223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Castle Rocks State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (208) 824-5519
CGID7425

Castle Rocks State Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   7   8   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
Fee includes daily park access fee. Smoky Mountain CG is remote from actual Castle Rocks Idaho State Park and is at the entrance to the City of Rocks National Reserve. The park is jointly operated by NPS and Idaho Parks. This CG is paved and mostly level with gravel 24X16 patios and fire pits with metal picnic tables, all in good shape. The water comes from park wells, the power stanchions and water are near the middle of the site. Site 15 was equipped with 50 & 30 amp. I didn't check the others in this CG. There is plenty of privacy and other comments about sites 14-15-16 are petty. These sites are better separated than those in many CG we have visited, and nicer overall. The showers/restrooms are spotless and cleaned frequently. The dump station is down the road from the CG but well located. This is one of the most used rock climbing destinations in the USA and there are primitive campsites throughout the Reserve, all with picnic tables, and there is a deep water well/hand pump at Emery Pass picnic area. This CG is on the old California Trail portion of the Oregon Trail, dating back to 1830. CG is well maintained and clean, rangers are always around if needed, throughout the park, and we would return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
Very attractive CG on the lower slopes of Smokey Mountain, just past the visitors center for City of Rocks/Castle Rocks. (Interesting arrangement - a federal area & state park administered jointly.) All sites in the state park campground have electric & water hookups, and the campground has a bathhouse/showerhouse with flush toilets, soap at the sinks, and individual shower rooms; they are older & rather spartan, but were very clean. There's a campground host there fulltime; otherwise registration is done at the visitor center or at a self-reg kiosk. The main draw of the area is for rock climbers and bicyclists, and the makeup of the campers reflects this. Previous comments about sites 15 & 16 apply to several other sites as well. Beautiful place, both the campground and the state park & national reserve - and just the local scenery! We will return, but not likely in midsummer. (Just too hot to enjoy the outdoors.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
Pinon trees. Number thirty seven (#37) a back in, not straight but very private. This loop has horse corals. Lots of flies! A nice area! Campground on a hill side, so most sites have some slope. The "rocks" and history are spectacular! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Nice campground but it is deceptive to find. It is not right inside the state park but rather in Smokey Mountain campground. Follow the directions on the state park reservation page for correct directions. Most sites had partial shade. Avoid site 16. The pad of site 15 looks down on your site and so there is no privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
This state park has a combination of pull-through and back-in sites. All have 30/50 amp electricity with water. The utilities for the back-in sites were located towards in the back, and in the center for the pull-throughs. There is a dump station within the campgrounds. All of the sites and interior roads are paved. Some sites are more level then others. All sites have a picnic table and a fire ring. The bathrooms and showers where utilitarian but usable. We had to use our antenna to get solid reception for our Verizon air card, otherwise the reception bars would fluctuate between none and one bar. The Verizon cell phone worked well without the antenna. The park and campgrounds were very pretty and we would definitely come back here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
We were here in July and pretty much had the campground to ourselves. We had a great spot with fairly large trees that helped a little with the heat but it sure was hot. We had a fairly level spot and as another review said the water and power were a bit too far back in the back up spots. The showers were nice after a long hot day on the rocks. The dump station is conveniently located on the way out of the park and is very spacious. Cell phone access was spotty at best with Verizon but were able to get a signal by standing on the table. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
This is a great campground in an awesome location. The scenery is wonderful, and rock climbing, bouldering, and hiking is second to none. The campground is new, and among the best we've visited: well-spaced, private, big, with easy access even for the back-ins. Very neat and exceptionally well maintained. The showers and bathrooms are sparkling, and spacious. It can be a little hard to find if you're eager. Go through the town and take the first right beyond the Visitor's Center, then an almost immediate left. Grab a registration envelope, for the campground is about a mile away from the registration kiosk. We will be coming back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
This campground is a gem! It is new and has everything you need. I would have given a "10" if the sites had sewer. Great location with lots to do for the outdoors lover. The interior roads and sites are paved. It is easy to navigate and get parked. The park is next to the Sawtooth National Forest and the City of Rocks National Reserve. Plan ahead because the are few services close by. Also note that six of the sites are designated for equestrians. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
A nice newer Idaho State Park. It is close to the Utah line but is in Idaho. As previously said if you need all your toys you probably will not like it here, but if you want to be out in the country where you are not cheek to jowl with your neighbor, you might really like it here. At night the stars really standout as there are very few lights to detract from them. Castle Rocks SP is made up of several distinct areas with the Smoky Mountains Campground being adjacent to the City of Rocks National Reserve. $10.00 on line reservation fee. All campground interior roads are paved and sufficiently wide for large rigs. All sites are paved with water and electricity but no sewer. Our site was close to level side-to-side. The sites have nice gravel picnic pads with tables and fire rings. The campground was clean and very quiet at night. During the time the weather permits they have flush toilets and showers available within the campground. When it is cold the showers are closed and there are vault toilets available. The trees in the area are not real tall but offer good screening. The dump station is along side the access road and about ¼ mile from the campground. It is arranged so two rigs can dump at the same time. I would strongly suggest that you have everything you need, as the ability to purchase things in the area is severely limited. The main access road from the north was under construction in September 2009 with about 5 miles of gravel. Once this is completed the road from I-84 south through Delco, Idaho to the park will be in excellent condition. Access through Malad, Idaho is not quite as good but still very acceptable. We would definitely stay here again even if it is a bit out of the way. City of Rocks has some real neat rock formations and during the spring and fall it is a major technical rock-climbing destination, also has some interesting history. All the roads in City of Rocks are gravel and not real big rig friendly, narrow, small pullouts, and steep grades. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
If you’re looking for a campground with all the amenities – Wi-Fi, cable TV, a pool and lots of nearby entertainment this is not the place for you. However, if you want a site that offers solitude and well spaced campsites with water and 50 amp electricity, give Smoky Mountain serious consideration. Recently constructed, this State of Utah campground is located south of the small town of Almo and adjacent to the City of Rocks National Reserve. The campground was never more than one-quarter full during the week I stayed there. On most nights, there were only one or two other RV’s in the park in addition to mine. The very friendly and helpful park staff members told me that the busy periods occur in June and September when climbers arrive to test their skills on the nearby rock formations. Wi-Fi (for a fee), basic supplies and a Post Office are located nearby, however it’s wise to stock up before arriving as the nearest large grocery stores and Wal-Mart are in Burley, a drive of 45 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
The campground is 3 miles from Almo, ID, and about 3.5 miles to the center of City of Rocks National Reserve. The campsites spaces are long at least 40', and the spaces are 30' apart so you have a sense of privacy. The restrooms and showers are very clean and are cleaned every day. There is power and water but no sewer, there is an RV dump by the enterance. the road between Almo, ID and Elba, ID is under construction so for about two miles it is a rough dirt road. Almo, ID is a small town that has basic supplies, Tracy General Store has a grocery, post office, deisel and gas. Its a really pretty area and worth the drive. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Camp Ground is actually closer to City of Rocks then Castle Rocks, but is a great addition to both parks. Being a brand new park, most don't know about it. The large Juniper trees throughout the park and surrounding area are wonderful, but provide little shade. Sites are all paved with fire pits and picnic tables. Sites are not on top of each other, all paved, level, and well placed in the park. The little town of Almo only adds to the experience. We camped in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
This is a brand new state park near the City of Rocks climbing area. it is shiny new and clean. it is a bit of a drive to the City of Rocks National Park but well worth it. the town has a small store and the Information Center for the National Park. The only draw back was the drive in, 5 miles of road repair. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com