206664 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Lake RV & Golf Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 68 user reviews. Phone: (352) 591-3474
CGID760

Grand Lake RV & Golf Resort

Camp Information
Sites
409
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   10   9   6   8   7   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
The park staff is very rude and not at all cooperative. Don't ask questions and don't complain. This just makes it worse. The amenities are ok. The 3 mile hiking trail is a joke and non-existent. The rate initially quoted for a week as a new person was much less when I called than when we showed up. Not very professional. I will not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$27
Paid group rate for a FHU, somewhat level, grass site. Site was very large and mostly level, but the sites do have uneven spots. But we had no problem leveling. Very nice Rally facilities. It is a common area so you get folks walking in on your group. Cable lineup is 11 channels. WiFi is $5 a day, $10 for 3 days, $15 per week, etc. We did not use it as our Verizon broadband was very good. The big downside here is the full time people in the park models that line this part of the park. To them, the grass sites is the dog walk and they walk (and drive golf carts) right thru occupied sites. Food was fair at best at the on site Eagles Nest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
The site are extremely large and long. If you like golfing then this is a great RV location for you. I don't golf but still enjoyed the beautiful weather. A few activities provided by the park, it needs to develop more. If you like restaurants the one on site is more than adequate but most others are 20 miles away in Ocala or Gainesville. I don't like their mail service - they collect it and put in open pigeon holes, often in the WRONG box. So I switched to GD at the local P.O. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$17
We have been seasonal campers at Grand Lake Golf and RV Resort for 12 years. This resort is coming back to once again be a prime destination. The new owners are demonstrating commitment to bringing the park back to life. The previous owner let the park slide by lack of maintenance. There is now an extensive paving program going on. The decking on the clubhouse and store has been replaced. New shuffleboard courts have been added. There are new bocce ball courts. The tennis courts are being refinished. Attractive new fencing encloses the pump house, dumpster sites, and the sewage disposal plant. New pool tables have been purchased. Management is building a new kitchen for the restaurant which is due to open in November. Proper sand has been added to the bunkers on the golf course. The greens are being reseeded by professional caretakers. The swimming pool has a complete new tiled surround with all new furniture. We had been ready to seek another destination before the new owners took over. Impressed by the new owners commitment, we are ready for another 12 years here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Big park 3 miles off I-75. They advertise Passport America, BUT, will not honor rates, however off season rate is reasonable. Long pull-through, but narrow, and very little room between sites, very little shade. Lots of permanent RV's and park models. The park needs some TLC and to either drop PA or honor rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$50
Stayed 3 nights on our way back from Florida. A sink hole opened up and swallowed the "Grand Lake" a few years ago, so don't expect to see any water. Nice 9 hole course next door, I don't golf. Most sites were paved and level. Ours was on the end of a row and very quiet. We saw some eagles and lots of nesting cranes. Not much else to do here, but very peaceful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
Arrived after the registration office closed. Campground was very empty. Selected a grass site anticipating Passport America discount. Next morning went to office. Office people very friendly, but did not honor the PA discount. Park was quiet and easy to get in and out of. Paved interior roads with many paved sites as well many grass sites in an open field with no shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$40
We were traveling to South Florida and picked this campground as a overnight stay. It is about 3 miles east of Interstate 75 on Highway 318. The campground entrance is well marked. I mention this because my map programs did not locate it correctly. I would recommend this location for anyone wanting an quiet friendly location to spend some time. The pull through site that I had was about 100 feet long. We will certainly use this location for future travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Passport America not accepted anymore. Very,very limited cable choices. WiFi was non existant for me and the old dialup location did not work either. Pool was great. Very pricey for Florida in July. