223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Wales West RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (888) 569-5337
CGID76

Wales West RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   8   8   8   8   7   1   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$42
Stayed for one night. Great family park with lots of activities for kids. Fairly close to Mobile. Staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend for families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
Appears that this park is going downhill in the area of maintenance and general upkeep. Seemed like no one in charge. Tons of gnats. Had a booming business with the train hauling bus-loads of school children. Vary quiet at night. wide level pull-throughs. Rate shown is based on the monthly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Overall nice place to stay. Very family oriented and family friendly. Management staff was very nice and helpful. We stayed during the 4th of July holiday and participated in the kids bike parade, outdoor movies, fireworks, train rides, etc. This was very nice and a lot of fun for our little one. Facility is about 20 miles from Gulf Shores so we were able to spend some time on the beach without driving very far. Campsites are very spacious and even though park was full most of the time, we didn't feel like our "neighbors" were right on top of us. Only a few complaints. While the sites are very large they are full of dirt! Way more dirt than grass. This was a bit of a nightmare as we were also traveling with our two small dogs. Even with an outdoor mat it was quite a mess. Also, the place was covered with ants! You couldn't sit outside without ants taking over the pets, your feet, the tables, etc. Had to make a trip to the store for ant spray to try to get them under control. Finally, the campground does not have cable TV, which for the price was a bummer. However, to their credit the Wi-Fi was excellent! We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$13
I will be back. My rate is a monthly rate. Friendly staff that treats you like family. I'm a nature lover so take that into account. Huge gravel pull through sites, with good local TV reception and great water. Large, clean showers. Nice laundry area. Long term pays electricity and I love that! People are conservative with lights and air conditioners so all you can hear and see is nature. No road noise! Love the surrounding fields of cows. I came in January for a few days to enjoy the warm water of the indoor pool and hot-tub. I write this 3 months later loving the frog songs from the lake and the stars shining brightly. The snowbird community here is great fun and very open to newcomers. Lots of activities during the winter including music twice a week. There are also some great full-timers here at the park. Kids love the trains. I have enjoyed the room to walk the dog, the view and quiet and Fairhope. I have fallen in love with this area. For the summer months the lake beach with waterfall and playground would be great for swimming, fishing and boating. Great enclosed safe area for kids to explore and ride bikes. Much to see and do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We stayed at Wales West when Thomas the Train was in town. Very nice miniature railroad throughout the park. Great for the kids. Quaint little park way off of the interstate. No stores or restaurants within 15 miles. Spots were fairly level and mostly sand and gravel. We checked in late and our paperwork and site map were taped on the door of the office. Nice playground for the kids. Nice train rides. Cable TV only had 4 or 5 channels. When I asked my wife what I should write about Wales West she said: "GNATS! TONS OF GNATS." She's right, there were tons of gnats. Hopefully this is only a seasonal thing. Also, they assigned us one spot and gave us another when we got here. Not that big of a deal. We only stayed here because Thomas the train was in town, so we would probably not stay here again since we've been once already, but we would recommend visiting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$14
I stayed two months so the nightly rate is actually the month rate. Electricity was extra at eleven cents per KW. The owners and staff were very nice and always available. The have bluegrass bands twice a week in the winter. The sites in the main area are very spacious and landscaped, there is a nice indoor pool and hot tub, a small but well maintained laundry, and two very nice bathrooms. The train rides are good. Only critical point is the management seems a little slow to correct problems. It was a good snowbird park and I would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
Our rate was based on a monthly rate prorated per day. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, but there are some things that need improvement. First, we were not told when we booked that the advertised railroad would not be operating during our stay, and it is one of the reasons we chose this resort. The office staff were very friendly and helpful, but their hours of operation were sporadic and unpredictable. Overall, though, there were very nice activities and all campers, even those who were regulars, went out of their way to welcome the "new folks". It is also close to lots of attractions, yet very quiet and country-like. They do need to do a better job of trash removal, though: the dumpsters were often overflowing. It caters to all types of people and has something for everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
This is without a doubt the worst RV park we have ever visited. Staff was very rude and uncaring. We arrived after a much anticipated wait on Nov. 26th, the site they gave us was so small you can hardly get into it. We had requested a 30 amp site but they gave us a 50 and told us we would have to provide our own adapter. Needless to say we left immediately and after leaving meet many others who had similar experiences at this park. The owner here will tell that he does not even like RV'ers. Just has it so he can operate the trains etc. Don't waste your time or money on this place, it should be closed down, a total disgrace to the camping experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This park is not easy to find despite the directions. It is very rural with about 10 miles of narrow yet paved county roads. Once into the park, the sites are quite generous, easily accommodating a big rig towing a trailer with an extra vehicle. The biggest detractors for the park (also touted as the biggest attraction for others) is the miniature steam engine train that makes multiple trips daily accompanied with shrill train horns and because of the very rural location, the neighboring properties cows were quite odoriferous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$34
