206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Silver River State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (352) 236-7148
CGID754

Silver River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   9   9   10   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Nice large well separated wooded pull thru sites. Good Verizon and dish network service. Clean showers and restrooms but they were not heated. Several nice wooded hiking trails that are accessible with bikes. The glass bottom boat rides are well worth the $10. Ocala shopping, entertainment and recreation is very convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
Beautiful park - 4 loops that are pretty much the same with very large campsites, many pull thrus in wooded area so sites are mostly shady, on hardpacked gravel pads. Sites are spaced far apart with trees and shrubs in between IMO the nicest sites are the pull thrus nearest to the restrooms. The best time to camp here is in the cooler months after or before rainy season. Reservations are needed for weekends. A paved pathway leads to modern bathhouses /restrooms (including 2 family /handicap units) that were kept immaculate by campground hosts. Infrared heater lamps in showers. Several nice easy walking trails within walking distance from campground. Bike trails are for experienced mountain bikers. There is a boat ramp for canoes & kayaks which can be rented at the Silver Springs attraction area. One point six (1.6) mile loop around to the spring. Silver River is a beautiful paddle with lots of wildlife like including monkeys. You can also take a ride on the historic glass bottom boats ($10). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
Sites are far apart so you are not on top of your neighbor. Heavy shade. Roads are paved, and bath houses are very clean and kept up well. Had to ask for ceiling fans to be turned on and then only on low for some reason. Plenty of wildlife (deer) in area for viewing. Museum was very nice and informative. Our site was not level but hard packed, and we could get sat TV reception. Staff were all very polite and nice but when asked a question they didn't know the answer to they made things up. Got conflicting answers from different staff members. Verizon cell service was excellent, and you are only 5-10 minutes from main food and shopping area of Ocala, but you feel isolated in park. Water pressure was low. If it had sewer it would be close to a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$11
This is another of Florida's great state parks. It located adjacent to the Silver River and you can rent canoes. Swimming is not recomended due to the gators (not the football ones). The large sites are fairly level and are gravel. The roads are all paved and there are numerous self guided hiking trails as well as Ranger tours. Most sites are shaded and they allow tents as well as RV to share the sites. The park is adjacent to the Silver River glass bottom boats park which in September will become one huge nature park. We will come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
This is a great state park and would rate a 10 if there was sewer. Sites are wide, long, and easy to access. Also plenty of shade. There was a great Italian restaurant nearby, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$12
This park is one of the best maintained parks in the Florida park system. It is always clean with very friendly and helpful rangers and volunteers. In the park you can bicycle and rent canoes and Kayaks. There is a museum that is only open on the weekends. The downs are most spots are hard to get satellite but there are about 14 local stations on a good antenna. Not full hook up. Other than these two this is a 10+ park. Rate is for Florida Senior. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$11
We paid a senior rate; most Florida State Parks offer this. What a beautiful state park, very well kept, very clean, and kept that way at all times. Staff were very helpful and supportive in all ways. We rented a canoe and traveled the Silver River, saw a lot of wildlife, also alligators. Have nice hike and biking trails, Museum (which is only open on week ends) and an old Florida area with a church, homes, school, etc. Close to shopping and just around the corner from Silver Springs and Wild Waters water park. We will go back again for sure. Saw quite a few deers and other wildlife in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
A very nice place to stay. Spacious level sites with water and electric. Most sites offer nice shade, some are in the plain sun. We just stayed for one night and didn't use any facilities. However, the overall appearance of the park was to be well maintained. Like all state parks very friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money. We would come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
This is a beautiful state park with very nice trails for biking/hiking. Quiet, peaceful setting with very good pull through sites available. The only drawback we could mention is that in order to take your personal canoes/kayaks to the launch site it is approximately a 1/2 mile walk. You cannot drive a vehicle to the site to launch; however, there is a city park 4 miles east with launch sites available for a $5/daily fee for entry. There is a nice museum on site and a "cracker" village although entry into the buildings is not permitted. We stayed 4 nights and loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$11
