218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Calloway RV and Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (985) 542-8094
CGID7387

Calloway RV and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   4   6   1   7   3   5   6   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This park has easy access from I-10/I-55, yet there was little road noise. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The sites were mostly level and very nice. We would use this park again if in the area. Our price reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Big rig friendly might be an overstatement. We camped here for a few days in a 42 RV. The roads are extremely narrow and the sites difficult to get into due to trees and the narrow road. The park is past it's glory days. While the brochure states there is Putt Putt, this clearly has not been there for many years. If you are simply passing through in a smaller RV you might be okay. Larger RV's might want to find a different site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Friendly staff, need to maintain their electrical pedestals as 50 amp receptacle was broken, had wasp nest under cover and tight sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
If at all possible, find another park to overnight at. I was given a spot that had 40A service which I was afraid to plug into. In all my years of traveling, I've never had or seen 40A circuit. But I was lucky and scathed by unharmed. The park consisted mainly of permanent and long term residents who took up all the lakeside spots. The maneuvering between the RV's and their vehicles was real tight due to narrow roads and small lots. And when it rains, you'll be walking in a couple inches of water due to drainage issues. Only nice thing were the begging ducks who just absolutely loved my Cheerios. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
The campground was in need of some repair, but the friendliness of the staff more than made up for some of the inconveniences. The manager assured us, they were working to get the campground back into shape. The showers had black mold on the walls. There are a lot of permanent campers here, but the low hanging electrical wires were only over those sites, all the sites available for overnights were open and level. We would try this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
This is an old former KOA that needs a lot of work. The roads were made for 20' long RVs. We had a 40' with a tow car and had a hard time getting out of the place. The power, sewer hookup, and water pressure were acceptable. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
A very sad little campground. Good bones, but no maintenance. Tree limbs need to be cut back, wires need to be raised. Many full time sites are just a mess. We did manage to get our 40' MH in and out, but just barely. The person in the office could care less. Also, located in a poor part of town, but easy on/off highway. Utilities worked well. Wi-Fi was slow. Local channels came in on the antenna. Don't know how this campground got it's high Good Sam rating. OK for quick overnight, but nothing else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
Old KOA that needs some work, but not too bad. We were parked near the front and the road was very noisy all night. No cable TV and Wi-Fi was useless. Restrooms were clean and good showers. Ducks and duck droppings everywhere. We spent 1 night here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
Old KOA built for 20' RV's. Roads only 8-9' wide with sharp turns. You are going to run off the road and it will be muddy if wet. Overhead cable supplies power to sites and the poles/trees used to string the cable are low. A few sites only have about 10' clearance before you will hit the wires. Look up everywhere you drive in this park. As noted before the 50 amp is a joke. Don't pay for 50 amp the 30amp is the same. The roads while narrow are new pavement and the park is really clean. The rate quoted is PA. (PA only gets 10% off) A little too much for what you get in my opinion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Used to be a KOA, now private. Needs some TLC, but a nice campground overall. Sites are kind of narrow, especially with 4 slides, but we only stayed the night. We didn't need to put out our awnings. Roads are very narrow and kind of rough. Like I said, the campground, as a whole, could use some TLC. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
The office was closed when we got there. Called the phone number on the door and no answer. Someone did show up about 20 min later to take our money. She told us the office is closed on weekends. The power lines are very low. Some sites they are so low you cant get in them. Lots of road noise. The grass needed cutting. The pool was unusable. Lost of ants! This place needs lots of work to be rated any higher. I will not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
This is our second extended visit to this RV park, lasting about 2 months each time. I have read criticisms of this park in other reviews which have made me wonder if we were at the same place. Agreed, the facilities have some age on them, but improvements are being made by the current owners on a regular basis. This past month (Dec 2010) the big push was to repave the old roadways, which had gotten quite rutty in places. About half the roadway system was repaved early this month and all the ruts are now gone. Since last year, a full-time maintenance staff has been hired. When the new manager discovered that my partner was disabled, the maintenance supervisor was sent to built her a temporary walkway out of stone pavers between our doorway and the roadway. Anyway, we have found the park to be comfortable and convenient. Fees are reasonable. The staff is friendly and responsive to problems. The park is satellite friendly for Datastorm users. Even the Muscovy ducks on the lake are friendly. When we return to southern Louisiana next year, we plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
This campground was a major disappointment. The sites are narrow, and trash and cigarette butts were everywhere. Permanent campers with trashy sites were interwoven with overnight sites. Poor drainage and mud holes were everywhere. Our site was 30 feet from a busy road with high-speed and noisy traffic. Across that road was a group of rundown apartments where people revved up their cars and played loud boom-boxes late into the night. The worst part was that Trailer Life rated this park as a 9/8.5/8. We would never have stayed in this park, but we had already passed by parks that were lower rated, and there was nothing ahead for many miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
This park is decent, and is kept looking rather nice even though 90% of the parked RVs are permanent residents. Some noise from the road, but not as bad as Interstate noise. I have rated it 5 because although they say they have 50 amp service, it is the "fake 50" that many parks put in when they cheap out and don't want to run another electric wire. There is no breaker for the 50 amp plug and when measured with a volt meter, it is really wired like 30. Our EMS kept cutting power off is why we checked it so thoroughly and we had to move to 30 amp to keep electrical service coming into the coach. We did talk to the office about it, but they really weren't interested that it wasn't right. Their position was they provided a 50 amp plug and that was what we would pay for (no matter that it didn't work). We stayed here to have some repair work done at a nearby facility so it was convenient, but if we stopped here again we would find another place that would let us run two ACs or one AC and the convection oven without popping a breaker. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
This looks like a former KOA. Could use some work, roads are falling apart, rained hard one night and drainage is bad. Fishing seemed decent, saw some good size crappies caught. Front row is right on the road, noisy until 11 pm or so, and starts up again at 6-7am. No on/off switch for 50amp, at least on my site (3). Owners and help seemed real nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$23
Pleasant RV park, with sites available on a lake, though they are often full. Narrow road to site, narrow entrance and exit. Great staff. Have fished on the lake many times, but haven't caught anything yet; other people have caught and cooked their fish. Laundromat has 4 washers and dryers, but are often busy, and has an attached fitness room; hard to get quarters from office staff. Big laundromat across the street, but shabby. Three single shower rooms with cold floors and not enough hooks, and are dirty after noon. Women's restroom next to office is the one I used to shower in, as it was always clean and warm. There is a great mini-golf course. Little store is nicely stocked; snowcones and hot dogs available in office, too. Great seafood restaurant next door. DJM Enterprises about a mile away, was awesome with service and prices when our water heater broke. Rented a trailer and cabins are available on-site for our guests, good value. Has two little doggie parks, and a great wooded area near lake to walk your canine friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This is a converted KOA. It is a bit weathered, but a good stop for an overnight stay. The staff was extremely friendly. The sites were gravel and level. The utilities were dated, but well positioned on the site. There was some grass between the sites and some shade. The sites were roomy and easy to get in to. We had a pull-through site and had no problems positioning our 33’ fifth wheel. The restrooms were clean, well appointed and AC. The pool was great for the kids and stayed open late during our stay in mid July. We would definitely stay again for a one night stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com