217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Salthouse Branch was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (540) 365-7005
CGID7652

Salthouse Branch

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   4   4   7   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Very busy when we arrived during weekday afternoon with no reservation. Long wait at gate for registration, many day use people trying to get into park. Was assigned a long narrow back-in site by road with no shade or privacy, very close to neighbors who supervised our setup procedure. Typical COE campsite with picnic table and fire ring on small crushed/compacted level stone surface. Limited antenna TV and AT&T cell phone service. It was hot and would return in cooler weather when not so busy. Campground is remote from nearby towns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
We visited for the first time at the beginning of Oct., made reservations to return before we left. If you are used to privately owned campgrounds with all of the entertainment and amenities, you will not like this place. If you normally go to federal and state parks or boondock, you will love it! With my tow vehicle, I am 55 ft long, had no problem with the access roads or the dump station. My US cellular phone worked fine, though I could not get a signal on my air card. There is no TV, but I had a book. (even better) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$11
VERY, VERY ISOLATED. Long, winding road to get here. The camp store was only opened on weekends. Poor TV. No At&T service. Had to travel two miles to reach a point for service. No satellite service. We were in the big rig loop and had no shade with very few neighbors. The dump station was doable, but not user friendly. The lake swimming was fine. It certainly was quiet. Would not return. Cut our four nights down to two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$11
We were in a nice loop, although the rest of the park has small sites and narrow roads. Price is right with Golden Age discount. Dump station is unusable. There is a long 6-7 mile winding, hilly road to get to this park. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
The COE has done a major renovation of this park over the last year and a half: adding a new loop with 18 big rig suitable sites, all back-ins. They also upgraded all 47 electric sites to 20/30/50 amp service and repaved the roads. The new sites are level, with a reasonable width, but you will usually be close to your neighbor on one side, with more room on the other. The new sites are not well shaded except in early morning and late afternoon. The dump site is close to inaccessable for bigger rigs, requiring some fancy maneuvering to get into and out of it. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
Nice Park, BUT not for Big Rigs. I was in a 29' Fifth Wheel. They have dump but it is up a steep hill with no way to turn with large rig to dump. Would have had to go down to boat launch and turn around get in dump station, back up to exit. One fith wheel had gotten in to his site by backing in and he wasn't sure how he was going to get out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$21
A nice Corps Of Engineers campground, well maintained with friendly staff. Sites were paved or gravel and fairly level. There is also a boat ramp. Some of the turns on the road in and within the campground are rather tight for a large rig, so if you're not comfortable with your rig, you may want to re-think. Don't expect cellular service or good TV reception (unless you have a satellite). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com