This is a very nice camp ground with very large sites. Check in is friendly and easy. There is no bad sites in the camp ground. There is walking trails canoe, kayak rentals, bike riding, horse back riding, and a museum with out buildings of the history of the area. Silver Springs is next to it with glass bottom boats, Jungle cruses and a walk through a zoo like park. There is also a water park that is part of Silver Springs in the summer months. There is a Super Walmart a few miles away on Hwy 40 and restaurants on Hwy 40 and 200. On 200 east of I-75 there is any kind of food you care to eat. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$24
This is a pretty campground with large sites that are nicely spaced out so there is plenty of privacy. The location on the Silver River is ideal for kayaking and canoeing. We kayaked from the park launch ramp to the springs and saw several alligators, birds of all kinds and monkeys! Yes, monkeys in the trees along the river. The campground is close enough to Ocala for supplies, etc. without it feeling like you're in an urban area. We would return here for another visit! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Excellent campground with large, spacious, level lots. Additionally the restrooms are very clean and attended to on a regular basis. The only reason no *10* rating is because of no individual sewage hook up. However, the dump station is situated for incoming and outgoing campers with two individual dump ports. Also, the staff were very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$24
What a beautiful park, we stayed in site 38 for four nights. The sites and the space between the sites is large. Most sites are a "L" shape with the leg of the "L" at the rear of the site. In the leg of the "L" there is a fire ring and a grill. The site was packed sand. The restroom and shower facilities were spotless. We love Florida State Parks and find this to be one of the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
Having camped in a majority of the Florida State Parks I can say without a doubt this is one of the top Florida parks on my list for several reasons. First, friendly helpful staff. Additionally the camp host (and hostess) were cleaning the sites as they were vacated like they were cleaning their own home, immaculate! Secondly the sites are very large compared to most other areas also offering pull through although the back in sites offer more shade. The restroom facilities were very clean and spacious. There are no bad things to say about Silver River SP, if there is a "negative" it is that there is no location sewer, but with that said the dump station is a "double" able to service people going two different directions at the same island. I will definitely make additional trips to this park!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This park is a hidden jewel close to the Ocala National Forest. The sites are huge and paved road is great for the kids to ride their bikes within the camp loop. We stayed in site 32 and would stay here again. The park is close to shopping and restaurants. Silver Springs theme park is just down the street. Great hiking trails that lead directly to the springs. If you like to relax and hike, this the park for you. We will be back when it's a little cooler and tackle some of the more challenging trails. Facilities were clean and modern, the camp hosts were great and were very attentive. Rangers were also very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$13
Florida resident senior rate shown. Double for standard rate. Our fourth weekend visit here at a great park. There are no bad sites, just some better than others. Most are large and well shaded with privacy from adjacent sites. Minimal leveling required on ones we've had. No leveling this time on site 20. Bathrooms and showers were neat and clean at all times of the day. The museum as usual, was very interesting and would be a real treat for youngsters with a mammoth skeleton, ancient crocs, Ross Allen Institute materials, and many other artifacts, both ancient and recent. There was a "Cracker Village" program which we attended previously. It is a must see if going on during your visit. There are many hiking trails. In the Summer, I suggest the river trail as it is very cool once you get to the Silver River. No fishing or swimming, but you can canoe or kayak or take off your shoes and wade a bit. To really cool off, drive about a mile or so out of the park to the Waterpark adjacent to the Silver Springs attraction which is also a must see. I found a very good golf course called Ocala Golf Club about 3-4 miles from the park. They said it was the best public course in Florida. After playing here (for $29, cart and greens fee), I totally agree. Fairways were very good, greens were outstanding and sand in the traps was easy to play out of. In places, the roughs left something to be desired, but with wide fairways, I shouldn't have been there anyway. Gold tees are 74.0/129, blues 71.2/125. This is one of our favorite parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$11
This was our first visit to this park. The sites are large, private and beautiful. Just about all sites have at least partial shade. There are some pull throughs. The volunteer host couples did a good job with keeping the facilities neat and clean. They also did some landscaping to tidy up the sites. While the park has a Cracker Village and Museum, it is not open to the public during the week as it is used by school children. This would have been a nice way to spend one of the 97 degree afternoons. The Silver River itself cannot be used for swimming. You could canoe it, but you had to carry paddles and life jackets a good distance through soft sand. The park is close to stores in Ocala. The fee reflects the Florida senior discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
