206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Herkimer Diamond KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (315) 891-7355
CGID7505

Herkimer Diamond KOA

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   8   8   10   7   8   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
This campground is beautiful. The site was level, power and water pressure was good. Lots of room between sites and lots of shade. Sites are grass with gravel area for parking. Staff friendly and helpful. The campground is right across the road from the "diamond" mine, but a little out from town. Wi-Fi was only adequate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This is not only a beautiful park it is extremely clean. The river running thru the park only added to its beauty. Roomy site, Wi-Fi worked great. Maybe a little out of the way, but well worth the extra drive. I would love to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
Stayed here in the pull though sites which are long on a gravel drive with grass and a few trees for shade. Width was OK, but sites along river were tighter. Walk across the street to the mine where we did find 10 non perfect "diamonds". Well kept and friendly staff. Though didn't tube the river, many were and having a good time. Will return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
We stayed here for Labor day weekend. When we got here I was not too impressed. We had a site right on the river, which although nice, it was very tight (but doable). Was level but with a tree on our site there was not enough room to put our awning out. The fire ring and table was behind our MH right along the river. They definitely squeeze in the sites along the river that are FHU's. The sites with just E/W on the river, have much more room. The pull through sites are a very nice size and level too. But after being here a day, my initial thoughts have changed. Would love to have this CG closer than the 4 hours it took to get here, we would come back often. Overall nice CG. We would love to come back soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
Be very specific about your needs and preferences when doing your booking. Hookups (W,E,S) vary from site to site. Some of what seem like premium sites only have W&E. We like everything else about this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Excellent campground. Choice of sun or shade. We camped on the river. Beautiful view, diamond mines across road, nice clean quiet park. Clean well maintained bathrooms, showers, pool, tubing available. Level sites. Will def stay here again. Only criticism is wish store had greater selection. It doesn't carry basics like eggs, so had to go into town to get supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
Large and nicely laid out campground. Typical KOA, with playground, pool, planned activities, movie nights etc. Plenty of kids having fun. Well maintained grounds, sites a little close but not too uncomfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$54
Our second time here. This time we brought the G'kids and they really enjoyed the many available activities. There's diamond prospecting, river tubing, disk golf, Erie Canal cruising and the Utica Zoo is a few miles away. We did it all and I'm exhausted. In 2009 I chided them for not doing any recycling. Now they've gotten with the program. They even have Kabins that are completely off the grid. All the facilities are neat and clean. The sites on the river bank are where you'll find me when I go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$62
This is one of the best campground we've ever stayed in as a family who camps frequently throughout the US & Canada. We had a deluxe patio site (number 61) backing onto the river. The campground had a nice little dog run our miniature schnauzer loved. It was located right across from the Diamond Mines, we didn't go too but it looked interesting. The park had lots of staff and it really showed with the upkeep of the park right down to firepits being cleaned out when people left, we saw this and were impressed. Nothing really to say other than if you want a nice relaxing holiday in a well maintained RV resort in Central NY this is the place to come, we loved it and plan on going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Used for an overnight stay . Very disappointed that the 30 amp service measured 105.5 volts . Not good for electrical appliances . Infrastructure needs updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
This is a very nice, well maintained park. Check-in was quick and friendly. We had a FHU pull-thru site which included cable and Wi-Fi. We did not use the Wi-Fi so cannot attest to signal strength or speed. We used our Verizon air card and had adequate signal on it as well as our Verizon cell phones. Our site was plenty long to accommodate both our 40' motorhome and our toad without unhitching. They even have organic gardens of herbs around the grounds that you are welcome to partake when they are ready to harvest. All they ask in return is a small donation to a children's cancer fund. This campground is priced higher than we like to pay but we needed an overnight park in this area and it had everything we needed. It certainly could be used as a destination park. It's on the bank of the Mohawk River and across the road from the Herkimer Diamond Mines. Although pricey, we would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$57
Lovely location in nice grounds next to a beautiful river. Would get a top rating if it was for the dirty shower rooms which were full of flies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$60
This is the second time staying here. Overall it is a nice campground with a lot to do if you have children. My only complaint are that people including the staff regularly walk right through your sites as a shortcut. This occurs all day long. A designated path would solve this issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Nice campground with paved interior roads. Most sites are grass or gravel. They need to have work done on their electricity. We use 50 amps, and our surge protector kept clicking off. Our neighbor had some issues also. We only stayed one night due to the electric issues, didn't want to take any chances. The girl in the office stated that they have had issues with electric in the past, and that they needed to have it taken care of. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$46