Very family friendly. Indoor pool as well as outside beach and play ground. Steam train rides and the place was decorated to the hilt for Halloween. Very friendly staff. Has laundry and library plus group area with cooking facilities. We stayed a week. Good sized sites and no problems getting in and out with a 40 ft fiver. Only negative was the gravel roads and the location is a little out of the way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is possibly the best park we have stayed in so far. The owners, staff and facilities are all excellent. Our children rode the train every day at least once during our 7 day stay. There were many activities to keep my boys entertained. The shower house, laundry, and grounds were well maintained: the cleanest showers I've seen at a campground. The owners and park manager go the extra mile to make your stay great! Hope to return for the holiday events! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
Our RV club has camped here twice and enjoyed both visits. The management is tops, the train is entertaining for adults & children alike, and the facilities are well-maintained. Special train events are held on holidays throughout the year. Indoor pool and hot tub are nice in cool weather. Close to restaurants and shopping. Outstanding clubhouse. There is a lake for outdoor swimming. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
We enjoyed this RV Park. The pool was indoor. The lake was nice as well as the playground. It is a small campground, but it was quiet and relaxing. The train wasn't as expected. I thought there would be more rides or things about the trains. The days we were here, it seemed to be off days. The buildings and surroundings were very unique. We stayed 2 days and enjoyed the slow pace. There were no activities going on, so I was confused about the Woodall's ratings for the campground. Maybe we went at a off time. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
We had a great stay at Wales West Campground. Slightly off the beaten path near Fairhope, Alabama. This campground is great for kids and adults alike who love trains. The steam engine was running the weekend we were here. The rides are free to campers. They also have a diesel engine and some smaller model trains. The sites are gravel but level. Nice pull through sites. Services were great. WiFi worked perfectly. Has a heated indoor swimming pool. This campground is very quiet. Staff is very friendly. While we were at the campground they were unloading the 1/8 inch scale train and they let my four year old son drive it (with some assistance). They also gave him his very own pair of engineer gloves. This was probably the best day of his little, four year old life. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Owner's and staff were very friendly and went above and beyond to make you feel welcome. If you like trains, this is the place for you. We were here for the Easter Bunny train ride. It was great fun for our 5 year old and very well done, with a train ride out to visit Bugs Bunny and return. Indoor heated pool and two play grounds kept him busy. For the adults, there is a weekly bluegrass concert (in season, I think October through the end of March). The lake, about 3 acres in size was still a bit cold for our use, but looks like great summer fun. We will definitely return the next trip through southern Alabama. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Even though we had numerous catastrophes, we still had an excellent stay at Wales West. The first night, we left our awning open and a typhoon hit. The awning blew up and busted out the skylight over the bed. The laundry facilities were invaluable. Management gave us the number of a mobile RV repairman who arrived early the next morning and fixed us right up. My little Yorkie dog got away from me and everyone in the whole camp helped us catch her. Our truck broke down on the way home and we had to leave it at the Ford dealership for 2 weeks to be repaired. We came right back to Wales West and stayed the weekend when we picked it up. So many activities and things to do. We will be going back as soon as possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This is wonderful RV Resort, very, very friendly staff. We fell in love with the park, the kids enjoyed the train ride a lot, as well as the very nice indoor pool that was very clean. The sites are pull through gravel with easy access to the connections with a light built into the power pole (I know the simple things impress me). We were pulling our 36' Tahoe with my F450 and it was easy to get into the slot and had plenty of room all around. Has a picnic table on concrete for each side. The gift shop was nice, but again the family friendly atmosphere will definitely cause us to stay here again and even cause us to go out of our way to stay here. Wonderful experience. We stayed two nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Exceptional management; superb maintenance; unique family narrow gauge RR entertainment. This park is up to Disney standards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$37
This campground was very nice. I saw on one reviewer's comments that there were too many problems to warrant staying, but these were very minor. Plus, I can't imagine going camping the day after Christmas anyway. Anyway, the pool was clean and nice. The hottub was a nice respite. Not one person in my family (there were five of us in all) failed to enjoy the hottub. We all got to ride the train. It was great. None of us went down to the beach, but it was nice from what we could tell. As for the campground host, they helped us tremendously. We were staying in a practically new RV, and our heater would not work; so, they loaned us a space heater for the duration of our visit. We were not able to get reservations at a campground in Gulf Shores, but this campground made us glad that we didn't. The spring break traffic was intense, and made us all glad to get back to Wales West. Foley and Fairhope were, by far, two of the nicest cities and we enjoyed them tremendously. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Great place for children to ride a real steam engine train. Owners are constantly adding new things to the campground. Sites are pull through and gravel. Not all sites are level. Indoor pool is great in all seasons. "Lake" gets a lot of algae in summer. Only minutes away from Fairhope, Al, which is a wonderfully quaint town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$31
