206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Half Moon Bay State Beach was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (650) 726-8819
CGID7513

Half Moon Bay State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   6   9   8   9   7   9   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$50
Air is often very smoky from fires. You can't hear the ocean when generators are running. I wish they would install electricity at each site or not allow generators. Tends to be very windy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
Parking lot with a great view and beach access. It's always cold and windy here so be prepared. Waves and undertow can be tough on kids. Bring jackets! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Dry camp only. The beach is 4 miles long and is right there. A easy walk from the campground. Sites 47 through 50 have great views and are not as close together. Generator hours are 10am to 8pm. These hours could be a little bit better. There were showers for a fee, but the park was very busy and we did not use them. Make reservation as we saw many turned away. Hope to stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
Great oceanside campground with some sites on bluff directly above beach. If you love the ocean, you will love this campground. Paved path runs for over 4 miles from harbor to north to golf course on south. Hiking, biking, roller blading. etc. only on path. Wide sandy beach runs entire 4 mile stretch. October is great time to visit with pumpkin festival and wonderful weather to enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is most certainly the best park in the area. Even though it is a standard California State Park with only dry camping, it is much nicer than the “parking-lot” atmosphere of the park by the marina at nearly double the price. All of the sites have a fire ring (need to be emptied) and wood tables. There is plenty of room between sites. Other than the fire rings needing to emptied, the park is well maintained. There are two different price tiers of sites: those next to the ocean for $50 and those 1 or 2 rows away for $35. Many of the $50 sites have their ocean views restricted by a dune or trees and some of the $35 have unobstructed ocean views. The best $35 views are at the southern side of the park, near the day-use area. We were in 48, but 49 and 50 are almost as good. Site 47 is also good, but a tree overhangs the site, and the birds are “active”. There was no issue being next to the day-use area. There is an easily accessed dump station at the park exit. Generator hours are a little tight: off from 8PM to 10AM. A paved walking/bike trail runs next to the park. The path is wide, and there are no significant grades. We biked about 30 minutes south one day and about 40 minutes north the next day. Biking north takes you towards the marina and restaurants. The first restaurant, Miramar Beach Restaurant, is an easy 20-25 minute ride from the park. This might have been the best chowder I have ever had. It’s another 15 or 20 minutes to the marina with several seafood restaurants to choose from. I would have given the park a higher score, but it is hard to go any higher without hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
One of the very few oceanfront campgrounds in California. Many seaside attractions and seaside villages nearby. Wonderful bicycle trail which provides for and 18 miles bicycle ride for the adventurous. Unprotected campsites but spaced fairly well apart. There is no shade but it is not needed anyway. Ocean front camping is always subject to weather and that's part of the experience. Typical California State Park facilities in a non-typical (read: wonderful) setting. Will camp here again ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
OK State campground. Paved parking sites for motorhome and toad, and reasonably level. Grass between sites was overgrown. Clean restrooms and showers. Great beach access. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Level, paved sites. Easy maneuvering and a great location. The grass wasn't mowed, which was my only complaint. Easy access to the beach and each campsite had a fire pit with cooking grate that I saw. Very few trees, but that wasn't a distraction for me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
Very pleasant campground, large, flat grassy sites with paved parking for two vehicles at each. Convenient to San Francisco Bay Area. Most sites have view of water over a berm. There's about 4 miles of flat beach that comprises the State Beach in total. Walking/biking trails. Dogs allowed on some beaches; check with campground personnel. Very quiet with a wide greenbelt separating campground from residential area. Bring binoculars to catch a glimpse Mavericks giant waves if they're breaking offshore in the distance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This was our first time to Half Moon Bay. We thought the campsite was nice with a view of the ocean. However, we were camped in a motorhome and no generators are allowed between before 10am and after 8pm. So no coffee until after 10am. Probably won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Nightly fee reflects 50% disabled rate. Has level, paved sites with a separate pad for tow vehicle or "dinghy". We had an ocean view site which really exposes you to the wind; but gives a nice sunset view. Close to the town of Half Moon Bay, Pigeon Point Lighthouse, and Pacifica. Park was pretty busy, in spite of the pricey nightly rate. We will camp here again, but probably would not if paying the full rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Beautiful location right on the beach. $15.00 more for beachfront row of sites. Clean site. Paved pad. Nice host on-site. All CA State Campgrounds have jumped in price due to budget crisis, which allows private CGs to raise prices also. Consumer loses. Near charming town of Half Moon Bay - walkable. Nice walking and bike path through park. Would stay here again, although expensive for what you get. Area choices are ALL expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We paid $25 per night for an oceanfront site, having made our reservation last March. It's now $50 for a oceanfront site, and $35 for all others. We stayed in a site at the north end of the campground, which no doubt kept out the day visitors -- the restrooms and showers were fine, but very busy on the weekend. $0.25 gets you several minutes on the shower. Sites are fairly level and spaced out reasonably. Weather is iffy, it was quite damp at times while we were there. Would stay here again if in the area. Reservations are essential on weekends, and even during the week if a specific site is wanted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This campground is on the ocean. Which is the only perk. It's beautiful and the beach access is easy. But the rates just recently were doubled from $25/night to $50/night. Which is absolute robbery with no water or electricity hookups. The campground was full the entire time we were here and the public beach next to the campground was very full, too. Which made the bath houses absolutely filthy except for the immediate period following the daily cleanings. Also, the campsites near the shower houses are convenient, but when we were there other campers (children and adults) would just walk right through our high-priced campsite with no regard for our presence. If they add hookups the $50/night fee would be more tolerable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
