223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Casa Blanca Intl. State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (956) 725-3826
CGID7460

Lake Casa Blanca Intl. State Park

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   9   7   9   7   8   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Arrived on Sunday afternoon and found it to be a very busy local hangout with cars and trucks (and LOUD music) riding up and down the roads and into the camping area. Apparently it is OK to ride through the park with enough bass to make RV sides vibrate. Signs point out there is NO picnicking on numbered sites - but it apparently is not enforced as we had groups with no indication of site fees paid move into the area with 5-6 cars per site, music blaring, people stopping in the street, etc. This went on until 8:00-9:00 p.m., then everyone cleared out and it was quiet. I was uneasy just because there were so many people driving in and out of the camping area. IMHO I think this park ($18 a night for water/electric) is a nice park but we would not come on the weekend. I think there needs to be some serious cleaning around the lake and in the sites - ours had beer tops, cigarette butts, and parts of water balloons all over it. Noticed a lot of trash around the shoreline which really makes it look messy. Potential to be a really nice park with large sites, covered picnic tables, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$21
$21 per night was for a full hookup site. In addition, a daily entrance fee of $4 per person is charged unless you have a $70 Texas State Parks Pass, which is good to cover entry fee to all state parks for one year. Dirt/sand sites are mostly level with asphalt pads for parking. Each site has a covered concrete pad with a picnic table in addition to the fire ring and BBQ grill. Heavy vegetation surrounds each site. There are many types of water birds around the lake. The park is slightly NE of Laredo proper so there is every convenience available in the large town. If you like hiking/biking there are trails within the park and roadways outside the park. Fishing/boating is available on Lake Casa Blanca. The park has naturalists who host scheduled activities on the weekends including nature hikes, bird walks, easy mountain biking, and Geocaching. Spacing between the sites is very generous. We received four bars LTE on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot and it worked very well on four bars of Verizon LTE. There is Wi-Fi at the office, which is one and half miles from the campground. There is Wi-Fi in the campground but it was very slow. We received four English OTA TV station and several more in Spanish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Spacious sites far enough apart to give each camper some privacy. Lots of opportunity for water sports in the summer months. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Roads and ground were well maintained. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
Great campground...easy pull through sites available. Restrooms and showers met my wife's approval. Very friendly staff and the campground was quite clean and attractive. We were quite impressed and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
This is a great park very near Laredo. I was in a funk so I didn't enjoy it as much as I should have - my bad. That being said, it was 85 - 97 degrees every day, with a sheet lightning/thunder storm thrown in. Not much to do unless you have a boat, and too hot to just walk around in. I did see a big black hairy spider, a lizard and a snake. Laredo is lacking in tourist info, although their Visitor's Info Center has great people in it. Wish there was swimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
Great park, although as a previous post said there are SOME sites with sewer but I haven't a clue how one would be fortunate enough to have one! When we were there they were all occupied and most had only a unit there, but no people in the eight days we were at the park. Some sites were very unlevel ~ it seemed the ones on the side of the lake were best, but on the opposite side of the road they were not. The sites were quite large and several were pull thrus. There did seem to be one area of the campground (the furthest from the park entrance) that seemed to be tents of "homeless" people. There didn't seem to be any length of stay limit here. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
Nice state park campground with electric and water. Small number with sewer also. Small trees and dry grass separate sites that are well spaced and fairly level. Some sites have a lot of slope front to back. Very large picnic areas, I imagine this place gets crowded during the hot summer months. The lake is great for canoeing and kayaking with tons of birds. If we come back to Laredo, we will be here for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
Rate reflects Texas State Parks Pass..most FHU sites (10) occupied by hosts. Clean and good views..close to shopping..Verizon worked good. Park good for extended stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
Site 112 looks across Lake Casa Blanca at night is beautiful. The City lights were reflecting in the lake and you could see the big jets land at the airport. It is not super fancy but was a good place to stay for the evening. I will stop here again when I am in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$12
This campground is good for a one-night stop-over. As stated by others, virtually no shade-trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$12
We found this park to be an adequate one night layover spot. When we pulled into the park there was a "campground full" sign out at the entrance station, but I went inside to make sure. It was a good thing I did since the ranger told me that they were just making sure that people who were supposed to be checked out really were (the check-out time was 2:00 pm and it was just a bit past that when we arrived). He told me that even if the campground was full they would find room for us in an overflow area used for dry camping. So that was nice of him. It turned out that there were several spaces available so we were able to get in with no problem. This is a very large park and the main attraction is bass fishing on Lake Casa Blanca. Since we aren't into sports fishing, we didn't care a lot about that. The park is open to day use up until 10:00 pm and then they close the gate, but give you a code in case you want to go in and out after that. We took a spot away from the lake as we like quiet and the ranger advised that spots by the lake can sometimes be a little noisy with all the activity there. The park is in a fairly urban setting just on the outskirts of Laredo near the airport, but we felt secure and there was little air traffic noise. Judging by all the stuff accumulated around some of the rigs, it appeared that some people had been camped here for quite a long time. Either the park has lenient camping policies or they are ignoring the limits campers can stay. We would stay here again, but only as a layover, not as a destination. The price quoted is for holders of an annual Texas State Parks pass, otherwise it would be $18. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$12
This was our first campground in our 32' Class A. What a treat it was! We were a stone's throw from the lake, and went swimming and fishing in it! Sites were wide apart, with a covered patio over a concrete pad. We had a company bring in a portable black tank for $15 a week. No laundrymat or store, but vending machines at office at the entrance. Some homeless people camped there, but they were nice. Nasty ants will come your way if you leave food out. We sprayed the perimeter of our area with Raid Ant Killer, and that kept them away. Great to ride bikes or jog around. Would definitely stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This was the only RV camp in Laredo area. The park was clean very little shade and some of the camp sites were directly on the lake/pond. Easy access for big rigs with tow car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
Nice state park. A very few sewer sites. Nice view of the lake. Watch your campsite, some are nice and level, and some aren't. Security is good. Fishing in the lake must be good, lots of fishermen. On an earlier trip the Barnum & Bailey Circus reserved all the sites for a staging area for their trip to Mexico City. Easter Week is very busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com