223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Wickham Park Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (321) 255-4307
CGID735

Wickham Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   7   9   7   9   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Great county park with lots of things to do. The campground is in the rear of the park and secluded from the general public. Long, level back-in full hookup sites on sand based grass. Perfect for big rigs. As others have mentioned, sand tends to get everywhere. But hey, we're camping so we deal with it. Bath and shower rooms could use some updating. Close to grocery stores. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
The park itself is very nice with many walking trails, a dog park, fishing lakes, and more. The campground section isn't necessarily on par with the rest of the park. The layout is funky and some sites have good spacing, at others the sewer connections are practically under the next rig. Some sites are grass, some sand, and others a shell base that is extremely hard to keep out of a rig. TV reception was great. I was able to pick up around 15 channels over the air. The Wi-Fi was great, probably the best Wi-Fi system in any park I have stayed at. My Verizon MiFi and Sprint phone worked well here. Raccoons broke into my cargo bay here. The park rangers, although they were aware of the problem (the raccoons came back several nights), offered no help in stopping this activity, so beware! That being said I would still stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$23
Campground offers three loops at the corner of the large county park which offers paved hiking and bicycle trails, popular disc golf course, dog park, sandy lake beach and ponds. A few are waterfront sites, all with full hook-ups, on grass. Ants can be a nuisance so bring spray. Bathhouses with laundry facilities are OK. Walking distance on sidewalks to Starbucks, fast food, a couple restaurants, major drug chains, and two grocery stores. Good wi-fi and over the air broadcast TV from Orlando. Small ants were the biggest problem around the sites. Bus routes leave from the neighboring East Florida State College to other Melbourne locations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$22
Nice campground now that it has full hookups and the long term campers have been thinned out some. Very well maintained county park. The 180 day maximum stay should be cut in half to discourage living in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
They have upgraded all sites to FHU with 50 amp service. Their parking plan is a little loose, but it gives you some flexibility on which way to face in a lot of spots. All spots are grassed and fairly level. Staff is exceptionally friendly and welcoming! We will stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
This is a very nice city park with large open areas and plenty of activities. Some sites are very poorly laid out with access to the new sewer ports very long; you will need an extension on some sites. WIFI works well. Some sites are very large, while others are very tight, not all are level. Winter crowd is gone by now, and there are several homeless "tent city" types of sites here for long periods. While there is plenty of police/citizen patrol presence, we had our bikes (which were locked up) stripped while away for a couple of days, so always lock up everything before leaving even just to go shopping. Plenty of shopping nearby from groceries to restaurants and apparel, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$21
This is a great park! We chose to stay here to visit family and do some sightseeing. The park is HUGE, with lots of amenities, and there is a lot to see and do while in the area. The sites have full hookups (30/50 amp), and are very roomy. Our Verizon cell service was great as well. Can't go wrong by staying here. We will definitely return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Now, internet has a big part in my reviews, and this park has amazing internet. Best we have seen on the road. Sights are mostly big, but paved, and I am a little bit worried about being stuck in the sand when we pull out as our lot is very sandy. The park is huge, with ponds to swim in, playground for the kids, Frisbee golf, trails, anything you want for a county park. We will definitely come here again, and do our week out of a park in Orlando. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$19
Rate reflects Brevard County resident prices. Very nice park with FHUs. We would return in the future since the setting is so nice. WiFi worked well for the first week and then we could not connect to the internet at all. Some sites are very large ... large enough to park a big rig sideways and then some sites are very tight to the point that your slide-outs would put you very close to your neighbor if they had them also. Plenty of things to do here and an abundance of restaurants in the area as well as shopping of all kinds. Great place to winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$23
Some sites are large, others are small (for a county park). All are on sand/grass and pretty level. The power/sewer on our site was on the wrong side so we had to pull in forward and put the picnic table over the next door sewer connection. They have put down sand to fill in the soft spots, and both light and dark sand track into the camper. The bathrooms are old, but clean. Laundry looked clean. Folks are very friendly and there is lots to do at this county park. There is a huge dog park, used by lots of locals, with a dog rinse station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$23
We stayed in Loop A the first week, some huge sites (actually double). Extended our stay for another week and had to move within the same loop, smaller site. The settling problems as others have mentioned seems to have gone away. Lots of activities to do within the Park. Great area to explore also. Most sites satellite TV worked but do ask to see the site first as there are pine trees. Will return if we are in the area again. There was a hint that the rates might go up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$21