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We have stayed here many times in the last 10 years and we feel that the park is showing its age. The trees need to be trimmed along the entrance road. The lots are not groomed and weeded very well. The cement pads are cracked. There are a lot of full timers here. The park is large so you really don't notice that. The Wi-Fi is not very good. It times out and won't let you back on even though you haven't used up your 2 hours of free time which it allots you each day. For this nightly rate, we've stayed in a lot of other parks that have free Wi-Fi for as long as you want to use it. The cell phone service is also questionable. Our Tracfones could pick up a signal, but the signal wasn't strong enough to complete a call. We've also had that problem with Nextel and Altel, when we used those providers and stayed at this park. Also, the park corporate office has issued a memorandum for this summer that they were not going to accept any membership discounts. That meant that our Camp Club USA which we've used here before was no good and neither was the Good Sam discount which almost all parks give. We are rethinking whether or not we'll stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We had not been to this area before and wanted to explore. This park could use some TLC. WiFi was slow and iffy. The golf course was disappointing and in need of repairs. For an extended stay, it is 30 minutes to Ocala or 30 minutes to Gainesville for supplies. For an overnight, it is a ways off the Interstate. This location would be inviting for a rally with many grassy sites in one location available for groups to stay together. The slumping economy has hit many RVing destinations and this is no exception. The office staff was very friendly and helpful but their onsite repair service didn't return our calls. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
It was not very busy in May as most of the seasonal folks were gone so it felt roomy. In spite of that they tried to put us right next to someone else when there were lots of open spaces. We requested to be moved, and they complied. Grassy sites are $5 less than concrete, and the grass is fine. My only complaint is that their ad says free W-iFi, but only 2 hours/day is free. After that it starts at 3.95/hr! Limited free Wi-fi would be more accurate. Has a 9 hole golf course on site which we would have played if it wasn't so hot. Would stay again-only 3+ miles off I-75. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
I've read the other reviews on Grand Lake, and I largely concur with most of the comments. Overall, this is a very nice park. Some of the positives and negatives should be highlighted, though. First, this is, visually, a lovely park. The landscaping is well manicured, the sites are nicely spaced with plenty of "breathing room", and the roads are wide and well-paved. Also, we felt very safe in this park, even though the gate is left open during the day. No issues with leaving your things in the park while you go off for a walk, a drive, or a week-long car trip. Second, the staff is friendly and efficient: particularly one lady who is a treasure at the front desk. Mail service is very convenient as well. Third, if you are a golfer, this is a great place, as there is an on-site 9-hole course, a driving range, and a putting green. The big negative concerns Wi-Fi. The park's wireless service provider, WiFiFee, is virtually non-functional. Most of the time, you cannot get on at all, and if you do, it times you out after 2 hours or anytime you get thrown off the internet (which is frequently). (And don't buy the extra time, it won't work any better even though WiFiFee tries to trick you into thinking that it will). I was in constant communication with the tech assistants at WiFiFee, and they only could tell me that service to that area was bad. Moreover, if you rely, as I do, on Verizon wireless as your internet service provider (the thing you stick in the USB port on your computer to get internet access), there is absolutely no Verizon wireless internet service in that whole area (cell phone yes, but wireless internet no). So, you either need to not care about wireless internet service, or you need to come with your own satellite service if you stay at Grand Lake for an extended time. The second biggest problem is the distance you must travel to get anywhere. Orange Lake is a solid 25 minute drive to Ocala or Gainesville, and there is nothing in between you and these destinations but farmland and/or swampland. So popping downtown for a coffee or quick run into a shop is really not in the cards. OK for a few days, but after 3 months, this can wear thin. Lastly, I must make guests aware that the driving range doubles as the wastewater drainage field. So the golf balls that are collected after you hit them and that are returned to you when you purchase another bucket have not infrequently been basted in rather unsavory substances. Wash up after hitting the balls. Overall, I'd stay again readily once I get satellite internet service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
This park has it all except for free Wi-Fi, which is the only reason I couldn’t rate it a 10. You’re allowed 2 hours free access each 24 hours, after which, if you need more time, you have to pay the ridiculous price of $4 an hour, $8 a day or $25 a month. This in a day and age when most parks, shopping centres and airports provide it free of charge. Apart from that major annoyance, it’s one of the better parks we’ve visited. Beautiful huge oak trees draped with Spanish moss, a truly warm pool, immaculate grounds, nicely maintained RVs and park models. Helpful, friendly staff, a part-time snack bar, reasonably stocked store, (beer, no wine) lots of activities and a par-three golf course that unfortunately was much too busy for us to try during either of our 2-day stay. Putting green and driving range was fun, though. CATV provided 12 strong channels. As previously stated, a bit out of the way for shopping, but we’ll keep an eye on it and return once the Wi-Fi issue is solved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
We spent just one night on our way to South Florida. The campground is very large and has a lot of pull throughs. We arrived after sunset and had no problem getting onto our site in the dark. We stayed on a "Deluxe" site with a concrete pad. There are a lot of amenities, including golf, that we did not have time to enjoy. Next time we would like to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$38
