220250 User submitted reviews online!!
L.L. Stub Stewart Memorial State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (503) 324-0606
CGID7462

L.L. Stub Stewart Memorial State Park

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   10   8   10   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
$31 per night (plus $8 for doing an online reservation) was for a large level gravel pad site with full hookups, picnic table, and fire ring. Some sites have shade at some point during the day while others are in full sun. This campground is located 34 miles NW of Portland and is out in the country where it’s quiet but near enough to shopping/dining. This is bicycle country so there are many miles of trails for riding/ walking/hiking. This campground was built in 2007 and was well planned to offer most anything campers require. AT&T cell service was five bars 4G. Our Milliencom jetpack was getting four bars of 4G LTE which was great for internet access. No OTA TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Full hook-ups, clean showers, level gravel site. Helpful hosts. Loved the 21 mile paved bicycle trail that goes right through the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
One of the nicest state parks we've ever stayed in! Sites are huge, gravel, level, and spaced very far apart. The full hook ups are located perfectly and performed well. Some sections are forested and very shady. Others are open and sunny. Our favorite site was #49, where we received the warm morning sun and cool afternoon shade. Our roof-mounted satellite dish worked extremely well, as did our Verizon cell and hot spot service. Camp hosts are very friendly and helpful. Area is very quiet, with miles and miles of hiking trails. Only 30 miles from Portland on Hwy 26, but truly a world away! We have already booked our next stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
This is one of the nicest RV parks I have been in. The park is in the foothills of Oregon's Coastal range, with many trees about. However, at our campsite, it was clear enough that we could get satellite TV. Our Verizon telephone worked fine, and we could use the hotspot to get Internet service. The campsites are level with full-hookups including sewer service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
It was our fist visit to this park and we were there for the bike trail. The park is very nice and has wide, open sites on gravel. The roads and driveways are paved, the sites are on very fine gravel. Hookups are there, well working. You have plenty of room on your site and between sites is plenty of grass. The restrooms are what you can expect at a State Park, they were clean but could be cleaner. What I missed was a ventilation in the restrooms and the individual showers, the moisture can't get out and therefore you see mildew grow in the upper corners. Our satellite worked fine but we didn't have a phone or internet signal from Virgin mobile, both were working fine down in Banks. We will definitely return, we liked it very much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
This park is only 5 years old and it really laid out well. It is great for big rigs. The road is wide and the sites are easy to back in. The sites themselves are heavily packed gravel, level and clean! We stayed in Dairy Creek West. Spots 1-14 are more shaded, and 30-36 get morning shade. Since it was Oct, we wanted as much sun as possible so we stayed in 51. We had great satellite, cell and our own Wi-Fi. Dairy creek East was more open. There were lots of hiking trails. This is sort of away from everything, but we drove Hillsboro and took the train to Portland for the day. It was very inexpensive! The hosts were very friendly and kept the place spotless. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
This state park sets the bar for every other state parks. They really did this one right. Very clean and will be easy to keep clean. Great job whoever! Hope more follow suit. Wish there were more mature trees, but can't have everything, right! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Great state park with a variety of trails for hiking, biking, or horseback riding. There's a separate camping loop for horse trailers and a fenced off-leash dog park. The east loop doesn't have much shade. Very friendly and helpful park rangers. Trash/recycling station is a long haul from the campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
Camping at Stub Stewart will bias you toward the older Oregon state parks. The spots are all spacious and private. The park is clean and quiet. We got good cell phone service but no TV stations, and no Wi-Fi. In the busy season I could see parking as a problem, since there is no designated overflow parking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Stub Stewart has two campgrounds. 78 full hook-up sites (50 amp, 50 ft sites), all ADA compliant with picnic tables and fire rings. There 78 sites are separated into two areas: Dairy Creek Camp West has 43 sites and is a bit more treed, and Dairy Creek Camp East has 35 sites and is much more open (you can practically see every site from any site). Each camping area has flush toilets and free hot showers. Verizon coverage good. Hosts not very friendly and park rangers were difficult to find. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
A lovely park for a beginner to backing the trailer into a spot. It was the first time we were able to get level easily. The sites were large and the fire pit was actually placed in a spot that seemed much safer then right under the awning area. The camp host (off duty even) was very helpful. The trails around the camp were plentiful and well marked. We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
We stayed in the West Loop. East Loop was not open. The East Loop has more view sites, but they have less trees. That's where the playground is. We had plenty of trees in the West Loop. Beautiful, private sites, but it was off season. This is a gorgeous park with spacious sites. On a clear day it would be breathtaking from all angles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We were very impressed with this as a state park. The sites were very large and level. As the other reviews say, the trees on the park are new and just growing. But the whole park is located in heavy forest with many hiking trails. It was very quiet and there was a playground for the grand kids. We will definitely visit again. The only disappointment was the wifi did not work at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
Sites are barren and lack privacy of any kind. Sites are not set up correctly to use the electrical and sewer hookups at the same time. Internet service was non-existent and neither hosts nor ranger could tell us anything about the service. Bathrooms were not clean and 3 out of 4 showers did not work properly. Fire pits were too high to sit around. There is absolutely no place to put a tent on any of the RV sites as well as the tent sites except a patch of gravel, no exceptions. No recreation of any kind except hiking, which was done by the second day. Not worth the money or time unless looking for a place to spend the night and move on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
We chose this park thinking it would be a good base camp from which to explore the Portland and Columbia River Gorge area. In practice it was just a bit too far away (31 miles) to be convenient. The trade off, however, is the splendid isolation of the park, it's brand new facilities, the big sites spread out over a large area and a great trail system. As a new park, the trees are still small and the campsite areas are exposed. Over time, this will become a gorgeous campground. For now it's already a good choice to explore the Vernonia area and the northwest sector of Oregon including Tillamook. As a base to visit Portland or the Gorge, the 62 mile round trip can be trying. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
This was a very clean and newer State Park. The hook ups were very modern with clean, level, large gravel pads to park and still have plenty of room for tents, canopies, etc. Every site had a large picnic table and fire ring. There was not a playground that I could find, but there were biking and hiking trails for the kids. They do sell firewood and there are a few soda machines but other than that it is come as you are as far as supplies. I tried to connect to wireless, as a previous poster stated there was, but I did not receive any signal. I received two or three channels of TV from my antenna but was glad I had brought movies. Satellite reception should be no problem as most of the trees around the sites themselves have not yet grown to heights to interfere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
This is a wonderful new state park, very convenient to get to from the Portland area. The sites are spacious and all have a fire pit and picnic table (the picnic tables are extra long and have an area with no seats so you could put a high chair there). There IS wireless available - it is very slow and only available near the Welcome Center, but in a pinch you can get online. I used it for work briefly and it worked fine. There is a nice recycling area, they sell wood until 9 PM nightly, and there is an extensive trail system surrounding the park (for hikers, horses, and bicycles). The 144 sites includes all sites (hike in camp, horse camp, cabins). There are currently only 43 full hookup sites available for RVers without a horse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
This is a brand new Oregon State Park. It opened July 2007. There is a total of 82 RV sites with only 1 pull through site. There are 34 tent sites with 22 being hike in only. There are 15 cabins available for reservation along with 16 horse camp sites. Most of the sites in the Dairy Creek West loop are sunny with a few that have large tree shade coverage. Loop roads and sites are gravel with main roads being paved. Cell phone / Air card coverage is adequate. This park is located on the “Banks-Vernonia State Trail” for those who enjoy hiking. Being this park is new and still has a few items that need to be completed we only gave this park a (8), once it is fully completed and the plants etc. get a chance to mature it will definitely be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com