223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Toad River Lodge & RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (250) 232-5401
CGID7594

Toad River Lodge & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   10   9   6   10   1   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
Toad River has been a highpoint of our camping experiences while traveling the Alaska Highway. Very nicely laid out and well maintained campsites located in a remote area adjacent to the highway. Restroom facilities were rustic and outdated as was the laundry room, however, it was a very enjoyable and lovely setting to stop and relax. A Beaver pond/lake next to the campsite provided excellent wildlife entertainment at no extra cost. Full hook-ups nicely positioned at campsites. Campsites well marked. Much needed fuel was available. The Wi-Fi was the best we’ve experienced in the Northwest. The on-site café ceiling was covered in ball caps. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
We have stayed here many times and always plan our trip so we don't miss the Toad River Lodge. Very nice hosts. The park is spotless and the view matches and surpasses anything we've experienced along the Alcan (Alaska Hiway). Laundry facilities were excellent as was the Wi-Fi. Cable TV was basic. Altogether a very restful, quiet park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Compared to the many up and down the highway, this was really nice. Situated on a very pretty lake a little out of town. The site we had did back up to the highway but we were so tired we didn't care. The only downside I saw was the price they charge for gas - get it somewhere else!!!! At least 30 cents higher there than the town prior. There was a big crowd eating in the cafe but we usually eat at home. We would stay here again if we pass thru this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Best campground in the Alaska Highway! I really enjoyed the setting, access from main road,wifi, and noises of animals and fauna around. The internet speed was above expected in such a secluded setting. I was quite impressed about having such fast connection. I was able to do the accumulated work that I could not do during the rest of the Alaska highway. Most campgrounds advertise on the Milepost that they offer free wifi, but only once you are there they say they do not guarantee it will work, and of course, it won't. I did not use the campground showers or bathrooms so I cannot comment on them. I loved the beaver dam by the campground and all of the animal noises at dawn. Peaceful and secluded place ideal to rest after long driving hours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Was going to stop for just a night but ended up staying three days. Site was backed up to a large beaver pond. Very tranquil and restful. Pond had active beaver and muskrats along with migratory ducks. Seemed like we saw a different type of duck each day. Highlight was watching moose feed in the pond, as many as four at a time every early afternoon and some mornings. Nicest and most reasonable park we'd found in the last 3 weeks of traveling. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
Site #14 has a beautiful view of the lake with no road noise. We were here on 14 May 2014 and the lake was still mostly frozen so we didn't see any moose! Bring your own water. It is pretty rusty thus we did not hookup. Wi-Fi was weak in our spot. I-Pad would not hook up but laptop did capture a signal. Power was a little low, (117vAC 30 amp). Would stay here again if we are in area when lake is not frozen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
One of the nicest RV parks we stayed in anywhere in Canada or Alaska. Friendly efficient management, well-maintained, clean restrooms, shaded back-in sites on lake, gorgeous lake views, abundant wildlife and waterfowl, good but not inexpensive café, expensive fuel (but cheaper than outrageous Muncho Lake prices). We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
Although there were many great things about the park -- free firewood, a view of moose feeding on the other side of the lake, watching beavers work on their dam -- I rate the park poor because their water was extremely rusty, to the point my wife and I couldn't drink it, and demanded, and received, a partial refund. Another camper there had used the laundry while unaware of the water issue -- a mattress cover that went in white came out with a light brown tie-dye appearance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
Very nice place to park. Wifi was good, but there was no cell service. We were told the water was not safe to drink, so make sure your tank is full before you get here. Water was very brownish colored, yuk. Views made up for the water. Lots of water fowl to see, and beaver. Awesome views for lots 11 through 16. We stayed on lot 14. We'd stay here again as long as we had water in our tank. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
We found this park to very enjoyable, especially if you can get one of the waterfront sites (#s 11, 12, 13 are the best). The small lake is teeming with waterfowl, and you will also probably see moose and/or bear. There are several beaver lodges where the lake drains into the stream (as well as across the road), and the beavers are very active, especially at night. The park is very clean, the full hookups work well, and the WIFI was strong, even far away from the office. We did need one board to level our 5th wheel, but no real problems. We would definitely stay here again. Our rate is the Good Sam rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This is the 4th year we stay at this campground and it is one of our favourites. This time we were in pull through #24 and it had easy access and was perfectly level. A bonus was a quick lock on from my satellite dish onto the Bell system which is more rare than usual. The only drawback to this pull through was a lack of drainage for our holding tank but there was a dump facility nearby so this was not a great inconvenience. Greatly appreciated was the 30 amp service which is fairly rare along this highway. Our only negative observation was the cleanliness of the washroom and shower area. This was the first time we have seen this here and the only thing we can imagine is this camp ground is being expanded and they might be short of staff. Would we stay here again? Definitely! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Rate shown is with Good Sam discount and tax. Our site (#21)was a level gravel back-in with a full hookup (30 amp). All utilities worked fine. It had a great view of the small lake behind the park. At first we were given an EW site as staff told us all sites were full hookups. The pull-through sites are not. Some of the back-in sites (19-21) have a cable TV connection. There were 8 or 9 channels and most were spotty. Wi-Fi signal was fair to good and good enough for e-mail or browsing. There is a small restaurant and store on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