I have mixed feelings about this place. It is really neat with a pretty fabulous set of buildings and a working railroad, 2 foot gauge. We came in without a reservation and asked to stay a week so we were given a grassy, fairly unlevel site. The cable TV did not work and the wireless internet was sporadic at best. They have an indoor heated pool, but it has restricted hours. In fact the activity building is closed much of the time. We did not have a picnic table. There really are two campgrounds here, the upper sites and the lower sites. The upper sites are in a grassy field and are used for the long term people or the work campers and they are cheaper. The lower sites have a gravel pad, all are drive through, and have various degrees of shading. The lower campground is nicer but more expensive. We stayed in the lower campground. Concrete pads would be nice. They do have some ongoing activities. We only saw one of the owners on Thursday night, at the potluck. The office person is a workcamper and she could have been a little more helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
The park was okay but the site we had was mostly dirt and unlevel. There was a small concrete pad about in the middle of the site but not very big and couldn't be used as the patio like most. We left a day early in fear that if we got any rain our RV would become a mess. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
Terrific people, with lots of planned activities. Picturesque setting, with the train and lake. TV arrangement is a little strange, with some channels on cable and network (and a few others) broadcast over the air. Switching back and forth requires re-scanning every time. Sites are large and pleasant, with good landscaping. There is an overflow area that is not as nice, so be sure you are int the "lower' area. Overall, a 10, because the plusses far outweigh the drawbacks. We stayed 2 weeks, and made arrangements to go back for a month in March. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$31
We paid a monthly rate so the nightly rate shown didn't apply to us. We stayed here for the month of December and enjoyed it so much we extended for the month of January. This is a super nice RV park. The train ride is a one mile ride. The pool is heated and indoors, along with the hot tub. The owners are the best. This is a very friendly park. The Tuesday night music with train ride is what we call in Louisiana as lagnappe, in others words a little extra topping on the cake, and let's not forget Thursday night potluck, "C'est si bon," thats good. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$32
We found Wales West to be a very friendly, safe, and interesting campground. The railroad around the park offered a very unique experience . The music night, the heated pool and spa, and the potluck night were additional highlights. It's location in a quiet rural area with convenient location to shopping and entertainment were a perfect environment for us to spend the winter season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2008
$31
We had a horrible experience with this park. We moved two days into our nine day stay. We had six RV's in our group. They will not allow groups of over five inside the park, and put us in an area by the storage lot. The pool and restrooms were closed. There were no trains running. The employees were very rude. I felt so strong, I made a webpage documenting our visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
The biggest problem with this park is that it is too far off the highway and too far from the beach. The directions in the camping guides are either incorrect or hard to follow or both. Even though the park was listed as honoring Passport America, we were refused the discount. We will not stay here again, even though we have stayed here several times previously. I am a train affiliate and love the trains at this park. Tuesday nights, except during the summer, there is a bluegrass concert in the club room plus a train ride. Some of the bands are better than others. On this visit, I left the concert early. Cost is $5 and includes popcorn and soda pop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$32
We like this campground. They have a great light display during the holidays. The train is a lot of fun and the kids love to ride on it. We will stay there this Christmas and decorate the trailer with lights. I do not know the daily rates as we stayed a month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$32
Wales West offers large sites, plenty of room to walk a large dog, and plenty of interesting activity to watch as the owners expand and improve the narrow gauge railway that circles the park. However, the sites and roads are gravel and the cement patios are situated so that you cannot line up your entrance door with the patio. Therefore, dirt was a problem, at least for us. Also, there are no street lights, so bring a flashlight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$32
The sites are large enough for big rigs, and have grass and a patio although the patio was now where near where we could use it. There is a small snack bar so if you have a need for a hot dog it is not far away. We were there during the Christmas season and the park has a small scale railway that guests can ride free of charge, that takes you through the property to see the million plus lights they hang. There is a pond with a sandy beach area for swimming and tanning. The clubhouse has a large deck overlooking the pond for relaxing. The pool is indoors for those that don't like swimming in ponds. They have ongoing activities for those that stay. It seems like a destination park for snowbirds in the winter. This is a PA park for two days so it is quite affordable. This park is in the country so it is quiet, but then again you must drive a few miles to get to any stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
