206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Navajo Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (505) 632-2278
CGID7337

Navajo Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
244
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   6   7   10   2   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
A beautiful location for a state park. Navajo Dam is frequently used for boaters and anglers and close to the famed San Juan River. The park is relatively clean and the hosts were helpful. The RV sites are not level and are situated on everything from asphalt, dirt, large gravel and golf-ball sizes river rocks. Some sites have shade and others are very exposed. We stayed in a walk-up site that has a great view and electric/water hook ups. The walking "trails" around the park are unmaintained and very rocky. We were disappointed that the sites we not well groomed, yet the price for electric and water is hard to beat. A good place to stop for a short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$14
We were at Cottonwood Campground which is on the San Juan River, not on Navajo Lake. The road was paved, as were all of the camping pads. The sites were well spaced and level. There were beautiful mature trees and nice walking paths to and along the river. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Many scenic sites. None with direct lake access but instead situated on bluff above lake. We camped off season and it was still busy but not too noisy. People are careless with trash especially near marina and boat launch. No receptacles at least while we were there. I would be ashamed to have a state park with that much trash flying around. Of course we picked up what we could. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
What a great view on the lake! but this is a typical old state park with sites that are not level and very difficult to get into with anything over 25'. Because it was the off season we had our choice of sites and were able to get our 40' MH into a site. The turns were very tight and lots of tree branches. I suggested to the park employee that they trim some of the trees on the sharp turns but it went in one ear and out the other. Good Verizon service and large accommodating dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$16
Our site had plenty of room for our 32 ft. trailer and long-bed tow vehicle. Verizon Wireless worked fine for voice calls but there was no 3G data signal. Dish TV worked. Sites and roads in the campground are paved but the road in was two miles of washboard and dirt. There was some kind of construction going on nearby that was very noisy 24 hours a day. That ruined an otherwise nice experience. Threaded water spigots are available throughout the campground. We probably would not stay again because of the access road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
This is a wonderful and beautiful state park. The host was really nice. It is a state park, not a resort; that said it is great for the price. Many of the sites have views of the lake. Lake was accessible from several easy to find trails. The manager of the park was a big help to me, way beyond the call of duty. I enjoyed my stay and can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
Cottonwood campground, on the San Juan river, NOT the main campground at the lake. There was trash and litter scattered all about, grass (weeds) needed trimmed or mowed. 10 pm quiet time was not enforced. Host was not friendly, quite rude during an emergency when power was lost and unable to power breathing machine. I will not return and do not recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
This State park is very popular with residents in the Four Corners area and gets crowded on weekends. It is really geared to boaters and for good reason: the lake is large, beautiful and perfect for watercraft. Folks rave about the fishing too, especially down river from the dam.If one is not a boater or fisher the options for entertainment are limited and the campsites themselves are not really very good. Most are small, unlevel and short and often have awkward access. Little privacy among the sites and dusty. The restrooms/showers were in good shape and maintained satisfactorily. If you like to boat or fish you will love this campground. Otherwise, it is still a good spot to overnight but a bit boring for a longer stay. Remember to make reservations for weekends and busier times and be prepared for a narrow winding and sometimes rough access road from the Pagosa Springs side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
We stayed in the Pines campground of the New Mexico state parks near the Navajo Lake and Dam. As the previous comments mentioned this park is on a hill. The spots are short and narrow. Trees are very close together making parking the rig very difficult. I wouldn't go into this park with any type rig over 28 feet long. The spot was also very hard to find. There are much better parks around the area for the same price with 50 amp and WIFI. We wont go here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$4
We stayed two weeks at the Cottonwood Campground below the dam located on the San Juan River. The east end is very wooded and the west end more open if you need satellite. The camp is designed for fishermen. We were going to stay at the main campground but the road is steep, narrow and long and the camp sites were crowded. Downside: mosquitoes, no Verizon service, the staff was taken by 'surprise' so the park ran out of water on one weekend and had to close one of the comfort stations, 2 miles of very very rough dirt road leads to the park, roads from Aztec leading to the park are heavily traveled by heavy trucks and is in poor shape, quiet time is NOT enforced, no showers. Upside: tons of hummingbirds, plenty of space, beautiful area with close access to the well stocked river, nice winery close by, two comfort stations, small grocery and tackle shop in Navajo Dam, quiet during the week, good place to explore Indian ruins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
This is a lovely family state park campground. We have stayed here at least twice a year for at least 15 years. Be sure to make your reservations early for peak times. The online reservation process is quite simple. There are wonderful views of the lake from many of the sites, and several paths from the campground down to the lake. More primitive camping is located in 3 other loops, which have at least 100 additional sites. These are not suitable for RVs or large trailers. There is no water and electricity on those loops, but you can use the restrooms and showers located in the more developed areas. There is a large marina with a good boat ramp, boat rental, courtesy docks and supplies. There is world class trout fishing below the dam, and you can find more supplies as well as fishing tips and guided fishing if you wish in the town of Navajo Dam. The restrooms were thoroughly cleaned every day. Most of the Pine River campsites are in the pinon/juniper woods surrounding the lake, so there are places to hang a hammock. All campsites have grills and fireplaces. There are a number of coves below the campground suitable for swimming and inflatable boats. Cell phone reception is good at the main campground, at the marina and on the lake, but I could not get television reception. It looks as if some of the sites closer to the lake were getting a television signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com