218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Encore Sunshine Holiday Daytona RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (877) 570-2267
CGID762

Encore Sunshine Holiday Daytona RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
320
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   3   2   5   7   4   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$49
Nice park, clean, narrow roads but doable. Sites for big rigs, . Some sites were holding water after heavy rain in the grassy area. You park on asphalt pads. When in the area again we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$60
There is not much to offer in quality RV parks in the Daytona Beach area. This is the best one I have found. It has a fantastic pool, strong Internet (fee-based) basketball court, shuffleboard, tennis court and more. I parked on a cement pad in the first circle around the club house. The staff is nice and helpful. Don't let the negative reviews keep you away, because this is the best park in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Stayed here just before Bike Week in Daytona was set to begin and part of a rally. Big mistake. Instead of putting us in the regular campground area, they put us back in the part of the park with permanent mobile homes in it. We were interspersed among the permanent sites. Not good. It appeared the premium sites were going to the bike week attendees at premium prices. Overall, if we were in the better sites, it might have been a better experience. Used none of the amenities. Did explore a lot around Daytona, Ormond Beach and Flagler Beach. Recommend the area, not the resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2013
$48
I needed a one night stay to visit a friend that lived nearby. Prepaid the reservation and was assured that a pull thru 50 amp site was assigned. Arrived at 2PM on the date of the reservation (a Sunday) and the office attendant was leaving the premises. She asked my name and handed me an envelope with direction to my assigned site. I went there and learned the breaker on the 50 amp outlet was not functional. I called the office, and no answer. I called Encore reservations and asked if a maintenance person could fix the issue - not a big job to change the breaker. Was not possible. I think that an corporation that bills it CG as a "Superpark" in the high season in FL should have better service than this. I certainly expected on site maintenance personnel. I would be reluctant to stay here again at the price charged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$43
Despite the title of “Resort,” this facility was just ordinary or even sub-ordinary. Our stay was intended to just be an overnight, but had we needed multiple nights, we would have looked elsewhere. The area in which we were parked was near the water treatment plant and odiferous. There were palm tree branches here and there, that had fallen and were not picked up. The permanent campers had exceptionally messy sites with old trashy trailers and clothes hanging on clotheslines. There was a good walk to the rear of the park where we took our pooch. There was an attached RV area for winter campers that may have had all of the amenities that this park claims, but we were nowhere near there and thus cannot comment on those. Interior roads were paved, but our site was grass/gravel and somewhat level. Pulling into the site was tight. We were lucky to get satellite reception, and WiFi was totally unavailable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$23
Rate is for Passport America. Tough call as to a 7 or 8 for rating. First, the pluses: excellent check-in with friendly, helpful attendant; guided to site; lots of room between sites; excellent over the air TV reception; great pool using salt instead of chlorine--VERY clean; restrooms adequate though showers need maintenance on shower curtains. MINUSes: guide to site not overly friendly or helpful; sewer pipes sticking up above ground about 4-6"; some picnic tables should be replaced; some concrete patio pads crumbling; fire ants on most sites. As to the fire ants, I called it to attention at front desk, maintenance came and sprinkled poison in ONE spot and left. I went back and had them come do the 3 mounds on or near our site; maintenance man seemed put out at having to work. The pool was excellent--heated, clean, nice deck, good chairs. We have camped here before and agree that if in the area again, we would not hesitate to stay again. Worth the money if PA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This was our first time using our encore/thousand trails discount card (30nights@$20). We normally don't use these discounts and now I know why. First of all, when entering the park there is no sign telling you where to park to go in and register. The staff was nice enough when we checked in but they led us to a site that was one of their worst sites. There were deep piles of dirt where our jacks would have gone. The escort to our site wasn't very helpful and we insisted we be moved to another site. The new site was sandy but did have a concrete sitting area. However, the park does have a lot of year round residents that are mixed in with the nightly campers. There is a $3 resort fee per night that is also charged and a $3 per night fee to use the cable as well as additional money for wi-fi (didn't even inquire about using it). When exiting the park the only way to get back to I-95 is to turn right and then make a U-turn onto the Highway. The Pool was very dirty. They do have "deluxe" sites which looked nice but they aren't offered with any discount.(offered at higher rate of almost $50) It is convenient to visit the Speedway and that is why we chose that park. I wouldn't stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$23