We had a week long rally here with about 9 other RVs and had a very nice time. The staff were friendly and helpful, letting us move some picnic tables to one site for our daily gatherings. They allowed us to have campfires in our fire ring each night. If you're a camper, you can ride the narrow gauge railroad around the park for free. Some sites were so wide you needed a long sewer hose to reach the hookup, but that's a minor consideration. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
This is our first time staying at this site and it's been a wonderful experience. The train rides on Dame Ann are free with our overnight package. Our site was right beside the lake so we have a beautiful view of the water and the playground with sand pile where the kids can swim and play. The indoor swimming was really nice and so is the hot spa. The bathrooms and showers are absolutely clean. It is a wonderful place for young kids to roam around and play near the train station. There are also washers and dryers available. They also have bluegrass music on Tuesday and Thursday nights and special events like Pumpkin Festival and Christmas special events. The owners are so friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back to this peaceful paradise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
I would have to say their policy concerning children is very disappointing. Attention has been brought to this campground in recent news when they wouldn't allow a HIV child from using any of the facilities. Seems to me they are quite prejudiced instead of educating themselves. I RV 365 days a year and would think twice before giving them a hard earned dollar. If you can only use 1/2 of the facilities, shouldn't the rate be 1/2 price? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
This park has gravel spots with some grass. It is clean and well kept. It has a train that travels around the campground. Great for kids. It also has a lake with a man made beach. There is a playground for kids. Didn't like the indoor pool. It was like walking into a sauna. The recreation room is nice with singing on certain nights. Staff was very nice. Definitely worth the stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
We were pleased to find this very charming CG. My kids enjoyed the indoor pool and the train ride. We arrived late, but someone came to the office and helped us check in and invited us to the Tuesday night bluegrass concert. This is a smaller CG, but the owners have obviously invested a lot of time and money in it. The model RR is incredible,and in addition to the indoor pool, there is a small lake w/ sand beach and a nice playground. The buildings are very attractive. Our site was pretty narrow, but that was our only negative. Oh, and DO NOT use GPS to get there, use their directions :-) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
When I made our reservation the person on the phone stated that we were getting the last available site because of the "Snow Birds." I told her that we were camping with our 2 children and had chosen this park specifically because of the indoor pool. She said that children were very welcome at the park. My children were treated rudely and denied access to the pool for the duration of our stay. We left earlier than we had planned due to the rude employees. It began with a "Snow Bird" yelling that my children and the others in the pool were too loud so the adults could not enjoy watching the races in the Club house next to the pool. I was sitting there and she would not address me, she yelled at the children. The following morning a closed sign was placed on the pool. It opened for an hour mid-morning for the "Snow Birds" to have their water-aerobics class and then closed again. When I asked at the office, the park manager very rudely told me that it closed because children had put rocks and laundry soap in the pool. She would not tell me how to contact the owners and even said that they were so tired of dealing with kids in the pool that they were going to "fill it with concrete before the summer season." I could look in the window and see that the pool was fine and it had been okay for the aerobics class to get in. Since we couldn't get in the pool we decided to build a fire in the fire ring provided. There were 10 people from 3 different sites enjoying the fire and socializing. Then the manager came out and told us we were once again being too loud and would have to extinguish the fire and return to our sites. It was 8:00 in the evening! We were sitting around a fire roasting marshmallows and talking! We left early the next morning. When I told the manager why we were leaving she said that was fine because she liked just having the "Snow Birds." I'll never go to this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
Great kids place. Has a small steam train for kids and adults. Friendly management and is clean. There is no shade. Will go back, definitely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Very nice CG. The sites are very roomy and can handle most any size rig. You are not crammed in against your neighbor as in so many privately owned campgrounds. They have an indoor pool, spa as well as an outdoor lake for swimming. They also have a small gauge train they run in the summer and on weekends other times of the year. Two things keep it from being a 10. Fire ants. Lots of ant mounds in the common areas. Not a problem on the sites but if you walk a dog, be careful as there are lots of mounds in the dog walking areas as well as on the playground. The other issue was the rudeness of an employee. We were in the spa and the room temp was 92 degrees. It was like a sauna. We propped open the door for a few minutes to get a bit of cool air and a man came by, pushed the door shut and proceeded to counsel us on why the door had to be closed. He acted like he was talking to his children. Everyone else at the park was very nice. Maybe this guy just had a bad day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$35
The only reason I gave it an 8 was it is still under construction. We were the first ever customers of this park. It is going to be great, especially if you like trains. Super nice owner-operator. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com