Huge campground, some sites on narrow concrete pads, others on grass. Some park models around. Small pool for the number of sites. There's a 9-hole golf course on site. Very crowded, very close sites. Grass sites subject to low ground water problems in rain. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
This park is aging and is not being well maintained. The Wi-Fi rarely works and when it does the speed is very slow. It has a nine hole golf course which also is poorly maintained, apparently because the maintenance equipment is broke down. Animals are allowed to go almost anywhere and annoying barking dogs are heard at various locations. There are also some exotic pets in the park, we saw Monkeys and a Parrot. At one time this probably was a very nice park. Rates are somewhat high for this area of Florida. Shopping is a twenty minute drive one way and major shopping is thirty minutes or more. They do have a nice pool but not always heated. There are two recreation halls both with dirty carpeting. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$37
Huge campground. Other recent reviews are very accurate. Good stop over on I-75 exit 368. Park is 2.9 miles east on Hwy 318, left side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Huge campground and really spread out. Roads are paved and really busy with golf carts, pedestrians and vehicles. Sites are a bit crowded. The "lake" appears to be quite low and there is no access from the campground. Sites are paved but they also have sites on grass. These are also quite close and there is no privacy. Lots of activities. The pool is quite small for the number of sites here. Shopping is about 20 miles or so. We are not golfers but the course appears quite nice. We may return for a short stay but would not want to spend a long time here. Too busy. Not many trees. Too far from towns for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
We stayed here after being invited by a co-worker that keeps his RV here. We really enjoyed ourselves. The park is very clean and good lay out, with easy access to most sites. We stayed at a site with a concrete pad, but many of the sites are grass. It is very quiet, other than the air boats looking for alligators (they typically start around dark), but they can really only be heard as they are leaving. Our site had great shade, but most of the grass sites have little to no shade. The pool was clean, but small. There is a nice little store on site, though it could use a little more inventory. Overall, not a bad campground and we will likely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
Grand Lake is a nice enough place, but there is no lake here: more like a swamp. Several air boats around and that tells what the locals think of the so-called lake. This place is also in the middle of nowhere. About 20 miles to the nearest respectable supermarket and Starbucks. The location was remote enough that our AT&T air card could not pick up a signal. The park provides Wi-Fi for a rather high price and that was totally unreliable. Sometimes it worked, but most often it was impossible to connect. The parks shows its address as Citra, Florida, not Orange Lake. We stayed here 5 nights waiting for the weather to clear in the northern Gulf area. We doubt if we will return. Rate reflects CampClub USA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This is truly a resort type facility. Concrete pads and parking aprons, well manicured grounds, large sites, beautiful club house and pool. No road noise, no train sounds, nothing but the relaxing sounds of nature. Very convenient to I-75 being only 3 miles due east. Located between Ocala and Gainesville makes it very convenient. Staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. This is a fantastic overnight stop and an even better destination location. The golf course is alot of fun. Great fishing in Orange lake. AND if you are a Passport America member the daily rate is a steal at $13.50 from April to October. We will be back often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Very open. Office people very courteous. Liked the layout. Thinking about staying here for a month in January. Most definitely would recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
We stayed in this campground throughout the winter which is why our daily rate is so small. The park is very open and easily accessible but, unfortunately, the is no lake in Grand Lake Resort. Orange Lake, evidently, had a sinkhole appear several years ago and, along with the recent dry weather in the area, the shoreline is probably 20 feet from the docks at the marina. There is no way to access the lake for fishing or boating at the resort. The golf course is nice but could have a little more care given to keep the greens in better shape. Some of them are in really bad condition. The water situation in the park needs to be improved. Almost everyone has to have at least one filter but most have two or more. We had a full coach filter and drinking water filter as well as a water softener and we still had a few times when the water was cloudy or smelly. The park is situated about half way between Ocala and Gainesville, 15 miles each way, which makes grocery shopping a fairly long trip. There was a very large turnover of resort employees while we were there. I think there were 3 different managers during our stay and several workkampers were let go early prior to their contracts being up. All this lead to a lot of turmoil and kept a lot of the residents guessing what was going to happen next. The campground has the potential to be a first class resort if the facilities would be upgraded and improved. But as it now stands, I could only give it a rating of 5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This place is nice. It is well off the highway so there is a lot of quiet. It has a good 9 hole golf course that is reasonably priced. On the negative side, the roads have a lot of potholes even though they are paved. They are too narrow as well. The wifi is expensive and not very fast. The people working the front desk were confused and complained a lot. We had to wait for 30 minutes while they checked in two rigs ahead of us. Apparently, the corporate headquarters can re-arrange reservations which causes the on-site folks a lot of grief and creates a lot of customer complaints. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