Quite a county park. Lots to do: Disc golf, horseshoe pits, archery, lake swimming, full equestrian facilities. This place has something for everyone. Now the bad, sites have recently been upgraded with sewer hook ups; the problem is the sites are grass and the construction left the area soft. That said, we saw 3 different rigs needing to be towed out because they got stuck in the soft sand. At this point, county is picking up the tab for the tow, not sure how long that will last. Bathrooms are clean but small and in need of updating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$21
My hubby was working in the Melbourne area so we decided to take the RV there rather than stay in hotels. Since I lean toward state/national parks over RV parks, I was pleased to see the multitude of trees, lakes and open areas, a very natural setting. It was a very hot July in Florida and the a/c was constantly cranking, yet we experienced no power issues whatsoever. The bathrooms were clean but the showers, while hot and had good pressure, definitely need some upgrading! The rubber floors were coming up around the edges, allowing a view of the unsightly flooring underneath. There are only thin curtains on the shower stalls and only one open changing area for 3 showers, does not allow for very much privacy. When we stayed here was no sewer hook-up yet; on our last week here they were beginning to install sewer lines. Great news except that it required them to clear the park, a week before we'd intended to leave. They graciously offered to refund our money and offered us a free week's stay. I will definitely take advantage of that offer should we find ourselves in the Melbourne area in the future. Other than the bathrooms, my only complaint is the fact that there is no separate area for tent campers which when the park is full can become an issue. Otherwise, it's a lovely park and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
Park rates are scheduled to increase to $21/day...$19/day for 30-day stay. No discounts for local residents or handicapped. Compared to other parks, this park may be pricing its self out of "snow birds'" business which has been their major means of revenue over the years. Several sites have been added, along with sewers increasing the number of lots from about 65 to 125 sites. No reasonable explanation has been given for the rate increase given that MORE sites should increase revenues. IF this park wants to encourage snowbirds to stay there, they need to set rates that are not prohibitive for retirees fixed incomes. Been coming to this park for 14 years, through security issues, bad 30 AMP and extra costs for a "dump wagon". We'll be looking for another winter campground at these rates. Our increase is from $474 to $632 w/11% tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$21
Nice Park, large sites on dirt/sand, they apparently have some power issues in high demand periods but it wasn't too hot when we were there and did not have any problems. The power is noted on there map that they give you. Nice showers with good pressure and hot to warm water. As mentioned earlier the roads are being rebuilt. In fact we had to leave by a different exit due to repaving. All in all a nice park for a good price. The only down side was that when it rains hard there are spots that form little lakes but they drain down when the rain stops. Also we were under a tree that dropped a bunch of seed pods that covered the roof after the rain and started to stain the roof. MiFi worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$21
Large level sites with enough trees for shade but not so many as to make it difficult to navigate. Very friendly campers, who organize pot lucks, dances, etc. Convenient to shopping, not too far to beaches. Large county park with disc golf and a large shaded dog park with water for both humans and dogs and separate small/large dog areas. The roads needed repair, which was in progress. There is Wi-Fi at the office. We would definitely stay here again, hopefully not in the site with the street light right over the bedroom skylight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$16
We have stayed here several times before and it is one of our favorite places. Close to the beach and shopping. Lots of places to ride our bikes and walk. Huge sites and shade. In the winter campers plan dances, breakfasts and pot-lucks. Coming here is like visiting an old friend. This year we are staying a little over a month: price reflects the discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$16
The park itself is delightful - and we've stayed here on multiple visits to the area to see family. However, there is something up that folks staying here should take note of. During our stay in April 2011, we had a knock on our door at 5am from a morning walker yelling for us to call 911. An arsonist had set some trees in the park on fire. During our holiday season 2011 stay - there was a machete attack on a family of campers by a random passer by who was looking for money for alcohol. This was compounded by poor park ranger response, as one of the rangers was involved that evening in a hit-n-run accident outside the park. A week later, that same ranger totaled the park's truck inside the park early in the morning and was arrested. Not sure exactly what is up in the park.. but do be sure to Google for current news before booking a stay here. And be on guard. During our stay, they were installing a new guard shack and gate into the campground - so hopefully they are taking this seriously and things will quickly improve. Psycho rangers and machete nut jobs aside, we did enjoy our stay. We love that you can park your RV in any direction you like on your plot of land, maximizing for view and privacy. And we love the walking trails and amenities of the park. We were delighted to discover that the park offers honey-wagon service for just $8/week during the winter season (sign up in the ranger's office). Also, if you're booking a month or more and want the 25% discount - be sure to pre-pay a month in advance, not the 2-night deposit asked for on the phone. We had to extend our stay by 2 days to get the rate we thought we had asked for when making our reservation. Our rate reflects the monthly non-resident rate. The daily non resident rate is about $22/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$3
