218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Hinton / Jasper KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (780) 865-5061
CGID7345

Hinton / Jasper KOA

Camp Information
Sites
118
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   10   9   9   10   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Very nice, clean park, located far enough off the highway where road noise was minimal. Sites are level gravel. Wi-Fi services were only available in the laundry and office areas and then the system was very slow, easily overloaded by all those trying to access the system at the same time. The fenced in dog park area is good for large dogs, but small dogs can easily escape under the fence. The showers were clean, but several were out of service. They seemed fanatical about their grass/lawn. No vehicles are to be parked on any part of the grass. The owners concern about their grass seemed to be overdone. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
Very nice park. Well kept, clean, quiet, beautiful views. WiFi is lousy. We had a WiFi booster for our computer which helped a great deal. About a 45 minute drive to Jasper. Stayed 3 nights in a motorhome. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Very clean and quiet park. Well maintained site. Washrooms clean all the time. Mountain can be seen in the distance. Columbia Ice Fields and Jasper close by We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
Absolutely fantastic stay. The staff were super friendly, the amenities were excellent. Free shower, super clean, quiet. Only complaint would be Wi-Fi is slow. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
The price likely reflects proximity to Jasper Park, but it is worth every penny. This was a well laid out, well maintained and attractive park. Staff were excellent and quickly helped with a minor technical issue. This level of service would be especially appreciated by the many Europeans who visit the area in rental units. While near a major highway and rail line, it was far enough away to be unobtrusive. The wide open siting helps discourage nocturnal visits by the many local bears. I look forward to staying there again, a pleasant spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Nice, wide, level gravel pull through sites. Some space in between for a little privacy. Kids play ground, friendly staff, good cell phone reception, TV and Wi-Fi. Fifty amp worked well. Clean restrooms, laundry and shower. Really enjoyed our stay and our dog enjoyed the tree shaded off leash dog gym and play area. Room to walk around the area and a walking path just off property, easy entrance and exit. Loved the quiet. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$66
One of the nicest campgrounds we have been on. The cabins are luxurious, with a TV and refrigerator. Restrooms and showers are the best we have seen. There is a covered cooking island with a beautiful view. Everything is clean. Very nice and helfull staff. We would stay here again!! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
First off, not my style of campsite. Everyone parks in rows. That is where the negatives ended. While checking in I mentioned we had a couple of dogs. No questions about breed or anything. The lady at the desk handed me a couple dog biscuits wrapped in paper and tied with a piece of yarn. Turns out the paper was a note from their pets to mine. Thought that was a great touch, also what sold us on the place. Washrooms sparkle, great area for the dogs, and the staff is great. We would stop here again without question. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This is by far the nicest KOA we have ever stayed in. Fairly new, extremely clean. Staff feels like family. We would highly recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
This is a very nice park, clean and well take care of. All the sites are level and have nice gravel and grass. The only problem we had was with the WI-FI when checking in we were told its very slow. Well we were in the back of the park and the signal was so weak we could not log on. Otherwise we were very happy with our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This is a very nice modern RV park with sparkling clean restrooms and showers, and friendly and attentive staff. It is located in the foothills of the Canadian Rockies, just outside Jasper National Park. We saw 4 elk along the road approaching the campground. The only negatives I can report is that our gravel site (#22) was uneven, so we had difficulty leveling. Most other sites seemed to be more level. Also, the Wi-Fi is quite iffy, especially when the park is full. The town of Hinton, complete with a Safeway and WalMart, is just a few minutes west. We would definitely stay here again. One word of caution -- make reservations. The campground was full every night we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
This is a gem of a campground; clean, friendly and efficient. Utilities, including Wi-Fi, worked reliably. Maneuvering into the park and into the level, gravel sites was easy. The showers are clean and well-maintained. Both the playground and pet areas looked good, though we did not have occasion to make use of either. Grassy areas with picnic tables provide a cushion between sites but no privacy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
This park is in good physical condition completely spoiled by unfriendly, uncaring and incompetent staff. Way overpriced. The "security" guy running around in his Quad, thought the campground was a freeway, putting children at play in danger with his speeding. The WiFi was sporadic at best. We will not be staying at this place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Not bad but the Wi-fi was useless. Some of the access roads were a touch small for a 37' trailer. As indicated before nice park but a little too far from Jasper. We stayed a week and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
Very quiet, clean, pleasant and well-maintained campground. Friendly helpful staff. Nice playground for children and lots of dog walking space as well as a fenced off leash area with agility equipment. Cable TV worked well. Internet available at campsite, just a bit slow because of geographical location. No shade available but gravel sites are level and there is grass beside the gravel with a picnic table. Well situated to explore the Miette hot springs area. Hinton has lots of stores to purchase supplies, Wal-Mart, Can Tire and gas stations. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
