206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Living Forest Oceanside RV Park and Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (250) 755-1755
CGID7563

Living Forest Oceanside RV Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   6   10   7   9   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is like a provincial park, but with hookups. We had a nice view of the water, but the sites are very treed so little sunshine makes its way in. The roads and access to the sites are quite narrow so be careful with larger units. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Had an ocean view site. Wonderful stay. Lots of room in the site with hedges between sites. Trails around campground. Stayed 4 nights. Will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Good paved park roads although a bit narrow for two way traffic. Our level gravel site (#144) was an ocean view back-in that also had a table and fire ring. It was big enough for a big rig and a toad parked next to it. There were shrubs and trees between the adjacent sites giving some privacy. This is a large park and has just about any kind of site you may want from basic tent site in the trees to ocean view RV sites. Cable TV was clear on most channels (about 30) and internet was Tengo which cost $3 a day. It was good enough for Skype phone calls. There are a few walking trails down to the river estuary. Friendly efficient service from the office at check-in. This is one of my favourite RV parks and would definitely go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
We reserved the last available site for the upcoming weekend. As such, our expectations were low. We were assigned site 55. A pull through. We arrived late in the evening. Check in was pleasant and efficient. Directions to our site were easy to follow. Perimeter roads are paved. When we drove up to the site, I was concerned that we would never get level as it was up a short hill and appeared very uneven. I was wrong. Once positioned, we found we were dead on. Utilities were properly located to the left rear. The site was graveled (no grass) but quite large and a good distance from the neighbors. I was surprised to see that it had been freshly raked. There was a table and fire pit well placed. As the name suggests, you are in a forest; thus do not expect any satellite TV signal. Cable was available, but we did not hook up. A walkabout revealed that sites get smaller as the view gets better. Some of the ocean view sites looked to be quite cramped. We noted some permanents, but for the most part they were segregated and not all that junky. They looked more like locals parked for the season. We only encountered one problem and that was the 30 amp service plug. It had been installed upside down. I could not plug in. 55 was the only site out of about ten others nearby that was wrongly installed. I had to resort to using the 15 amp plug in. When I explained the problem to the office the little girl just said, "I'll make a note," but I strongly suspect that she already knew of the problem (‘cause she didn’t make the note nor was she surprised). She could not tell me when/if it would be repaired. We didn't need A/C, and the 15 amp shore power was enough for the rest of our needs, so it wasn't that big of a deal. If 55 is the worst site that Living Forest has to offer, it's pretty darn good. My rating could have been an 8 or a 9 if the office staff gave a hoot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$48
We chose Living Forest as our home for an extended stay (May-Oct) in the mid-Island area. Nothing around compared to this place. Our site is well treed, quiet, well away from neighbors. We were looking for a quiet forest location, and we sure found it here. There are many sites that will easily take a big-rig, like our 40 footer. We have lots of room on the lot and a fire pit! It's been a great summer here! There are sites here with ocean views, but not ocean side. Those are more tightly packed and much noisier on weekends. There are also good tent sites and a group camp. Internet service (Wi-Fi) is Tengo - low speed and so-so coverage. There is a charge for it. There is lots to see and do in the area. Groceries and other shops very close by. Wife and I highly recommend this place. We are booked back in for a few months next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
On the plus side, the views are spectacular, sites are very well maintained, water is warm, lots to bike or hike and see, lots of families, quiet time is strictly enforced, and close to Nanaimo for shopping or many other activities. Can't say enough about the view, really spectacular and the people were generally very nice and helpful. Easy to get to the beach (bring floaters!), lots of interesting little islands and things to float around and check out. There is a long walk area you can take your dog, its off to the side but its really big, just bring bug spray. On the downside, billing is confusing and they nickel and dime everything. The matrix of prices and site legends pairs to a fuzzy map, hard to sort it out, then a complex reservation system that reminds me of a bad math class. Only 2 adults are part of basic fee, kids are each a dollar a day more, then any more adults another $4/day. Our 46/day site jumped to 52 as we have 2 kids and brought my Mom. I think that's shoddy pricing to charge extra for kids. The "ocean side" sites are misleading, it just means you have no one between you and ocean, you are not next to the ocean, more like WAAY above the ocean. Oceanside sites are NOT little kid friendly at all. Most have a very steep drop (10-40 foot drops). Even the Ocean view sites (you can see ocean but there are campers in between) aren't kid friendly for same reason. The beach access is OK. There's a volleyball net that was fun, but the beach itself is tiny. Seaweed comes in around noon and fills the beach right up so hard to get to clear water. Cafe is overpriced; Wi-Fi is free at cafe, which is awesome that they have that. They have that terrible Tengo available through most of the campground. Oceanside, and then Ocean view sites are staggered up (10-20 ft for each level) as you head towards office. The lower your site, the more noise you'll hear, so in some ways ocean view are better that way. They are real serious about quiet time, so plan on going inside or shutting down at 11p. The nickel and dime stuff really bugs me but I suppose I'd still recommend it as it is otherwise a great place and very well run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Great place to stay. Very pretty. Friendly. Good web page We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Wide paved streets make parking easy. Young, friendly, helpful staff. Spacious, level, heavily shaded, well maintained, sand/gravel sites. Table & fire ring at each site. Two bar Verizon signal, good cable TV. Feeble Wi-Fi. Full & busy in August. Water pressure 50#. Robust recycling program: cans & glass, plastics 1-7, mixed paper, compost bin. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
