215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Collier-Seminole State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (239) 394-3397
CGID743

Collier-Seminole State Park

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   6   6   5   6   5   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
Crowded campground with poor site definition; rotting trash in overflowing dumpsters smelled - don't get a site hear them! After rain, the sites were muddy and the shady, damp setting was perfect for mosquitoes so watch out for West Nile. We were told that renovations are coming, but don't quite know when. They are long overdue. This is a campground quite atypical for Florida and management would do well to look at other locations for guidance. We may reappraise after renovations are completed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
This is one of Florida's older state park campgrounds. Roads and sites are tight for larger RVs. Road is paved but sites are a mix of grass/old gravel and tend to get waterlogged after a rain. We stayed here for it's proximity to Naples and the lower cost compared to commercial campgrounds in the area. We would return for the same reasons. We stayed on site 112 which is one of the longer sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
The campground is fairly close to Naples, so it is quick to travel to town to eat, shop, or explore. The campground itself is a bit cramped. I was there over Thanksgiving and it was almost, if not completely full. I was in site #59 which was level, but a bit muddy from recent rain. The site was not wide enough to extend both my slide out and awning (due to trees). The roads are paved, and although not real wide, I had no trouble navigating a 28 footer throughout the campground. The staff helped out when I parked and was very helpful and friendly. Each site has a fire pit and bundles of wood are for sale for $5 and they will deliver the wood to your site. There was only a little noise from Tamiami Trail and quite a bit of noise from fellow campers until almost midnight. This was exacerbated by the proximity of the sites to one another. Plenty of kids were around, riding bikes, playing etc. Lots of space for kids to play in open areas and designated play areas. There is a boat ramp in the park for kayakers along with kayak rentals and fishing in the river. I broke camp at about 9:00 a.m. and there was no wait at the pump station. If you want serenity and seclusion, this is not the campground for you - at least during season. It seems to be well suited for families with children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Park is to close in March for most of next season for update of facilities. At present there are some very nice spots, but site 58 where we were was very tight for a 40' RV with 4 slides. Full hookup sites to be added as some sites will be eliminated and new power pedestals to correct some power problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
I really disliked this place. It is an older park, built when most people tented or used much smaller trailers or RVs. Other than a few sites, sites were very small and you practically touched your neighbors. Because I do not have a towed vehicle, I have to go out and in every couple of days, and it was very difficult because of tight spaces and lots of trees in the wrong places. I helped one guy thread his 14' trailer in between trees with only a foot on either side and in the back! Even the dump station was tight. Sites were also dirt and poorly marked. Hard to figure out where your site started and next one ended. My site had trees on both sides and a large overhanging branch, so I had to have help backing in almost every time. I also was on a corner, so I had a space beside/behind me with a popup about 6 feet from the back of my motorhome. Luckily the site next to me (#72) was mostly empty--mainly because it was rated as so small and had a drainage grate on it that was recessed, making it almost impossible to get into. I watched one trailer almost tip over as it was backed into this site because of the recessed drain. Being in the woods was nice for shade, but satellites did not work and it was very buggy. A lot of smaller trailers and families in tents, but I would NOT recommend this for anything longer than 25 feet, if that. This is a park where I keep hearing rumors about their removing some of the smaller spaces and many of the Saba palm trees that make it so hard to get in and out, but nothing seems to have been done or is in the works. I will not stay here again, and in fact, left one day early, having paid for day with no refund possible. Just could not stand the thought of having to get back in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Not my favorite park. The park itself is nice enough: clean, quiet, nice restrooms/showers. Lots of royal palms. LOTS of mosquitoes - so many bugs that the park has a large, screened common room. With that said, it does border a large swamp/marsh area, so those things are to be expected. I just didn't expect them. My bad. It also rained so much just prior to our arrival that many/most sites were underwater, and the day we check out the dump station backed up and overflowed so that we had to move without emptying our tanks. Though shaded, there is nothing taller than grass (except the tall palms and oaks) between sites. One can see from one end of the campground to the other at eye level. The back sites along Hwy.93 (I think) toward Naples are noisy from traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Due to locale near Everglades and technically in a swamp, mosquitos were unbearable. I can not imagine tent camping here. 30 Amp service not reliable on high use weekend. Our electrical protection system kicked in luckily and saved our system. Good location for accessing Everglades of course. Need a boat or a toad because there really isn't anything to do in the park. Seeing the dredge machine and the reproduction old Post was neat. Playground was sad. Potholes were water filled but able to manage them and the turns with our 34 foot RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