The appearance of this park is great. But that is where the pluses stop. Employees are grumpy, the Wi-Fi is expensive and the water contains red mud and plugs your filters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
This is a beautiful park with very large sites; however, there are several major problems with it. First, the office employees couldn’t be more unfriendly, unhelpful, or rude if they tried. The blame for everything wrong with the park is placed on the main Morgan office in NY. The heater in the pool is turned off when the temperature gets below 50, even though the daytime temps are in the 80s. This means it takes two days to get warm after turning off. The tiles on the pool are crumbling off; it’s a wonder the health department hasn’t shut it down totally. The second problem with this park is the few fanatic RVers who are dog haters. These people have VERY tacky signs posted on their sites to keep dogs away. These people do not own the land – the park does. They scream at dog owners walking by with their dogs, even though they are just walking. It seems to me these problem RVers should be asked to leave instead of making the other 99.9 percent of the park miserable. Again, management does nothing. Another problem with this park is the location. It’s 20 miles to the nearest grocery store/Wal-Mart/restaurant. The Wi-Fi that we must pay for is very intermittent and the Cable TV is horrendous. We stayed for six months but will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Very hard park to rate. Would have given a 1 on the day I arrived. We paid in full for two sites for one month in June, 7+ months prior to our arrival. Were given site assignments by the reservation agent and were sent confirmations showing the site numbers. Needless to say, when we arrived the sites were taken and we were left to choose from the leftovers. The park told us the reservations were taken in New York by the parent company up north and they didn't need to honor what they said "Down Here" During our stay we met several others with the same experience. There is also many work campers who are angry at management and they are not shy about telling you about it. Now for the park. First, Orange Lake is about 6 inches from being Orange Swamp. On top of that, there is a nearby marina that for some reason is heavily used by Air boats at 2AM. I guess they are gator hunting. Our site was a long long way from the lake, but we were jolted awake several nights by these thunder engined boats. The golf course is good, but is an executive course so don't expect an 18 hole championship golf experience. The sites in the older section are fantastic. Long, wide and generally well kept. The new grass sites (200+ of them) are a different story. Stuff everywhere. Looks like they pull up, dump their bays and proceed to live the slob life. Too bad, the rest of the park is really very nice. The water apparently is from their own well source and at times will bleach your clothes without clorox, so beware before grabbing a mouthful. The staff at the park is really just going through the motions. I was waiting on a fax and after three days discovered their fax machine had broke and a new one was not coming in the near future. Got a hearty "Oh Well" when I asked why I couldn't have been told the previous ten times I checked on the fax. Overall, this is a good choice if you need to be somewhere near Gainesville or Ocala. Be aware it is midway between the two and generally in the middle of nowhere. Good 15 miles to a name brand grocery store. It is too cold here to really winter. Had several multiply stretches of freezing temps in the Month we were here. All in all we are going further south the next time. Live and learn We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$32
Stayed for a week, liked the campground. Friendly people and park and laundry very clean. Said had cable,it is only 13 channels provided by park. A "Resort" should have full cable. IMHO We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$19
We came to this campground with great expectations. It has the potential to be a very nice place, but very poor management keeps this from being the case. In September, when making our reservaion for January, I was given a site number which seemed perfect as it is close to the laundry and bath facilities. Upon our arrival we were given a different site. The site that we had originally been given was empty, so we asked if we could move to this site. We were told "no" that someone else was going to be on that site. It was almost two weeks later before someone arrived to occupy that site and they only stayed a few nights. I found, by talking with other guests who had been here before, that the only way you can guarantee your site is to pay for six months. If you aren't there the whole six months, then they let others use your site and that gives them double the money. The WIFI can only be used for a set amount of time and has to be used all at once. You have to pay for any other time that you may use it. The cable tv only works on some sites. The office people say that it is because it has been spliced so many times and either you have a site that it works or you don't. Our neighbor got a Good Sams discount off his three month rate, but when my husband went to the office and asked about it, they said they didn't give it except on daily rates. Our neighbor showed us his receipt with the discount of $165. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Nice area,store 12 miles,not much dock fishing,nice 9 hole golf course,lots of birds,great area for motorcycle riding. You will definitely need some form of transportation with a class A We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
