quiet at night, clean and will stay here again. For the money you get water, electric and sewer! There is a guy from town who drives around at night selling firewood so you don't even have to leave the area! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$13
Rate reflects Golden Age rate. This is a super campground. We planned to stay here for 1 night and ended up staying 5 nights. Hated to move on. There are nice walking trails. Sites are large and level. 2 x 30 amp electricity. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
This is one of the best parks where we have ever stayed - regardless of price. The sites are spacious. There is a ranger that drives through at least once a day. All sites and roadways are paved. Because of the nearby dam we were unable to get satellite reception, but it didn't matter as the setting was so nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
One of several in the area owned by the US Army Corps of Engineers located next to Tionesta Lake. Easy access off Rt-36. Fishing, boating and water skiing on the lake. Interior roads and site pads are paved. Sites are a roomy with a mix of sunny ones and shady ones. Although backing in can be a challenge when narrow interior roads are crowded with vehicles parked close to the edge of sites. Lots of trails to bike and hike in the area. Small swimming beach located near the campground entrance. Nearby town has gas, grocery, post office...etc. Nice, quiet campground in very beautiful surroundings. I would recommend this campground to anyone visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com