Not actually a bad place, but Loop 2 is crowded and a bit noisy for a state park. Sites are very close together. Loop one, for smaller vehicles, is much more cozy and quiet. There are hiking/biking trails just outside the park. The most outstanding feature is the Royal Palm trees in this park. They are beautiful and worth the drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$24
The site we got had a very soft and unlevel underground. It was also very tight and very close to the neighbor. The hookups were far in the muddy back. The place was very quiet. Value for money is just ok. This park is not really big rig friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Another very nice Florida State Park. Most of the sites are close together. The roads are a little narrow but we managed to maneuver our 40' motorhome through the campground. There is a small playground, hiking trails and a boat launch within the park. We will definitely visit the park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
We were in site #59. Site had e/w with a picnic table and fire ring/grill combo. Site was grass with dirt. Most sites are very close together unless you book from 109-120. They seemed to have more side room but most sites are not very deep. This park was built when RV's were small. The playground in the camping area consisted of a metal monkey bar and 4 regular swings (no baby ones). There was only 1 pull through in entire park- site # 89. It was also directly on the road. The feeling I got as I pulled into the camping area was an old RV park where you could stand at the side of your RV put your arms out and touch the RV next to you. Park had a good vibe when we were there though. Pretty quiet except for the host in #77 who liked to play very bad music very loud in the afternoon but not late at night. This is a place where if you have a loud voice they will be able to hear you 10 sites over because you are so close. Did I mention how close you are? Rangers at check in were not familiar with computer. I think only one was a real ranger and could use it, so it took about 15 minutes to check in. I had to ask about everything since we had never been to this park before. I thought after I was asked if it was my first visit they would be forthcoming with info on things to do, ranger programs, etc., but they were not. Again only one ranger seemed to know anything, and he was busy checking in campers. Bath houses were old and need refurbished badly, but there were 3. Dump station was awful. It is 2 sided but cannot be used that way if a large RV is in it because of the way they need to pull in. I had to stand at the other end and tell people that we were waiting to use it or we would never had been able to dump when we left because of the turning radius we needed to have to get near the dump area. There is a nice dredge that was used to make the Tamiami Trail and a small interpretive center that is being worked on in an old fort type building and a short nature trail with a boardwalk in the park. Our favorite part was the Friday and Saturday ice cream parties in the screened in clubhouse. On Friday they had a guitar player for entertainment and Saturday there was a ranger talk on invasive species. The playground area in the picnic area is newer and has more pieces to it. The Coke machines do not take dollar bills no matter what they say. The ranger at the office confirmed that, but they won't put a note on them to tell people that. This is a great location for accessing Big Cypress Preserve which we did. We rode our bikes through Shark Valley which was a treat with so many gators and birds to see. We booked this park because we knew we would be there in January, and it does get cold even in South Florida so we wanted electricity. If I was to visit the area again I would stay at one of the national park camping sites because they had lots of room and are cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
We stayed here a year ago for 3 days and decided of all the state parks in Florida, this one is our least favorite. We wanted to come to the Naples area, so decided to try again. We were told they were going to redo the park. Some people told us the re-do is in process; it isn't. The sites are extremely crowded. Trees that should be removed to make access to the sites are still in the way. They have 3 buildings with restrooms/showers, all very old. There are missing light bulbs, missing shower curtains, and little room to hang or set things. I realize that they are waiting for a re-do, but in the meantime, keep what you have in working order until the State decides to renovate. The park is in a wonderful location; close to so much this part of the state has to offer. But in it's current condition, it is an embarrassment to the state of Florida. A beautiful area that could be so much more. Will we return? Maybe, but if we do we'll bring light bulbs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
After reading the negative reviews of this park on this site, we almost canceled our reservations. Sure glad we didn't! Overall, we really liked this park, and enjoyed three lovely days here. Yes, the restrooms could use an upgrade, and there's not loads of space between sites. But there was plenty of room for our rig (a 19' travel trailer). There are a few spaces for big RVs, but the park clearly mostly caters to tent campers and small travel trailers. It also seems to draw a lot of foreign visitors; we enjoyed meeting fellow campers from Quebec and Columbia, and also heard German and Japanese spoken. We particularly liked the location of the park. It's a great jumping-off point for exploring the Everglades (with the HQ of Everglades National Park about 15 miles away), Ten Thousand Islands National Wildlife Refuge, and the city of Naples. Of course, we visited in winter, so no mosquitoes. But really, what do people expect when they visit the Everglades in mid-summer?! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$8
