218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Okeechobee KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (863) 763-0231
CGID756

Okeechobee KOA

Camp Information
Sites
750
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   10   8   7   10   10   7   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$39
We stayed for two months. Great resort with lots of things to do. KOA Staff and snowbirds are very friendly. Would have given a 10 rating except that many of the sites have shared services. We only had 30-amp service during our stay because the KOA WorkKamper behind us was using the 50-amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$63
Very well maintained park, great employees, but still an overpriced KOA. They charge extra for wi-fi and TV and that's after paying $60+ / night. Also the electric service on the sites that share a pedestal have only 1 50 amp and 1 30 amp service available, so if the site behind you is using the 50 amp, you only get the remaining 30 amp. Also there is only 1 sewer on these sites so a long hose (20') is needed. It's an older park but very well maintained. Could definitely use a makeover, especially the old bathrooms and buildings. It stays pretty full in the winter and is mostly empty in the summer. Very dog friendly. Most sites are fairly level, but a lot of them require a lot of leveling. Reasonable food and drinks available in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$57
Wow. We had a ball. Activities abound for all ages all day and evening. There was abundant staff everywhere and genuinely friendly. This place is more resort than campground, but the campsites (especially those that back up to the 9-hole golf course with beautiful bird watching) are as relaxing as they come. The kids pool was fun; the adult pool relaxing and quiet. The kids had a "dance" on Saturday night, complete with pizza. The adult bar, with live DJ (and sometimes live music) was like an old neighborhood bar full of "full-timers" that didn't make us "visitors" feel unwelcome at all. So many little details are managed that make the overall experience very nice. Things like plenty of well manicured healthy grass throughout and trash that would seemingly disappear any time of day you set it out make you realize someone with a hospitality background must be working behind the scenes. Golf carts are available to rent for exploring the campground; golf (and putt-putt) to play; large grassy sites with concrete pads; big shade trees; wildlife (lots of sandhill cranes), two swimming pools; kids playground; dog playground; nightlife with a bar on site. There just isn't anything missing here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
Nice place, friendly folks, easy in/out, pull through sites. We use this campground often as it's a convent stop over for us. Wi-Fi works well, no problems at all, nice peaceful layover during our travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$65
Big place, friendly staff, older sites, hard to get the MH in just the right spot to level. Fire ants everywhere, but they were working on them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
Stayed for 3 days and two nights. Fantastic time with our 4 kids. Showers clean. Staff very friendly. Reported a picnic table needing repair within 30 minutes a repairman came. Lots to do! Too much for just the short stay. No bugs! Fire-ants: well yes. I'd recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$67
After rushing out of another RV "Resort", we travelled a short distance around the corner to the KOA. This is one of the best KOA resorts that we have ever stayed at. The adult pool was huge, the tiki bar was reasonable, and the grounds were kept impeccably clean. Although the WI-FI was not predictable, we would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$65
This camp is very clean as with almost all KOA's. What I was not ready to see were how many snow birds call it home. We had two motor homes with 2 children (6 and 8 years). You would have thought we had the plague. The full-timers did not like us here and did not make us feel welcome. When we first got here, we walked around the park. We walked through the adult only pool area to see the restaurant and were told by two people that the children are not allowed here. WE WERE WALKING THROUGH. The kids were yelled at twice that they were not allowed to ride their scooters to the playground. There were others, but you get the idea. Through-out the weekend we were not made welcome. If you are older, this is a great resort, but young with kids, stay clear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$78
Big park, crowded sites, many sites flooded after rains. Wi-Fi was spotty. Mostly had to drive for shopping and food. Many activities in the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$67
This was our first visit to the Okeechobee KOA. This is a very large place, with an RV side and a Full time side. We enjoyed the golf course, swimming pool (nice and heated) and playground area. We saw lots of seniors, which we thought were going to clash with the kids in our group. it was just the opposite. We found other campers and residents very helpful and friendly. The restroom was right next to our site and it was clean and it great shape. Our favorite was "The Shanty" bar. loved to visit there and the prices were great for the drinks. We loved this campground and would love to visit it again. Just not crazy about the price, maybe in the off season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
This is our second time here. We stop on our way to and from Florida. It is always nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$42