The park is run on a shoe string budget. This is only evident if staying more that a week. For overnight the sites are great. Flat grassy sites with good 50 amp and good water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$26
Advertisement states that Grand Lakes RV & Golf Resort is a Gated Resort. Only problem is that the gates do not work nor can they be closed due to County property just beyond the gates. Free WiFi is a joke. Only the first 30 minutes are free after which there is a charge by the minute. Then you have to ride around until you can find a WiFi tower that does work. Pool is there but out of service due to pool water heater down and Parent company will not provide funds for repair. Golf Course in fair condition due to manager being forced to lay off all but 3 workers and again there are no funds available to repair a flat tire on one of the green mowers. Free Cable is another joke as there are only 12 channels available and even then their reception is poor.Showers are available but can be closed at anytime should they need repairs again due to lack of funds for parts. Roving security is provided but they have to enclose their carts with cardboard boxes and shower curtains to keep the rain or cold out. Again for lack of funds. On site store has minimal items in stock. Again due to lack of funds. District or Regional managers seem to be withholding funds in order to get their big end of the year bonuses at the expense of making Grand Lake a 5 star resort again. Good Sam already dropped them from their list and some people who have already paid in advance are pulling out and do not care about not getting their money back or are looking for other places ASAP. On the bright side, what is left of the staff, and the manager are great and are trying to do what they can with less or no operational funds! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$13
This is a very nice park. We had a pull thru site on a cement pad. Wifi did not work at our site, the only negative. The park is about 3 miles off I75. Easy in and out. $13.50 with Passport America. This is a resort park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Good place to stay when visiting Gainesville. We stayed here during the summer. Had a nice shade tree. The sites are concrete and grass. Lots of room at the site and beautiful grounds. Just make sure you do your grocery shopping before you get there. It's a long way to the store. The people at the registration are a bit stand-offish. No escort to site - We has to find it ourselves. Lots of people who have bought lots and there is a lot of camaraderie. We really had a nice time. If you like golf - it's heaven. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
A nice park with large paved sites. The pool is rather small. It is easy to get in short notice even during holidays because they have so many sites. The location is somewhat remote with not many restaurants or activities in area. The campground is quiet and relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Beautiful campground. Many pull through sites with concrete pads. The only problem is they don't allow large breed dogs so we can only stay here if we don't bring the puppies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
What a pleasant surprise! No expense spared here; amenities and grounds are first rate. We were given a pull-through site and couldn't believe the length; we could have parked two motorhomes end to end. This is golfer heaven but there's lots to do even if you don't golf. The only downside is the tiny pool and a 15 mile drive to get groceries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2008
$33
This is the worst park that we never stayed at. We didn't stay because we couldn't get past their reservation process. The only reason I gave it a one was because there is no zero offered. I called to make a reservation for a one night stay. Before I said anything the very rude employee told me to hold that she was busy. For about three minutes I got to listen to her talking to someone about their bill. When she finally came back on I gave her the date that we needed and she told me to hang on. She left the line open so now for five minutes I heard her talking to someone about the weather and the golf course. She then came back on and asked me the date again and told me they had three sites available so I made the reservation. That afternoon she left a message for me that she had made a mistake and they didn't have anything available so she cancelled my reservation. My guess is that she did me a favor. Aside from her incompetence she was extremely rude so I can only imagine what it would have been like to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2007
$37
I don't see how this place rates 5 "W"'s from Woodalls! We are staying two nights on a deluxe site with seasonals on both sides with all their junk outside! They even are hanging clothes outside when it is against the rules. The golf course is closed today which was a reason for staying the second day. No early checkout refunds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
