214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Durango KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (970) 247-0783
CGID7366

Durango KOA

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   10   6   6   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
We stayed three nights to tour Durango/Silverton and Mesa Verde NP. Sites are level, but close together. The sites are gravel/dirt so there was some dust; it didn't rain, which could have been a problem. The camp is close to the highway, but traffic noise was minimal. Pizza and breakfast are offered at a reasonable price. Facilities were excellent. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Very nice campground with full hookups and good wide spaces with grass between sites. Staff/owners were very friendly and very helpful. Although it is close to the road, noise was very low. At dusk we saw some deer in the field next to the RV park. Nice pool, miniature golf, and facilities. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
We rarely stay at a KOA due to cost and our disinterest in most amenities, but this one looked like one of the cheapest RV parks in the Durango area. It's about 7 miles south of town, up a long grade, going by all the big box stores. The host was ready for us when we arrived and his partner drove us to our site, which was a nice back in with full hookups including cable. We ended up using our over-the-air antenna for the limited channels of interest to us. A person on neighboring property with a dirt motorcycle was a little worrisome but was not a problem. We stayed here to ride the Durango-Silverton train. We didn't try the internet as we had our Verizon card. The rate shown includes sales tax and is the single night rate. We stayed two days and would stay here again were we in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
This is the best KOA I have stayed at so far. Plenty of shade and privacy with a nice view of the mountains from our site. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. I will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Our first visit to this campground and it won't be our last. The staff and owners are exceptional, the grounds are immaculate. We had our grandkids with us and they loved the pool, mini golf and especially the panning for gold. The lady who was in charge of the panning is a real jewel herself! Be sure to get a pizza, too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
Very nice staff. Clean laundry and bathrooms. Spots downhill are right on top of each other. All dirt and muddy. Rack rate excessive. Seven miles out of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
Park is very near main thoroughfare to Durango, and is relatively noisy. Although there are some trees, most of them aren't large enough to provide any useful shade at camp site where we were located. We were assigned slot #31, and while it is listed as a pull through, it would be very difficult to to accomplish if adjacent slots are filled. Tow parking was awkward at best, however adequate for our overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
We have stayed here several times and we will again. As KOA members we have a discounted rate. It is one of the nicest KOAs in the country. It's rustic and rural, extremely well maintained with landscaping providing privacy between sites. Site slightly off-level, but nothing not easily remedied. Beautiful grounds. Restrooms immaculate. Don't know about Wi-Fi because we use our phone to connect. Didn't use the pool but it is beautifully clean and large. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Spaces were narrow. Had to stand on boulders to do hookups and in bushes to access storage on the other side. Wi-fi was unreliable and unusable. Spaces and roads are dirt/gravel, but spaces are fairly level. Would probably stay here overnight or for a few days again, but would check other parks first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
We were not impressed with this KOA; sites were very close together, at weird angles and on slants. They did have two nice dog parks, one for small dogs and for large. Office help was friendly. They made pizzas to deliver which we're OK not great, but the idea is good. I would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Price reflects Mother's Day weekend special discount and weekly rate. Camp hosts and staff were exceptionally nice. Roads and sites are gravel and got fairly muddy with rain. They could have been more level. We arrived to find lots of deer droppings where we needed to walk outside our rig. The dog off-leash areas were lacking much grass but there was a grassy area with bags on the way to them. We had good Verizon signal and enjoyed the pancake/waffle breakfast to benefit sending kids to camp. First campground where we've been required to be escorted out of our site. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
We loved this KOA - hosts were friendly, and our site (#65 - ask for it if possible) was beautiful, surrounded by trees and private. Good cable and good Wi-Fi. We stayed two nights, and enjoyed the Durango-Silverton railroad as well as our visit to Mesa Verde. Good restaurants within an easy drive downtown. (We loved Ken and Sue's restaurant, and College Drive Cafe for breakfast.) The managers have a garden on site with fresh veggies and herbs available for guests. (Other good campsites: 66, 53-56.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Nice clean KOA. Staff friendly. Others suggested staying towards the back due to road noise so that's what I did. Still hear it a bit if you are outside but not annoying. Bathrooms were immaculate as typical for the KOA's I've stayed at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
