215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Lawson's Landing. was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (707) 878-2443
CGID7465

Lawson's Landing.

Camp Information
Sites
1000
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   8   1   9   6   7   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
The campground has been reduced to a small area called the Seawall just beyond hundreds of "permanent" trailers - most of which are very old and dilapidated. Gone are the days of camping anywhere you want in the large grassy meadows or near the sand dunes due to environmental concerns. The ocean views and the beach access are still very good. The outhouses are suprisingly clean but the restrooms are old and dirty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$31
We have been camping at Dillon Beach (Lawson's Landing!) since the 1950s. It's our #1 favorite place. Lawson's is completely rural. You drive in, fill up your water tank, and find a place to park. It's all open --mostly green pasture land -- with no designated spaces. (There are some way in the back by the Marina that may have actual designated spaces, but for the most part, it's just "find a place you like and set up camp." There is no electricity. RVers use generators. There is a dump station to use on the way out. If you're looking for a place with fabulous restrooms, lots of services, and full hook-ups, this is not the place for you. If you want some place absolutely beautiful where kids can run around and make noise, where you can walk your dogs off leash on the beach (most people do this), and where you can create family memories, this IS the place for you. There's a marina with a dock at the end of the road with lots of fishing and boating. There's also a great little store just before you get to Lawson's, with a nice restaurant next door. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Another reviewer stated that Lawson's has ocean views. Most people camp on the dune side, which doesn't have an ocean view. Some (monthlies?) park near the Marina, which has a fabulous view. We've been camping here for 25 years in tents and a trailer; my husband's family has camped here since the 50s. This is a fabulous place if you love being near the ocean, don't want to feel boxed in (warning: summer weekends, it's crowded), and don't mind that you don't have any hookups AT ALL. RV camping is best for stays of longer than a day or two. You fill your tank when you come in and use the dump station when you leave. There are only a few water spigots so tent camping = roughing it. There are only a few restrooms but many outhouses. We travel all over the US and Lawson's is by far our favorite retreat. It's a fabulous place for dogs and kids, too. Great for walks. I can't say enough good things about it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Always have a great time, have been coming here for years. One thing about Lawsons Landing it depends what kind of camping you are looking for or accustomed to, if you want structure and being lined up in a campground side by side this is not your place. If you want a open place where you can take up a large area for a group of RVs and have plenty of room to enjoy yourselves then this is your place just no hook ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
There are no actual number of campsites but it's full. You make your own in the cow pasture. Yes, cow pasture or up against a sand dune. Warning, when wind blows, close all your windows or trailer is saturated with sand. Wind blows most of time. Is entertaining to see tents roll away from people's campsite. It's not ocean front. You have to walk quite a ways to get to the Bay. Sharks have been sited near state beach. Water hookups? You are lucky to find someone to split the water with. Everyone camps on top of each other. Bathrooms are rank. We would drive to Bodega Bay to the Tides restrooms to wash our faces, brush our teeth when our water supply ran out. I understand they raised the rate to keep those who caused problems out. Yes, someone even pulled a gun on my son-in-law when he pulled up too close to their campsite. Alcohol played a part. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$31
Our family has camped here for 6 decades. It is one of our favorite places. This "campground" is a beautiful, open pasture land, an easy walk to the beach, and next to the sand dunes. There are no hook-ups. There are 2 bathrooms, but they're some distance away. Mostly, people use Porta potties. You fill your RV water tank when you arrive. There's a dump station to use when you depart. If you're tent-camping, this is a real roughing-it place. Love RV parks full of cement, gravel, where you're parked 5 feet from your neighbor and there's not much to see, but where you have full hookups and TV? Then Dillon Beach is not the place for you. Want a place that's lovely, quiet (except for summer holidays, when it is absolutely packed and can get rowdy), a place great to walk around, relax, take the dogs, etc.? Then this is your place. It's easier on families that have RVs. We've been here in everything from pup tents to trailers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
Lawson's Landing has a very Bohemian fee land has been the same for decades. Camping sites are first-come first-serve. Water front sites are actually on hard pack dirt area along N shore of Tomales Bay near mouth to ocean. People often bring stakes and caution tape to mark off their camp area (great idea on weekends). Small bait store with ice, beer and a few items on campgrounds. Dump station on site. No BR (outhouses on site) or showers. Some scattered water spigots. Cow's graze campground so expect cow patties. Dock to fish off of. Boat launch in sand (dangerous entrance to ocean though). Nice Cafe/small store located close by. Campsites behind very large dunes go first. Campground in danger of being shut down by local environmentalist. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
Go here with a group of rigs for a great time. Circle up the rigs with a big shared bonfire in the middle. This is dry camping at its best - lots of stars, surf and sand. Don't go for the amenities. This is truly a get-away site for those who like to rough it in their RV's! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
A huge park with a free for all atmosphere. There are rules, but they're not enforced. Dogs are supposed to be leashed but they weren't always and it wasn't a big deal. If you come with a group, you can circle your rigs and have a somewhat private area. You can't beat the proximity to the beach: the campground is just over some dunes (which block the wind!). Bathrooms were not very clean, but if you're in an RV, it's not a problem. There was quite a bit of manure (bring a scooper) from the grazing cows (and dogs). I'd go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Think Burning man, with families, hundreds of them. There are rules, not enforced, more of a self regulated community. A zoo on weekends, heaven and cows during the week. Yes, most of it is cow pasture, they may be in your site on the weekdays. Dune side camping, some waterfront (tight and real resident feel), mostly fields among the big dunes. 1 mile by several hundred yards wide, pick a spot, setup camp. Or setup a wagon circle with your rigs, bonfires are common all year long. Inside fields tend to be rowdy, with groups of campers, generators, palm tree lights, and loud conversation. Dune side tends to be quieter with Ocean sounds prevalent and more families. A child's paradise for many decades. Small dunes, huge dunes (no ATV), biking, hiking, beach combing (safe surf), and even the occasional snipe hunting ;) Porta-a-potties (better, and emptied often) and dirty restrooms for tenters, RV's use your own. No showers. Water spigots in the center meadow that people 'tee' off of where you can fill up. No power, dump stations, 2. Check-in, daytime. Checkout before nightfall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com