221734 User submitted reviews online!!
W.H. Lyon Fairground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (605) 367-7178
CGID7643

W.H. Lyon Fairground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   7   5   3   7   6   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
This is pretty basic camping. Find the Campground Host and he will help you find a site. It had rained hard here several times before we arrived, and there was a lot of standing water and the ground was soft. We were worried about driving onto the grass in a big rig, but the host found a spot where there was concrete, so we were all set. This is central to everything in Sioux Falls and is uncrowded and reasonably quiet on this Labor Day weekend. Can't beat the price -- with full hookups- we would stay here again for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
The park accepts cash or check only for the camp fee. This park couldn’t be easier to access from I-29. There are many sites spread out in this fairgrounds, with good proximity to the Sioux Falls metro area. There is a railroad track just outside the west fence, but this appears to be a spur into a business and we saw no rail traffic during our stay. The Fairgrounds is not far off the flight path of the Sioux Falls airport and there were a few incoming flights during the afternoon and early evening hours, but no flights after mid-evening. Good satellite, AT&T, and Verizon reception. The fairgrounds camp does have a host that lives on site in the campground and he made many rounds over the course of the day and night. We felt perfectly safe at this camp ground and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
We needed an overnight stay in Sioux Falls. The rate was right so we decided to stay here. It is near a freeway, busy roads, and a railroad. There is also an airport nearby. None of these noises bothered us but you could hear them. As always with fairgrounds, finding your way to the sites can be a challenge. The host greeted us and guided us to a water/electric site (that's what we wanted). They had electric only as well as full hookup sites available (and plenty of them). The same rate for all sites. We ended up in our own section of the park. The fairgrounds leaves one gate open at night so you can come and go as needed. We were very pleased and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
This park is exactly what it is advertised to be...fairgrounds...and for that I give it a 7. No frills, but you get full hookups with reliable power, and water pressure at a fair price. Close to downtown, and easy access from the Interstate. This is our second time here, and we would stay here again. We stayed 9 days this time while visiting friends in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
It's a place to park. Site was level, all hookups in OK condition. A little road, train and airport noise. Interior roads paved and in good condition. There were several long term residents that made us a little uncomfortable with their two very large dogs and condition of campers. We would probably use again if we need to be in Sioux Falls. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
The park is easy to get to & from Interstate 29 (Exit 79 – W 12th St/HWY 42). The park was located near the Interstate and along a rail road track that was in current use. Good thing the trains only ran during the day servicing a nearby gravel yard. The park was near the airport so there were some military jets making noise over head. The interior roads were paved but the sites were grass. Most all of the sites are along the perimeter fence so they are back ins. There was enough room between the RV and road for second vehicles to park. The sites were generally level but there might have been a slight slope towards the fence or swales across the site were tires sank into the ground so be selective in site choice if needed. No privacy between the sites. The sites are not clearly defined. They have full hook ups – water, electricity (50 AMP), & sewer. The water & electric connections are at the back of the sites along the fence making the need for long hoses or lines. The sewer connection was in the middle of the site at ground level. Opening slides was easy as the park was not full. There seemed to be enough room for slides when another RV came in next to us. No other amenities like WiFi. Believe there might have been a restroom/shower building but that was on the far side of the open field. There may have been an outside table available for longer stays but not sure about that. There were only a few trees on the other side of the open field were there seemed to be some sites so there was a clear view of the southern sky to get satellite reception. There was good reception on our Verizon WiFi hotspot and cell phone. There seem to be a lot of long term residents. There wasn't a designated pet area but there were a lot of places to walk the dogs. There weren't bag dispensers around the park to pick up waste but there were dumpsters to dispose of waste. The site host could only accept cash. If you wanted/needed to pay by credit card, you had to go in the office. We arrived on a weekday so that wasn't a problem. Not sure what would happen when the office was closed. We only stayed two nights as we needed to be in the area. Wouldn't have wanted to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Located a short distance from the down town area with all back in sites that are very, very long - probably close to 100'. Hookups are located at the very back of the site, except sewer, which was in the middle of the site. Friendly host helped us pick the best spot for us. They are all first come, first served with no reservations. Right near the bike path that you can circumnavigate the entire city on. Good Wi-Fi signal that is free! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
It's convenient. The weekly rate saves a little. Pay for 6 nights and get 7. Host were very nice. Not really sure how many sites there are as they are all over the place. Sites back up to a train track which is no big deal. There are a few sites near the grandstand and they have some trees. Hook-ups are a bit strange. Water and 50 amp power is on the left side with sewer drop on right. The noise from fighter jets, trains, and fairgrounds staff equipment takes a little getting used to. The worst part is that the place is filthy. It appears as though no one has ever picked up anything around the sites. We picked up 2 bags of litter. Also, the flies never quit. It's a fairgrounds after all. But we did not see any horses, just flies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This year we stayed over a month which greatly reduces the daily fee. All sites are on frequently mowed grass, and, when the campground gets full, can be very narrow utilizing side-by-side hook-ups. The campground host tries to leave a space empty between the sites when not so busy as is more usual. At Fair and Rockfest weeks, non-participant campers are in the electric/water sites only. There are sites along the grandstand that have shade trees. There is train, jet, and traffic noise during the day which decreases significantly or is not present after 11pm. The bathrooms are adequate only and can be messy during busy times; we use our own. Free W-ifi is available from near the office building. The campground host and office personnel have been personable and accommodating when we've camped there over the past 7 years for different lengths of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
If you like trains blowing their whistles, airplanes coming right at your rig about 100' overhead, filthy bathrooms, and basically nothing else then this is the place for you. We camped here for three nights on our way to Omaha, NE and would never ever come back. Because of the recent rains most of the campground is a mud hole and the mosquitoes will pick you up and carry you away. Bathrooms and showers were closed because of a sewer problem in the city. Don't bother to camp here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is a very basic campground layout on grass. It was very wet and muddy when we were here. They only have a few full hook-ups, the rest are water/electric. Right in the city and Verizon and satellite work great. You better like noise -traffic, airport flyway, and train. I doubt if we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We camped here in a 40' quad-slide motorhome with a towed vehicle. We were in site 76, on grass with 50 amp full hookups. There is a railroad behind the campsites but it only runs a couple times during the day. Campground host was friendly and helpful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We had the weekly rate. If you have business in Sioux Falls then this location is great. Nothing special about the campground but it's safe and maintained. To find it get off the Madison Ave. exit, turn right at fairground sign, down the street you will see the campground sign and drive to RV area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
No signage for RV park!!! After following directions in Trailer Life CG Guide, we phoned for directions and someone came out on his bike to lead us to the park. Sites were large and easy to back into but with no amenities available, we felt that $25 was way too high for a one night's stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$14
Our rate was based on a monthly rate. We love this fairgrounds. There are no amenities - pools, etc. that we don't use anyway so we thought the price was very fair. It seems there is always something going on at the fairgrounds but far enough away that there is no noise. In fact we are not aware of an event unless we are out walking and come across it. We love Sioux Falls and all the culture here as well as all the restaurants etc. The Fairgrounds are close to the downtown area (2 miles or so) as well as a minor league baseball stadium, shopping etc. We will definitely be back to the Fairgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
The place was very big. Lots of sites all on grass, which meant mud where there was dirt. Access roads are paved, everything else is grass. It rained hard just before we arrived, so there was some standing water and mud. The facilities were filthy. It's right under the flight path of the airport and a train track runs right behind the park. It's priced too high for what they offer, but was okay for a night, and they didn't want more for extra people. Best thing is it's quick access to the freeway. I'd go back if I couldn't find something else reasonably priced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com