The campground is nice enough, but it is further from Jasper than we liked. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The laundry is nice. The restrooms are a little too open for me, but were clean. The showers are in a separate hall and are used by men and women. The Wi-Fi was awful. It is from a satellite and is slow at best and most of the time, we could not get online at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Highly recommended with helpful, polite staff. Full service including cable TV. Excellent Dog play area (K9 Kamp). About 10 minutes to Hinton, and less than a hour to Jasper. The drive from the park to Jasper is nicer then Calgary to Banff. The only complaint I have is that there should be more KOA parks in Alberta. This is the only KOA park in Alberta. PS if you don't have a RV they have various types of Kabins which seem very nice. Also for group kampers, there is an excellent common kitchen area, also a common fire pit shelter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
The cleanest washrooms and showers ever! The staff could be a little more cheerful! We would highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Staff were very friendly. It was very nice that a staff member escorted you to your site and even helped park. Sure takes the guess work out of finding your site. While we stayed there it was very windy. Must be like that quite a bit in the valley as they do not recommend you to leave your awning out un-attended. Also, they state that the Wi-Fi is not high speed, therefore it is slow. That it is!!! I checked in advance and they allowed a person to clean the bugs off the truck and trailer. A person used a bucket, bug sponge and chamois. This was much appreciated. The clothes washer and dryer room was well supplied and very clean. Park is very close to Hinton for any necessary shopping, etc. Also, there are very good hiking trails within close distance. Overall, this is a nice park and I'll definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
It is quiet and clean. It is larger than most KOA campgrounds that we have been too. There is lots of space between units. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
A very clean park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is one of the nicest parks we have stayed in. Two immaculate laundry rooms with front loaders cost $2.50 to wash and $1.25 to dry. The machines were very up to date. There are two dog parks, one with an agility course. There are no trees at all in this park. The sites were plenty long for big rigs. Our gravel site was level with grass on either side, 50 amps, water, sewer and cable TV with about 20 channels. The Wi-Fi slow until everyone has gone to bed. There was some hiway noise but not too bad or would give it a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
Everything is as stated in the reviews. Well kept, clean, quiet. The only two gripes I have is my site was about 3 degrees off level and the power and water pole was about 50' from the site. The staff were helpful. Wi-Fi worked well, but slow. I was here two nights. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Stayed here after leaving Jasper National Park. We parked next to the picnic shelter which had 3 new sinks and 3 electric double-burner stove tops which was great for us to cook and eat outside our van. The very clean bathrooms were in the basement of the main building which made them warm after the cold night. This was the best campground we stayed in during our two week trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
We overnighted here. Its a pretty setting, in a meadow with horses and a stream nearby. Washrooms and showers were spotless and shower rooms had locked stalls. The WiFi and Cable TV worked well for us. We felt the layout of the entire park was well thought out. The interior roads and sites were gravel and our pull through site was level. It was a nice, quiet location even though it was fairly near the highway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We found this campground utilizing our Big Rigs Best Bets book. Our coach is a 45' motorhome but we easily fit into this campground. We don't normally like KOA's; however this has to be one of the best in their entire system. Very well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Large open field, gravel sites. Didn't even unhook, we were just there overnight. Minimum ambiance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$39
Park is expensive but it was well designed, well run, and well maintained! WiFi was OK but slow and TV has 21 channels. Bathhouses were well laid out and spotless. This would make a good base for exploring Jasper National Park or William Switzer Provincial Park . No shade at all and in late August it was quite windy every day (stayed for 4 days). Staff told us the wind was not usual and dies down, in reality it got calm around 9pm and started again at 7am. We had to tie down our tent trailer to keep it steady! It was a bit chilly at night but the electric heater was wonderful. Toured the town and had dinners out as it was too windy to cook outside. No campfires allowed except for the communal one. There is also a camp kitchen for all to use but they were always busy with the tenters or people who stayed in the cabins. We camped here in a Tent Trailer We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
While this KOA is close to the entrance of Jasper National Park, it's actually 47 miles to the town of Jasper and the heart of everything you'd want to do/see in Jasper. Plenty of shopping in Hinton (the town 2 miles away) - but not much else there. The sites were plenty large, even for our 45er. Nice laundry room with front loading machines. The only things to complain about are the typical high price of KOAs, the Wi-Fi never worked, and they close/lock the gate at 11:30pm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Yes this park is expensive but it was well designed, well run, and well maintained! The WiFi was good but slow (satellite, not cable). Bathhouses were well laid out and spotless. This would make a good base for exploring Jasper National Park. No shade but we were here in the middle of July and it was cold anyway! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
Nice quiet place off the main road to Hinton. That's great, since the town is nothing to boast about other than a go between town. The downside is the price - quite high for a rural place. The parking is easy and the facilities are OK. The people that run the place are great. Nice and quiet for a KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
Everything is positive about this park except the wifi at our site was a bit weak. Entry road has been paved since the last review. No trees, but we like that because of our satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
This new KOA opened in 2003. Very well laid out. All sites are pull-throughs. Great views of the Rockies. Quiet. Off the road 1/2 mile. Only negative: a long, dusty road into the park. Roads and spaces are gravel. About 5 miles west of Hinton on the Yellowhead highway. A 45 minute drive to Jasper. 23 camping cabins and lots of tent spaces. Good, free Wi-Fi. Good 50 amp service. Spaces 5 to 14 and 51 to 53 are especially big-rig friendly [65 to 70 feet long]. I was on space 8 which is next to the playground. You may want to avoid this space unless you have small kids. A pilot takes you to your space. Will stay here again. Recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com