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Great park. Amenities were perfect. A great end to our tour of Florida. Sites were roomy, by comparison to the other parks we visited. The way the park is built, it seems like every site is close to the facilities. Despite it's proximity to Destination Daytona, this park was very quiet. Wi-Fi is provided by a 3rd party, which I don't particularly care for. But, despite that, I will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$100
The setting of this campground is very nice and peaceful. The premium sites are very nice but the standard sites need some work: mostly sand and the concrete pads are cracked. If it had rained, our jacks would have sunk. Our rate reflects race week "jacked up" prices. I guess everybody does it, but it still annoys me. We would come back during a non-event time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
The staff is great. Lots are narrow but level. Some turns are tight for 36 foot 5th wheel. To get to I-95 you have to turn right and then do a U-turn. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Popular park within a few miles from the beach and Daytona Speedway. Noise from the freeway is noticeable but not a problem. Spaces are narrow and there is not a lot of room to back in a big rig. Atmosphere is friendly and most of all - the pool is hot and pleasant. For motorcycle enthusiast the biggest Harley Davidson dealer in the world is right next door - worth a visit even for non bikers. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$19
Stopped overnight on our way to TT Orlando. Rate was TT rate. Very busy office but staff was pleasant and got every one in and out quickly. Escorted to our site. Our sites concrete pad was all cracked up. There were a lot of snowbirds here. They were all friendly. Would return here no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
I guess the other two parties that rated this park must stay at expensive resorts and were comparing this park to them. I found this park to be very clean, people at the desk were very friendly, pool temp and cleanliness were great. We stayed on a Thousand Trails, Equity Lifestyles special and had a rate of $99 plus tax for a week. Sites could use some improvement as the one we stayed in had some broken concrete, but it had 50 amp service, water and sewer. No problem getting leveled in our motorhome. They have an annual get together of people with custom cars coming up and had a motorcycle get together before we got here. The largest motorcycle dealer in the nation is about a block away. Easy access of I-94. I highly recommend a stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$75
We've stayed at this campground several times over the past two years only because of it's location and nothing else available in the area to accommodate a big rig. Rates are very high for the what you get. Everything in the park is very old and needs updating but overall it is pretty clean. For the most part staff is friendly but there is one lady who works at the desk (short blonde hair) that is extremely rude and has a very bad attitude. It's obvious she doesn't want to be bothered with anything. Pool is clean for the most part but old and in need of updating (especially pool furniture). All the times we stayed there, there were the same people hanging out at the pool (and in the pool)drinking. I definitely would not let small children wander around without an adult. Most of the sites are not shaded so very hot in the summer months. You do have access to cable but the picture comes through pretty fuzzy. Picnic tables are small and dirty. There are no grills or campfire rings at this park. There are swingsets for the children but they are right next to the garbage dumpsters. There were so many flies that you couldn't use the swings. This park is okay in a pinch since there isn't much of a selection of parks in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$24
Cement pads are broken in several pieces. The park needs updated landscaping around RV sites. Cable is $3 extra a day. Front desk employees were very nice, but I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
We stayed here en route because they had a vacancy over a holiday weekend and were good enough to accept Passport America, which cost $22 with taxes. The entrance to the resort is very nice with a lake, tennis courts, mini golf, lawns and trees, but the actual campground is crowded and dumpy. For the cost it was great since it had full 50 amp hookups that worked fine, and our Dish Satellite came in despite the pine trees. They charge extra for everything, including $3 for cable, and Wi-Fi is through Tengo for $5/day. Atmosphere was very Daytona, with lots of loud motorcycles, ATV's, and drinkers. I didn't explore the pool or other facilities. At that price I would stay here again, but it's not the kind of campground I'd like to spend much time in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$23
We were assigned a site on the outer ring that had no concrete pad, as those in the inner ring, and was closer to the sewage treatment area. When we protested we were told that nothing else was available, but the next morning found at least 7 empty sites that the manager admitted were available. We arrived on a Sunday at closing time ( 3 PM) and in retrospect realize that the two employees there just dumped us and left. We were very disappointed in the Encore Park and will not return and will avoid Encore parks in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$35