This park is outstanding with many trails for biking or walking. Would of gave it a 10 if it had a pool but that is not at most state parks. Bathrooms were spotless, showers were great. Sites were huge with plenty of room for a second camper to park if they had another hook up on the site for it. Our site only had 30 amp service but I others sites had big rigs at them. We were at site 32 and 33 for a total of 3 nights. Sad news was my family did not want to leave. This will be a park we stay at again. Sites are private between your neighbors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$23
This is our second time in this park. Has great sites. Great staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$13
Paid FL Senior rate of $12 plus taxes. Agree with prior reviews, big level sites, we were really surprised at how big some were. Only downside is that we could only spend a night. But it is on our must revisit list for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
The top things to do here are canoeing, hiking, and the Silver Springs Nature Theme Park right next door. The canoeing was spectacular with loads of birds and alligators. As long as you keep your distance from the gators: no problem. The hiking trails are great, especially the Swamp Trail. The SSNTP is best as a full day trip because it is not cheap. It offers glass-bottom boat rides on the clearest spring water river one can find. The captain will entertain you with stories of Tarzan movies and Sea Hunt being filmed on the river. We missed out on a carriage ride in horse country around Ocala: there are a lot of beautiful horse farms to see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
We stayed in # 48 (pull through). Very spacious and nice shade. Saw lots of deer in and around campground. Great bike trails. Just be careful of the Ross Allen trail as it's extremely swampy and lots of mosquito's. Some areas we had to walk the bikes across water. We ended up turning around and heading out before finishing the loop due to the mosquito's. Rangers all very friendly. The river trail has a canoe/kayak launch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
This is our favorite spot, bar none. The sites are huge, private, and beautifully maintained. Restrooms are always clean, and the hiking and biking trails are great. Great little museum in the park, too. We camp here 3-5 times a year and love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
We only stopped for an overnight stay so we didn't really see much of the park. About 8 miles from I-75 however: you had to pass through a not so nice area to get there (not the parks fault). Restrooms were clean, Park ranger was friendly and sites were private. Would consider a return visit. Nice State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$24
A nice Florida state park. The sites are packed dirt and gravel. There was a record cold front the days that we were here, and some of the water pipes burst closing down the mens room and washer facility. No fault of the park staff though, they all worked hard to maintain a comfortable situation. There is a learning center here for elementary age children though we saw none during our stay. The location is very close to Ocala down town area. It did have a drawback one night though. A helicopter drew us outside late one night. It turned out that the police were looking for a criminal that escaped on foot through the park! It didn't last long though, he either got away, or they caught him. Lots of rangers and police paroling around, we still felt safe. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$24
My wife and I prefer to camp in the State Parks, and this is our second trip to Silver River State Park. It is an incredible park if you are looking for a place to get away and maybe do some hiking. Fishing is NOT allowed on the Silver River in the park but you can rent a canoe or drag your own watercraft 1/2 mile through the woods down a trail. I love the hiking trails, they are clean and well kept. There are some great mountain biking trails whenever your feet get tired. Wild life is in abundance. The first morning here my wife was walking our dog and came upon 2 coyotes sitting. One ran off, but the other one was curious and decided to watch our Golden Retriever as they retreated closer to the trailer. I spoke with the ranger, and he says the park is full of coyotes, but they have never had a problem with them. Now the camp sites are INCREDIBLE!!! They are HUGE! Again we had a pull through, and the sites are large enough to park 2 RVs. The base is pea gravel and very firm. While we were camping, a cold front moved in that week and temps drooped to low to mid 20' at night. I disconnected by fresh water supply from the trailer and used the internal tanks at night during the coldest periods. The hose did freeze as some campers found out the next morning. We had site 56 and we were approximately 200 yards from a country road that edged the park. Vehicle noise could be heard, but was not loud enough to penetrate our trailer. Firewood can be purchased from the rangers. During our stay, due to low humidity we could only have a fire after 6pm. They have a playground for small children, and about 1 mile from the park was a nice looking water park (not operated by the state park). The bathrooms and showers very clean but not heated, and rather chilly during the winter months. All roads in the park are paved and in GREAT condition. The park also has beautiful cabins for rent at $110 a night. We took a tour, and they are rustic look with rap-around porches, although modern inside. A real deal, but pets are not allowed in the cabin areas. I would of given the park a 10 if they had direct hookup for black/grey water. There are two dump stations near the campsites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$23
