224369 User submitted reviews online!!
Riverside State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (509) 465-5064
CGID7470

Riverside State Park

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   10   10   9   9   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
As always, this is one of our favorites. The state has a new pricing policy in effect whereby the more popular campground sites cost more money and they also charge more for out-of-state residents, so it's becoming a bit pricey for us to stay here for only getting partial hookups. The fire danger was very high so no fires were permitted but we still enjoyed sitting out and watching the osprey fish in the river and teach their young to fly. This is a beautiful, peaceful place that we will always keep in our list of stopovers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
Riverside has two CGs - this review is for Bowl & Pitcher. It's a beautiful, quiet, peaceful CG with spacious sites. Price reflects out-of-state residency and reservation fee. You need to buy tokens for the shower: a quarter for 3 minutes and at least 30 seconds of that is waiting for the water to warm up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
There are many campgrounds that make up Riverside State Park. The one I am reviewing is Bowl and Pitcher. Beautiful treed campground with two levels, one up by the entrance and one right on the river. There are no full hook-ups by the river except for the host site, but if there isn't a host you can camp in the site. Two pull-through sites and the rest back-in. Several are big rig friendly. The rest of the lower campsites are 30 and 50 amp and water (Winter before April 15 the water is off at the sites but flush toilets and fee showers are on) Vault toilets on either end in the reserve group camping area. Upper campground has several full hook-up sites but not a good fit for a big rig and only back in sites, flush toilets and pay shower in the middle, mostly sites for tents and a dump that is free for campers. There are lots of hiking and biking trails, a swinging suspension bridge, easy walking down by the river and canoe launches in several areas. There is an equestrian center and an off road vehicle area, a rental house at the entrance and a large group camping outdoor kitchen in the center of the bike/motorbike camp ground near the suspension bridge. Great kids and pet friendly campground with friendly hosts and clean restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
This is another great Washington State Park that is located right on the Spokane River. The sites were plenty wide for our RV and you back right up to the river. Best of all, it's very quiet here, but I imagine it fills up here during the summer months. There is an on-site host that takes great pride in maintaining his campground and the bathrooms are spotless! The only downside is that you have to navigate downtown Spokane traffic and some narrow streets to get here but it's doable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Typical of Washington State Parks, this one is reasonably up to date with a new-ish shower/toilet facility. Price reflects add-on for online reservation. Site was level and trees provided shade (but might cause problems for those wanting to use satellite dishes). Overall, we had a pleasant overnight stay. While this park is on the edge of Spokane, it is located in a lovely area along the Spokane River. It's some distance from Interstate 90 along a narrow 2-lane road that passes a sewage treatment plant (but there were no odors or noise). There was no ranger on duty at the gate when we arrived, but we were able to follow the procedure to register. It was a simple process as we had printed our online receipt and had the necessary number to fill in on the payment envelope to show we'd already paid. Also, as typical of WA State Parks, tokens were required for the shower, adding a couple of dollars cost. There was a token vending machine by the entry to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$46
This park is a little gem. We booked it as an overnight stop without know anything about it, so we weren't sure what to expect. But it's a beautiful setting along the river, with water & electric. We'll definitely stay here again when in the area. We stayed at the Bowl and Pitcher section of the SP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
A beautiful state park. Clean restrooms, clean fee showers, good fee dump station. We stayed in the level gravel sites along the river front. A little scary getting into the park as the road is a bit narrow for a 43' rig, but once you’re in, it’s peaceful and serene. Friendly front office staff. Gate closes at 10:00 pm, but access is still available to over nighters. Walking paths, river access, picnic areas, an excellent state park and we plan to visit again for a longer period. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$1
The rate was actually 0 with my husband's disabled veteran pass. Fourteen excellent RV pads right along the Spokane River. Excellent for bird and wildlife watching. The town of Spokane is only 5 miles away, but you never feel in town there...it is nice and secluded. There are many good trails for walking your dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Nice campground. Quiet and clean. The guy who checked us in was very unhelpful. Did not know anything. The bike trail is quite steep in places. We rode to 9 mile falls and to Spokane falls. Did not use the showers as they were pay for use. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Overall, a great park! The site was spotless when we arrived with the entire site raked including the driveway and parking pad! Nice trails for hiking/biking and view points. The paved road with no vehicles on the other side of the river is great for nice long quiet bike rides or runs. I will say the only negative is the sewage treatment plant right next door! Who does that? Every time you come and go from the park you pass it! You can't swim or go in the water, fish or enjoy the river other than look at it, what a shame! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Great state park right in Spokane. We were in the Bowl & Pitcher area. Easy site to get into. Only downside was too many trees to get a satellite signal. Park was well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
