223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Moosehead Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (207) 695-2210
CGID7659

Moosehead Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   7   7   5   9   7   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
Friendly owners and decent location were really the only positives for campground. Resort prices for campground environment ; $40 per night for electric and water site is too much. With no sewer, this is one of the few parks in which we would have used the bathhouse but it was so old and of such cheap construction we couldn't tell if it was clean or not. If there was another big-rig friendly park in the area we would stay elsewhere but this is the only choice for many miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
Nice and clean little campground. Road around campground is a little narrow but had no issues. The sites seem a little unlevel but not major. Very close to Moosehead Lake and hiking trails in the area. It definitely needs sewer hookups but still a nice place to stay a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Clean, well-maintained campground and super-friendly owners (husband and wife), who clearly have made a commitment to keeping up the grounds and facilities. Internet was down when we stayed, but that was a cable company issue, not theirs. The campground is relatively small with no views to speak of, but it was quiet (half full the Monday after Labor Day). The property seems to have been an apple orchard at one time. Lots of fallen fruit and probably, on a warm day, lots of drunken wasps, yellowjackets and other sting-y bugs. Bathrooms are rustic: unheated, vault toilets, and clean but dated shower stalls. We planned to stay two nights but decided to move on after one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This park is convenient to Greenville and nearby Monson where you can access the Appalachian Trail. The lake is a big draw for boaters, and there are many ATV trails around. We were here for the hiking, and there were a lot of trails, but many of them had long, circuitous routes to get to the trailheads. Moose supposedly outnumber people; however, we only saw one, briefly, that was just wandering down the road (not at any of the "moose spotting" sites.) The grocery store in town, Indian Hill, is well stocked and reasonably priced. There were also several locals selling produce and other food items. The RV park itself is okay. The owners are very nice, informative, and busy working around the place. There are only a handful of sites large enough for big rigs. There is no sewer, and they charge extra for 50 amp. Our biggest complaints are the road noise and sketchy Wi-Fi. We were close to the source, and could only access the hotspot with Wi-Fi extenders. Our price reflects a weekly rate which is somewhat high considering it's water and 30 amp. We would stay here again but doubt that our journeys would return in this direction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Nice little park. Laid out to fit the terrain. Lots of apple trees (very small, green apples), friendly folks. But, we stayed in site 29 because we reportedly could get satellite reception and on-site Wi-Fi service there. Guess what? Satellite signal non-existent, no antenna reception, and Wi-Fi is spotty at best. There are prettier, back in sites (ours was a pull through). For no TV, no sewer connection, and practically no wi-Fi, $35 is kind of steep. Not sure we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Awesome place to stay. Owners are very nice and helpful about local activities. Campground is clean and maintained. We would most definitely stay here again, if we are back in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
We camped here for 8 nights in a fifth wheel. The hosts were very nice and very helpful with where to see moose and find sporting goods shops. Grocery store is 1 mile and Greenville is about 2 miles. Interior roads get muddy in places when it rains a lot. Sites have no sewer. Bathrooms are fine. The toilets are "marine" style, meaning no flush. They are clean with no odors. There is a site pump service for $10, which is free if you stay a week. Our site had 50 or 30 amp service. We used 30 and it was excellent. Good trout fishing in the West Outlet Kennebec River. The East outlet had too much water when we were there. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Our stay here was a wonderful camping experience! We had a extremely large, private, wooded site. The owners are very pleasant and helpful. The price was good also. The reason we gave an 8 rating was there is no sewer, no TV reception with antenna or dish so cable would certainly be a plus. There is also no laundry and the Wishy Washy in town is extremely dirty and equipment malfunctions abound but your only option. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Campground is clean, quite and staff is very helpful. Camp is older but in good shape, sites are nice size. We stayed at a site that had 30 or 50 amp service and we opted for the 30 amp as it was cheaper, I thought this was a nice option. Restrooms are clean with pit toilets. No sewer at any site, but host will provide a pump service free the first week and only charge $10 for the next pumping. This is typical of the camping in the area. No cable available and no TV reception using the antenna. Very close to Greenville and the lake. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Excellent small park. Very quiet with huge sites and you'd be hard pressed to see more than two rigs from any site. The layout is meandering with trees between sites for privacy. There are no sewer hookups but they have an excellent pump out system and a dump station. Your first pump out in a week is free. We love this place. The rate reflects a one week stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
What a wonderful place, each site had apple trees and privacy. Owners are wonderful,helpful and pleasant. The CG was grassed, shaded, level, a pleasant to walk around. Can't say enough about this place, its far away but worth the trip. will go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
Nice clean friendly park, owners very helpful. Some large pull through sites and plenty of room between sites. Suggest that if you are coming from the south go by the entrance about a quarter mile and turn around at the Indian Hill store and enter from the North as the entrance road switches back and is slightly down hill. Stayed 7 nights, one night free. They also have a sewer pumper and will pump one time free then $10 per pump or use the dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
There are not a lot of choices in Greenville and this campground is very convenient to downtown and both the east and west sides of the lake. We had a long but narrow pull through with a 50 amp breaker but it kept popping and we weren't running all the AC's, dryers etc. The site was not very level. Although we have our own facilities, I did peek in the bath house and the "game room". The bath house was pretty dingy and appears to have an outhouse style potty. I'm very glad we had our own facilities. We would go there again, simply because there are not a lot of choices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
A small and very friendly campgrounds campground! The owners go out of their way to assist you in what ever your interest of activities are for the area. Though we stayed only a short time after visiting other areas of Maine, our thoughts are that on our next Maine trip this is where we will start. Moosehead Lake and the surrounding area is breath taking. Combine that with a clean, private campground with large level sites and all the peace fullness one could ask for and it does not get much better than this. Only regret, we didn't see any moose! Oh well, just another reason to get back as soon as possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Very nice people running the park. The interior roads were gravel, but easy enough to maneuver. Our assigned site was a large pull-through with some trees for privacy and a nice fire ring. Only water and electric at the site with a dump station on the way out. We did not use the bathrooms but did look inside; they are one step up from a port-a-potty. I've seen better out houses than this park and glad we use our own. This area does not have many places for large RVs, but this one is conveniently located to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We were able to choose our site. We picked #7 which was secluded, grass lawn and gravel, level site and beautiful. Campground was neat as a pin. This was one of our favorite sites compared to other campgrounds we have stayed. The staff was friendly and very helpful with region info. We are already planning on going back to this campground. We saw six moose during our stay at different areas around the lake and surrounding ponds and bogs. People in the area were friendly and made you feel welcome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We would recommend this campground if you are looking for a smaller park with wooded and private sites. The park is easy to maneuver around, and the sites are level, although it is an older park. It is well maintained and manicured. It does not have a laundry room. We really enjoyed staying here because the campground was clean, quiet, and convenient to Greenville as well as other sight-seeing areas. The owners are on site, and were very helpful and friendly. They were a wealth of information about the area and what to see. We really enjoyed staying here and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
This is a very friendly campground with level sites. They are typical of New England campgrounds in that it is all grass and gravel. The only disadvantage is there are no sewer hook ups but they do have a dump station and offer honey wagon service. It was very quiet and we would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com