Met some friends here for a week stay. Large park with it's own golf course. A nice, clean place to stay. Lots of Canadians while we were there but all seemed friendly. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$44
Really a nice KOA. Very clean and roomy restrooms. Lots of activities. An adult pool. Nice gym, but they do charge. They even have a cocktail bar. Not a lot to do in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$66
The staff was very rude and not friendly toward children. I requested a pull through campsite near the camp store because my children love to shop. The female staff employee in the store was very rude to my children even in my presence, as if they were a bother to her. The park grounds appeared to be well cared for. There were no activities for the children and a lot of signs which restricted them from having a good time. We left the park a day early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$70
The lower rating was due to our having to pay $70 a night when their season was over. No activities, the restaurant was closed and the park more than half empty. We had a site overlooking a drainage ditch canal and the golf course, and I guess that constituted a "waterfrontw." Way too much money! However, it was fun to watch the golfers play and the pool was very nice. The town had many restaurant, a lot of chain restaurants, and good services including supermarkets, drugstores, movie theater,etc. We had never seen the lake and were told we would be 1/4 of a mile from the lake. That meant that we were 1/4 of a mile from the berm that you drove up and over, and then there were small canals and water streams leading to the lake. Without a boat, we had only a very distant view of blue of the lake in the background. We have been told of other locations to stay to see the wide expanse of the lake. Some of the full time units in the park were a bit rustic, the electric a bit erratic, but the office personnel were very friendly and helpful.For the price, we would not return, especially after their main winter season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
Facilities are getting a little run down looking. You can tell this is a corporate owned location. Does not have that pride of ownership feel that many family owned parks do. Have camped here several times because of closeness to my home. It is nice weekend trip. Every time I felt like it took forever to be waited on upon check in. Does not set the tone for the weekend well. Camp frequently and understand sometimes parks get busy but to never have enough staff for check in. To me first impression is a lasting impression. Adult pool area is very nice but pool needed to be skimmed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$70
We enjoy this location. But at $70.00 a night it's becoming prohibitive. It shows in the many empty sites that were everywhere. On the weekend and in season it should have been full. The events and the Shanty are always fun. The staff are great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2008
$65
This our third year here in Okeechobee. The first year we arrived we were amazed at our choice of parks and how wonderful this KOA was and how much they had to offer. This is now our third year and the price keeps going up but many of us have found that the social calendar does not have near as many activities nor entertainment as it did in the previous years. The workers in this park or wonderful and kind and the showers and washrooms are very clean. We didn't even bother going to some of the dances this year as the entertainers weren't appealing. They used to have entertainment around the pool not just on Mondays with the volunteers but on many other days and that is not the case anymore. We have had a lot of problems with the showers not working properly in the ladies washrooms on several occasions you were either getting ice cold water or scalding water. The washer in in one of the area laundry facilities was broken over 3 weeks ago and still hasn't been replaced. Many vacationers use this facility and two washers are not enough. It is a known fact that a lot of people who have been here in the park for a number of years are not coming back due to the price and attitude of some staff and lack of things that used to be. In most cases if there is a price increase you usually get more amenities but this year there is less. We are booked once again for next year but we will be checking out other possibilities. It seems to me there is a lack of consideration and responsibility there never existed before. Corporate should be checking out just how many vacationers are leaving and why. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$5
Our Cub Scout Pack camped here under the KOA Scout special of $5 per day. We had 20 people, and everyone loved it. The staff was friendly, and they gave us enough sites to comfortably put up our tents, kitchen and fire pit. The showers and bathrooms were very clean, garbage was picked up frequently, and the kids pool was great. I have stayed here many times in a cabin and my trailer, and I this is the best KOA I have ever stayed at. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$65
Very nice, friendly, great for golf, and a nice lounge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$65
This is a very nice park. It is one of the largest KOAs in FL, we stayed on the fourth of July weekend. I liked the fact they have 3 pools, and one for adults only. The negative was noise at night from an irrigation system. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$65