We had site #58 a PT. This was our 3rd time camping here. All sites are very large so anything can fit. There are a few 50 amp sites so if you need one book early. Site has a gravel base so no sand in unit but sometimes the gravel follows you. Bathrooms were clean and well tended to. Lots of trails to hike or bike with rest areas (tables and shade) on them. Nice museum with a gift store. Park has picnic pavilions and a playground available. Canoes can be rented or you can bring your own. Beware you have to carry it about 1/2 mi if you bring your own. Rentals are next to the river. Cracker Village is open one weekend a month. Stargazing is offered another weekend. Shopping is close by in Ocala. The only problem we had this time was ants. There seemed to be lots of them in our site not sure if they were everywhere else though. We sprayed our stuff and that seemed to work OK. There are also 10 cabins that can be rented if you do not want to tent camp or don't have an RV. All roads are paved and they have a double dump station to expedite the process. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
This is a very nice state park. We were in the Fort King loop: had a large pull-through site. We could hear traffic from our site, but could not see the road. The traffic noise was not too bad, though. The bathhouse was very nice and clean. The changing areas in the showers are large and have a bench and several hooks: wish all campgrounds would add these small, but convenient features. We saw several does with fawns, one young buck, and a gray fox on the trails. We rode bikes on all the trails except Sandhill Trail. It was a lot of fun. The rental cabins look very nice. Check-in was fast and Rangers were all very friendly. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
Yes the sites are big and for the most part very level and if you just want a place to stay then this is OK. However, if you have kids (1-21yo) there is not much for them to do after the first 3 hours. There are 3 trails that can be explored and there is the river, 1/2 mile away. That is about it. While there you can go to Wild Water and Silver Springs, another waste if time and money for anyone with kids. It is $25 per person for the water park that has 3 rides and a wave pool. A family of 4 is $100 plus anything that you buy to eat. Silver springs has 3 boat rides and a jeep ride. All the jokes are the same on each boat ride and the jeep ride is really lame as my grand daughters put it. If the kids are over 9 and under 18 the place is not that great as there are no rides that the kids want to go on. If you're going to someplace I would recommend Wild Adventures in Georgia and not to Ocala. Just my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
Very nice campground. Pull thru site(#16) we had was huge. Room for the MH,toad and at least an extra 30 feet. Bathroom/showeres were modern and very clean. It is a long walk to the river, over 1/2 mile so carrying a canoe or kayak would be a challenge. Voltage was great at 120 v during our stay, but there were only a few other RV's there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$11
Efficient reservations at Reserve America and a warm welcome - simply handed us the papers. Very quiet and spotless. I agree with the earlier writer about needing sewer connection for a 10 rating, but this place was wonderful for us. The dual dump station was spotless and never a line. Deer walked through our site, camp hosts were wonderful. Seldom heard any noise from anhyone. We shall definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
I do not rate a park a 10 unless it has sewer. So the best this park could do was a 9 and it deserved it. The sites are very spacious and easy to get into. There is a lot of space between sites and you can barely see your neighbor. The sites are nice and level and each have a picnic table and fire ring. There is not a lot to do at this park except walk, ride bikes and watch for wildlife. There are canoe rentals and you can launch your own boat in the Silver River, but it is a good 1/2 mile trek to get to the launch site. There is no swimming or fishing in the river at the park. You are not far from Silver Springs Amusement Park or downtown Ocala. Very quiet at night and the rest rooms and showers were very clean and modern. Would stay there again in a heartbeat We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
This is one of the nicest Florida State Parks I have camped in. The sites are large and shaded. Great area for hiking and biking. The bath houses are always clean. I camp here several times a year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
