223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Royal Coachman RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (877) 570-2267
CGID751

Royal Coachman RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
548
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   7   8   7   9   8   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$70
We arrived in January to spend the first three weeks of our first RV trip for the winter. The park has much to offer. Check in was prompt and friendly. The park is quite large and is set on the river that leads to the gulf. Lots of shade with large pine trees that did make a mess, but gives you that camping feeling. There are some full time residents in permanent structures. Camp is very clean, people were very friendly. They offered many activities for those who may be interested. Pool was large and clean. Restroom facilities immaculate. There is a library on site with quite a good selection of books. Local farmer comes a few times a week to sell veggies. While we were there they had a swimsuit sale...$39 each suit. There was an excellent selection of high quality brand suits. A groomer comes for your pets, and a vet comes on site monthly. There was a nice craft fair in the club house. All in all, we enjoyed our time spent and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$55
An old established RV resort with tall pine and palm trees. There is a section with permanent park models homes, all very tidy and well landscaped. A large heated pool, tennis courts. This place is for snowbirds who intend to stay all winter and many do. Everything is nice about the place. The only major improvement needed is the office personnel. Very poorly trained office workers who act as though you are lucky to be in the park. The rates keep going up and they don't even offer free WiFi. But the beauty of the park makes up for the negatives. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
Campground was nice with some park models mixed in with the sites. Had free cable and WiFi, but could only get the Wi-Fi to work at the pool area. Sites were grass and not very level. Some sites are tight due to all of the pine trees. Pool area was clean and pool was heated. Also had a library and an computer room to check e-mail. Staff was very friendly. They have full hook ups and also a dump station. We had a free 2 night coupon so we used it. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Love this park. Beautiful. Lots to do for the retired set and families too! Very nice facilities, well kept bathrooms, wonderful trees, very relaxing weekend, will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$65
Things I didn't like: You only get cable if you get a cable box from the cable company - only good if staying there a long time.The sites are set up strangely; you are right up on your neighbor's site. It is part of a mobile home park, so some sites (like mine) looked right at mobile homes. Not all sites like that, though. It can be difficult to park the RV, and I had to have a neighbor move their truck to get out of there. Also, only one lane both directions so can be difficult getting by if someone is coming the other way. Things I did like: Very nice people there. It is part of a nice mobile home park (not a trailer park). It is very wooded, has a dog park, great pool, ping pong table and other amenities. They have canoes they advised you can use for free - I didn't use them. though. Quiet and nice area and only within 15 minutes from the beach and grocery store. Also quick access from I-75. No campfire grills but people had fire pits they brought so I assume those were okay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
We are not usually a fan of Encore parks but this is a definite exception. Most sites have plenty of space, lots of shade (sat outside when the temperature was 95), and plenty to keep busy with. All amenities are well maintained including pool, mini golf, dog park, etc. Close to beach and great bike trails. The only negative is that some of the sites are at odd angles so you are door to door with someone behind you. Still, there is plenty of room between sites so it wasn't too close for comfort. We will be visiting again soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$54
One of the nicest parks you could ever find. Shaded and level lots gives you a feel of old Florida but only 10 minutes from the Gulf & Nokomis Beach, restaurants and great watering holes on the ICW. Some of the best restaurants and shopping only minutes away. The best pool anywhere. Rates are less in the summer and not many around. A great place for the kids to play and feel safe. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$75
Nice, but not worth the price. Unusual circular layout that results in mostly pie shaped sites. It appears that the campground is at least 85% long term seasonal rentals, with about a third of the sites with permanent modular homes. It looks like it would be a great place for active retirees to spend the winter as there were all kinds of activities going on all the time. The pool, tennis courts, horseshoe courts, and club houses seemed to be in constant use. Very pet friendly and even has a fenced in dog park. We only stayed three days, and the transient sites were not anything to write home about. Mostly sand with pine needles. The mature pine trees do provide nice shade, and break the wind. On our site, the sewer was all the way to the back at the highest part of the site, and with our low slung ultralite trailer, I could barely get the tanks to drain (would not have been a problem with a taller rig). Good location though - close to the public beaches in Venice, and not that far from Siesta Key. Next time we will try to get into Oscar Scherer State Park which is right up the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$45
This Encore park is in a beautiful natural setting despite the tight spacing of units. There are two fenced dogie area and lots of nice walking areas. Large pines and palms, small parks interspersed, plus the Dora river on one side. Mix of Park Models and RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