This KOA was great! They have golf cart rentals, golfing, swimming, (adult only pool and children's pool)and what a beautifully kept campground. The staff was top notch and could not be any friendlier. My kids got to feed some horses that were in the pasture right behind our RV. The only reason I did not rate this KOA a 10 out of 10 is because it was expensive! $65 a night was way too steep even if it was Memorial Day weekend. We would definitely return to this campground when the prices come down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
The campground itself is okay, the pool is nice, campers are friendly. However, when we checked into this park, which was about 60% full, we were given the absolute worst spot in the place, right at the entrance, where all rigs, cars, etc. passed by, with a view of the maintenance vehicle parking lot. We didn't take the site and when we asked for a different one, the response from the very diffident employee was that the computer just gives him the first one available. We got a better site and spent 2 okay nights but wouldn't go back because of the attitude at the desk. The park was clean, however, and generally well maintained. The area around the park was okay too. Just check the site map when you check in! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$65
Very clean and friendly park. We were in a pop-up and we were put right up front in between two huge motorhomes and it was very tight! We didn't have any room to let our dog out to play. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$51
Very nice park. The people who run it are very nice. The only negative is the extra charges they impose. Cable is $3.00 a day; Wi-Fi is $3.95 a day and if you have over two people you pay extra. That aside, the park is well kept, the pools are nice, the rest rooms are clean and well kept. The sites are not very wide and some of the back in sites are bigger than the pull through sites. But they tried very hard to accommodate me and my unit. My site was a pull through and paved and level. Had a nice patio and table. It rained fairly heavily and the site was well drained and we had no problems. The resort has a golf course and it is easy to bike to stores and places to eat. There is a nice bike trail around the lake (150 miles +) that is near by and paved. I would guess the place is a crowded from Jan - March. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$43
KOAs continue their downward spiral with me and this place is no exception. The grounds are nice, the worker bees are nice, without all that follows I would have rated them a 9-10. Our experience, despite being only 1/4 full, they stuffed us into a backin spot that was good enough for a 25' trailer, we are in a 40', right at the entrance way, my front bumper is at the curb, my rear jacks are in the grass behind the pad, the tree behind the MH tore up the roof because it wasn't trimmed properly, the sewage run was uphill, requiring you to hand wrestle your hose, cable is $6, WiFi is pay via Nomad, great when we finally got hooked up, but the 1st day we tried and couldn't, spent an hour on the phone with Nomad tech staff, they were unable to resolve, later that evening were were told by another KOA worker bee that WiFi had been down for a few days, yet no one in the office seem to know about that when we checked in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$51
By far one of the nicest camp sites we have had. Of coarse you pay for what get. Level paved, nicely kept, friendly staff, easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$67
Camped here for Father's Day weekend and they had a bunch of activities lined up. They had a Sunday morning pancake breakfast (free for Father's) and a mini-golf tournament. Unfortunately, the mini-golf tournament was on Sunday after most people left and the person running it was over 30 minutes late. This is our 3rd time coming here and never had had, a bad experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$45
Great destination/resort park. Stayed 5 months and were busy all the time. 9 hole golf course was great amenity. My wife's favorite RV Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$45
This is a big and well organised camp ground but we couldn't help finding it a bit officious for our tastes. That could be because while technically the site is family friendly (with a separate children's pool) in practice this pool is a long way from anywhere (next to the entrance) and there are no showers or changing facilities there. In contrast the adult-only pool is big and has hot tubs and a bar close by, making it a nicer place to be. So if you're child free then this site will work for you but otherwise I'd go somewhere a bit smaller with more to do nearby (rather than walk round the lake!). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2005
$54
This is by far the largest and most luxurious KOA we've seen. The sites surround a nine hole golf course and pond. There's a snack bar, general store, large clubhouse, Shanty Bar on the GC, and two large pools. The adult pool often has live entertainment. There is a section off by itself for park models. The campground is extremely well kept; standards are high and the rules are enforced. I would have given this a 10 if the wireless worked. Considering how WiFi is advertised on the website, this was a real letdown. Other than that, we really liked this place and will come back next year provided the WiFi is up and running. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2004
$30
