206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Prairie Flower Recreation Area COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (515) 984-6925
CGID7494

Prairie Flower Recreation Area COE

Camp Information
Sites
154
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   6   9   9   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$10
This campground, on Saylorville Lake (an Army Corps of Engineers project) had been improved since our last stay. It was great then and is even better now. We camped on the "B" loop and had a lovely view of the lake. Large cement pad (level also), excellent table and fire pit grace every site in this loop. This area is very well maintained. I got a 50% discount because of the Senior card that I got at a National Park. While there were a lot of people at this campground, the sites are large enough that you don't feel like cordwood-city. Camping here is about 30 minutes away from downtown Des Moines. Excellent shopping centers are only about 10 minutes away at the intersection of 160 and US 35. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
Rate quoted is with the Federal Golden Pass. What a nice campground. Clean, well kept, quiet. Only thing would make it better would be full hook ups. But at only $9 a night, who's complaining! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Absolutely loved this campground! The loop we were in was so spacious. It was not over crowded and was very peaceful when we were there. The bathrooms/showers were kept up very nicely and were conveniently close. There were 7 spots in our loop and our family/group had 6 of those spots. Our entire group plans on returning frequently. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
$9 with Golden Age Card. We camped in Prairie Flower North where sites are wagon-train style surrounding a grassy circle with pavilion in the center. Great for group camping, but not so great if you value your privacy. Water available from spigot in center of circle. Dump available. Prairie Flower South has 131 back-in sites with concrete patios and some shade trees. Probably worth reserving if you were going to spend several days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$16
I'm not a big fan of the Corps of Engineers, but this park is something they've done right. Spacious, level, concrete pads, paved interior roads, lots of space between sites, and enough trees for shade but not so many they get in the way. Electrical service only, but water faucets are scattered throughout. There's an easily accessible dump station. Good antenna TV reception from Des Moines. The rate we paid was due to the Senior Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
What a nice place. Has very large spaces with large concrete pads. There are lots of trees. The place would be a "10" if the sites had water and sewer, but I'd pick this place anyway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$9
Prairie Flower is one of four campgrounds located on Saylorville Lake, a 26,000 acre COE multipurpose flood control project located approximately fifteen miles upstream from downtown Des Moines. The park’s address is Johnston, but the campground is accessed by Hwy 415 between Ankeny and Polk City. All interior roads are asphalt. A majority of the sites are open, spacious and big rig friendly. (103 sites are available for individual reservations out of the total 245 sites.) The Corp is gradually upgrading the gravel pads to cement. The grounds were well maintained, and the restrooms with showers were very clean. Prairie Flower is popular on weekends. We used Golden Age Passport. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Very nice COE park just north of Des Moines. Very clean and well-kept. Staff was very friendly and always helpful. Bathrooms were very clean and monitored frequently. Lots of shade in the south campground. The north (group) campgrounds are pretty open, but if you have a large get together, or a lot of friends, this is a great spot for "circling the wagons". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
This is a very good Corp of Engineer campground. It is one of the more uniquely laid out ones I’ve been in. It is divided into multiple looped sections each with bathhouse and playground facilities that are centrally located and well maintained. The group and tent sections are circular with a pavilion in the center. Tent sites are grass. 30A electrical boxes are positioned around the perimeter so that a small sized rig can also use the section. It is a very nice setup for groups. The roads are paved. Some RV sites are gravel; some are concrete and all have a picnic table and fire ring/grill. Not all gravel sites are level despite the fact that they could be. The area is not hilly. There is a 30A only section, but 50A service is the norm. The voltage was good, but there is no water on the pads. There are numerous community water faucets for filling holding tanks. There is a huge amount of space between most sites. About half are shaded, but trees do not interfere with them or the access roads. The majority have ample parking for your tow or towed vehicle. Each section has a designated parking area for boats. The single dump station is two-way, but there will be a waiting line if the park is full. Trash dumpsters are at the entrance of the campground so you’ll have to driving to them. Downgraded the rating for the lack of water/sewer, some un-leveled, but one of the nicer Corp parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Camped here several times while living in IA, one of my favorites. We love site 190, some road noise with windows open. Very flat and great for biking and walking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Absolutely perfect campground, we would recommend this to anyone wanting a nice relaxing campsite. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com