This is a nice KOA. The roads and sites are gravel and there are a lot of large shade trees around the sites. I found the roads and sites roomy and easy to maneuver through. This is one of those KOAs that serves breakfast (waffles and sausage, I think) and occasionally has evening cookouts, if you're into those kind of things. The eastern/lower section of the park that I was in doesn't have any buffer between it and US-160, which was a couple hundred feet away, so there was some constant low-level road noise, which didn't really bother me. The upper section of the park is further back and has the clubhouse and some bushes between it and the road. The Wi-Fi refused to connect the first day I was here, but then worked okay the rest of the week. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
We had a wonderful stay at this campground. The site was excellent. The utilities were conveniently placed, we had plenty of room. The staff were extremely helpful when our car broke down and had to be towed to the local dealer for repair. They even let us borrow the camp pickup truck to follow the tow truck to the dealer to complete the paperwork. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
Mixed bag at this KOA. First, it's 5 long miles outside of Durango perched on top of a hill in the middle of scrub brush and gravel. If you are seeking pleasing aesthetics this is not the place for you. KOA is running a 'buy one get one night' special in August so I asked at the front desk if I could get that. The teenage boy working check-in was clueless And asked the manager. The manger seemed put out and told him that they were 'too busy' to participate in that. I can only conclude that this KOA has a captive market and is therefore not compelled to offer a high quality product to their customers. The swimming pool was nice. Sites near the front have a lot of road noise but its quiet in the back. Go to this campground if you need an overnight in Durango while in transit but my recommendation is that you do not make this a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
We had a great stay here. We found the facilities to be in great condition and the people who work there super helpful. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
Easy to find, easy to get off and on highway. Sites weren't crammed together. Just spent the night so don't know much more that that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This was an excellent KOA. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. Sites were level, great Wi-Fi, good cable and super amenities. Putt Putt golf course on site, several fenced dog parks, they serve breakfast and pizza each day between Memorial Day and Labor Day (we missed it by a week); pool, cleanest restrooms I've ever seen; playground. Very nice and we would definitely stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
We spent a week in this campground and it was great! Good location to town and easy access. Nice shaded site for us and had to do some leveling. Sites close together as all KOA's and a little tight pulling out our 40' motorcoach. Owners do a good job and we will stay here again when in Durango area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
We were here after Labor Day so all of the amenities were closed like breakfast, ice cream, pizza, etc. But the pool was very nice as were the showers and laundry facilities. The staff was excellent: friendly and helpful. This is not the prettiest KOA we have been to. Our site was secluded but close to freeway noise. The roads are gravel and dirt which means dust. We would probably stay at the other park in town next time which looked like it has grass and trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This is absolutely the best KOA we've stayed at. The owners and employees are always making sure you're doing well, and constantly cleaning and gardening. The sites are large and level, the WiFi is very good, the pool is beautiful, and there's a kid's playground as well as 2 dog areas--one for small dogs and one for large. My dog loved them both, as well as the creek that runs through the park. Breakfast is offered in the morning, and pie, ice cream & pizza in the evenings, as well as a movie. With all the things to do in Durango, we plan on coming back to this RV park again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This is an excellent park, first time we have given a 10. The owners and all the workampers were extremely friendly. The store is well stocked and reasonably priced. We didn't use the pool but it was inviting. The pancake breakfast is fantastic. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Very efficient and friendly office. Due to our three week stay, we were placed in one of the loveliest spots in the park, #200, on the end, shaded (but prevented satellite reception), pancake breakfast, wagon rides, duck races, ice cream socials, pies nightly, movies: many amenities. Great location to town and again, office workers and the owner were absolutely wonderful and so helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$85
Visiting some friends in town so we stayed in one of the new Lodges. Staff was great, pizza was great, the new pool was great. My duck won the duck race so I was a happy camper. We had a good time at this KOA. We will stay again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
The managers are great people. Site #45 was hard to get MH level. The WiFi is almost useless. We used our AT&T Air card for faster service. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Park has first rate sites, cable TV and WiFi. Verizon service was very good. Location for visiting friends in Durango was excellent. I would give it a 10 if the price was about $30. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
We had a great site with shade during very warm weather. This park has major cable service which worked just fine as did their Wi-Fi service. The store was one of the nicest we've ever seen in a campground. Our campsite was toward the back of the park so we did not notice any road noise. Now if they would just pave their interior roads to keep the dust down that would be great! Really enjoyed our stay though and will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Nice clean KOA. Has nightly movies. All of the facilities were in good order, has good shade and roomy sites. Had pancake breakfast, it was also good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Nice park with easy access to Durango with a Wal-Mart nearby. Lady in the office was very helpful and went out of her way to assist you. Florida owners could be a little more friendly. Lots of little improvements is making this park better. I would stay here again. Verizon worked well here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