This County owned park is a great place to entertain the kids, lots to do. Frisbie golf, swimming, biking, etc, etc. Sites are ok but not as private as we like. The Ranger seems to be burned out, not as friendly as we would have expected, but he was quick and to the point and did his job. Overall is a great location and easy to get in and out of. We took our bikes and loved riding all over the campground and Melbourne. This is a very nice place to stay or stop for the night. Only negative is: no sewer on site, which is typical for a public campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
Great park, pet friendly and park rangers there were very helpful. We loved it and would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
Been coming to this park since 1998. The setting is ideal. Large county park in the middle of Melbourne. Over the years electrical problems with the 30 AMP system were common. This has been resolved with 50AMP installed in 2010. Sewage is dumped at the site for an $8 fee. There are no sewer hookups. A series of park managers have come and gone with varying degrees of management expertise. The most recent manager seems to be attempting to resolve issues that occured with frequency in the past, seeming to often stem from public relations and communications problems with office staff. Night rangers are on patrol and responsive to after-hours requests for assistance. Most of the rangers are camper-friendly. Some office staff seems oblivious to the size of certain sites vs the length requirements of longer rigs. Restrooms and laundry facilities are new and basically well-kept. Some sites stand in water during heavy rains. Since this is a public park, although clearly marked "Campers Only", Brevard county residents often wander through the camping area on bicycles and on foot. A dog park is situated in the park. However, a dog owner takes their canine there at their own risk. There are no attendants and no proof of vaccinations or appropriate canine temperment are required. Unaware if any treatment of the soil to prevent or kill whip, round or hookworm infestations is being done. At present there are no emergency instructions as to shelters in case of severe weather/tornado alerts. Fire is often a real possibility under dry conditions. This a multi-use county park and at times noise can reach annoying levels when concert sponsers held in other areas fail to keep the PA systems under control. In all, we are pleased with this park as our winter home and with the new park manager in place..look foreward to old issues being resolved to MOST everyone's satisfaction, in spite of a few folks who just may be impossible to please! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2010
$21
This campground has no access control and no security; anyone can drive into the camping area and criminals did on November 18. Many campers had items stolen--GPS units, etc., One camper had truck window smashed right on their site with contents taken. Police and park staff took reports but NO corrective action taken. Non-campers still drive and walk through unchallenged. Worse than boon docking in a dark parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Most sites are large, level, grassy, and some are shady. Fire ants are everywhere! We tried treating the mounds we saw, but there were too many. We agree, one of the Park Rangers is rude. This is our 3rd time camping here, and he hasn't changed at all. The showers are fairly clean, but shower curtains are missing and shower heads are leaking. There are many activities in the park. Frisbee golf, hiking, swimming, horseback riding, etc. We stay there often when visiting relatives. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
We called ahead but they weren't taking reservations as they're renovating half of the campground. We were told to get there before dark and we could check in at the ranger station no problem. We got there well before dark and waited for 1.5 hours for the ranger to get back. The ranger was really rude about it as well. By that time it was full dark, so we had to set up in the pitch black (there are no lights out there) It was very irritating as we have a small child and pets. The ground was pretty uneven and overall, I'd never camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$21
The good first: centrally located in Melbourne, clean grassy sites. The bad: arrived after a rain and the staff doesn't know the difference between a well drained site and a soaking wet site. They first put us in a site that had 3-4 inches of standing water when there were dryer sites in abundance. There is no 50 amp service so I can imagine summer stays are a challenge for big rigs. The park is nice, open to the public with many trails and kiddy stuff. The price is right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
This is a nice park unless it rains, then is like camping in a swamp. We reserved a week and left after one day. The 30 amp service only gives 108 volts with a TV on. 95 with a coffee pot, don't try a/c. They are supposed to upgrade next year ( both electric and sewer), however you may want to call first to check. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$16
The only thing that could have made this place better would have been sewer hookups. It was my first camping experience and it was everything I was hoping for. The campground had a woodsy feel despite the park being located in the middle of suburbia. There were plenty of outdoor activities such swimming in 2 lakes, frisbee golf, and a nature trail. The Atlantic beaches were only 20 minutes away. Kind, helpful park rangers quietly tour the camping areas in their trucks day and night. Their presence made me feel safe without feeling "watched". Night sounds included frogs and crickets chirping. It was a wonderful start to our camping adventures. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com