220530 User submitted reviews online!!
Outdoor World - Harbor View Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (804) 224-8164
CGID7538

Outdoor World - Harbor View Campground

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   8   9   9   9   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We had been camping at Harbor View three weekends ago, we decided go come back made reservation for Aug 16 weekend requesting a pull-thru. We pulled in to the campground that morning and they told me they have a new policy that only 38 foot RV can use the pull through sites and I told them that my RV is a Fifth wheel 35 foot with slide outs on both sides and a satellite dish that I can only use in the pull through sites. We have stayed in the pull-through on past visits, and four of them were unoccupied when we arrived. They tried placing me in a back in site that would be to small. I was told that their policy is first come first served we will never book or join with encore again ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
Enjoyed our stay again this time, but they continue to have water problems. The site we originally wanted didn't have water, and its neighbor had a hose strung to an adjacent site because it was dry too. They repaired one section of the park with new water and power, but they charge $5 per night extra to stay in that section. That section is not upgraded, just fixed. Not a big deal to go from $0 TT member price to $5, it's just aggravating. It also causes the other two sections to be crowded while the "premium" section is sparsely used. We'll be back, but not as happily as before. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$1
This is an unbelievably friendly park. About half of the park are seasonal professionals from the DC area who use it as their getaway location. The manager is new and could not be more helpful or concerned about the welfare of her park. The restrooms/shower houses are older but spotless!! The park is remote, yet near local historical sites and a great state park. Pool was not yet open when we visited. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$1
I love this campground - we visited over July 4 last year and were back again this year for Labor Day. It, by FAR, has the most friendly folks we've ever interacted with! We had no issues maneuvering our 42' FW around the campground. We called ahead as we were delayed by a hospital appointment and they helped "hold" a big rig accessible pull through site for us. (TT/OW doesn't really "hold" sites, but since they help everyone pick their site, they seemingly helped keep this one open for us.) The bad was that it was immediately adjacent to the pavilion and on Saturday they had a Crab Feast which then turned into a corn hole tournament which then turned into a louder version with much drinking and music. Fortunately, it was quiet and everyone returned to their campers by 9:45pm or so. A little later than we would have liked, but being a holiday weekend - we knew what we were getting into. The pool is big and nice. The baby pool is small and warm. The mini golf is "quaint" (aka, super small/9 holes). We'll gladly return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$1
This campground is about 1 hour east of Fredericksburg in a rural section of Westmoreland County. It is located close to George Washington and James Monroe's birthplaces as well as Colonial Beach. The property sits between some cornfields and waterfront developments on the Potomac inlets. Layout is a linear arrangement of loops and most sites are pretty well shaded. Pool is nice, and all facilities seemed to be well maintained. The brochures mention Wi-Fi , but we couldn't seem to locate it. However, cell phone/3G signal is fairly usable. Very quiet campground, no discernible road noise or from other campers. Seems to be one of the more peaceful of the 1000 trails system. We enjoyed it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$1
We stayed here for 6 days. It is a very nice park with a large pool. The park has a lot of weekenders who take good care of their sites. We used our Thousand Trails membership. We had full hook-ups including 50 amp. Unfortunately we could not use our satellite because of the tree cover - but it was nice having the shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Only stayed one night at this park. Found it very quiet and pleasant. It is a clean park with a big pool that is very nice. Lots of things to do and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. Would refer this park to anyone. Very nice place to go if you own a boat. Will enjoy it a lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
Rate for TTN/Outdoor World. First thing, DON'T try to use a GPS to get to this CG. You will NOT like the result. The road suggested hasn't been open to CG traffic for more than 20 years and that's the good road. Stay on SR-3 to Bowie Road, and turn there to Ebb Tide, left and stay on the road to the CG. Google Maps or the directions on the CG website work. This is an older CG with lots of room between sites. Main roads are paved, the interior "lanes" are dirt and gravel. There are about 12 drive through sites. Staff is friendly. "Sis" happens to live off site on the old road and she saved us from wandering in the wilderness trying to find the CG. Restrooms and showers are clean, the laundry room was clean. The pool is clean. The clubhouse/store/reception area is dated but clean. Fuel, groceries and stores are within 10-15 minutes of the CG. Shore power was good and the sites are 50AMP. With the heatwave the electrical system managed to keep up with the demand for Air-Con. We will be returning here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
Harbor View is an Outdoor World campground. We came here as an Outdoor World member so we stayed for free. The first thing I should mention is how to get here. We use a GPS while traveling. It has failed us a few times so we also use Google maps as well. Then we compare the GPS route to the Google map. All was well so off we went. We came in on Rt 3 and the maps told us to turn at Rt 205 and then there were a couple of lefts and rights. We were at one point told to turn on to a dirt road that was barely wide enough for a small car. There was no way a truck and a 40’ fifth wheel would make it through there. I called the campground and the first thing they said was “You used your GPS, right?” Bottom line is follow the directions that they have on their website. It turns out there is a road that goes from this area to the campground that has been closed but neither mapping companies have corrected it. The campground itself is an older park. We arrived a week before the park’s official opening. The park closes for the winter. They were cleaning everything and cutting grass. All of us were dealing with April showers in May. A lot of showers. It made the roads and sites very soft. A motor home got stuck and had to be pulled out. The main road in to the office is a paved road. The road from the office to the sites is a paved road, but the loops going to the sites are all dirt, with some gravel. Satellite report: If you only have a roof top satellite system, ask for site 33. Otherwise you will need to use a tripod and hunt for the satellite through the trees. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We met the manager before. In the winter he goes to the Orlando preserve to help out there. The shower house by us was clean and had several showers, sinks and toilets. There is a large pool behind the office that looks very nice. It was too cold yet for us to use. There is a basketball court, a putt putt course, a tennis court for the pickle ball players. There is a TV room in the office with movies and a lot of books and games. All in all a nice campground that is close to a lot to do. About 90 minutes to DC. There is a winery real close and make sure you hit the Berry Farm. The kids will enjoy the goats. Sorry for the long description. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$1
Very nice campground with a wonderful pool. Managers were very nice and helpful. Sites were pretty level. Entry roads good, campground well maintained. Showers/restrooms very clean and stocked. Nearby eateries along Route 3, and 205 and many in Colonial Beach. Places to visit included: G.Washington's birthplace, Westmoreland State Park, Westmoreland Berry Farm, Inglewood Winery. Food Lion Grocery store about 6 miles away on 205 in Colonial Beach. (Nightly rate does not apply to members) We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com