223589 User submitted reviews online!!
Saddle Mountain RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (831) 624-1617
CGID7365

Saddle Mountain RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   7   9   5   9   7   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$70
We got in on a Friday evening after dark. The road in is narrow and is just above the Carmel River RV park. If you have a large rig and are towing this could be a tight squeeze. We got to our site and found out we had to go nose in. Sites vary from spot to spot. Some you can back in others you can't. Also, hookups are at the end of the site so will need to think about longer water and sewer connections. The area isn't very big and sites generally will involve some maneuvering to get into. They also have tent sites. Probably not a big rig site; we are 30' and seemed to fit fine. Also some sites have more room than others. Ours was tight and no room for our awning. That said, it is a beautiful location. We did a 4 mile hike up the mountain and enjoyed the views. If you go I would be very specific when reserving your spot on what you want. We will go back now that we have seen the layout and know where we would like to stay. Very quiet campground; almost zero road noise during the day and at night also very peaceful. Nice place just recommend being specific and ask for what you want. Pool was cold and only being maintained at this time of the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$70
Has good pool. WIFI--might not get it at your site. Different prices for different spaces. Very narrow road in. Dry sort of Western theme. Good base for Carmel and Monterey exploration. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$75
This park is uphill on a steep, winding road from the Carmel By The River RV park, where we also stayed. We arrived late and struggled to get into a small space with a vehicle parked right across from our space on the side of the narrow, steep driveway. There were numerous kids running around in the driveway on the way in, which was unnerving in the semi darkness. There was only one toilet and 2 shower stalls in the main bathhouse. There is a second restroom up the hill which evidently had 2 toilets, though I did not use it. There is a large tent area and the sparse restroom and shower facilities were in constant use, so I never tried to get into the shower. On the positive side, the manager was quite pleasant and helpful when we met her the next day. The setting was pretty, though extremely crowded with a very confusing layout. It was very pricey at $75, like all the area parks seem to be, and I would not want to try to negotiate the drive up the mountain, parking, and set up in a larger rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$58
Friendly, great staff. Not much room for the kids to roam except at the pool and in the playground. Pool was nice with beautiful views, but cold! Playground area was also nice. WiFi worked great. Our space was tight - once our 32' RV was parked there was no room for the picnic table and not much to park our car. One word of caution when I read the other reviews about the bridge and narrow road I thought no big deal. The bridge is currently under construction and there is a temporary bridge. It is very narrow and hard to approach squarely. I blew out a tire when I hit the curb. My bad as many here warned me, but maybe you can learn from my mistake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
A few people have written about the road being bad to get into this park. That's really not the case. It's a one way road at places and the driveway into the park is a bit steep, but there's plenty of room to get a rig up to 40' up there. And the drive is WAY worth it! The scenery, peace and quiet, and nature is fantastic and the management and residents are really friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$60
Access to this park is a nightmare, at least in a larger rig. I did not expect the extremely narrow bridge nor the extremely steep incline to reach this park. I scraped my tires going across the bridge and was very nervous considering I had a brand new motorhome. Once you get across the bridge, the road to two RV parks and many homes is basically one lane. No way to turn around if you change your mind. My 32' rig fit into the spot, but with some help parking. One positive was that kids enjoyed the pool, but not worth it otherwise. I would not come here again, no matter how scenic it is supposed to be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Absolutely beautiful and quiet RV park about 5 miles east of Carmel. Bathrooms extremely clean as are the grounds; in fact with all of the plants it could be a park by itself. Gorgeous swimming pool and park hosts were very friendly and helpful. Yea, the road leading to the park is not great, but it is only about 5 minutes long to reach this beautiful park; well worth it. In fact we extended a day we liked it so much. The only drawback was backing the RV trailer into the tight spot. If I had more experience, which I am definitely getting, it probably would have been easier. We will definitely stay here again. Plus you have to visit Carmel: what a great town! So much to see! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
As other reviewers have stated, access is an adventure. Keep your rig in the center of the one lane bridge on the way in. Once you get to the entrance to the campground, it's a steep, short climb to the top. You might want to disconnect your tow vehicle down below. There is some room at the campground, but it is limited. There are no pull-through sites. You also might consider not hooking up your toad till you get out of the park (it's a steep grade out). The site we had was very deep (enough to allow plenty of room to pull our tow vehicle in front of the MH). Excellent cable reception. Wi-Fi was only available if you took your computer to the office. Very convenient access to Carmel and Monterey. The owner and host are very friendly and willing to assist in any way. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Possibly the worst campground in the country - seriously! The tent sites are on a precarious slope: small, have no privacy and are very close together. The tent sites are walk-in, which they fail to mention on their website. The steep mountain road is very dangerous and parking is limited. Rude management tops off the deal. Do not camp here! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$54
The reality of Carmel is that there just are not too many choices in the area for RV camping and everything is expensive. We have stayed at Saddle Mountain twice and had a really good experience both times. The management is super friendly and if you have a dog on board it is really pet friendly too. The sites are not big and they are pretty tightly lined up in some spots but some of them have really wonderful views out over the valley. It was quiet and has everything you need on site except for a laundry. The pool area is really nice and there are a lot of options for walking around (if you can handle walking steep inclines that is) or finding a nice spot to sit outside and read or whatever. The location is ideal for doing stuff in and around the Monterey Peninsula area. There is an additional charge for Wi-fi. I would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$55
This park is right next to Carmel by the River RV park. The road leading into the entrance of both parks is narrow but anyone should be able to manage it. The road going into Saddle Mountain park is a bit more tricky, especially for bigger RV's. Our fifth wheel is 33' (36' actual length) and we barely managed. The entrance road into Saddle Mountain is steep, narrow, with slightly bank curves (not too sharp), and mossy road edges. This caused our trailer to slide towards the mountain side and came within a few inches of making contact. The management was very friendly and I had no problems getting into contact with them as previously posted. The sites were nothing spectacular but we had a good view. A bit expensive for no frills. The exit road is steeper and narrower, but does not have mosses or as many curves (tall coaches, watch the branch at the end). All in all, if your trailer is smaller than 27', or you are a really good driver not a bad place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
The last mile to the park is narrow and tricky to drive on, but we managed. We stayed in spot 23 and had a nice private spot surrounded by oak trees and even with a view of Carmel Valley. Pool looked cloudy, but it in a beautiful setting. People tent camped in spot next to us because they didn't want to drive to the tent camping area (argh). If you can ever get a hold of the owner or manager, good place to try to get a reservation, but it is about 99% impossible to reach anyone. We have even driven to the park and put a note on the office door asking them to call us so we can make a reservation, but they never call back. They never answer phone messages either. I have given up trying to get a reservation at this place, and have moved on! Too bad because we would definitely go back if they would only respond! We just don't want to drive all the way there, assuming they have a spot, only to be turned away if they're full. It's only about 10 minutes from the beach, but very quiet and isolated in the hills in Carmel Valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com