This is a very symmetrically laid out RV park. Golf course is not integrated into the layout to make it more interesting destination park. All nice units on clean sites. We did not see any run down RV. Lake is down at least five feet for the past five years, so there is no dock access. Public dock is apparently nearby with water access. Very satellite friendly especially in the grass area (site 208-381). Sites 1-207, pull thru with concrete pads, were not available for my one night stay. I got a grass site with full hookups including 50A. My disappointment was that I had to disconnect my toad and back in, yet there were many grass sites where I could have pulled thru an empty site to an assigned site -- it is all grass. So if you want a pull thru for a night, tell the office that you would like to pick a site where you can drive through an empty site and you will call them with the site number if you assigned site does not permit it. The staff cannot visualize which vacant sites would permit a pull thru with their reservation system. Management understood my suggestion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
Beautiful resort. Stayed here one night, site was clean and well kept. Registering staff was very friendly and efficient. Loverly area, would definitely recommend short term or long term. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
This is a very well laid out RV park. My expectation was very high and I was disappointed they did not have daily activities, besides golf. The office staff was very friendly. The Store was poorly stocked. I would not come back for another visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Grand Lake RV & Golf Resort is a beautiful resort, with many amenities. However, waking up our first morning there, all was not what it seemed. Even though there is a sign posted stating clearly that there is night time security, we soon learned from nearby RVers that during the night various vehicles had been broken into. Golf cart enclosures & motorcycle covers had been unzipped and several cargo trailers had been rifled through. Golf cart(s) were stolen, and even a car was stolen! They have a security gate at the entrance which is not being used for whatever reason. I also counted numerous golf carts parked at various sites with big signs that say 'Security' on them, but I haven't seen any of these security people riding around at night. I'm not sure if they are not doing their job, or if maybe the resort owners / managers don't pay them to patrol at night. I was also told that this is the third time in 12 months that this has happened, the last 2 times several RV's were broken into, some while the owners were inside, sleeping! As nice as Grand Lake is, I will not be staying here again unless I know that some security measures are being implemented. This is a very rural & somewhat isolated resort, and for it to have no security measures in force, as well as scarce street lighting is just asking for trouble. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Good acess off I-75. Camped on one of their super sites, cement pad Pull-Thru. Plenty of walking area. Well cared for campground. This is our second time here. Good for Big Rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Beautiful place. Clean pool, golf course, staff very friendly. Limited cable. Not much shade. Jai Lai next door, but not very busy this time of year. The ants are FEROCIOUS-- could not stand for a minute, even on the concrete, without biting ants crawling up my legs. Even with the cords up off the ground and tires sprayed, the ants got in the camper. I would rate it much higher if not for the ants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Easy access east of I-75. Attended RV club rally on grass unshaded sites. Park also offers concrete pads and shaded sites. Sites and park neatly maintained. Clubhouse was very new. Office staff very friendly. Wi-Fi signal was weak or non-existent. Signal was better on hard sites. Nice executive golf course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$70
In November 2006 with a site map in front of us, and with the assistance of the lady taking our reservation, we booked a deluxe campsite for a 1 week stay in March 2007. The total amount was charged to our credit card immediately. Three weeks before our arrival date we were phoned and our site was given to someone else and we were assigned to a standard site out in the field. My phone calls to request reconsideration were not responded to. We did receive a refund though when we called to cancel our reservation. Why put a site map on your web page if you do not honour fully paid reservations? Very disappointing treatment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
This is a beautiful destination type park with its own golf course. The sites are paved and very long. Streets are wide and access is extremely easy throughout. The location is between Ocala and Gainesville, so there isn't much to do in the area. We only stayed 2 nights so I can't comment on the activities here. I would have rated this park a 10 except the free WiFi signal at our site was weak and cut in and out. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$37
This park was excellent! We stayed there for several months. Great management, friendly staff, CLEAN, the pool was wonderful, area was very scenic, plenty to do and planned activities as well. The karaoke with Roger was so much fun! The sites are roomy. WiFi worked great and was free - as it should be. The only time it got cramped was during rallies. Other than that no complaints. You should be aware though that we have friends who have gone there several times since then and they have stated that some things have changed. According to them, the management is not good anymore, they seem to not want children there, and the whole atmosphere has become very "uptight". If we get back that way I will post a new update about the conditions then. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$31