We have camped here many times and thoroughly enjoy this park. My rating is slightly lower this year due to the fact that the weeds are starting to take over the camp sites. A few years ago the state stopped watering the grass in the sites. Now that the majority of the grass is dead, the weeds are becoming quite prominent. It's a shame to see all the initial work of building and landscaping these sites go to waste, but it's an unfortunate reality of budget cutbacks. The rate shown reflects an additional $5 charge for out of state residents. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
5th of 12 stops on our 28 day, 7 state camping adventure from California. Washington State Parks are pretty much the "thing to do" in place of "regular RV parks". This place was absolutely beautiful. No sewer hook-ups at campsite, but not needed with very clean restrooms/showers. Just a couple minutes from downtown Spokane and nestled along the river. Absolutely beautiful and very clean. Would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
A very busy state park in an urban area with several areas for camping. We stayed in the Bowl and Pitcher area. Sites 1-15, the lower area on the banks of the Spokane River, look fairly new, have electricity and water, and are gravel surfaced back in with paved access roads. Sites 16-33, the upper area, are older sites, gravel pads and access roads. This is the only area with a few full hook-ups and not extremely big rig friendly. A very friendly crew of volunteers and staff is keeping the area very neat and clean. The last couple of miles of road coming into the park (A L White Parkway) are fairly narrow. If you are coming in from I-90 get and use the directions from the State Park web site. My GPS directed us down through several neighborhoods with very narrow streets. Park is probably not one to go to without reservations. Directional signs within the park leave a bit to be desired. Additional $11.50 in fees for on line booking. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
First time stay. Beautiful campground with big, fairly level, gravel sites. We stayed in the sites that back onto the river which all are nice. Sites are staggered and privacy is little but the environment makes up for that. Only thing that prevents this from being a 10, as another poster mentioned, is no sewer hookups. We booked on-line and paid $34/night along with $6.50 reservation fee and $5 non resident fee. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
As always we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this park. The sites are meticulously maintained by the camp hosts and the facilities are top notch. The only reason I did not rate this a 10 is due to the fact that sewer connections are not available. The rates are creeping up - we paid the $34 nightly fee plus $6.50 reservation fee and were then charged an additional $5 non-resident reservation fee. Seems a bit steep to me, but we will come back again just because it's such a nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
I have camped in this park on three different occasions. The rangers and camp hosts are most friendly; the location, though, is a bit tough to find the first time. It is ideally located for all the different river activities. I especially enjoyed the osprey nests across the river and watching the parents "fish" the river for their offspring. There are group sites at the end of the bowl & pitcher with vault toilets and water is available. I love this park! I stayed 6 days! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Beautiful park located right on the river. The river was extremely swollen, high, and fast during our visit, because of recent rain, as well as unusually large snow melt. Fire ring available at each site, and the park ranger even delivered firewood to our site. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
I too had a little problem locating the park, but it was worth it. It is like a little paradise surrounded by a big city and all of the shopping and restaurants that go with that. The park had good size sites, and hiking trails everywhere. The river is relaxing and would probably be great to get in at the right time of year. If you like getting out and exploring both nature and a city, this place is great. The hosts were nice and helpful and we will be back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We found this to be a lovely campground tucked away from the busyness of Spokane. The staff was very friendly and the sites were large and clean. It was a bit tricky to find but worth the effort. We camped in the lower campground along the river and enjoyed watching the blue herons and other birds along the water. Our only difficulty was some of the shower tokens didn't work but the staff was very accommodating. We would come back for another visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This is a wonderful place to stay in Spokane. This is our second stay here in the past two years and we enjoyed it as much as before. The sites are large and well spaced apart. The campground is very quiet and there is an abundance of nature around. The suspension bridge and hiking trails are wonderful. We will always stay here when we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is a tough park to get to. Signage to the park is not good, and it seems to run you through town, when it's really not necessary. We arrived late and had to pick a spot in the upper level as all the river front spots were taken. Nonetheless, the site we had was pleasant enough: pretty much dirt. Didn't really matter though, as we were only stopping en-route to Glacier National Park. Campground host was very friendly. The drive out to the freeway was much easier, as we followed our GPS rather than signage. If you want a river front site, need to reserve ahead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This was a beautiful park. It was a little difficult to find, but worth it. Our site was right on the river but getting to it was difficult. The river was wonderful once we got to it. It is deep enough to swim in. The park aides were a great help. Make sure you take the time to see the swinging bridge. We will definitely go back there to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
