217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails - Birch Bay was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (360) 371-7432
CGID7595

Thousand Trails - Birch Bay

Camp Information
Sites
193
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   7   8   6   8   10   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$0
Nice park. Pool, gym, adult and family lodges. Tons of space for sites in phase 2. Many activities. Friendly staff. The only complaint we had is the dumpsters were always full but we loved this park and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$1
Rate is the member rate. This campground is just a stone’s throw from the Canadian Border. All the campsites sport full hookups with 35 amp electric and all are level. There are no hills in this preserve. There are actually two campgrounds that are joined by a road at the back of the property. Phase I is the original campground. It is open year round, has plenty of shade trees, and is close to the heated pool and the activity centers. The hookup situation is rather interesting. A cluster of four complete hookups are in one place. When all four are in use four campers are back to back and side to side. That means two of the campers have to pass their utilities under the camper. Because of the tall trees across the southern side of Phase I it can be rather challenging to get a satellite signal. Phase II is basically an open field with hookups. It is open in late spring through early fall. The sites around the parameter of Phase II are standard, back in sites and are, in my opinion, the most desirable. Sites that aren’t on the parameter are similar to those in Phase I except the hookup approach is for just two campers pointed in opposite directions. Satellite TV is much easier in Phase II. Because this campground is close to the border it’s likely wise to check the Canadian calendar for holidays when planning to visit. On future trips to this area we’d be glad to return to Birch Bay Thousand Trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
Nice Thousand Trails resort. We had a choice when we came in: large pull-through spots without trees in the farther side or treed spots, back-in spots in the near section. In the near section, 4 RVs parked together, back to back and used the same utility poles. We chose the long pull-throughs. Very clean restrooms and shower area. We did not use the pool but many others did. Good location for exploring Vancouver and the Blaine area. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$1
This is one of the better Washington parks within the Thousand Trails (TT) / Encore system. After visiting other TT parks in the area (La Conner and Mt. Vernon), this park clearly differentiate itself when it comes to power efficiency and interior roads. Sites are level and spacious and you don’t have to worrying about clearance issues. Phase II is the newest section and is recommended over the older Phase I area. Staff was friendly and always visible throughout the preserve. As with all TT parks, the speed limit is typically 5 mph - most parks don’t enforce this policy but Birch Bay seemed to really take it seriously. We would stay again if in the area. Rate reflects TT membership. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$0
We have been members of Thousand Trails for less than a year and have been to many of the parks. The overall quality of the parks is poor and we have been very disappointed. This park is the exception, though. It is the best Thousand Trails park we have been to. The sites in phase I are huge and you sit back to back with your neighbor. There aren't any trees, but you wont have any problems getting a satellite TV signal or putting your awning out. The park is clean and well kept. The only negative is that some of the older Thousand Trails members that we met weren't very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$5
Sites in Phase One use 2 pedestals together to service 4 narrow sites. You are very close to neighbors and must have long sewer/water hoses and electrical cords if you have a big rig. Satellite TV is dicey in about half the Phase One sites. Phase Two, only open summer/fall, has longer sites with one pedestal serving 2 sites and some pull-throughs. Long sites enable my 40' motorhome with 25' trailer to stay hooked up with room also for an auto. Satellite TV access excellent. Park is basic with pool, no spa. Internet available free at clubhouse until 10 PM. Quiet park, although needing maintenance on services at many Phase One sites. Don't expect a high end park and you won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
We are Thousand Trails/NACO members and the price reflects our extended stay for a month after our initial two week stay using our membership. There are Phase I and Phase II sections. Phase I is the older area of the park with several trees. Phase II is an open area surrounded on the perimeter by large trees. Both sections have large sites with combination of pull-throughs and back-ins. The sites are either grass or gravel with the interior roads a combination of dirt/gravel. No Wi-Fi at the sites but satellite reception is good in Phase II. Not sure in Phase I due to the trees. The vast majority of sites have good 30amp electric and there is at least one 50amp site with a charge of $5 per day, whether your a member or not. The park closes Phase II for the season in October but Phase I is open year round. There are no frills except for a nice pool. We elected to extend our stay mainly due to the mild summer weather and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
I was at the park at the same time as the person who wrote the prior review for July 2010. The reason the pool was closed is because earlier in the weekend someone's child defecated in the pool, causing them to close it to clean to make it safe for people to swim in. The fire pits have to be rented because they have lost many to people stealing them, and that is the reason they have so few to rent out. I did not see or smell any mold or mildew in any restroom I used throughout my stay. The restrooms were very clean and were cleaned quite often. The sites and roads are dirt and gravel because NACO/Thousand Trails believes in leaving the parks as natural as possible. If people didn't speed through the park the dust wouldn't be so bad. Yes the Internet is really slow and not available at the sites but at least it is free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$47
We are extremely disappointed that the facility doesn’t have built in fire pits and that rental units for $5 per night are not available. I spent all weekend on the wait list. The pool was closed pretty much the entire weekend from 7/30 – 8/1 in the later afternoon. The showers in the ladies room drain couldn’t keep up when more than 1 shower was in use, forcing people to stand in other peoples bath water. Lots of mold in both bathrooms from the lack of cleaning under benches, counters, sinks, etc. WIFI Internet was a joke at best. No connectivity in the park it’s self and in the lodge it was slower than using dial up. When checking in the clerk spent an extended period of time explaining how many sites didn’t have fully functional hook-ups. Seems it would be in the best interest of the park to fix them vs putting a black garbage bag over them. Lack of paved roads and lots create a lot of dust. Playgrounds are dirt vs play sand. We really don’t like the first come first serve process. I would prefer to pick a spot that I know is large enough for my trailer vs showing up and hoping for the best. On the plus side: Park is very quiet and lot size is nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
Beautiful park that is mostly pull-through sites, with large grassy areas. Has very friendly staff, well kept-up grounds. The area offers lots to do between U.S. and Canada. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$1
A nice park in the Thousand Trails system. It is a typical Thousand Trails park...perfectly adequate but the facilities are a bit dated. This park does have nice large sites in Phase II. Phase I sites could be a bit cramped if the park were busy. There is excellent satellite reception in most of Phase II and some of Phase I. There is good cell and aircard reception. It is a real pretty "touristy" area with a water park, go-carts, and a number of waterfront restaurants withing 5 minutes. Be sure to check out Birch Bay State park about 10 minutes south of here. It is a very pretty state park with picnicking, bike riding, clamming, and etc. Again, it is a nice Thousand Trails park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$1
A nice place to stay if you are visiting this area. We found phase II to be much nicer than phase I, and as with most Thousand Trails properties, the facilities are well worn and in need of much updating, but the sites were large and level and most were satellite friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$0
This is a membership park and we were very pleased with the management and staff. They are doing everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. The park has 2 sections, one side has many large trees that offer shade, the other is much more open and gives a clear shot for TV dishes. The roads are gravel as are the sites, our site was level and by the looks of the park, many others are too. The grass in between the sites was cut each week and each site had a table. I didn't care for the speed bumps they have in the roadway, but I suppose it helps with keeping the speeds down to the 5 mph. The area is worth visiting and this park is on our list of good to return to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$8
This is a membership park. We were there on our RPI membership. We really enjoyed our stay. The pull-through sites in Phase I would be pretty close when this place is full because they are four-site units. In Phase II the pull-throughs are in side-by-side pairs, which is not bad. The back-ins are spacious. Their (free) WiFi is available only in the lodge. They have a well-maintained book exchange. Big redwood trees in Phase I and around the perimeter of Phase II. You select your own site after you arrive. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. If they had 50 amp power and free WiFi through the park, I would have given it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com