223487 User submitted reviews online!!
Recompence Shore Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (207) 865-9307
CGID7650

Recompence Shore Campground

Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   7   9   8   9   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
We were camping in a meadow setup. The site was level, but the smell for the entire area from the pit toilet was terrible. We could not leave our windows open or grill outside; therefore, had to stay away as much as possible. All the campsites had the same trouble. The only WiFi is by the camp store. We would definitely not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
In many ways, this campground was a gem: lots of wooded and relatively private sites, a diverse array of well-planned activities, friendly and helpful staff members, a nicely equipped camp store, nighttime quiet hours that appear to be nearly-universally respected, scenic hiking trails, and a magnificent and beautiful setting enhanced by the presence of a well maintained working farm. On the other hand, though, there was only one modern bathroom/shower facility, located near the entrance (at quite a distance from many of the sites), with the alternative to that facility being a number of rather primitive outhouses located throughout the camping area; there was a charge for use of the shower; security was nonexistent at night (no gates or attendants at all); and the aroma of cows/manure at times permeated much of the campground and surrounding facility. The positives, in our view, outweigh the negatives, and we hope to return in the future to this campground, which is quite close to the wonderful town of Freeport with its terrific shopping, eclectic culinary delights, and cosmopolitan ambiance. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
Pros: Beautiful serene, idyllic views of Casco Bay. Clean water and friendly staff. Cons: Pricey. Was charged $31 for non-ocean-front campsite. $46 for ocean-front sites! They overcharged us. Said it was $26 on the phone but charged us $31. One customer called the police because of a charge card issue. Stinky latrines, and no flush toilets. Farm attractions (hayride) was not available. The showers were antiquated. Pot holes aplenty. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! We loved everything about our stay here from the Lobster Bake to the spacious sites with a variety of styles from meadow to bay to forest. Friendly staff. Kayak rentals. Farm animals you can visit!! The doors to the main restrooms should be shut. It lets in a ton of bugs in the toilet and shower areas. Near the sites are only pit toilets: which might be a turn off for some. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$4
Camping is mostly around the periphery of a big, working farm and as such is charming for those who want this experience. The premium water-view sites don't have electric and many are more pop-top and tent oriented. We did fine Site #170 and #177 probably has the best view. I wouldn't recommend Recompense for anything much over 30 foot RV. Again no electricity in the water view sites. Showers are clean and modern but cost $1.00 for 10 minutes. Wireless is limited directly from of the Camp Office but works fine there. Cell reception was adequate. The peace, quite, and cool evening breeze was appreciated. We would certainly camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
This is a very nice camping area. There are a variety of site options form ocean view, to wooded, or in a field. Our site was very level and easy to back into. The staff is friendly and accommodating. This campground is part of a working farm and has a barn that you are able to visit at any time. One down side is the dump site is a little tight to get into. Check out their website as they run several specials throughout the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This campground has friendly staff that work at the office. However, this campground is not big rig friendly. The dirt roads are narrow with pot-holes and branches hanging low. We have a fifth wheel and it was difficult to maneuver in this campground. The dumping station would be more accessible if it was a pull through. Instead, you must back-up after emptying the tanks. Thankfully, there were no others waiting to use the dump station. This is a quiet campground if that is your priority. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
It looks like a campground in the middle of a farmer's field. There are cows in the surrounding fields (no smell though) and a lot of open field to stay in. Most of the sites are along the water at the top of a hill so there are trees for shade. The showers are a bit on the small side but water is hot and plenty. As a note the office closes very early and seems to run mainly on a honor system for payments. Very nice and would stay there again (we have stayed in both 2005 and 2007). We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com