223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Steamboat Rock State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (509) 633-1304
CGID7565

Steamboat Rock State Park

Camp Information
Sites
126
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   6   9   9   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
This park has new facilities and is in a beautiful setting. Sitting on the shore of Banks Lake there is a bike path connecting the different sections of the campground. The sites are large with good utilities but no Wi-Fi or cable. We had AT&T cell access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
State campground is very well maintained and easy to navigate. Shaded sites are around the periphery mostly and the sun can be punishing in July. Banks Lake is spectacular. The grandeur of Steamboat Rock itself is undeniable. The whole valley is incredible. Worth travelling this route. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$29
A great state park! The Washington State taxpayers spent their money well here. This park is laid out very nice and the new section is awesome. Take the time to climb to the top of Steamboat Rock while you are there. It takes about an hour to get to the top and the trail is very steep in a couple of places but the effort is rewarded with incredible views once you reach the top. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Great state park. Large level sites with lots of space between rigs. Every night a herd of 12 deer came down and grazed on the grass. We had a site with a view of the lake. Will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Beautiful campground! Lots of room between sites. It's a lot of fun to be able to walk right down to the lake. The water is warm in the summertime and the kids loved it. Well maintained except for one major problem. The mosquitoes there are Horrible. I don't now if the state doesn't allow them to use chemicals for the mosquitoes, or not, but it is out of control. You can't even take a nice walk or sit out in the evening because the bugs are so bad. I went out to dump my black water one evening and when I came back in I had at least 20 new bites on me, no exaggeration. I would give this park a 10 if it were not for the mosquitoes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Our first visit to the Banks Lake area of WA. So beautiful and this park did not disappoint. Well placed hook ups, level paved sites with a view. Gorgeous!! It was a one night stay...but we are already making plans to go back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
The only reason I didn't give this a 10 was because of the mosquitos and other little bugs. If you like a desert lakes you will love this one. The roads are well paved, and it is far enough away from HWY 155 that it is nice and quiet. The hosts are wonderful, informative, and friendly. We came here to take in the unusual geological sites in the area - The Grand Coulee, Steamboat Rock itself, and Dry Falls, etc. Well worth the trip. We saw people fishing and heard the fishing can be quite good. The play area looked like it would be great for kids, although it was off season and during the week so we saw no kids. A group did come in later in the week, and at the group site there were teens and pre-teens having lots of fun, but they were quiet during quiet hours. We don't like heat, so we wouldn't stay here in the summer, and we heard the bugs are worse in the summer although they do control the mosquitos as much as they can. The sites are well laid out, and they are adding more plus some cabins. We would stay here again if passing through, but since we saw what we came to see, we would probably not come back. But we highly recommend it for those who like a desert lake environment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We are a 38 ft 5th wheel and we normally stay out of state parks because of very tight maneuvering, but not here! Sites were large and paved. Deer and wild turkey everywhere. Good restrooms and showers. Only problem was lots and lots of bugs.Used our Deep Woods Off! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
Steamboat Rock State Park is one of our favorites. We love to come here in the spring or over Memorial Day weekend before the summer heat hits. The campsites all have full hookups and are either right on the lake or you have a view of the water with just a short walk to reach the beach. Steamboat Rock itself is a great place to hike and the views from above are awesome! The trails are a little treacherous and steep so be sure to wear suitable footwear and be ready to do a little rock-climbing at times. Grand Coulee Dam is a short drive away as well! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$31
This is a beautiful park with huge sites; we were in site 86 which backs to the lake. The sites are wide enough to pitch multiple tents if you wish to do so. The site was also long enough for our 40' MH plus our car. I'm not sure what more one can ask for in a State Park--50A plus water and sewer and a beautiful view. As for the criticisms about internet and satellite access, we do have usable Verizon service, both voice and internet. It isn't fast, but, with the proper equipment, it is quite stable. We had no problem getting a satellite TV "fix" through the trees that border the sites. The price quoted includes both an online reservation fee and a non-resident surcharge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This is a nice state park. Water, Electric and sewer are good. Sites are level and long enough if you back all the way to the back of the site. Satellite is accessible but you need to get around the trees that outline the park. Plenty of room to put out awning, lots of space between sites. Deer run through the campground every night. They don't seem to be afraid of people. The down sides are there is no internet and air cards have no signal and you have to pay a day fee and I had to pay a fee to make a reservation online. Found an open internet in Electric City around a laundromat near a small RV Park in town to the right above the city. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
The serviced sites are mostly flat and easy to get in an out of. This is a year of mosquitos and that is the only real downside here. Worth the trip with the family as there is great swimming, hiking and the Dam tour is worth doing, and free! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Absolutely stunning park, but for that kind of money private parks also have Wi-Fi, cable TV maybe other amenities. Also the location of the dump was such that our built in hose system could not reach it. Normally this is not a problem as most parks have dumps by the gate. This one does not. We had to travel to another park to dump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Wow, this is about as good as it gets for a state park. Well maintained areas, level paved large sites, great camp hosts. We got the last spot available on-line for this at the last minute as the parks we tried for were filled. We were very happy with it. No cable TV, Verizon was spotty at times, and no Wi-Fi. Didn't need or want it anyway. But the satellite came in well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Very nice campground, full hook ups and lots of space between sites. Our site had a great view of the lake. Lots of trails to explore. No firewood and host did not sell any. Great campground for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
This is a beautiful park. Quiet, trees everywhere, beautiful waterfront, 50 amp service, great camp host in a golf cart that just verified you are the camper with the reservations. This park is a gem. Great boat launch, beach, kayaking, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This is a huge grassy, treed park with all back-in spaces arranged on circular drives. The interior roads are blacktop and easy to navigate for big rigs. Sites are blacktop with table and firepit. There are hiking trails from the campground to the nearby massive rock mesas and it is an easy drive to Coulee Dam Visitor's Center and tours. Because this campground is extremely popular for fishing, water and jet skiing I recommend reservations. The strange check-in process requires you wait at the ranger station until 2:30pm to be assigned a space if you do not have reservations. If you do have reservations, you must return to the ranger station after setting up in your space to check-in. Otherwise the rules and regulations of the park are not enforced. Loose dogs, trailers parked and tents pitched on the grass, loud music and parties were never questioned. It’s a beautiful park but if you want peace and quiet you won’t find it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
This park is beautiful. You can hike trails right at the park. It has about 3 miles of road that is fairly quiet and flat for family biking. It is off the highway and quieter than most in the area. No cell phone coverage or TV, so it is truly a get away. We actually got to talk to our daughter again! LOL. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Steamboat Rock State Park is one of our favorites. Every site has full hook-ups, and even though they are all back-in they are easy to get into. Shade trees throughout the park and beautiful views of the coulee walls right on Banks Lake. We had a site right on the water which was nice, but since you can pull up your boat along the beach behind the campsites, there was a fair amount of noise and foot traffic. It has a small sandy beach and nice swimming area, as well as an on-site store/grill. Great hike up onto Steamboat Rock where the views are awesome! And you are close to Grand Coulee Dam which is a fun days outing. This is a very popular park, so advanced reservations are a must. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Camped in 45 foot motorhome. Beautiful campground located on Banks Lake 11 miles south of Electric City and nearby Coulee Dam. This is a very popular park, so reservations are suggested. Many trees, so satellite TV reception might be blocked. Park has paved interior roads and sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com