218901 User submitted reviews online!!
Pleasant Valley RV Park of Howard was rated 9 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (719) 942-3484
CGID7356

Pleasant Valley RV Park of Howard

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   10   10   10   9   8   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Relatively easy off and on Hwy 50 . Right on Arkansas River Sites are tight side by side, plenty long but tight for my 41' MH. Clean, staff friendly, helps us get into our sight. Little cafe just up the street, walking distance. Nothing else for 15 miles. Will stay again when the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
This is a wonderful park. The owners are gracious hosts. With expert guidance we very smoothly backed into our site right on the edge of the Arkansas River. What a gorgeous view & setting. Tall shade trees, cool breezes off the river, long concrete patio with well groomed green grass. This park provided the few days of full tranquil relaxation that we wanted! Other campers very friendly & helpful if needed. Convenient full hook-up's. Clean restrooms, showers & laundry mat. Nice central meeting facility with large outdoor patio for pot lucks & other social gatherings. Wi-Fi was great. No cell phone service available via Verizon. No TV service, unless you have a satellite set-up. Not a lot of activities for small children, however many attractions near by via car. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Stayed for one night with a 40 foot rig. Easy access off Hwy 50. One lane bridge and entrance to the park looks intimidating but is easy to access. Campground roads are wide. We had a beautiful site with nice grass and shade. The new owners are very friendly. Quiet, peaceful, and lots of friendly people. Nightly camp fire by Arkansas River. Would definitely come back and stay longer. Farm roads to ride bikes. ATV trails and lots of beautiful mountain views. A nice oasis near Salida. Great restaurant within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
A new owner, but very friendly and helpful. A great park to sit/lay back and recharge your batteries. The Arkansas River flows by with deer almost every day in the area. They are working on cell phone service. Great spaces with grass to walk on and enjoy life. My 37.5 foot 5th wheel can fit in any space. The closest town is Salida, CO. and is about 12 miles to the west. I would tell everybody to stop by and enjoy the stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$29
We were welcomed by a very friendly staff/owner. Nice pull-through space, good Wi-Fi. Cell phone reception is spotty for Verizon but usable. Less expensive than staying in Salida and more trees. Lots of full-timers just leave their units here for the winter but there were plenty of transient spots available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Pleasant Valley is a GREAT RV park. The only thing that keeps it from being a 10 is that there is no cable. The temp. is great with a nice afternoon cloud cover that really keeps it cool. The staff and RVers are friendly and always have something going on. Your just a few steps from the Arkansas River which is a real plus for the fishermen. I'm thinking about coming back next year and staying for a month or two. I would tell any and everybody that this is a great park with a great location. If ya have kids, you might wanna keep on traveling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
It is a nice park, with friendly owners. The downsides of staying here is Verizon Wireless cell service doesn't work at the park, WiFi is poor and the laundry is at the womens restroom/shower entrance. While everyone was friendly mostly seasonal people stay there, some leave their RV's there year round. If Verizon cell service and WiFi was improved we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
The owners have a wonderful campground. The grounds are well kept, grass is nice and green, staff is very friendly and helpful. This is our second stay this summer. We WILL be coming back next summer to this lovely spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
I feel that previous reviews were over-rating this place. We felt like this park was very close and crowded except if you were on the river front row. Our site was dirt but level with a concrete patio. Picnic table was smaller than normal. Some highway noise during day, then quiet at night. Lots of big shade trees. Most guests are here for the season or leave their RVs here year around and use them on the weekends. Owner was not very friendly. We would stay again only if we could get a river front site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Second best RV park we ever stayed in. River front sites allow you to listen to the flowing water all night long. The park is very well maintained by polite and respectful people. Has social events on most days. There is a crowd that comes back every summer, and know each other well. Only one negative: WiFi was not consistently available, and weak when present. Bandwidth problems prevented an entertainment download more than once. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
GREAT, GREAT: the only thing missing is a pool. But there is the Arkansas River flowing by the sites. Combination Colorado desert-like setting with lush green grass between sites and snowcapped mountains around. Sites are offset for more privacy. Staff and park residents could not be friendlier. A small park with views of snow covered mountains in June. We would come back in a heartbeat. WiFi is excellent and free. No TV unless you have a satellite dish though: but we didn't miss it viewing/listening to the Arkansas River flow through with rafters, canoes. They have this place well landscaped with a western flair. Great place to stay on our way to the Black Canyon of the Gunnison. Actually located in Howard though, but Salida just down the road. Wish we had time for more than two days here. Refreshing!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
In 20 months of full-timing, this is the prettiest park we have ever stayed at. Price is for 50A and a river front site. Excellent county road behind, for dog walking. Fishing is right on the river. It is across the river well off the highway, so there is no noise. The train tracks right behind the park appear to be in disuse. Hookups and WiFi worked flawlessly. Salida is a cute western town, 15 miles west on hwy 50. Gravel roads and sites are reasonably level and drain well in heavy rain. If it had paved roads/sites and a hot tub/pool, we would give it a 10. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This a a very clean and well maintained campground. The sites are close together, but each has a concrete picnic area and a grassy little lawn. The sites that back up to the Arkansas River are very nice. The Wi-Fi and satellite availability is very good, however, Verizon Cell service just doesn't work here. They have strict rules about dogs, but it is reasonable. There is a nice forest service road nearby that is a great hiking/dog walking place. The staff is friendly and accommodating. No credit cards though!!! A find!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This is the second time we've stayed here and we love it! This park is in Howard, not Salida. (About 15 minutes away, scenic drive either direction with plenty of road-side, river stops for fishing, wading, etc.) The sites are a little close but the park is very clean and the owners are fantastic! Nice get-togethers during the weekend (ie: pot-luck dinners with wonderful food, Christmas in July, etc.) Nice river sites (most are back-in) and plenty of non-river sites that are pull-throughs and shaded. Strong internet signal was not as fast as we would like but usable. Although close to the highway, we could hardly hear the road noise due to the sounds of the Arkansas River. Extremely relaxing. We plan on staying again in this pet-friendly RV Park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
The staff are awesome and park every camper personally. Great potlucks and games on the weekends, great fun. We are going back this year for longer. The river is very relaxing. It's only a short drive to Salida for supplies like baits, lures etc. ATV rentals and national forest access nearby. Loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This park is along the Arkansas River - really nice and so well kept. The people are all so very friendly. There are many full-time residents there, with only one row of sites available to 'transients.' One would not know there were permanent folks in the park. There is a waiting list for those permanent sites - only upon ones death, do they change hands. We would like to return there. I highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This campground is in Howard, not Salida. This is a nice park, well-maintained but very crowded. The river sites were all taken by long term, seasonal rentals and most of the sites are very close together. The laundry is small, but all the machines worked. Most of the long term residents seemed to know each other but everyone was friendly and the park was very quiet in the evenings. It's a good place to stay if you are visiting the area and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
This is our second visit here and we are staying for a minimum of two months. The park owners keep this park in top notch shape. Sites have concrete patios with beautfiul carpet like green grass and beautiful trees. This park is located in Big Sheephorn Canyon and the views of the mountains are spectacular. Everything about this park is clean and well kept. The owners treat their customers like family. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Down a county road with a narrow bridge over the Arkansas River (17 ton limit). Turn for RV park is just before railroad bridge with only a 10 foot clearing. Had us scared until we realized where the park really was. Woman and her son were very helpful and accommodating. Even offered to trim off branches of trees if needed. Right on the river. Quaint park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com