A family campground which is heavily used. We had a site overlooking the estuary and into the strait, which was quite scenic. It would appear that this is a family vacation spot for many. As a result, it can be a bit loud with crying/screaming children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
We are currently winter camping here and so far, it's been nothing but great. The staff was very friendly when we came in at about 5:30 a couple of weeks ago, so after sundown. They told us to find any vacant spot and then look around in the morning for available spots we would prefer. We had already looked over their website and with photos of nearly every individual space available (we stopped looking after seeing a whole bunch) we had already set our sights on two. One was available and we parked in it. The next day, we strolled around and decided we had picked the best one for us. There is a dump station at every serviced spot as well as cable TV, water and 30 amp service. There are also spots with less services for those who don't need that. We were told right away that the Wi-Fi was less than dependable; the abundant trees make for great obstructions to the radio waves. I think I'll keep the trees and forgo the internet. We love this place, are amazed that, with their 53 or so acres, they didn't just cram RV and tent spots on top of each other which they could have, like most RV parks like to do. There's good separation, often with mature trees between most spots and you do feel you are in a forest, not merely next to one. There are a LOT of dogs here, we see plenty of them when we walk ours. But there's little barking if any and I've seen no signs of people not being responsible cleaners. Since we walk the dogs around the perimeter anyway, the previously noted lack of garbage cans on the far end of the campground is a very minor issue. Based on our 2 week stay (so far) I would absolutely and readily recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Very nice campground but the advertised WiFi hardly ever worked. There are permanent tenants that stay in an area of the park designated for them. Most are run down, with items laying around. The Games room is equipped with broken and unusable items for patrons to use. It's too bad about these items, as its a beautiful looking campground once you are past the permanent tenants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
A great place for a base camp to explore the Island. The campground is are very well maintained, and a very nice staff running things. We had a great camp site that overlooked the bay. Saw a few eagles and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Not a lot to do here, but plenty of things to do on the Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This park has steadily improved since it opened. My only small complaint is the lack of receptacles for dog deposits. All garbage is located at the park entrance, so one must store one's garbage and dog deposits until passing out of the park. Sites are well maintained and roomy, hookups are in good order and the views of the the ocean are spectacular. Lots of bird life and the park was quiet in spite of heavy usage while we were here. Great family setting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
The park is OK; however, there are reasons we only rated it a 6 out of 10. First they advertise Wi-Fi, but it only worked 1 day out of the 30 we were there. Second when we booked we specifically asked for a site that could handle our 38' fifth wheel, but they put is in a small site with the back end overhanging a drop off. (We moved after the first week to a larger site.) Fourth the main facilities were older and there was a disappointing discussion with an older gentleman at their office whose comments were "if you do not like it you can leave and get your money back." Fourth there are a number of permanent units near the club house. A number of them look run down and in need of some maintenance. This really takes away from the RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
This is a very large campground with a tone of different types of sites. We chose a site near the playground, as we have a small son. The sites near the playground are tiered and quite large. We were in a shady forested site and loved it. The staff were great and the facilities were nice. We found the walk to the beach area a little long with a 3 year old so would suggest bikes or strollers for families with small kids. We would go back to Living Forest for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
We stayed over 2 months. Very nicely shaded, quiet with little activities saved for walking. Our site (205) was brand new, in the forest; very spacious and private. All services were excellent, including cable. Wifi was sporadic and still needs work. Few mosquitoes. A new 'coffee shop' adds a good social focal point with a great view on the Nanaimo river estuary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
This park is on our list of "guaranteed return". Every year we return to find more improvements to the park. Some of the oceanside sites are simply spectacular. On this visit we had a dozen or more bald eagles playing in the wind currents and landing in tree tops above our site. For a private campground it certainly has a national forest feel. Majority of sites are in nicely wooded area and sites are well spaced. Although this is not "waves crashing ashore" kind of oceanfront, there is access to a beach. Wildlife watchers will find this to be a great place to do their thing. Eagles, deer, whales, sea otters and heron. Campground office maintains a local notebook with menus and other local attractions info. Close to the ferry too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Large well run family campground. They have been expanding in recent years. Firepits at every site and firewood can be purchased at the general store on site. Very friendly staff, but store is poorly stocked. Many sites have excellent ocean views. This campground is located right in Nanaimo, but you would never know that once you were inside the campground. All amenities are just a short drive away and there is lots to do in Nanaimo and surrounding area. This is one of the nicest privately owned campgrounds on all of Vancouver Island. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
A very nice park, lots of trees and well-spaced sites. The location is very good and the views are excellent. A well run park. The only black mark is the poor WiFi. Of the several days I've spent there over the past two years, I've only managed to connect once. Even being right below the antenna didn't help. Other than that, it is an excellent RV park. But the lack of WiFi means I'll be elsewhere next time I stay in Nanaimo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com