We really enjoyed our stay at this state park and have already made reservations to return. There are 4 camping loops, all gravel pads with water and electric. There are quite a few large pull through sites. We had a large pull through with room for 3 slides. There are 2 bath houses with a laundry at each. The park is beautiful with several walking trails. It is a short walk from the campground to the Silver River. The park is located close to Ocala and the entrance to Silver Springs. It is about a 10 minute drive from the campground to grocery stores, restaurants (some with WIFI), and Wal Mart. You can rent canoes in the park for $5 per hour. You really need to get out on the river to appreciate the beauty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
Wonderfully wide level sites with hookups well placed. We could have parked at least one more RV in our site (#8). We enjoyed the nature trails and the river. Nice to have a campfire at night. Total privacy in our site. Very close to town if you need to shop. We will definitely come back here for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
Great sites, this is the second time we stayed here. Take the canoes out for a nice trip up the river! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$11
This is a beautiful S/P. Roads are asphalt and wide. All sites are super size with lots of room and trees on each side. Sites are hard packed gravel and very level. Table, fire rings, BBQ equipment to cook on. DTV and analog TV very poor over the air. Museum was very good and low cost. Lots of trails to walk on. Cabins near RV parking if you need them. Playground equipment for kids. Dump station was very good. Bathhouse was spotless also had washers and dryers. Silver river close to camp sites. Super Wal-Mart and places to eat 3.5 miles from campground. AC power 50 amps and water were good and in correct place. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$21
Our 2nd time camping here. We had site #58 a side PT. Sites are huge compared to other FL state parks. Lots of room to spread out. There are 4 loops. The 1st and 4th have the most PT's. We camped with a group and had plenty of room for everyone to gather. Museum is $2pp (under6 free) and open everyday from 9-5. Plenty of bike/walking trails. Picnic area with pavilions and playground. Each campsite is limestone/gravel with table, bbq grill and fire ring. PT's are 50A, all others are 30A/15A. Double dump station so no line when leaving. Park has a Cracker Village to view, but buildings are not open to go inside. If you want to launch your own canoe or kayak on the river you must carry it about.6 mile to boat launch.I believe there is a public launch about 3 miles away you can drive to. For us this is a winter park as there is no swimming due to gators in the river and no swimming area with lifeguards. Park hosted an astronomy night when we were there but the sky was very cloudy. We would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
Visited this campground once again and it just keep getting better. The sites are huge and the park is allowing the vegetation to grow, which allows for privacy. My only objection this trip is not the park's fault, but a fellow camper on a site across the street was breaking every rule in the book. There was a temporary fire ban placed into effect and they were told twice by the park rangers to put their campfire out, they did not. They were also tearing down trees from the woods and using them as firewood. This is a definite violation of park rules. Also loud mouths and loud music was very irritating. I only bring this up to remind others to please follow the state parks rules. It makes for an enjoyable experience for all of us! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$12
Big, well maintained sites. Clean, modern rest rooms. Very nice hiking trails and places to ride bikes. Almost every site is accessible to any type of rig. Sites are also private and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$21
This was a new park for us, and we are always a little fearful not knowing what to expect. What a pleasant surprise. The sites were large and well shaded. The campground has two loops, Sharpe's Ferry and Fort King. We stayed in Fort King, but there were very few sites in either loop that we would not have been able to fit into. There are washers and dryers available on-site and shopping opportunities in nearby Ocala. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
We have stayed in this park many times, and it has always been wonderful. Large level sites. This is one of our favorites. The center pull throughs are 50 amp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$23
If we lived anywhere in the south or east, this campground would be used frequently by our family. We stayed here for 2 nights on way to Walt Disney World and wished we could have stayed longer and the campground was booked for when we could return -- definitely popular! While rainy, our stay was relaxing. The staff were friendly and helpful. The park is gated after hours but campers are given the necessary code to enter if necessary. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
We had site #43 Fort King loop. Our site was huge as our most sites in this park are. Bathhouses were newer and very nice. Camping area a long way from the center of the park, we used our bikes a lot. 5 picnic pavilions, museum of a reconstructed Cracker village, a natural and cultural museum $3 pp. 10 cabins in separate loop, 5 walking trails. We biked the river trail which overlooks the Silver River. Pets are allowed. The weekend we camped there was a Pow Wow which was very educational for our dd. All sites have a stone pad, BBQ grill, picnic table, and fire ring. Sites were very deep. You can canoe/kayak the silver River but you need your own canoe or use an outside vendor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
