219086 User submitted reviews online!!
Celtic Rendezvous by the Sea was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (709) 334-3341
CGID7349

Celtic Rendezvous by the Sea

Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   7   8   4   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
Nice park with a great view of the ocean. Internet was very good. Full service site. The management was very friendly and helpful. We were here in a 36 foot RV and would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
A decent park located on height of land with excellent ocean views. Staff are friendly and park is clean. Park has cabins and conference facilities and washrooms are located there. Small laundry facility. I highly recommend this park for scenery, bird watching and near very good boat tour companies. I will be returning whenever I visit St. John's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
The wonderful view here gets the good rating, but I would like this park much better if there was a restroom and shower up on the hill and Wi-Fi up there too. This is a small gravel lot on a hill with water, electric and sewer, and is located in a cabin rental resort which seemed empty when we were here in high season. A large circle of rocks makes a communal fire pit and there is a great area to sit and enjoy the view. For Wi-Fi, we had to go down the hill to a living room area in the modern office. However, this was locked when we left at 8 a.m. There was no shower for campers but we were told they would unlock one of the cabins on request. (Again, no one in the office in morning when we would have made a request.) The location is good for boat trips to the ecological reserve, but I would look for a different place next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Absolutely stunning view of Witless Bay Ecological Reserve from our campsite (no 7). We saw puffins and other seabirds from our campsite with the aid of our spotting scope. And whales from the comfort of our fifth wheel. Not many parks can boast such amenities. Don't even know if they had showers. The one restroom was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
A gravel parking lot with 12 sites. Beautiful view of the ocean not from the site but from the edge of the campground. Very tight access to get to the sites and also to maneuver into the sites. The attendant was not very knowledgeable about the park. Would stay there again if nothing else was available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
If you get site 6 or 7; the rating would be a 10! In a motorhome, pull head in to site 6 for the best view. Gravel parking lot on a bluff but with a view that is so very wonderful. Those in the front row are exposed to wind - not a bad thing if the bugs are out. No showers available. One washroom near the laundry (only 1 washer has plumbing lines but 2 dryers did a great job. All connections are at the back of the site so extra sewer hose might be needed. They do have a dump station. Narrow roads to get there and no place to really park to check in. The bakery nearby is reasonable and good. While there, we had a sewer line blockage (a rental unit had just left). Response time was quick. Would go back here in a heart beat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
The camp is a fairly level gravel lot along a bluff, with picnic tables at each site. They also have a small gazebo and picnic tables lined along the bluff for those not on the end – which are Sites 6 and 7 – those have unobstructed views to the north of the open ocean and a few close-in islands. In season (late spring/early summer) one may be able to see whales and even icebergs from your site. In October, we enjoyed watching a few storms move through, the changing colours, and seabirds including Bald Eagles. All sites are back in, so motorhomes not in sites 6 or 7 would have peek views of the ocean from the front I suppose. Sites are 30-amp and fully serviced. The main business is the motel, and the RV park is treated as an afterthought, but guests are allowed to use the nice hotel common room to get WiFi (which was down during our stay) and the laundry room (also out of order). They did give us a cash discount off the usual $28 because of the off-season and lack of amenities, as well as not having available showers. I advise calling first to see what is going on before deciding to come here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
By far the best campground we stayed at during our recent trip to Newfoundland. It's about 1 hour south of St. John's. We used the Newfoundland & Labrador tourism guide to find it once we learned we'd waited too late to get a site at Pippy Park in St. John's for Canada Day weekend. The campground is perched on a cliff above the ocean. Whales can be seen occasionally. Sites #7 and 6 are the best because you would get the wonderful view when sitting outside or inside your rig. All hookups are full hookup. It's essentially a gravel parking lot, but the view! There is a cottage/motel operation that is the main business. Be sure to stop at the Ocean View Bakery about 1 mile before you reach Celtic Rendezvous, on the left in the basement of a Blue house. Delicious baked goods including date bars. What a find this campground was! There were some pretty big rigs but the road in is very difficult and turning around in the campground is very tight - all sites are back in. It's a steep climb up to the campground. They advertised having wifi but I couldn't get it in the campground. Maybe it works in the laundry or shower buildings. The view was so gorgeous, I didn't care. It's a bit of a hike to the laundry and shower - not far, but steep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com