218845 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Niantic Family Campground was rated 3 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (860) 739-9308
CGID7628

Camp Niantic Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   2   1   2   3   2   1   4   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This RV park is very rundown. The roads are rutted, the trees untrimmed, the restrooms barely acceptable. The cable TV and WiFi both worked very well at our site. For one night it was okay but I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
I don't know what I was thinking, but I forgot to check RV Park Reviews before I pulled into this place. As previous reviews stated, this place is a dump, but I'll start with what's good. Easy access off I-95 but DO NOT TRUST GPS. There is a National Guard training site down in town called Camp Niantic that signs will lead you to. Also, the address in the mapping software is 271 Main Street, and that will lead you to a waterfront clothing boutique. When you come off the Interstate, hang a RIGHT at the T on 156 and they're just up the hill on the right. Whoever made my reservation could have mentioned this, the elderly owner lady sure knows about it. The area is fantastic, Mystic Seaport and New London waterfront are really cool. Wi-Fi is working (on it now) and I'm not real close to the office. We're in a 40' coach and in a pull through site, no access problems but some of the sites are pretty tight. Now, the bad. Trash everywhere, too many run down seasonal campers, roads suck, office building is falling down around them, office helper was drunk at 8pm when I went to pay (cash only), really bad for $35 a night, and they charge you another $4 if you use your A/C. The owner turned 77 the day we checked in, her husband the builder and founder died years ago and the place is just falling apart. She told me they've been open for 38 years, and I bet it was a great place for a long time, but it needs to be completely re-done with all new infrastructure and buildings. The trees are worth keeping, that's about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
STAY AWAY - Unless you like white trash camping. First thing you notice when you drive up is Trash Everywhere and nothing is maintained. Level 2 FAIL = the Office/rec room/ arcade, The overwhelming smell of Cat urine will overcome you and burn your nose hairs. The bathrooms are not maintained or clean. Level 3 FAIL = the roads are washed out and very close to each other, close as if your neighbor farts in his camper, you will hear it. Level 4 FAIL = aside from having only grey water site disposal it is only set up at every other site, The water pressure is so poor we had to use our in coach pump to assist it. The Cable is sparse and poor reception more than likely due to the direct burial cable line that aren't meant to be. The power is a 30 amp hook up but obviously has a draw coming from the source because it never got to that in voltage by my tester and will not allow you to run a A/C if you wanted to without melting some wires. The elderly woman in her late 70's to early 80's that owns and runs it is obviously overwhelmed or doesn't realize the level of dilapidation that has happened to this once probably very nice campground. THE ONLY TAKE CASH, NO CREDIT CARDS OR CHECKS, Not worth the $40-$50 they are charging for a rate, more like $20-$25 is more realistic. "HAPPY CAMPING" We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
What a dump. Charge for toilets? We looked out on a dump with a destroyed RV in it and assorted trash. Nice lady though. She's the owner, but she needs to retire and let someone clean up the place and make it a nice place to stay. Til then, I would avoid it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
The owner is one sweet old lady, but the rules are not enforced and this has allowed for the park to go down hill rapidly. I truly believe this RV park is out of control with trash, and has become a health issue. Park needs to be plowed-under and completely redone for safety reasons. Sorry for the bad comment, because I really do like the owner. But this is the trashish park i've ever stayed in. Stay away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Planned to stay two nights but pulled out of the campsite after an hour. This place was not clean! Our spot was filthy, littered with cigarette butts and empty medicine wrappers. (!) Garbage had not been collected, so there were lots of flies. Showers are not free of charge and not clean. Restrooms were not clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Entire campground looked run down and neglected. Circuit breaker panel in office had a large fan blowing on it to keep it from over heating. Wi-fi only worked close to the office. Very limited recreational facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
Many comments are same as previous post. They charge exorbinate rates for everything including coin-operated showers. Mostly older seasonal rigs. Most of staff are nice except for one obnoxious women on saturdays. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This campground is in a great area with plenty to do. However the campground is very basic with no activities for the kids to speak of. They did have passes to a very nice beach just down the road and my kids loved that. I only wish ir was a little warmer. We will likely return here again because the area is so much fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
The road is full of pot holes and real rough. Sites are tight and slide outs close to fire pits, some campers are running gray water out on the main road coming into the park. They accept only cash. Check if you live nearby. This park caters mostly to seasonals or maybe even people that live here all of the time. Lots of older, junky looking RVs. Will not come back !!! As a full timer it will be best to stay on the side of road or Casino parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com