Good park, except for the dog park being misplaced in middle of the resort next to showers and bathrooms. Dogs are allowed to bark at all hours of the day and night. Right next to the dog park and showers are waste bins that have a door that constantly slams with a loud banging noise all day and night. You have to pay for Wi-Fi (terrible service from TengoInternet) and it is expensive. Modem hookup is in the resort lounge. Comcast cable available for long stays. We are long term guests. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
The location that has always been great is even better now that the new Legacy Bike Trail is open. The Legacy Trail is adjacent to the park and extends 10 miles toward Sarasota. The facilities are good but the sites were not designed for the size of RV's that everybody has these days. The rate that we got was a special off-season promotion whereas their normal monthly rates in January, February and March seem rather outlandish to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$65
Fine park with a mixture of modular homes and camping. Nice facilities (wonderful pool and surrounding area). People seemed nice but we weren't there long enough (one night) to really tell. Easy access from the highway but far enough away so there is no noise. Take your map when walking (I left bread crumbs but my Lab ate em) as the layout can be confusing at first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$85
Convenient to shopping and restaurants. Sites were a bit disappointing for the price, but does have a lot of amenities otherwise. WiFl $4.95 per day. Staff took us around in golf cart to preview site and assisted in backing in. Site picnic table was missing so they brought one within minutes. New bike trail nearby had grand opening next day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
I had read a review of the park was frankly afraid to come in. However we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would most definitely return. The sites were fairly private and the campground well taken care of. I would not hesitate to recommend this park and would rate it as a four star. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$79
This is one of the nicest parks on the west coast, close to beaches and much to see and do in the area. However, it is way over priced and is the only reason we will not return. Average cost is $1K/month during winter season. Also, very dirty as no grass on sites, just dirt and pine needles. Pines leave sap on everything and hard to get off of RV. Nice facilites and beautiful pool with extensive activity schedule. Many seasonals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
I love, love, love this campground. We were here about 4 years ago for our 10th wedding anniversary. They have remodeled the pool area, very nice. We still love this park. We will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Let me be up front. We did not stay at this park, but drove to see it while we stayed at Riverside RV Park in Arcadia for a possible future stay. I stayed at this park many, many years ago before it was taken over by Encore Inc. I had fond memories of our family camping trips here and was hoping to bring my own family here for a fun weekend. When we arrived, I went into the office for a map and permission to drive around and have a look. The staff was very friendly and gave me what I needed. While at the office I looked into the pool/rec. area. It appeared really nice and there were numerous families and children playing and swimming. Pool was large and looked well maintained. Unfortunately it went downhill from there: bigtime. The park is now mostly full of "park models" also know as mobile homes. Some were new and nice and clean, many were not. The park in general was cluttered and many trailers looked as though they hadn't moved in years. Tall grass and weeds and lots of various yard debris. We drove the entire park and saw what was left of several nice camping sites. Meaning the sites were nice but surrounded, litteraly, by views of mobile homes, or broken down trailers. Wish it weren't so because this place was beautiful in it's day. Obviously we will not be staying here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2006
$40
This park is a rip off. Streets are narrow. I don't know who wrote up their website, but it is a fabrication. Sites very difficult to maneuver into. Lots of trees, sap, and cones falling. Absolutely without a doubt would not stay in this park or recommend ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2005
$35
No Wifi, no spa, very tight spaces and roads, in need of TLC very over grown, have to go through another Mobile Home park with multiple speed bumps to get to the entrance of the RV Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$30
This terrific campground is near great beaches in Nokomis and Venice but you don't that beach-baked feel. It is located back off the main road and in a stand of pines, so you get good cover while keeping a nice open feeling. Our site #8 was deep and wide. They have a super pool, covered veranda with ping-pong and pool tables, free mini-golf, a nice playset, basketballs waiting for you at the court, tennis courts, and even free canoe usage. My only knock on the place is that they have some park-model homes in a few sites, but they are all very well kept so it didn't ruin the camping experience too much. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$39
This park is hard to get in and out of due to trees and number of RV's that park here. To back a 40 foot motorhome into a space is a job. We had to move cars and come close to damaging our motorhome due to number of trees. Roads are very small and one lane. Cost per day is also high. Most people park here all winter and do not move. Park is very nice to look at and has a lot of toys to play with. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com