We stayed here during Spring Break, and there were many vacant spots. The campground is nicely treed, but many of the sites are narrow making a Big Rig a challenge to avoid trees. We arrived after a good deal of rain, and some of the sites were muddy. The camp hosts were terrific and very helpful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$33
This is an older campground. The campsites are quite close together but tolerable because of the shade and vegetation. The ground is damp; be prepared for some mud. The bathhouses are dated and need renovation.There are no sewer hookups which tends to force campers to use the facilities. The campground was full, and I think that the bathhouses were quite heavily used; therefore could use more frequent sanitation intervention. Additionally, because of it's location, be prepared for mosquitoes. That being said, I enjoyed the campground for it's proximity to Marco Island and the beaches there. The campground offers an array of activities and has, again dated, a nice screened in community room to house some of their events. There were oodles of kids in this campground and all seemed to be having a blast. The campground was peaceful and quiet at night. The staff was helpful, professional, and courteous. There was a photo of panther cubs on the office wall. I commented as to how beautiful they were; the ranger told me the whole story. He took the time to envelope me with the work done with the panthers: I was amazed at what they do!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
Thank goodness this was only an overnight stay. The sites were extremely close together and the layout emphasized the closeness. The bathrooms were old and always looked like they needed a good cleaning. There was a nice boat launch facility, but I didn't kayak the area. The location was convenient to my trip route into the Everglades. It's about one hour away from Shark Valley and a great tram ride into the Everglades. I would never make this a destination campground but it was tolerable for a one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$12
As other reviewers have mentioned, this state park is in dire need of an upgrade. Broken restroom door latches were "fixed" with hook-and-eye additions, leaving door gaps. Showers have one curtain each, a hook or two, no bench except in the handicapped stall. Trail boardwalk has many loose, rotted planks. The RV loop has cramped sites and narrow lanes which are a challenge to negotiate in an larger rig. On the positive side, spaces are shady. There is good water access for boats, canoes, yaks. Hiking trails onsite and nearby are good, from very short to very long. Birding opportunities are very good, especially in season. Many natural attractions are within driving distance, and civilization, if needed, is a short trip west. Volunteers and rangers were very nice and happy to answer questions. Ice cream social and continental breakfast were offered at a nominal fee. Please note that we paid the Florida resident senior rate; otherwise it would have been $24/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
Park is old and in need of upgrading. Sites are extremely close with fire ring almost under neighbors trailer. Roads very narrow. Restrooms very dated. Worst FL state park we have stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
There are a lot of things we love about Collier Seminole but the campground is not one of them and the weather during this trip brought out all its deficits. It was cold, with temperatures down to the 20s at night and there were several nights with rain some of it torrential. The whole campground was muddy, rutted and some areas were absolutely flooded. Sites are small, way too close together and there is not gravel or other surface to absorb water. Electrical couldn't handle the high use of space heaters. Bathrooms were in sad shape, with showers offering only a skimpy vinyl curtain and no place to hang your clothes so they did not get wet. The best things about the park are the people, the staff and volunteers, proximity to Marco Island, Naples and the Everglades. This place is popular as it is as far south as we can go other than the Keys but is is sorely in need of renovation. We hope the state puts it on the priority list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$22
We camped here during the holiday week. The sites are very open except for a small tent area which seemed to have more privacy. The water and electric were set very strangely and not user friendly. The fire ring was also in a very strange place. Kayaking here through the mangroves was fun and we saw an alligator in the water. The restrooms were clean and the showers stayed hot. Not a bad location to go into the everglades, Marco Island or Fort Myers. There is a very cool preserve if you turn right out of the park and take a very short drive. We walked there a few times and saw roseate spoonbills, woodstorks and other herons, egrets, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Mosquitoes,mosquitoes and more mosquitoes! We could hardly walk our dogs, even wrapped in two towels and sprayed with repellent. We live in Florida, however, we have never seen anything like this infestation. The park is ok, our site was fine. The rangers were very nice. We spent 3 days inside, wanted to kayak and fish, but, there was no way we could stay outside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
Camped over the Memorial Day weekend. The Park was quiet and the facilities were clean but old. Somehow we were given site 24 which is marked as a handicapped spot, the only difference was that the drive way is paved. reserved via ReserveAmerica as expected there were plenty of mosquitoes, but this is the edge of the Everglades. We took a short canoe trip down the river. This is an excellent staging area to visit Everglades NP. No good swimming areas unless you pay $8/car at Marco. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Nice park. Staff very friendly and efficient. Sites smaller than most state parks, but adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$9