We stayed here for two days. This is a wonderful campground. My husband is a disabled vet and in WA State vets camp for free in state parks with a WA State Disabled Vets Lifetime Pass. We had site #3 and it was situated next to the river. Site was clean, utilities worked well. Lots of wildlife. Sites are spacious with quite a bit of room in between. Didn't use the showers. We came in late afternoon on a Sunday. Was a bit difficult to find the turn off as it is in town. There was lots of traffic and it was a bit hairy navigating. From I-90 take exit 280 for Maple Street toward Lincoln Street. Merge onto W 5th Avenue. Turn Left at S Walnut Street and continue on N Maple Street Access Street. Take a slight right at N Maple Street. Turn left at W Frances Avenue/WA-291. Frances merges with W Nine Mile Road/WA-291. Turn left at W Rifle Club Road. There will also be a park sign that states Bowl and Pitcher Campground that points down W Rifle Club Road. Follow the road through the residential area. Take a slight left onto N Auberey L White Parkway. Follow road to the signs pointing to the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Great park right in the city but feels like you're way out in the woods. I'd give it a higher rating if it had sewer hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
If you arrive from the north, you will travel via Nine Mile Road. If you arrive from the south, you will travel via Government Way. Both routes are marked with enough signs to get you there. The road via the south is paved; however, it's a very narrow, winding road for about 4 miles. If you are driving toward the park on this road, you are driving along a very tall rocky earth berm with a very tiny "might as well not exist" shoulder area. If you are driving away from the park on this road, well, make sure all of your wheels are inside the road lane and don't go over the edge or you will go over the bank and into the river (not much shoulder area on that side, either). At about two miles in, there is a water reclamation site. Employees of the reclamation site park their cars precariously along the side of the highway, so you have to be careful through that section, especially if another car is coming the other way. If you are familiar with Spokane, I recommend getting yourself to the north part of Spokane, then travel along Francis Avenue, which goes into the Nine Mile Road route. The non-utility sites are on the upper campground. The utility sites are all on the river, except for Site #5. This site is located in a very inconvenient spot. It's a "pull-through," but you have to make a very tight, almost a U-turn, to be able to "pull-through." I missed the turn, and ended up backing into it. Also, you are allowed one RV and one tow vehicle. Snafus and terror driving aside, this is a beautiful park, and the sites on the river are the best. You get a somewhat spacious area where there is a picnic table and fire ring. There is also plenty of space to pitch an additional tent. The shower token machines were broken, so showers were FREE this week. YAY! The showers weren't sparkling, but they were passable, I recommend that you wear shower shoes. The park ranger makes a drive through the park every night between 7:00 PM and 9:00 PM, and when storms were coming up (and there was a big one that night!), the ranger stopped and mentioned it to those who had their awnings out. There is also a picnic area, and hiking area. Lastly, the Enterprise Rental Car office on Francis Avenue told me they get a small, but steady amount of business from people who stay at the State Park. However, be forewarned that if you use this option, you may run into the "extra vehicle" snafu. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Excellent park for being so close to town. The road to it is a little narrow and winding - high above the "raging river!" (We went in early May.) The camps are basic, water and power, and are not too close together. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
After growing up in Spokane and taking many day trips as a child to Riverside, I returned for a family event and camped at Riverside State Park. It was well worth the price in our estimation. There are actually two loops. Sites 1-14 are beautiful spots right on the river near brand new bathrooms. These spots are $30, but there is very little traffic and the price actually cuts down on the party people. Most of them are up in the upper loop. Most camps in an urban setting have lots of young people whooping it up on weekends. The upper loop appears this way judging by the 10 campfires I saw there at midnight when we rolled in. The sites here are $20, I believe, most without hookups. Make reservations and spend the extra ten bucks. The lower loop is beautiful and quiet. You will not know you are in the city. This is a great park for hiking and biking and the views of the river are fantastic. You can view photos of each site on the Washington Parks website. Nearby is Downriver Golf Course if you are so inclined--a great city course on the river. And you are just minutes from downtown. If you are visiting Spokane, give this park a try. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This is about ten minutes from Spokane, down a winding narrow but paved road. The great thing about it is you get that out of the way, forest feeling while being very close to a busy metropolitan area. I thought the price was a little much for a state park, but we did have a nice spot on the river with hook-ups. There is a little swimming area on the river and a swinging walking bridge that was a real hit with the kids. I was also impressed with the way the sites were set up so you didn't get a lot of traffic, only those camping were allowed down the road to the campsites, which made us feel safe and reduced noise. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com