220649 User submitted reviews online!!
Charlie Brown Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (860) 974-0142
CGID7338

Charlie Brown Campground

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   10   10   10   9   3   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$47
One of the nicest parks we have stayed in. Beautiful, clean, family friendly. The only drawback is that most sites have grey water connections only and do not have sewer connections. They do have multiple dump locations and pump out service is available. The park activities include weekend entertainment and bingo. The owners go out of their way to assist customers. We would consider this as a destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$49
Keep in mind the lack of sewer hook ups here. No hook up at all if you opt for the water front sites on the little creek. The open sites without shade in the middle of the park have grey water dump pits using a water hose (not full sewer hose) to hook up. Not having the hookup at our roomy site on the creek, required me to use their laundry facilities which were expensive at 2.50 a load. I refused to feed the quarter machine in the bath house "pay to shower" facility, so our grey water tank filled up quickly. Dump station was convenient however. The owner is very welcoming and friendly, and we also loved the many hummingbirds in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
Staff is very friendly. Stayed in an open grassy site in a fifth wheel. Shaded sites are available as are some beside the river. Several covered ramadas. The site was compacted, grass, and fairly level. The laundry room was adequate, but at $2.50 each for washer and dryer, cost was high. Bath house was clean, but there is a fee to run the shower. WiFi reception was sporadic and seemed to be a carrier issue and due to severe storms. Nice play fields and a small playground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
Very clean, relaxing, quiet campground. Not a lot of activities, but that is what makes this a relaxing place. The owner is friendly and goes out of his way to help. While we were there he came by to let us know of a threatening thunderstorm that was headed towards the campground. He went to every single campsite to let them know. The bathrooms were spotless every single time I went in them. The showers are pay, but used the shower in my trailer, so I cannot say how they work. Power is reliable, and water has good pressure. The sites share a power pole/water/cable between 2 sites, so if you choose the wrong side, you better have an extension cord and a long water hose (the river sites that are odd numbered would be the correct side for your hookups). I will be going back during foliage season to check out the colors. Great campground to get away from it all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
We come to this campground at least once a year with RVing Women group. We have always been welcomed. The owners are wonderful and very accommodating. The sites are large. Some surround wooden, covered structures so if it is raining you can still have group meals or games etc. It has well manicured grounds. I cannot think of anything to complain about really. We had an emergency with one of our members and the owner was there in minutes. I cannot say enough good things about this campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This campground was recommended to me by my brother last summer and I have been back several times since. We love the family friendly, laid back, quiet atmosphere. The sites are large and grassy, the river is small, but perfect for my 4 and 10 year old to play in and tube down. They also enjoy catching frogs in the pond and river. I did hear about the July 4th incident mentioned here last year. It is because of this, that the owners are now very cautious on holiday weekends. Large bonfires are dangerous and are prohibited, as well as fireworks. Like any other campsite, quiet hours are enforced, but I haven't heard of anyone being reprimanded for late-night fires unless they were unruly and disturbing other campers. This is a family owned campground. The owners are very friendly and accommodating, we have never felt "spied on" here. The owner's son often gives wagon rides for the kids and plays movies in the rec hall. This is by no means a "resort" type campground which makes it even more ideal for relaxing without the headache of crowds. There is only one set of restrooms with 2 showers in each, but I've found most campers have RV's with amenities, so there is never a problem with waiting for a stall or shower. Overall a great campground and definitely our favorite. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Little far off the road, and not really bigrig friendly coming off of I-84, but great access off I-395. Bring supplies, as this park is not close to shopping areas, but blissfully out in the pretty country side. Site 41, of which we loved as it is like a park all by itself is next to the "ribbet pond" and is full of love lorn bullfrogs who like to perform their symphony at night. "River" is really a little babbling brook, which is pretty to look at, but don't expect to use your kayak or canoe. Nice for kids to play in, and a nice back drop to the park, but not a river. Odd placement of our site as to backwards connections on the same side as the "patio" area, but if you have extentions, it will work. Noise from highway 198 was not noticeable at night, though used by various trucks during the day. Laundry room, though a bit expensive at 2.50 a load, had dryer time that allowed you to actually dry your clothes, rather than dryer begging to be fed more quarters while your clothes are still soggy. Bathrooms and showers, though dated, are very clean, though quarter fed showers are something that are more annoying than anything and something I dont' use. Over all, really nice place to stay and not expensive at New England prices. Will be back when return to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
The place is very clean and pretty and has a great view of the river. Our group has been going there for the 4th of July for the last 7 years. The biggest problem is the owners, especially their son. We usually have over a 100 people and tell them up front that we want one fire and some of us don't go to bed. They always say that is fine, take our money, and then give us a hard time if we are up past 11. This past weekend, they accused us of having a too high fire and instead of pouring water on it, the owner came in and threw a chair, said "Fire's out!" and doused the fire, covering 3 of us with the stuff from the extinguisher. This was totally uncalled for and the owner jumped the gun. In 2007, the same thing happened with the owner getting mad and screaming at us for some fireworks and then having to come back and apologize when he realized it wasn't us. Our group camps every Memorial Day, 4th of July, and Labor Day and we have no problem at our other sites. In summary, pretty campsite, be wary of the owners and the son if you are not toeing the line. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
We recently held a rally here, the owners were fantastic, so friendly and accommodating. I chose this campground site unseen based of several recommendations and didn't regret my decision once. The campground was very clean, quiet and the staff was very helpful. I highly recommend this gem of a campground. We'll be going back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Nice campground with a very nice staff and clean facilities. Not a lot of frills but they don't advertise a lot either. The river runs along the campground and is great for a short kayak trip. Enjoyed the campground very much. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
We liked Charlie Brown BECAUSE it was quiet. The kids we saw did just fine with casting a line in the bordering stream and pond and just running around being kids. For those that need a "yogi bear" type experience, this is definitely not the place! Very nicely maintained grounds, we were at the end of the stream-side sites (43?) and somewhat secluded from the rest of the CG. Just wonderful. On the downside, you can hear some noise from a fairly busy road and the showers are pay. Plus I can't help adding a small gripe about the cost: but this is New England where almost every CG is $40 and up. Owners were super helpful and nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
Charlie Brown Campground has built a new pavilion (in 2007) specifically for entertainment and this Labor Day holiday weekend we had plenty to do. We camp with several families with assorted age children and our motorhomes spoked around one of their 3 pavilions, which lend great atmosphere for the gang to potluck. In case of inclement weather, we've got a great place to hang around the fire as well. The staff are extremely accommodating and friendly and they take great care of their guests. On the service side, they will pump out the motorhomes for an extremely reasonable fee. If pool or river swimming is a requirement for you, this isn't the place you want to go. But consider this - how many campground offices have you walked into and had the owner offer you a freshly baked chocolate cookie while you are standing in line? Our group keeps going back year after year and for very good reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
Small Campground. Quiet. Too quiet though. No pool, small river you can walk in but water level is too low to swim. No sewer but dump station on site. Disappointed that for a July weekend there was not one single activity. Clean campground but the lack of ANY entertainment or a pool will keep me away from returning. Perfect park for a retiree or childless. Good size sites. Stay along the river if you stay. Nice view. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Not really a bad place. We were here for a rally and stayed off to the side in a large grass back-in site. It had a grey water only sewer drain. There is not a lot of much in this area of CT, so $35 is high for a place like this. Putnam CC is within an hour and a fairly nice course. Other than that I can't see us coming back here for any reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
Great place for early season camping when the trout fishing is good. Not much for kids, no pool, very limited play area, not many activities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com