A really nice KOA and very reasonably priced. It's not a large park. Escorted to our site and also when leaving. Cable TV was excellent as was the Wi-Fi. Very friendly owners. Has an enclosed dog park. Quiet. Spaces were plenty wide with some trees. Our only complaint was that they had a large group coming in and we couldn't stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
This is a nice KOA. There is a lot for kids to do. Very friendly people running it. We were escorted to our site. Wi-Fi good. Cable good. Well maintained and clean. Sites are not really big but not too small either. Typical KOA site width. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
Rate is with a KOA card. Escorted to our site. A nice park with shade and mostly level sites. Locals say they have not had much rain this year, so the area is a little on the brown side. Most of the water is allocated to the farms. This is a little outside of Durango proper, but an easy drive. Currently, the weather is very pleasant. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
Got noise? While this campground is well kept and the staff is friendly, the highway noise is just not acceptable. A tent will not stop the traffic noise all night long. Two staff members tried to tell me it gets quieter at night. It does not get quiet. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
It is a small campground, but very well maintained with super friendly staff. The pull thru sites were a little hard to get into, but adequate. There are lots of kids activities, ice cream and movies every night, and pancake breakfasts. It is convenient to Mesa Verde and the Durango-Silverton train. The only complaint is that it's very close to the main road and you could hear some road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
The staff was very nice upon arrival and escorted us to our site. We spent several nights here. They have an ice cream social and movies nightly. The sites were level and we had lots of shade in the area we were in. The pool and playground were clean. The bathrooms were always clean no matter what time it was, which was nice. The owner makes pizzas nightly and offers free delivery to your site. Not all sites have fire pits, ours didn't, but we were able to use the BBQ grill instead. It was not ideal, but it worked. The location is not far from town. In early morning you could hear some highway noise from where we were, but it wasn't too bad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Nice shade. Playground, pool, kids activities and other facilities. Easy to find. Fairly level campingsites. Clean and renovated bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
While pricey, this place is top notch. Escort to the site, even though it was an easy drive. Help backing in, etc. Asked for next to the bathrooms, and I ended up 20 feet from it. Very helpful staff with clean restrooms and endless hot water. We stayed for two nights. I would return, but I would have to factor in the price with other places, depending on the season as my price is "off" season. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
Fairly level dirt and gravel sites. Picnic table and grill at site. Facilities were clean and functional. Electrical connections were toward the front and sewer more toward the back of our site. Rigs with rear electrical connections might have a problem with power cord or sewer hose length. Right next to a busy highway but noise did not seem to be an issue. Playground, swimming pool, and activities. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Previous reviewers are correct in saying that this is a nice park but I think their perspectives (tent trailer and camping cabin) made them a little too easy in giving it 10s. The park has very good facilities (FHU, cable, WI-FI, and a pool). The park layout conforms to the natural setting - hilly terrain, trees, dirt, curvy roads. This could be a problem for big rigs and those who want cement pads and no intrusions by mother nature. The hilltop location affords some nice views of Durango and the surrounding mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
Since our trips are usually relatively close to home and quick, we usually stay at KOA campgrounds. The Durango KOA is the best that we have visited. The hosts were friendly and very helpful, excellent pancake breakfasts (omelets on the weekends), heated pool, Wi-Fi worked great, very clean rest rooms and the cleanest showers we've seen at a campground. We stayed here over the July 4th weekend, and went into Durango to see the parade and fireworks (hint, park at the Albertson's grocery store and walk down the river to the small park off of 9th for a great view). We'll definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
I've stayed at other Durango cgs but this one has it all - RV and tent sites, cabins, pool, immaculate restrooms, WiFi, recreation, game room, TV lounge, free nightly movies, dog exercise course, morning pancakes, nightly pizza delivery, and a great view of the city. You can choose from a tree shaded site to a deluxe cabin or park your rig and toad in one of the well prepared pull through sites. Friendly camp workers escort you to your site and then regularly tour the grounds to make sure everyone is happy. Since it's 7 miles from historic downtown, it has a woodsy, state park feel but it's close enough that you can take part in everything Durango has to offer - the narrow gauge railroad, river rafting, horseback riding, and the river trail for biking and hiking. Nearby day trips include the San Juan Skyway, Mesa Verde National Park, gold mine tours, and lots more. I will definitely go back. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com