The sewage system is malfuntioning and it permeates the whole park. Would leave but no refund is allowed for any reason. They say they are fixing it and it is the service company's fault but a refund would be nice so we could move somewhere else. Would give a higher rating otherwise. If you stay here try and get a site on the outer loop so you don't have the parade of people through your site going to the main building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
We were only going to stay a couple of days but we ended up staying for a whole week at this great park. As others have said, the park is divided into two circular areas divided by a bridge over a creek. The permanent sites are in one of the circles. Some of the park models were showing their age but the transient side was very nice. We stayed in one of their "premium" sites, normally a lot more money but only $25 for the summer slow season. There are some tent sites next to a small lake. The Manager, Frank and his wife, Pam, are genuinely nice people who were always present whether at the desk, cooking hot dogs and hamburgers (free!!) They have live music from time to time. There is some work to be done to the infrastructure but we could see that they were always working on improving something. The park is located right off I-95 next to a huge Harley Davidson dealership and motorcycle related commercial area so bike week would be very loud to say the least (but interesting). There are many restaurants nearby and a really nice non-denominational church right next door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
This Is Quite Possibly The Nicest RV Park In The Daytona Area. The Sites Are Spacious And Well Layed Out. The Premium Sites Are The Most Shaded. The Park Is Divided Into Two Circular Sections. The Rear Section Is Devoted To Long Term, And The Front Section Is Short Term Camping. This Park Could Be Great If A Little Money Was Put Into It. The Laundry Needs A Lot Of Work The Washing Machines And Dryers Were In Very Poor Shape The Registration Desk And Store Closes At 6:00PM, Which Is Entirely Too Early. We Will Stay Here Again Because It Is The Best Daytona Area Has To Offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
We wanted a place close to Daytona to see some friends. This is a Passport America park and so we got a good deal. At check-in, there was some confusion as to rate, but quickly and without issue corrected to the PA rate and we were escorted to our site. Trees abound in the hub we were in and yet did not prevent awnings or slides from being out. Had full hook-up and a concrete patio. Packed sand to park on, but actually very level. Walked around and saw many seasonals and some full timers with park models scattered around. Nothing in our hub looked tacky or run down. Impressed with the amenities--mini golf, tennis, wonderful heated pool great patio. In looking at camp calendar, they have lots to do for campers from hot dog and soda nights to hay rides to karaoke nights. Obviously the seasonals have a good time. This place could rate an 8 or 9 but for a couple of issues/distractors-- one was not mentioned before--road noise. You sit less than a mile from I-95 and a few hundred yards from US-1. You can hear a dull whine from the traffic all night if you have windows open or are sitting out. The laundry room was not the cleanest and 5 minutes on the dryer for a quarter is a bit much. Heard several of the local campers say they take their laundry out rather than use the one on-site. Crumbling concrete patios seemed prevalent. And yes, they have Wi-Fi, but for a fee. It was about $3 per day. I can drive to a coffee shop or truck stop to get free Wi-Fi if needed; the price was too steep. If noise doesn't bother you, it's not a bad place for a few days or longer. It IS close to many places, including Daytona Speedway. And though the tent sites are beautiful, they are as far from the bath house and bathrooms as you can get. Aren't they the ones who need that service most?? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Accepts Passport America, Nice park, well maintained. Not a lot of sites with full hookup, but has Monday, Wednesday & Friday pumpout service for a charge per valve. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$3
We camped here in a motor home during Bike Week. The Thousand Trail site was under the trees. We were able to get internet from our satellite on the roof and TV from the portable dish. Sites are small. Noisy due to all the motor cycles. Concrete patio is crumbling. Sand. Ready to move on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
We stayed here for a couple of months this winter. The sites are small and patios crumbling, the picnic tables were falling apart. Showers and bathrooms are old and not very clean. The laundry rooms needed cleaned and washers broke frequently, the dryers were over priced. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$19
We stayed the month of January. The park is well maintained and everyone was polite and helpful. There are many amenities and events . There was just a short drive to shopping and Churches. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$13
We stayed here as Coast to Coast members. The sites allocated to C2C are difficult to maneuver into and out of. The remainder of the park appears to be very nice, big rig friendly and openness for those with satellite TV or Internet. The laundry facilities left a lot to be desired. 3 out 8 washers were not working and a fourth washed with hot water only. Dryers were 5 minutes per quarter. Way over priced. We would stay here again, but probably not as C2C members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$37