This is one of the best campgrounds in Florida! They have very large level campsites, beautiful views of the lake, and friendly people. The restrooms and showers are very modern and clean. My wife and I have made this campground one that we will visit frequently! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
This place is great! After being disappointed by some of the so called resort campgrounds which are one step out of the getto, Grand Lake is a real resort. Pull thrus are paved, all utilities are provided including cable & free WiFi (which actually works). Pet friendly and can actually handel a big rig. We had no problem with our MH & trailer (70 ft). The staff was efficient and friendly. The rate is great and even better with Passport America. We will be stopping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$35
I have stayed here in years past for the winter. I have previously rated it a 10. However, this short visit of 2 days was enough to lower the rating to a 7. It has deteriorated markedly from past in terms of general maintenance of sites, front entry, office and roadways. The so-called cafe is ludicrous. So, it still has a lot of of positives but it is no longer the gem it was just a couple of years ago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$32
Overall, this is a very nice resort-type destination. Although it's named Grand Lake, for the most part, you can't see the lake unless you go down by the cafe at the far end of the property. From there, you can walk out on the docks to the water. The entrance is quite Grand with a long, paved drive (all roads are paved) that passes through large iron gates and leads you into the property which eventually opens up as you enter. On the right, you'll encounter a large section of grassy sites, described as "Superior" sites which can be rented for a slight discount. They are also available for rallys, storage, etc. Once past this section, there are two other sections referred to as "Deluxe" sites. There is a large section on the right and a smaller section on the left. Also to the left is the golf course. These deluxe sites have paved entrance/exit sections with a concrete pad. Ours was very level. All the pads are sufficiently wide and quite long. The sites themselves have adequate, albeit, not overly generous side yards. Between some sites, there are small shrubs/trees and, on a few sites, there are some rather large, trees with dangling moss. Some of the sites need some manicuring as there are weeds growing up between the paved sections and the concrete pads, the shubbery/trees need trimming to allow for slideouts, etc. You'll also encounter an occasional pothole on the roadways. There is some evidence of ants with the typical hills that are indicative of red ants, but they will treat your site if you feel it's necessary and request it. There is a nice reception area with friendly, helpful staff. In that same area, is a mailroom where mail is sorted and placed in mailboxes each day. UPS and Fed-Ex is also sorted for guests. Also in the clubhouse is an exercise room and a large room with a fully equipped kitchen used for parties, social gatherings, daily activities, etc. Down by the water, is the store with limited stock and the cafe. The pool is heated and there are tennis courts, bocce ball, horse shoes and shuffleboard. Golf carts are also available to rent. The cable is rather limited with only 13 stations, but many were using their satellites. WiFi is available, but the reception can be limited and ours would occasionally disconnect. This is a family-friendly resort, but there is not an abundance of children. The new managers are friendly, eager to please and responsive to the needs of the guests. Despite some minor issues, this is definitely one of the better resorts that you'll encounter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
I cant say enough good things about this park. The new management and office staff is customer friendly and definitely service oriented, much more so then the previous ones. The grounds keeping is meticulous and the front entry and gate area to the park has been manicured and looks amazing. The wireless internet service is free and fast. The golf course is in perfect condition. Its a 9 hole executive course, but as an avid golfer it was still challenging enough for me, but not intimidating to my novice wife. The sites are enormous. I easily fit my 40 foot motor home and 20 foot tow trailer. The 88 degree pool was perfect for that late night swim. All in all I had one of my best RV experiences ever. A true 10/10/10 park if there ever was one! The only down side to the whole stay was the last day when I had to leave. I have stayed here several times but this last time was by far the best of all. I stayed here in May 2005 and already have made reservations for later this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$35
Grand is the word. We looked at many parks before choosing this one and this one is tops! We enjoyed the heated swimming pool, WiFi, and the quiet secluded area. The pier is repaired, the golf course is beautiful and the bath houses are were immaculate during our stay. We never had a problem with insects at all. The new management are very helpful for any needs you might have. They were also working hard to improve the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$34
This park had very large pull-thru sites. We pulled in and didn't even have to level. We used this park as a stop-over for 1 night. Easy access to I-75. The bathrooms were very clean and has marina and golf course. Very quiet cg at night and friendly office staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$32