This is a nice campground. The staff was challenged due to a bad storm the night before our arrival, and their systems were down, but they over came the problems. Our site was nice, river front, and clean. The bathrooms were always clean. I might be bias on this review due to the fact that we had vehicle problems, but the staff provided a phone number to a garage that answered the call on a Sunday night and fixed the problem. The pool was nice as was the playground. Our only complaint is minor, they clean the bathrooms at nine in the morning till 10:30 and there wasn't time to get everybody through by 9am. That won't stop us from staying there again. The diamond mines are across the road and there is lots of space for the kids to run and play. If your in the area I recommend this campground. Nice sites, very good staff, clean and well maintained facilities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
We really liked it here. Yes, the sites are tight: don't expect to be very far apart. But, it was really nice to be right on the river, and if we go again, I would ask for a river site. The sound of the rapids was really nice to sleep too, and totally covered the highway noise. Our children enjoyed tubing down the river, and tried mining for "diamonds" across the street. They lasted longer than I thought, and had a good time. The park was across the street from us, but wasn't too loud or busy, and there was a lot for the children to do. The park was clean, the bathrooms were impressive. The pool was older, but a fair size. We will probably go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
It was a nice park with many activities for the kids. We were just overnighting and looking for basics and we found them. I think I had the same check in guy as the last poster. Was not helpful or friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We only stayed one night as a rest day. The sites were nice, we were a bit tight but we have a 37 ft 5th wheel with 4 slides. We would come back in the future for a longer stay. Also: remember to bring tubes for the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
We only "overnighted" in this park. Unfortunately we were not impressed. The road in the campground desperately needed the trees trimmed back. The man at the front desk who checked us in was anything but friendly. When we got to our site it was the hardest one in the row to back into. All the sites around us where empty but I figured they were reserved but when we left in the morning they were still empty. I would have thought we could have been assigned any easier to get in/out of spot but apparently they do not know their sites or they simply don't give consideration to that. It could be a nice park if customer service were improved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
This is the nicest KOA we've stayed at so far. Voted top campground for 2010 in the KOA book. Easy access in and out. Friendly, helpful staff. Well laid out campground with space between you and your neighbor. Lots of activities for kids. The Herkimer Diamond mine is across the road from the campground. We had fun sluicing for precious gems and Herkimer Diamonds and even found a few nice ones. Didn't use the laundry or bathroom facilities so don't know how good they are. The only reason they didn't get a 10 rating from me is that once again we were assigned a pull through space that was not very level and right next to a seasonal camper with two loud, barking dogs. We had to go back to the office and ask for one of their back-in spaces and are happy we did. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a 40 footer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$41
This campground was neat and clean, the staff friendly and we enjoyed visiting the Herkimer Diamond Mine which you could walk to from the campground. We didn't use the bathroom facilities. The full hookup sites along the river were a little too tight for our taste. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$47
A nice park. The on-site restaurant is really across the street and is only open on the weekends. We were here during the week. The best thing about this resort is the creek: very pretty water sites. I would go back for this. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$49
Total for this stay was 7 days. We had a full hook up site (listed as deluxe?) right on the West Canada Creek. Site was level and clean. Not the biggest sites we have seen but not the smallest. Our site was right next to one of the “lodges” which are not bad for someone who is traveling without a camper. Water, electric, sewer and cable TV worked well. Wi-Fi had intermittent problems, even though we where maybe 40 feet from the transponder. Found it best to walk over toward the rest rooms (where the transponder is located) and go on line from one of the picnic benches. The kids & the wife had a total blast tubing many times down the West Canada Creek. I went down it once but, after my butt bounced off a few rocks. I said that's enough for me! The campgrounds are located within a reasonable drive of Cooperstown and a bit of a further drive to the Adirondack Park. We did both. Both drives are very scenic. Indian lake in the Adirondack’s is a nice destination. The Diamond mine, which is located up the hill and across the street from the campground, was worth the trip. It's hard work in the grueling sun, but we did pull a few specimens out of the rocks. Overall a good trip and a good campground, I would recommend and will probably return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
We stayed here for 2 nights: one night on the way to Lake Ontario and one night on the way back. Ok, so as you approach the campground is very clean and the roads are in good shape. On our first stop, we got a W/E pull-through site. The reason I gave the campground a 7: for one thing you face door-to-door the person in the site next to you (no privacy). Two: there was no fire-ring for our site. Third: the 30amp electric was running low on my meter (110V). Now, the good news. The W/E/S pull-through site we stayed at on the way home, was much better. It had a gravel pad, fire ring, privacy, better internet reception, cable TV, electric running at 120V, and was only 6 dollars more then the W/E site. (Yes: the W/E site was a rip off.) Even better, this campground is close to a lot of nice things to do: such as Herkimer Diamond mines, Baseball Hall of Fame, Erie Canal boat trips, and so much more. We would stay again, just never at the W/E pull-through sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$49