Great campground. We loved this place and the ease of pulling into the campsites. The place seemed very spacious and clean. Two thumbs way up! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
This state park is one of the best in Florida. The sites are huge. Back-in sites are even big rig friendly. The continued growth of the vegetation between the sites is allowing more and more privacy. The staff is extremely friendly. Only real complaint is their over priced firewood. It is small pieces and is usually wet and/or green. We are bringing our own wood next time. Nice picnic and playground area. There is a museum on the grounds, but have never seen it open. Plenty of hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$21
One of the prettiest parks we have ever seen! All roads are paved. All sites are paved, level, huge, and very private. If you don't need all the amenities and want a campsite about 10 times the size of a commercial campground, give this park a try. There are only a few 50A sites so reserve early if that's important to you. We will stay here many more times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$23
Very nice campground, there are walking and bike trails. One trail ended up at river, very beautiful. The site is large and leveled , the bath room and shower are one of the best I've ever seen--very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$23
If they had sewers they would get a 10. Nice state park campground. Sites are very big and they have a number of pull throughs. Roads are easy to get around. Great place for a bike. The river is nice, but you have to have your own watercraft. They do not rent any. Not far from Silver Springs Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$16
Beautiful, shaded, large, private sites. Did I say large? Lots of hiking trails as well. This is a true gem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$21
Camped here for 2 nights and the site was wonderful. Showers were large and had heat lamps, everything was clean, even had laundry facility available. However, the museum was closed (open only on weekends) and other buildings shuttered. They have many hiking trails, but though they say they are on the Silver River, it is a 1/2 mile walk to get there. No bad, unless you want to put in a canoe at the canoe launch. There is no easy way to get your canoe/kayak to the river. As a spot to launch off to other Silver Springs/Ocala sites, it is great. However, a short distance away are some commercial campgrounds that offer far more at a similar/reasonable price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$22
Has the biggest pull thru sites I have ever seen, no RV too big for this campground. Sites were in great condition. Highly recommend visiting the museum which shares the history of the area. It's in the park, walking distance from the campsites. No charge, donations only. Trails are beautiful but unbearably hot and buggy since we visited in the summer. We brought kayaks and paddled the Silver River, it is crystal clear and you will see the occasional alligator and many different birds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$21
A really nice State park. I would definitely stay here again, but it is a shame they have no sites with a view of this beautiful river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$15
We stayed at Silver River State Park for five days starting Dec. 30, 2003. It is a beautiful campground, there is four walking trails and one biking trail. I walked two of the walking trails, they were very nice, both ended up at Silver River and it is worth the walk to just see the river. Fire wood is there for a donation at the campground. It is close to shopping. Would I go again, Yes. The sites are very large and covered with small stones, contained a picnic table and a fire ring. Many of the sites are pull through. We had site 10 and it was close to the bath house. In the campground are 10 cabins that are very nice, they will sleep 6, everything is furnished except the food. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This is a beautiful state park. Huge private sites, lots of walking/bike trails and a museum. Firewood available for a donation. Did'nt see a bad site in this park. Highly recommended We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
The perfect camp site, very large and private. My only problem with this park is that there isn't a trail that follows the river. There is one trail that takes you down to it but thats it. I can't understand a park that has a beautiful river running through and not having any access to it. If it wasn't for this I would have gave it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Very new state park. Just opened last year (2001) The staff at the park are most helpful and friendly. Someday with a little time it will be a top rated state park. The sites are very large sites. Some of the largest I have seen. It has 6 or so very nice cabins that are located deep in the forest. It has lots of hicking trails that you can see wildlife. I saw deer and turkeys. It is less than a mile from the Silver Springs attraction. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com