As campgrounds go along the Alaskan Highway, this is a really good one. Our site fee was based on Good Sam membership. We elected one of the back-in sites which are next to the lake and good spacing between sites. It is very pretty with mountains all around. Our only caution. We used our own washer/dryer and some of the clothes got a rust-type stain. We also noticed a metallic smell when we showered. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We camped in the trees overlooking the lake and loved the view. We had full hookups for the price which is not bad for this area. The pull through sites are close packed with no sewers. The restrooms and showers were old but clean enough considering the age. They need to upgrade them. The restaurant had good food at what is reasonable for the area. The staff did have an English problem but not insurmountable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Nice park on the Toad River. Easy in an out pull-through sites. Beautiful setting. We watched a bull moose across the river for several hours at night and then a cow moose in the morning. WiFi worked only inside the building. The staff person did not seem to understand English when we were trying to pick out a site. She also provided no directions on how to enter the camping area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
We arrived here after driving through a lot of snow. We had called ahead, thankfully, because they only had five sites open for the season (May). These sites were pretty close together, but they had some really good sites, not open yet, on the lake with hook ups. There is a restaurant there, too. Lots of locals seem to congregate here, it has a warm feel. It looks like they are doing quite a bit of work there on something, not quite sure what, maybe some cabins? We would stay here again. However, it should be noted that it is not close to anything. Muncho Lake is not too far away, maybe an hour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
This is a cute little park right on the Toad River. We stayed in a center pull-through site so we didn't have to unhook our toad. There are several river-front sites that are perfect with a view and fishing. Over in the small cove of the river where the beaver dam is there are tent camping sites. There is a double site with an outdoor "bar" with a sink under a shelter. We used this as an overnighter and would do so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
Nice little park right on the highway but also next to a small lake. We were there early so only power and TV cable were available. Water and sewer were frozen. Only about 7 sites were available due to frozen water lines. Bathrooms and laundry were under renovation so no comments on those. Decent restaurant and full services with gas, diesel, and propane. Mechanics were there for repairs. Staff was nice. We would stay there again if lake side site was available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Comfortable campground with most sites overlooking a large pond/Reflection Lake. The pull-through sites are in the middle of the park with no trees. Waterfront sites are average in size,certainly wide enough to extend those slides and awnings, without encroaching on your neighbor. They offer a nice cafe that opens at 6:30am for those who need to get an early start. The cable/satellite TV offers a limited number of channels but does include 1 HBO/Canada chanel if you want a break from reading. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Actual price was about 5.50 in Canadian funds. One of the most picturesque spots we’re ever camped at!! We would have rated this campground much higher, but the old abandoned vehicles need to be removed along with old washers and dryers, and a burned out cabin. The showers and washrooms were adequate, but really need a thorough cleaning (or replacement)! Get a cinnamon roll as soon as you register, as they don’t last long. Watch for moose in the lake, late evening and early morning. The electric service (30 amp) was adequate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
This was a very relaxful, full hook-up park (30AMP) on a beautiful lake. A bull moose came every day and evening. Home of beaver and water fowl on the lake also. A restful joy of an RV park to stay. We were in a 43ft. motorcoach, site 18 on the lake. Lots of room between each site and shady pine trees if you have waterfront sites. They also have grassy pull-through sites by the road. A clean RV park. Owners were very friendly. The restaurant for breakfast was great. Also good diesel fuel prices for the motorcoach. Were going to stay at a resort by Muncho Lake, until we drove there and found it was not up to expectations. Was way overpriced, only 15AMPS and a dump station! Glad we found this little RV park to relax for a great two nights. I would recommend this park to anyone traveling from Dawson Creek making a stop before traveling to Watson Lake! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Laundry is $5 per load. Pay at the office. We had a long back-in overlooking the lake and watched mom mallard teaching her 3 ducklings about diving for food. We would stay here again. Rate is with Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Good stopping point on the Alaskan highway. Main breakers for the campground should be larger as they overloaded with a full campground. Otherwise, echo previous comments. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