I realize that many of the reviews regarding this campground are negative, but that was not our experience. The bathrooms, showers and site were all clean. The rangers were helpful and check in was a breeze. There are many places to walk our dog. Our site was a pull through that had lots of shade. There were several tents in the sites next to us, but the people were quiet and respectful. They were approximately 13 children and many adults and by the time quiet time came, they were in their tents and quiet. That was the same for both nights we stayed. In the early evening since there was no TV the children were out playing. It sounded good to have children out giggling and laughing and not sitting in front of video games. We got one TV station with rabbit ears. In the morning it was also quiet. There were mosquitoes, but this is Florida. I am sure there are no flying bugs in places where it is now snowing. The weather was beautiful with high 70's during the day and 60's at night. There is lots to do in the area. We have reservations for a February weekend and are looking forward to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
We have a large motorhome with a small car in tow and it was tight going around some turns but we made it. The campground is clean. Good places to walk the pets and wonderful place for kids to be kids and ride their bikes, scooters etc.. We used this park as a base for touring. A drive to Shark Valley was an hour away. Hope to return next December. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Each site has a picnic table and fire ring and is unpaved.Paved interior roads are narrow and tree-lined, making it very difficult to get our 32 ft 5th wheel into our 33 ft. lot. There is a playground, laundry, social events, guided nature tours, rental canoes and guided canoe trips, boat launch, and hiking trails of different levels of difficulty. The "walking dredge" displayed there is a mechanism of historic significance to the building on the Tamiami Trail. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$18
Rangers were very nice. Our was site very narrow and had tents on our site when we got there, with too many people on tent site next to us. There were tents pitched right under my bedroom slide. We heard snoring all night and very noisy guitar playing. We moved to another site. Same thing--tents next to us playing soccer with kids at 7:30 AM. Everything was too close. We will never go back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2006
$18
Our visit to Collier Seminole Park got off to a bad start when we were greeted at the check-in station by a somewhat confused and uninformed staff of volunteers. They did not have a clue on how to check us in to our reserved site and could not provide any FACTUAL information about the park itself to help our stay. Our site was literally right on top of our neighbor's tent. They had to park their car 3 feet from our RV door. This is one of Florida's older state parks and their facilities show it. Although they were fairly clean, they sure need to be refurbished and updated. After checking out the park, I would recommend that you try and reserve sites 1-19. These sites are more spacious and secluded from the rest of the campground. The park does have a brackesh water river (Black River) that you can boat, kayak, canoe or fish on. After the first couple of hundred yards of the river you have seen it all. It's all the same for miles mangrove after mangrove, we saw no wildlife at all. And after our trip the park ranger informed us that the fishing on the river was not very good. I wish he would have told us before we set out. We were at this park in January and did have a little bit of a problem with mosquitos at night. I can imagine they are a real threat in the summer months. A small convenience store outside the park is nice since the park itself does not have a camp store. This park was OK for a short visit, but I don't think it is worth a return trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2006
$19
This park jams 91 RV's into a area that it will not accommodate. We could not even open our awning. The ground is all sand and very messy. Won't go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$28
The campground itself is typical of most state parks. Not a resort type place at all. We road our bikes around there, rented a canoe for the 'three hour tour' and fished from the banks of the pier. Also there is a convenient small store there, 2 areas for kids to play at. Bath houses/shower were clean. We went when there were not too many skeeters; and the few that were there did not bother us as we sipped cocoa in front or the fire. We had a great time and we'll definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2004
$18
Camping as a family we found the boredom level at this campground to be high. Our first night was quiet (on a weekday), however for the rest of our visit neighbors moved in and the peaceful setting was gone. The sites are very close together, and quiet hours were not enforced. The campgroud is small and not much else in the area. The campground is also in a marsh area, so bring alot of bug spray. Blood sucking insects rule here! I had planned on fishing, however was told by park staff that I would need a Florida fresh water license. Upon leaving a different member of the park staff told me that this was not true as long as we fished off the bank (I went home and researched it and the second was case). The beaches are a short drive away. This is not a place I would recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Pleasant park at the edge of the Everglades - good hiking trails - canoeing and boating available. "Friends of the Park" provided continental breakfast for a donation in the recreation pavillion. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com