220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Traverse City State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (231) 922-5270
CGID7576

Traverse City State Park

Camp Information
Sites
480
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   4   5   8   6   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
If you bicycle, you'll love it here. The interior roads are narrow, but once in the site (#204), it was extra-wide and deep enough for our 40 foot motorhome. No road noise in our section, but a real family park with lots of kids. The bike trail is adjacent to a rear gate and town is only 4 miles away. The trail goes way beyond town, another 17 miles to Suttons Bay. It's also an hour from Sleeping Bear National Park with GIANT sand dunes and a bike trail. The sites are electric only and the 2 dump stations can get backed-up at peak times. We were there over the 4th of July and for the National Cherry Festival - a good time to bike to town. The unisex showers are very popular and the floors get dirty from the beach sand and campground dirt. Plenty of hot water though. The restrooms seemed to be cleaned (and not very well) at inopportune times like 9 AM. There are several restroom buildings so you could divert to the next one. As others have said, you do need a Michigan State Park Access Pass - annual cost was $31. Adequate Verizon voice and data. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Big campground with lots of campers but check in was seamless and grounds were neat and clean. We were only here for one night but we enjoyed the stay. The bike trail is super and we were in walking distance to plenty of food choices although it seemed the campground is out in the country. We were on site 49 which was very convenient to the trail and did not require us to use levelers. It should be noted that Michigan has a state park fee. Only electric was available at our site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Very clean park and restrooms. Staff is friendly and helpful. The park is conveniently located next to the bike trail. We parked our truck and rode our bikes everywhere we wanted to go. There was a short walk over a pedestrian bridge to get to the beautiful beach. We have a dog that travels with us, but if you do not like pets there is a pet free area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
The campground was $29 per night, but we had to pay a MI state park entrance fee of $29 for the RV and $6 for the Jeep. The RV fee has to be paid once a year and the Jeep fee was just for this campground. We wanted to be within biking distance of a festival in Traverse City or the entrance fees would have been enough to send us to another campground. This park was very crowded with no clear dividers between sites. The location, on the bike path and across the road from the lake, is the only thing that makes this campground attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Typical State Park, small camp sites, over used, and with the bonus of having 24 hour traffic noise, and overflying aircraft. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This park is all about location. The sites are mostly dirt. We were in site 315 which was an easy in and out for our 38 feet. The site was large but we did have lots of traffic back and forth through our site since we were right in front of the bathroom. During the week the park was much quieter than on the weekend when it had no vacancy. It rained while we were there but about an hour afterward the ground seemed totally dry so no problems with mud. The TART 21 mile bike trail is paved and leaves right out of the back of the park. There is a pedestrian bridge across 31 to the beach. The restrooms were very crowded but stayed as clean as they could be with all the traffic and the dirt sites. No water or sewer hookups in the campground which is typical of Michigan state parks. Water fills all around the campground. We would definitely stay here again just for the great location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Right in town and across from a nice beach on East Bay. Access to the excellent city-wide TART bike trail system lets you bike to downtown easily. Lots to do in town and in the surrounding area. The campground itself is just OK though. While it's nice that there is pine tree cover nearly throughout the entire park, the sites are postage-stamp sized with zero privacy. Many sites are not fully level (even though overall park is on flat terrain), and road noise can be an issue from the busy US31. Shower and bathhouses were clean and well-maintained when we were here. Would have been an excellent park if there were 2/3'ds as many sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Traverse City is an incredible town making the location of the park a huge asset. Tall pines provide some shade to nearly all sites. A paved bike path connects many miles of trails through town and abroad. You can ride your bike to amusement parks and restaurants. A newer bathroom/shower facility sits on the East end. A pet "free" area is located central and south. Sites are kind of close together, but it seems to work out. The only major difficulty is exiting on a very busy highway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$29
Camped here for the fourth year for the Iceman mountain bike race in November. We love this park in November as we are one of only a half dozen brave souls to camp this time of year. The bad news is that the squirrels seem to have taken over. We left for about an hour to come back to our pop up being covered with squirrels. They chewed/tore two holes into the side to get inside and ate a portion of the food we had inside. The rangers said they became a problem this year with all the people feeding them and they became voracious. As long as you don't keep any food or garbage (who doesn't?) in your pop up, hybrid or tent you need to be aware. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$6
Great in every way. Pleasant to deal with. Did more than we asked for. Would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Although the site we had was marked as a big rig site, i had to go backwards down the road to access it. Nice bridge over the very busy highway to the beach part of the park. Cab service available for wherever you need to go. W-Ffi is available for a $6/day fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
I love State Park Campgrounds. When we go camping, we always stay at State Parks, unless there are none in the area. Even though this campground was right in town, it was still a great escape and quiet while being in walking distance to the beach. There was a nice bike trail that went behind the campground making easy access to all the businesses on the busy road in front of the campground. I would definitely recommend this campground and I'm sure we'll be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
This was a very nice campground. Very clean restrooms. The campground was a bit noisy in the lower number sites 100-200. If you book a site in the 300-400 range the noise is greatly reduced. There is a highway which runs right next to the camp. The airport isn't very far away but I only heard a couple of flights. The beach was very nice. The camp volunteers were very helpful. I was a bit disappointed about having to spend another $30 bucks on a Michigan parks seasonal pass or $8 a day. There are 3 or 4 restroom/shower buildings. The last one is the newest but has long lines in the morning. I walked down to the older ones and didn't have to wait at all. They were all very clean. This is a great place to set up camp and see the town. Went to Sleeping bear dunes and it was only about a 30 minute scenic drive. Downtown is only about 5 miles away...Bring your Credit Card! Lots of cool art shops. Happy Camping! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
The park is just outside of Traverse City on the main highway into town. This make the campgroud very loud, the traffic never stops not even at night. There is an airport in back and large jets take off from 7am to 11pm. Lots are small and very sandy and shady. There is no grass. The beach is very nice but was closed from July 17th to August 10th for ecolia. I would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
We camped with friends this summer and had a wonderful time. The park is noisy, but it should be expected if you are well read on the area and know it's a busy tourist city. This park is the main state park for the hub and is extremely active. The beaches were beautiful, and I'm so glad that they are alert and aware of the contaminants that enter their water area's and are on top of things when they come up. The restrooms are clean, the shower rooms are kept up nicely for as busy as they stay, and the park makes for a wonderful springboard for touring places like Petoskey. We are about to go back this next week for a few days and anticipate having a wonderful time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com