This is the best park we've found so far in Canada. It's not perfect, but was exactly what we were looking for at the time. The pull through sites down on the flat are okay, but the back-ins up in the trees are exceptional. Large sites, lots of trees and a fair amount of grass. They back-up to Reflection Lake which hosts an active beaver colony, a variety of ducks, muskrats, and the occasional moose. Ringed by mountains, and minutes from Muncho Lake Provincial Park. Free firewood, firepits, picnic tables. Reasonably priced, good Wi-Fi, cable TV. If you want swimming pools and playgrounds, this isn't your place. If you want a quiet, comfortable campsite in a beautiful natural setting, I highly recommend it. Will go out of my way to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
This park provides reliable utilities, level gravel sites with picnic tables, grills, free firewood and a beautiful natural setting. Many sites back up onto a small lake or beaver pond. The tent section includes an open-air, roofed sink and counter area. The facilities are scruffy, old but functional; laundry is $5 per load to wash and dry. Perimeter sites were quiet and had wildlife and bird-watching opportunities. Pull-through sites nearer the highway probably lack this advantage. The price reflects the Good Sam discount. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Very nice place to stop. Clean and friendly park. A great location and I would highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Beautiful, shaded, lakeside view of wildlife. The fastest, most responsive Wi-Fi we've had the whole trip, but the most expensive gas (and laundry?) as well. A really nice overnight stop, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This was a beautiful park located on a lake-marsh frequented by moose. We selected back in space number 16 in lieu of a pull-through in order to enjoy the view. The site was level and required no blocks for our rig. This was a very memorable location and we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Rate is for 30 amp FHU back-in site. Great little stopping place that has five pull-through sites out in the open in the center of the park. We opted for a back-in site that easily accommodated our large motorhome and toad, which backed up to the beaver pond and also allowed us to get on our Internet satellite. Free firewood and a fire stand at each site was also a nice treat. There was a large mobile BC Hydro diesel generating station in front of the park which meant there is some noise, but that also meant very reliable electric service. There is also some noise from the nearby hill on the Alaskan Highway. To us this was one of those little gems you sometimes find along the road. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This RV park is adjacent to a lodge and restaurant. It is right on the highway, and there is an airstrip across the highway, but the noise level was minimal. Our pull-through site was nice and wide and plenty long so we didn't have to unhook the toad. Sites are gravel with grass between sites. There are no trees in the pull-through portion of the park. Using the sani-dump requires circling through the park to get to it on the correct side. The park was neat and clean. The driveway in front of lodge was pot-holed and muddy due to recent snow. The Wi-Fi was somewhat unreliable and the cable TV had limited channels, but the mountain views were breathtaking. Overall, this is a very pleasant park, and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
You can’t beat the scenery at this RV Park. They had wild ponies on the other side of a beautiful lake and a moose eating in the swamp behind the park. We got to watch a stunning moonrise over the nearby mountains. My kids loved the tree house at the back of the park. They sell stamps, and you can mail letters and postcards there: mailboxes are scarce on the Alaska Highway. They also sell gas, which was pricey but convenient. The bath house was very nice and clean. The gravel parking spots were level and easy. Our spot was a little close to the other campers, but not too crowded. They had both pull-throughs and back-ins. The back-ins were more private and had shade trees and a better view of the gorgeous scenery. The free Wi-Fi worked great at our site. We would have given the park a better rating, but most of the staff was unpleasant and acted like all customers were a nuisance. In addition, we washed our clothes here and got rust stains on a few of our white shirts. The stains weren’t too bad (and there was a sign warning us), but I would probably wait to wash clothes next time. The washers and dryers were not in great repair, and they worked on an honor system where you paid $5/load (for both washing and drying) ahead of time at the diner. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We stopped here in mid June and again in mid August. This campground is OK with pull through sites for big rigs and even some back ends for the big rigs. The Wi-Fi signal didn't reach us at site #13 for some reason all tho the limited satellite TV worked well. Scenic views of beaver pond, lake with evening/morning moose visits and mountains make this campground very worthwhile. The cafe is popular with locals and travelers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We don't have rusty water (although, a note by the washers say there is iron in the water that may stain clothes) and the power has been fine. We have had slight problems with power at other parks. The scenery is great, we have a spot overlooking the lake, they have a popular restaurant, and a gas station (expensive, but needed). We get a good WiFi signal at our site. The grounds are kept clean and attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We had a lot of problems with low voltage at this park. The water was very rusty. The lake was very nice, and the view of distant mountains gorgeous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Pull through sites had no sewer hookups. The 30 amp electric varied from 102 volts up to 133 volts. We were able to get DirecTV with our satellite on site #22. I would not recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
Nice park and clean, spacious sites. The restaurant food was great, especially the bread (made on site). WiFi was in restaurant only, but satisfactory. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Excellent small campground, no dump at site. First time we dumped at dump station, second time through, a couple weeks later, dump station closed. Otherwise great spot and a very nice place to eat, friendly folks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com