214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Hueston Woods State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (513) 523-6347
CGID7529

Hueston Woods State Park

Camp Information
Sites
488
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   7   5   5   7   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
It's a nice park, but everything is far away from the campground, other than that it's a real nice park. It's also pet friendly. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
Very good value with weekday Passport America rate good Sunday - Wednesday. We had a nice level paved pull through in B loop, this and A are the best bet for larger RVs, 30 amp and need to fill water tank at one of the many water fill locations. A very busy park, lots of kids and the park is very large with lots to do. TV via batwing was good, Verizon cell and broadband were no go, right at the edge for cell reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Friendly hosts and lots of nearby activities. The sites are quite small and you are pretty packed in there. We camped her with friends who brought a pop-up, so we all shared two sites, which made this more bearable. I would probably camp here again despite the close quarters because we live nearby and there are lots of activities we haven't enjoyed here yet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
We were very happy with this campground! The bathrooms were clean, campground hosts were on duty and often visible and it was very quiet at night. There were also rangers passing through on a regular basis. Although we had to "level" at our site, it was clean and had a nice fire ring and plenty of space, no trash from previous guests. There is a laundry facility available and a well stocked camp store with hospitable clerks. Granted, this is not a 5 star resort. We have stayed in several of those which lack charm and don't really give you the true camping experience. Still, we would gladly return. Our son goes to school at Miami U. which is only 15 minutes from the campground so this was convenient. There is a Wal-Mart about 8 miles away. Although we did not take advantage of the lodge pool since it closed on Labor Day, we saw it and noticed it was spotless. The roads are narrow, but not hard to navigate. We camped here in a 39 footer and had no problems. Also, we were able to get several Cincinnati television stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$11
Very large, older park with narrow roads and sites. We were only here overnight and didn't even unhitch. Electric service only. Takes Passport America for $11.50. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We stayed for two nights in the A loop. Our site was extremely sloped and in full sun. It was a challenge to get it level. The sites are close together and the campground was full. The first night we were kept up until after 3 a.m. because someone down on the end was playing loud music. This seems to be a more party oriented campground and very little (aka nothing) was done to enforce quiet hours. We went to go swimming at the beach on Acton lake but there were signs up saying the water quality was poor. The signs appeared to be old but we didn't chance it. We inquired about swimming at the lodge but the price was way more than anyone should have to spend for that small of a pool. We drove to Indiana to Brookville lake instead. The showerhouses were in good condition and kept clean. On Saturday night there was a movie shown in the shelterhouse in the center of the campground. Concessions were offered and our teens went over to watch the movie. They had great funnel cakes and the kids enjoyed this part. The proceeds go to the park. They do have a playground and minigolf which was always busy. Nice activities for kids. We will not be staying here again due to the amount of noise and partying going on at our end. The opposite side of the campground does not offered paved pads and it appeared that even more partying was occurring there. If you don't mind noise and enjoy a more rambunctious crowd this will be for you. If you are looking for quiet and peaceful, you might want to consider another park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
This is an "older" Ohio state park, it was well kept and clean. However, the pull through sites were waaaaay to close to each other and there were tons of rowdiness going on. Rules not being followed very well, with people having 3-4 cars at some sites. We thought maybe it was the weekend crowd, but some of the most rowdy went on. On Monday people were screaming at each other from one end of the campground to another. Although the camper hosts were friendly, it's just not a park we will return to again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
This is a very clean and large campground. We stayed on site 19 in the C loop which was steps away from the playground, restrooms, and water, and was also well-shaded. As a previous poster said, many of the sites are sloped, and it rained part of the time we were there which resulted in several tent campers being flooded out of their sites, so be careful when using the online reservation system. The camp store had basic supplies, and there was a movie shown in the shelter house on Saturday night for families. We were able to drive to the lodge and use their pool facilities for a small fee, which was very nice and refreshing on a hot day. We enjoyed the free putt-putt in the campground, too. The restroom building near our site was old and in need of a good spring cleaning (mainly cobwebs and dead bugs) and some new paint, but usable. The shower house was much cleaner and updated so we tried to use that as often as possible. The town of Oxford is just a short 10 minute drive away and offered many choices of things to do on a rainy day. Overall, we would stay here again in the future and would not hesitate to reserve the same site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
The camping area is very pleasant, - lots of trees, park like setting. One disadvantage: you are not within walking distance of most of the attractions, - lake, etc. The old growth forest trails were spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
This huge and beautiful state park was quiet, well patrolled, and was very well kept. Horseback riding, free putt putt, frisbee golf, nice lake, boat rentals, and miles of nature trails, are all free or very reasonably priced. Convenient to Miami University. Basic supplies in camp store. Marina has grill food for sale. We'll return to this park. Only drawback is that many sites are quite hilly or sloped, so be careful if you use the reservation system. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com