This is a nice clean park. The best in the Dayton Beach area. It is well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful; they show you to your site and help get you in. They have tennis, mini-golf, pool, playground, suffle board, and a fishing pond. Cable TV is poor but overall the park is more of a resort than a campground. This was our second trip and we will go back. The resort's new name is Encore Sunshine Resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2005
$25
We have been coming to this park yearly since 1999. WHY? Only because it is close to Daytona. Since it was bought out by Encore several years ago, I have not seen improvements. Most sites are occupied by permanent trailers or park models. Many are new and very nice, but many are also dumpy looking. The camping fees have skyrocketed, and service has spiraled downward. One of the bath houses has a hot water heater that is 30 gallons. It replaced an 80 gallon heater. If you don't get up to shower at 5am be prepared to take a cold one! The laundry is always overcrowded, and you have to hover like a vulture to get a dryer at almost any hour of the day. There is no loyalty left here with this family. We were prepared to reserve a lot for 4 months next year, but we will take our motorhome and money elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$36
I have mixed emotions about our experience at this RV park. The manager and people working here were very friendly and most accommodating so that aspect of our visit gets a 10 rating. This campground is divided into two large loops. One loop is almost all park models and one loop is almost all traveling RVs. The loop with all the park models is very old and in fair condition and some of the park models are very very old. I wouldn't call this section trashy, but it certainly was not in prime condition. For ease of describing the travelers section, I'll divide the sites into four categories: tenting, soft grass sites, gravel sites, and concrete supersites. The tenting have no hookups for $20 a night, soft grass sites have electric and water only for $30 a night, gravel sites have electric, water and sewage for $32 a night, and concrete supersites have full hookup for $36 a night. We were guests on a special discounted pass that limited our stay to a gravel site. During our stay, there were several days with very hard rain and we ended up with our RV sitting in a "lake" of water about 6 inches deep with frogs and mosquitoes all around: not a very pleasant camping experience. So we moved from the "lake" site to a concrete supersite for the rest of our stay. That was much better. Our motorhome weighs about 34,000 pounds and staying on the grass sites was "not recommended" by the camp maintenance folks. They said that only the gravel or concrete sites can support a diesel pusher "bus." Having a few old park models in the travelers loop detracted from the overall camping experience. The pool area was is need of overall cleaning and painting and the bottom of the pool was stained in some areas. This park has one other unusual item I've never seen anywhere else. They use chopped up rubber tire pieces as mulch around the trees and bushes. Combined with the overall fair to poor condition of the campground and the storage area filled with old delapidated campers that looked like a junk yard, the chopped up tire mulch made me feel like I was staying at a junk yard rather than a campground. Chopped rubber mulch must be a "Daytona thing." The bathrooms and showers were very old and in very poor condition. The park was purchased by Encore in the late 90's and they have been making some improvements. Overall, I'd rate the park a 3. The concrete pad supersites get a 8 rating. The 50 amp service here was excellent. We had no troubles with the electricity despite the very poor weather conditions on some days of our visit. Cellular service in the area was excellent. Lots of very tall pine trees were kind of scary during the 50 mph winds that we had during our visit. Several trees did fall, but fortunately none around our RV. Overall, I thought the prices here were about double what they should be. Paying $32 a night for a basic gravel site with full hookups seems outrageous to me considering the overall condition of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$28
A very nice park close to alot of stuff and very clean and the staff is excellent. I would stay here anytime. The wife even liked it and we will most likely stop here many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This campground is a dump!!! It looks like trailor trash. They advertise over 500 sites but 400 or so are permanent old rv's with additions added on. It might be better if they would separate the permanent sites from the mobile ones (but don't see how this could be accomplished at this point). Sites are narrow and the view is an eye-sore!!! I would not recommend this unless you feel comfortable camping on top of and with other trailer trash!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2002
$36
This is actually a "Park Model" Moble Home park for retired snowbirds that have moved to FLA. They have a few sites they rent to campers. The sites are dirt (read sand), narrow and devoid of any shade. I saw more New York License Plates in this park than Florida plates. The cost is high. The laundry is always full, the pool is small but underused. Some of the residents appear less than favorable. Nothing like waking up at 4 AM to the sound of some idiot reving his Harley. The only reason I stayed here was becuse it was 5 miles to the relatives house. The only positive note was that they had a small putt putt golf and it was free if you had your own putter and ball. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com