A very nice California State Beach but basic in that there are no hookups. Beautiful views and easy beach access. We had some stiff winds while we were there that inhibited a lot of outside time. Otherwise it would have been a great. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Stayed here for one night in to our rented motorhome. Good campground, quite spacious even though very busy. Recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This was our favorite campground on a recent trip up the California coast. The sites are spacious, clean, and level. All sites have a view of the ocean. There was a flat walking/biking trail following the coastline that went through the park. The personnel were friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that they did not enforce the generator rules. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
Great park but somewhat expensive for no hookups (and typical of CA state parks). Easy back-in site to get into. Friendly rangers, great location: right on the beach. And Half Moon Bay is an awesome little town. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
This place should be a 10 for a no hookup park. But the reservation systems is wacky. Online you can book 3 nights in advance, not tonight or tomorrow which is fine. But when you arrive and the site is open both nights you can only book tonight, then go back after 9:30 am to book the next night. As a result, people who come in during the week with no reservations are jumping from site to site. Way too much moving around for no reason at all. Weekends are booked solid. $7.50 to book online, worth it if spending several nights, but if passing through and would like to spend a couple of weekdays, beware. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
What a great place! We (Husband/Wife and kids 17/12/4) camped here 2 nights at the recommendation of a friend - we will be back! Only problem was the not so friendly female ranger. I went to ask if we could move from our mid-row site to one that backs up to the ocean - she just kept saying, "its important to keep the site you signed up for" ok, but if the other sites aren't reserved she wouldn't have anything to do with it. Everyone friendly, bathrooms clean, warm showers, (50 cents will do it) close to town, very friendly camp hosts. Firewood is $8 a bundle. Kids loved the water. Rented boogy boards in town. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Wide open spaces. Ocean view from some. A very clean beach. We drove to San Francisco about 30 miles north. Like San Francisco, this area tends to be cold and windy, so bring extra blankets. Were able to get excellent broadband and cell service. The town of Half Moon Bay was delightful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
This is a great place to stay if you are touring on California Highway 1 and would like a clean, safe, ocean-front place to stay. All of the campsites were recently renovated to include paved parking spurs with room for a recreational vehicle and a tow vehicle along side. Sites are well spaced but there are few trees or shrubs to provide privacy. Ocean-front sites have a relatively unobstructed view of the water with only a few trees and shrubs to contend with. Picnic tables and fire rings provided but you must back in to the ocean-front sites for these amenities to be on the curb side of your rig. It was quite windy during our stay which discouraged us from cooking outdoors or using the fire ring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$27
This is our new favorite park. Just a stones throw from the beach and the trails along the bluffs are spectacular. Lots of birds and flowers and walking distance to town. A bit crowded traffic-wise during the weekend. I understand this park was refurbished about 3 years ago to accommodate the new, larger rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
Sites are well spaced and most provide a decent view of the ocean. Long stretch of beach that is easily walkable. Long bike/walk trail that runs along the coast for a few miles. Bathrooms adequate. We were unable to get any signal with WIFI but didn't really put a lot of effort into troubleshooting it. I can see no reason that there shouldn't be electric hook-ups. Water is available at many locations throughout the park. Campground is patrolled often and we felt safe. I would camp here again in a heartbeat and stay longer if there were electrical hook-ups and WIFI. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Like most California State Parks, this one does not have hookups. The climate is such, however, air conditioning is not needed. Not many sites have shade. Sites are paved and level, with a good distance between sites. Not much privacy though. WiFi good but at a cost of $7.99 per 24 hours through AT&T. Biking/Hiking path paved and runs more than a mile south before becoming a dirt trail. At least a mile to the north. I've been here before and do not recall the number of tenters as experienced this time, close to 40% of spaces filled with tenters. Two sites next to me had seven tents and four cars and untold number of adults though they were quiet neighbors. I could easily rate this a 9 or 10 were WiFi free and tenters were assigned to their own areas. About a mile walk into town of Half Moon Bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
I will go back, this was a nice campground. Hookups sure would have been nice, but the proximity to the beach made up for it. The showers were very clean, as was the entire park. Great bike trail that runs through the park. Very weak WiFi signal, and if you have a water thief you can fill up there. Sites were good sized with paved driveways. Grass picnic areas in most sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com