The state of Florida is investigating Okeechobee KOA's use of unskilled labor for electric repairs. We are sending this posting as a safety information bulletin for a potential hazard to life and property that exists at Okeechobee KOA Florida. On June 4, 2004, less than 24 hours after purchasing a brand new 2004 Newmar Dutch Star Diesel Pusher 4010, our site (#419) at the KOA Okeechobee FL Kampground, experienced a power failure. The KOA Okeechobee employee who was sent to fix it mis-wired the 50-amp power pedestal and sent 220v into the RVs 110 v and 12 v systems, resulting in numerous current electrical problems with the potential for additional future electrical problems. We later learned from the General Manager that he was not an electrician, not certified in electricity or electrical repair, had not received recent training in electrical repair, and had not received any continuing education for the work he is doing. (The Okeechobee County Building Department later informed me that electrical repairs to the power box are required to be performed by a licensed electrician.) On June 5, 2004, a technician from our RV dealer told me that there had recently been 4-5 other RVs that had their electrical systems damaged by the power supply while at Okeechobee KOA. He said that the other RVs had more extensive damage than ours (including inverters, electronic equipment). We received a communication dated June 23, 2004 from Okeechobee KOA that contained a letter, an Incident Report, and a statement by the supposed electrician. The letter and Incident Report were signed by the General Manager. The 6/23/2004 communication contains admissions by the electrician and the General Manager, that the electrician had made electrical repairs to the power box that was supplying power to our RV. I then called numerous officials at Florida's Okeechobee County Building Department and Florida's Department of Business and Professional Regulation regarding the regulations for electricians and campgrounds. I learned the following:1. In Okeechobee County Florida, electrical repairs at RV campgrounds are required to be performed by a licensed electrician, and a permit must be obtained. 2. The state of Florida and Okeechobee County Florida have no record of him as a licensed electrician. I then filed a formal complaint with Florida's Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) in Tallahassee, FL. DBPR reviewed and analyzed my narrative and the Okeechobee KOA documents that I provided. DBPR then forwarded my complaint to the regional office for investigation. The investigation is ongoing. DBPR has informed us that the documents are "public record""not confidential". My next goal is for Okeechobee KOA to be inspected by electrical experts from Florida. The General Manager previously stated to my wife and me that the electrician had been conducting electrical repairs at the kampground for "years". When we were there, he lived at the facility in an RV and performed like "the in-house electrician". I can only imagine how many electrical code violations there must be at the facility. Our brand new RV has been so damaged by the mis-wired 220 v that it has ongoing electrical problems and guaranteed future electrical problems. We do not trust the RV anymore. We have told by our manufacturer that the warranty will not apply to electrical problems, since they know about our zapping at Okeechobee KOA. And the resale value has diminished greatly. We have attempted to notify KOA HQ several times by e-mail and phone but were referred back to Okeechobee KOA. We sent a letter to the head of KOA, but we have had no reply from him. So, what does a dissatisfied consumer do in a situation like this where KOA Okeechobee and KOA HQ both ignore us? We are posting this so that hopefully there will not be a next person in our situation. We have posted about our Okeechobee KOA experience on Woodalls Campground forum, but the posting was deleted after a few hours (KOA may be a protected advertiser). We do not know whether or not the electrician is still performing electrical repairs at Okeechobee KOA. Even if he is not, until a complete electrical inspection of the campground occurs, there may be many hidden electrical problems. Stay there at your own risk! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$30
The folks at Okeechobee KOA are a great group of people. We stayed for four months while working in the area during what was the worst hurricane season in recent memory. And not only did they keep the park in wonderful condition, which with the damage they sustained was amazing, they did it with a smile on their face. The wi-fi system worked wonderful before the hurricanes, but after Frances we never could get it to work. Granted, it's the most expensive campground in Okeechobee, but we would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$25
Previous comments about KOA not using a licensed electrician need to be corrected whereas the State of Florida does NOT require licensing of electricians. They did away with that a few years ago. That is why you sometimes get substandard services. My husband is an electricin in the union and that is how I know this. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Huge park with friendly staff. Located 1/4 mile from Lake Okeechobee. They have their own 9 hole golf course, tennis courts, shuffleboard, 2 pools, hot tub, basketball, bocce ball. They could use more shady sites as there are not many at all. The pools are separated by family pool and the adults only pool and hot tub area where there is a cocktail lounge. There is nothing else around the area, but a really nice campground that we will return to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com