Staff very friendly and helpful. Sites very large, level concrete pads, and all roads paved. Laundry and bathrooms spotless. Nice dog run area. Store/golf shop only stocked with the most basic of supplies. 9 hole golf course short, but nice. Very reasonable rates to play -- $15.00 per 18 holes, cart included. The very large lake was nice to view, and we saw many fishing on it. There used to be a marina on site, but it is closed. This is a very well designed campground and is designed for the largest class A's. While it is out in the middle of "horse country", it is only a short ride to Ocala or Gainsville to eat or shop. It is one of the quietest parks I have ever stayed in. We will return in the fall to stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2005
$33
This campground was one of the friendliest we have ever stayed at. There is an area by the office for approximately 15 campsites and there is where we stayed. This was the closest area to the boat docks and also was a beautiful oak and cedar hammock with plenty of shade and the sites easily accommodated our 34' travel trailer and tow vehicle. Sites were level. They offer boat dockage, golfing, golf carts, have activities, very nice swimming pool area, camp fires are allowed and there is even a cafe on site. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and cannot wait to go back. The fishing was also great: catfish, bass and speck. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2005
$34
Park is over run with red ants. No mail service at all. Park changed hands this year and new owners are ill advised on rv park management. Food in cafe is awlful and cafe is dirty. Dock is barricaded and unusable. County dock is beside camp and is much better, but not accessable through camp. No propane as no one there is qualified to pump. This was a beautiful RV resort, but no longer. Safety is a problem. Golf course is in need of repairs. Plenty of other parks in area which are nicer and closer to Ocala. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2005
$32
This was my worst camping experience in over 50 years. We arrived on Sunday noon to learn that no one was really on duty and the office was closed. We had phoned for a reservation and were told it was not needed. We had plenty of open campsites to choose from since they are all in the open and you can see what is unoccupied. We attempted to hook up the TV but it wouldn't work. I went to the golf pro shop, which was open, and asked for help. The golf ranger/handiman was called and he arrived soon only to jump all over me since I had told the pro shop I was in site 136 when he said I was really in 135. (It was actually 136A and 135 was clear at the end of the row and 136 was also vacant.) He had a small TV that he attempted to use to check reception. He also told me that he had a lot of golf carts to look after and didn't have time to do this. Since he couldn't get any power from the box, he couldn't check the reception. The next morning, when we checked out, the manager/owner or whoever he was, reduced my wife to tears when he jumped all over her claiming I had "cussed out" the ranger. I did fuss for having no cable and the fact that they were closed tight on Sunday. The manager/owner told my wife that nothing was wrong with the TV and it was my rig that was wrong. She indicated we were hoping this would be a place where we could stay several months next year. He made some comment to the effect that we weren't the type of people he wanted there. My TV worked fine at the next campground. I'm uncertain how this park maintains its 10/10/10 and 55555 ratings. They obviously never visited with the manager/owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2004
$23
Very nice resort out in the middle of nowhere. There isn't much to the lake, but the resort was very nice. Not far from Silver Springs, and it was a nice stopping point between Destin and Disney. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$23
This is a nice RV park. More sites have been added and now you have cement and grass sites. Hole in lake has been repaired and lake is full of water again. Golf course has been reworked. No noise at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$34
Gorgeous,well maintained, #10 facility that needs to improve staff/customer relations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$30
This park is very quiet and clean. The leak in the lake has evidently not been fixed, but the golf course is fine. The place is big and sites are large and laid out nicely. We enjoyed our stay here and would go back. This is really a nice place, but they need to make sure to keep the prices from going up anymore. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$30
This is a very nice place - woodall's 5-5 and TL 10/10*/10 all sites have large pads and patios, pull thru, 20/30/50 amps. Last year lake was 10,000 acres, now dry due to small sink hole in lake floor. This is under repair now and water should return soon. Nice 9 hole golf course on site. Great place, no noise. More new sites will be added by end of 2002 year. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
A really nice and clean RV campground. Friendly folks and overall a quiet park. The only real drawback to Grand Lake is there is no longer a Grand Lake: not even a small lake. They lost their water to a sump hole and dry weather. The Gators are the only real animal to see (8 of them). The park is a ways from the closest big city Ocala but is a great spot to rest and relax. I think the golf is also bad. The fareways are so hard one of my normal 180 yard drives traveled over 290 yards. But I would go back for the peace and quiet. Stayed here April 2002 We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$32
Their name says it all. This is truly a "GRAND" campground, located near I-75 at exit 72 between Gainesville and Ocala. The campground, clubhouse, showers, and all facilities are spotless. This is a 10-10-10 resort and well worth a stop. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com