We are new to trailer camping, this is our first camper. This campground was very nice. We stayed at the deluxe site right on the river. The view was awesome, the kids loved it. We went tubing and visited the diamond mine and had a wonderful time. The bathrooms were clean and the store was well stocked. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We enjoyed our stay here even though we were relegated to a water/electric only site away from the river. Large variety of sites available. They have sites with many combinations of river view, electric, sewer, cable TV and I guess none of the above. And, of course there are those charming cabins. Everything I saw was neat, clean and well cared-for. Negative points for the lack of any recycling efforts, everything goes in the trash. Digging in the Diamond Mine is a fun activity. We really enjoyed the Erie Canal Cruise that leaves from the dock near the exit from I-90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$49
A beautifully maintained RV park with avery friendly staff. About 7 miles off of I-90. Sites are level and they have very large and roomy pull through locations. A river runs alongside the park making it very scenic. I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$49
We stayed here on the way to Niagara Falls as a halfway point. Campground was very muddy and buggy. We were put in a muddy site which I wouldn't be able to get in/out of. Past camper left deep muddy tracks probably for same reason. Asked to move and was given a pull thru but charged the extra. Weekday stay, plenty of sites, thought they should have moved me since it was their fault for the muddy site. No activities here. OK pool. Wi-Fi only worked outside camper. Restrooms dirty. Won't return to this one...not even for a stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
I am not a big KOA fan, but this park is far better than most KOA's. The sites are large and the grounds are very pretty and well cared for. Many of the sites front the river, with people fishing and kayaking all along the shore. The staff was efficient and the camp store was well stocked. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$44
The big feature for this campground are the creek side sites . Campground is well kept but the tree limbs and branches need to be trimmed back on campground entrance and the site we were at . Maybe this campground sees few big rigs ? Additional 50AMP sites are sorely needed . Plenty to do in the area . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$49
Nice office staff, very friendly. We had a pull through site which was level and had easy hookups. Wifi and cable worked great. Mix of trees and open space. We were able to use our own satellite to get internet as well. Other then the price we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Beautiful campground. Easy in & out for big rigs. We thought the spaces were wide enough and not cramped. If in a Class C or smaller, get a spot on the river - it's worth it! Herkimer Diamond mine across the street and lot's of activities for kids if needed. Level graveled sites with grass. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Nice campground, well maintained with sites along the Creek that were very nice. Staff was extremely friendly and very cooperative. Also had a family function at the Pavilion and there was no charge for its use. Due to the location there was no Cell phone service which was a definite negative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$47
Very clean and well laid out. Pull-thru site was easy to access. Staff was very nice and friendly. We will camp here again. Only negative is KOA's consistently high prices. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$19
We stayed here during the buy one night, get one night free weekend. The riverfront sites are beautiful. Good Cable and hookups. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$41
Our first trip to CG. The CG was clean but the sites were cramped. The hook-up sites forced one camper to back in and the other to pull-in since the hook-ups were two together. I camped on the river and we were up on a ridge so flooding was not a problem. It appeared the tent sites had more room but the possible problem I see with them is that the sites on the river looked like they would flood easily if the river rose. The bathrooms were clean but I thought they could use another bathhouse, possibly closer to the the tent campers since most rv's have facilities on board. The diamond mines were a neat attraction, however, no one told us we would get a discount since we stayed at the KOA. The pool was small but the kids liked it. It would have been better if it had been heated. The weather was a bit chilly and the pool seemed colder than the river. The arcade was small with only a few games. There was a large field to play sports in. There's a nice sized playground. The weekend we were there they had a DJ and 1.00 ice-cream sundaes. The kids enjoyed dancing with the other campers. All in all we had a great time there with our friends and will most likely go back but request a different site. It appears the owners are making improvements to it, upgrading sites with cement patios, patio furniture, bbq's and planting trees to provide more shade. The staff and owner were very friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
The only reason I didn't give this top rating is the price -- typical KOA in that it is a well run establishment. They own a restaurant and diamond mine across the street, but both closed before we could get to them. Shade trees, beautiful Mohawk River, not real crowded, nice staff. Stayed two nights and would stay again despite price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
This is the same campground as the Herkimer KOA listed below. We really enjoyed our stay. Our Riverfront site, site 63, had plenty of room and a gorgeous view. The low nightly rate is because we camped in May over the buy Friday night and get Saturday night free, so that averaged out to $19 a night. Great access to the diamond mine right across the street. It was a beautiful, sunny, mild weekend so weather wasn't a problem. Time Warner Cable worked good with 75 channels. Campground wasn't huge in size and didn't have much activities, but we didn't care. We plan on going back again next year for the free night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com