220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Tuck in the Wood Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (843) 838-2267
CGID7535

Tuck in the Wood Campground

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   8   9   10   7   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
We stayed at this park 5 days while visiting the Beaufort, SC area. The name is appropriate because the campground is very wooded, and we found it extremely difficult to navigate through the trees. Entry and exit points had sharp curves and trees right in the curves, one of which we sideswiped with our fifth wheel, causing minor damage. The restrooms were clean and there were places to walk our dogs, although there was a warning sign about alligators. We didn't know if it was for humor or for real. Given the difficulty of navigation, we will not return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$34
We have stayed here several times and find it very nice. The sites are reasonably spaced, well maintained and pretty quiet. There are some seasonal sites that are maintained nicely. It is close to Beaufort and several museums that we wanted to see. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
A true southern low country campground. Plenty of trees, and long pull-throughs. Ground is mostly sand and wood chips. Have stayed here many years while family vacations on Fripp Island. Only drawback: every year new people are in charge of managing. However, all seems to run well. PS: bring some mosquito spray! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
All the previous posts are correct. I camped in a 39 foot MH and had no problem. Luckily the mosquitoes have not been an issue. Sites are large enough to accommodate full slides and awnings. Excellent owners and very quiet and dark evenings. We loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$32
This is a rustic and very quiet campground. The people are the most friendly I have ever met, I had small mishap with my trailer and everyone near to me came to help, they went out of there way to make sure things were taken care of. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The sites are far enough apart and pretty easy to get into although some are slightly not level but is not a problem. Roads are not paved but are well packed down and not a problem getting through. Cable TV and Wi-Fi worked great. This is one I would keep going back too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
Stayed here for one night. Definitely in the woods and the swamp. Pros: All the bells and whistles, WI-FI (free), cable (many channels). Definitely quiet except for the sirens at night. The charming woman in the office was great. Sites are level. Very little light at night. Price right. Cons: Roads are tight with trees very close. Glad we had a truck camper. The campground is complete tree covered and surrounded by what I call a swamp. It was 80 or so and so many mosquito's (in October) we couldn't sit out and enjoy the sun. The internet wasn't that great, couldn't post photos on Facebook. Laundry was $2 to wash and $1.50 to dry. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This campground is very nice for a secluded getaway. It is very close to Beaufort for sight seeing, and it is close to Hunting Island State park where you can go to the beach. (And if you cannot get into the Hunting Island RV Camp, this is the next best thing.) The sites are nice, wooded and have good services for Elec/Water/Sewer/Cable. Recreation for the kids includes a unique water slide and basketball court, hiking and fishing. Has a nice little lake with wrap around dock for fishing. There is a Community Center for gatherings. Great place for Group camping. Camp host was terrific! We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Now this is a campground! Picture a large quiet wooded area with dirt roads snaking through connecting randomly scattered good sized sites (many pull through) carved out of the woods. Good Wi-Fi and Cable coverage. Clean laundry and good sized bath house. Friendly staff. Convenient to Beaufort, Parris Island, and the coast. Would definitely return if in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$31
Great name for this place. It is so quiet away from any main roads. Wi-Fi was a little iffy the first day, but after that was fine. We stayed 4 days because we had friends in nearby Beaufort. Bathrooms were very clean. Great price for 50-amp, water, sewer, cable, and free Wi-Fi. We would return again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
This is a nice quiet park with big sites. Many of the sites are pull throughs. The staff was friendly. The free Wi-Fi was great as well. Tuc in the Woods is minutes away from Paris Island. They even gave us directions to the Marine base. If you have a new Marine at Paris Island, this is definitely the place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
Very nice campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is LOTS of shade and the utilities are in good shape. Very quiet and clean. I would definitely recommend this campground and stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Gravel roads, dirt and wood chips at the level sites. Extensive cable TV selections. Wi-Fi works well. There are lots of trees. New managers on site are working hard to make your stay comfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Great place to stay for a few days. Management is very accommodating and friendly. We were shown to our site by the owner with his suggestions on where to park to make the coach as level as possible. Campground is off the beaten path but close to shops and restaurants. Rained a lot but site drained well. Very quiet and peaceful. Play area for children is very nice. Landscaping at entrance very attractive. Very nice weekend at this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
We chose this campground because the one recommended to us, Hunting Island, was full. We think we got lucky. Our principal focus for this visit was the Beaufort area, and this campground is 16 miles closer than the Hunting Island site is. It was relatively easy to get to, if you do some careful route planning. At check-in, the staff was pleasant and accommodating, and we were escorted to a spacious site not far from the restrooms and showers. The park is beautifully wooded, with live oak and palmettos. The utilities are in good condition. There is a nature trail over a "low country" area (we don't say swamp), which was of interest. A large grassy area with a children's playground was provided. Woodsy roads and paths were great for dog-walking. We had a great experience here, and will definitely book here again when we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
On arrival we were greeted by extremely friendly and hospitable campground staff who escorted us to our large, shady pull thru site. The campground offers an excellent playground for kids (complete with waterslide) and several nature trails throughout the park including a resident alligator in the pond. The campground was beautiful with lots of trees and Spanish moss. The only downfall was the amount of bugs we had to fight each day. Be prepared to fight mosquitos, house flies,ants, and knats in the summer months! Other than the pesky pests, we enjoyed a nice quiet and peaceful setting at this campground. The showers and laundry room were extremely clean and well kept. Ice and firewood was available at the office as well as mail service. We would stay here again, very close to Hunting Island State Park and beach access and within 15 minutes to stunning historical downtown Beaufort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com