223422 User submitted reviews online!!
High Plains Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (307) 687-7339
CGID7467

High Plains Campground

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   5   5   5   2   1   5   5   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
This campground is located across the street from Cam-Plex. The parking spaces are gravel, there are small areas of grass between the spaces. Pull-throughs are 50 amp full hook-up, but tight. There appear to be long-term renters with rather junky looking stuff sitting around. It is surrounded by fields, so it is quiet at night. To summarize, this is a campground not a destination. We would not choose to camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
We stayed at this campground because there were no other options, other than a truck stop. It is dirty, messy, smelly and expensive (for what you get). Most of the sites are seasonal campers, and they do not keep up their property at all. There was insulation all over and half built rotting decks on some of the seasonal sites. It felt like a very run down trailer park. We made sure all of the doors and windows were locked at all times. The sites were gravel and very close together. You need to share a water hookup, so we had to run the hose under our camper and add an additional 100 foot hose in order to reach the hookup. The sewer hole (and it was only a hole) was so small our hose wouldn't fit in, so you had to hold it down while emptying the tanks. Since the hole was so small, it bubbled up while you were emptying. Very messy and smelly. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Good overnight. Strong Wi-Fi. Gravel sites, it looks like they are set up for cold weather camping. Area has a strong job market and there are lots of full timers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
One of only two campgrounds around the Gillette area. Campground is way to expensive for being gravel sites. Had no choice but to stay here because according to reviews of the other campground, this was far better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Over-priced, but couldn't do any better in this area. Campground feels like a low-end trailer park. Lots of full-time residents with lots of junk around their trailers. We had to get our neighbor to unhook his extra water hose from our water hook-up, but he was nice about it. Although we arrived before 5:00 pm, office (store) was already closed, and there were no instructions on how to register or pay. We called the phone number on the door and were told to just park in a spot; the store would be open in the morning for us to register before we left. Fortunately, a little girl who seemed to live in a camper near the shower house, gave us the combination to get in the bathroom. Bathrooms were clean and large, but felt like you were in an institution with big heavy metal doors. I would prefer not to stay here again, but there's not a better choice in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
First the good news: If you get a pull through, last row south, you have a nice view of Wyoming grassland. And the train tracks are about a half mile north, hardly noticeable. Our space was long enough that we did not have to unhook the toad, and easily leveled the rig. The sewer hookup was hiding under a rock that we almost drove over, and the water hookup was in the next site. It would have required laying the hose over the driveway of the next site and hoping no one drove over it. Luckily we had enough fresh water on board, and were not planning to dump. Near the hookup side, it appeared a former camper had dumped their gray water (at least I hope it was gray water) directly on the ground from the amount of grease on the gravel. Time to take the dogs for a walk: watch out for the dogie land mines in the driveway! I realize some of this reflects on the campers, but you'd think the owners would check the areas occasionally. Nope, we would not stay here again. And I read that the other park in Gillette is worse! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Gillette needs another RV park. With only two choices, since the huge Cam-Plex is open only for special events, it's difficult to find a place to stay. We got one of two available 30 Amp sites left, and it was narrow and short. The park is mostly filled with local workers. It's okay for an overnight stay, but we probably won't come here again. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
This park was mostly occupied with people working in the area. Very few traveling RVers. Has more of an appearance of a trailer park rather than an RV park/campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
This park is used primarily by workers on wheels folks; as the area is in a "boom" situation and housing is minimal. This is one of two parks (open to the public) in this town. The staff was friendly. It could use some "perking up"; but overall it was acceptable for our week's stay in a motorhome. The area is safe and located across the street from the Events Center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$11
This park was awful, and not at clean. Our site had no grass, although neighboring sites did. We did not have a picnic table either. We were traveling with another party and told that there weren't two adjacent sites available, only to discover otherwise, after we had set up camp. I would not plan to spend any time here, although a quick overnight stay should be fine. The one saving grace of this park was the laundry facilities, they were fantastic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
High Plains was very convenient to the city of Gillette and our work at the Wyodak Coal Power Plant. It's also right across the street from the Camplex Multi event facility, so there are always things to do (especially in summer months). We stayed here for 2 months and found the campground quite small and cramped. The sites are hard to come by, so make reservations far in advance. There are a lot of permanent residents in this campground as well, most rigs are skirted (from winter use) and there isn't much in the way of landscaping. The campground isn't very attractive but was reasonable enough for us and very convenient. Office staff & manager was extremely helpful and very kind. We would stay here again just because of her! May be back again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com