214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Riverbend Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (719) 873-5344
CGID7586

Riverbend Resort

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   5   8   10   9   7   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
We stayed here a couple of weeks last year and stayed here a month this year (2012)and will probably stay here again in the future. This is an older park established in the 1950's I think, and was in a Chevy Chase movie "Vacation" made in the 1980's. Facilities are older but kept clean and usable. The WiFi does not reach all the campsites but an air card (Verizon)takes care of our needs just fine. A river on the south side of the campground has a good brown and rainbow trout population. They stocked it every two weeks while we were there with rainbow trout. Watched them stock in about five different locations (holes ?)in the stretch of river below the campsites. Most of the hosts were very friendly and helpful. Laundry facilities were acceptable, showers and restroom facilities were older but clean and working. We would return to this campground as it is a good central location to this part of Colorado. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
We stayed for a week at this park and enjoyed the area. The river is within walking distance and stocked for fishing. Wi-Fi is extremely unreliable, but cell phone service was good with Verizon. Camp hosts were rather unfriendly with the exception of one. Owners very pleasant. We would probably stay here again if going through Colorado. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
This is an older park that caters to the fisherman. There is a river downhill from the park where they stock one hole with trout. The sites are quite narrow and nearly all of them are back in sites. Our neighbor had his awning staked down and the stakes and ties were into our site. There is a loop road on the west side of that park where I could not make the turn with my 38' motorhome. Luckily, I had unhooked my toad beforehand so I was able to back up and make the turn. I had made a reservation for about a week and then had mechanical problems so I called and changed the reservation to fewer days. They had charged my VISA with one night's stay and then sent me an e-mail showing the corrected reservation days and that I owed just over $2 more to complete our payment upon arrival. When we got there they charges us about $23 more. I quizzed them about the discrepancy and showed them a copy of the e-mail and they said there was a computer error and an employee error and would not honor the quote. Because they wouldn't budge on the difference and wanted to keep the money, they lost a possible repeat customer. I will not be back to this park. There are lots of other choices in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
The staff is some of the nicest, most helpful we had ever experienced. We couldn't ask for better. The park, overall, very nice, but sites could use a little dressing to match other parts of the park. There are great grounds, open areas to access nature and river that flows by below for possible fishing. There is skiing close by. The nearby town of South Fork doesn't have much to offer, but is a good central location to access lots of other areas in southern Colorado. We stayed a week and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Very friendly folks. Campground right on Rio Grand River that is stocked by the park. Excellent fishing. Large meadow for dog walking or exercise. Plenty of group activities organized by full time activities director. Most of the campers here have been here before and keep returning. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
Nice campground on a river. Has clean private showers. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Sites are closer together than I prefer, but area was still quiet at night. Upper sites are very close to US 160, but lower sites were shielded from a lot of traffic noise. Had good WiFi when we arrived but experienced some problems later on in our stay. Manager is very pleasant. It is a short walk to Rio Grande and fishing. Park says they plant the river, but a Colorado license is required. There is a table at each site but only a community fire ring. Only very basic supplies are available in South Fork. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This is a very friendly campground. It is convenient to fishing the South Fork of the Rio Grande (just a very short walk). The campground has a very nice private stretch of river. The sites are very close together. And the cable consists of just a few stations. The sites away from Hwy.160 are better as the road noise is slightly diminished. It is quieter at night. We traveled with our dogs and there is a nice meadow to walk them in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We stayed a week. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Easy walk to the river. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
A very nice location along the South Fork of the Rio Grande. You can’t see the river from a number of the sites but it is an easy walk. Sites are close to level. Small grass areas by most sites and fairly exposed location without much shade. Wi-Fi is a secured type. The office staff very friendly. It is close to the highway but it is quiet at night. The sites are closer together than I prefer, but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This park is located right on the Rio Grande River. Excellent evening activities and very friendly folks. Some of the sites are very close together and reservations need to be made several months in advance. Clean and very well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Stayed here for 6 weeks during the Summer Months of June, July. Walking distance to South Fork of Rio Grande River with Park stocking catchable sized fish. Hiking Trails and lake fishing very close. Owners are terrific. Pets welcome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com