218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Hancock City Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (906) 482-2720
CGID7675

Hancock City Park

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   8   7   9   8   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
Sites are small, with overhanging trees on many. Campground is across a highway from a gravel pit, lots of heavy truck noise. Many unsupervised children on bikes, lots of locals cruising through, which is a scary combination. This park does not take any credit cards, a fact not disclosed on their web site. Also no confirmation of reservation, just verbal. We called & reserved a site with electric & water, found no sites with water available on arrival. Gate attendant was very rude and unfriendly. I cannot recommend this park to anyone and would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
Overall, this is a nice park. The interior roads are on asphalt and the sites were on packed gravel and dirt. Some of the sites are more leveled then others. It took us a while to get level in our site. About 7 sites had Electric and Water, others had electric only and still others had neither. A very few sites had 50 amp, all the others had 20/30 amp service. The electric voltage was good, hovering about 123. Almost of the sites were back-ins. About a 1/3 of the sites could accommodate a large rig. The utilities were located at the appropriate place. Dump station with potable water was near the entrance to the park. There was a separate area for tent camping. There were two tiers to this park. The bottom tier had the lake view along with a boat launch area. The upper tier did not have a view of the lake. The lower tier was busier due to the launching of the boats. The bath house had 3 showers per sex. They were very clean especially since the campground was almost full. Cable was available for those that had electrical service. No Wi-Fi. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well here. We would come back to this park if we were in the area. We camped here with a 32 foot 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$23
Nice alternative to the state park system. Only a few sites have water and just a handful of 50 amp sites. We were at the back of the large boat ramp parking lot with a nice view of the river. WiFi at our site was limited. had to sit at the picnic table to get any reception at all. Short walk to the beach area on the lake. Lots to do in the area. The Quincy Mine is a must do and get your pastries at Toni's in Laurium. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
I had to clean the plastic bottles out of the fire pit and there were lots of cigarette butts on the ground too. No sewer sites so okay for a few days. Didn't use shower facilities but they looked fairly clean. No shade at our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
A few sites have waterway views, most don't. 50 amp service is available; however, you get 30 amps & water, or 50 amps and no water. Dump station is handy and easy to access. The city swimming beach is nearby, in walking distance. All roads are paved, and RV sites are level. Big rigs fit OK. Restroom/shower does have a washer/dryer and uses quarters. Boat launch is included as is free Wi-Fi. Cable TV at all sites, excellent channel offering. We shared water hookup (separate spigots) with another rig, but needed all of our hoses to hook up. Lots to see and do in the area -- good spot to make your headquarters! I would have rated it a 10 if there were sewer hook ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Very nice city owned park. Little bit of a trick to find. On M203 just West of city beach. Like the others we stayed at site 51 on the river. Great view. Not to busy with boaters coming and going. Spacious site. Friendly staff. And yes they do take out of state personal checks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Rate is for 30amp, no water. $22 for 50amp site, or water site. Staff was friendly and helpful. Road through the campground is paved, sites are gravel/grass/dirt. We parked in #49 down by the river which was a little out of level but easily within range of the jacks. About 2 feet to spare on either end of our 33' class A. Site is very wide and we had room to park the car on either side of the RV. Cable TV had 64 channels, but must be satellite fed because there was pixelization on and off during the evening. Our site was one of three that overlook the parking lot for boat trailers and then across the water toward beautiful fall foliage. The parking lot was empty while we were here, but could be a different situation in the summer with boats going in and out of the water, thus being rather noisy and busy. Dump station was easily accessible. Leaving the west side of Hancock the campground is on the left right after the beach area. We used this as a base to visit Copper Harbor and Keeweenau areas by car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
There is good water and electric service. There is easy access to dump station. There are shaded and open sites. This is a nice views of river. Apple trees are all around. We would stay here again. Cash or check only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Nice little park with some sites on the water. We had site 52, a large gravel site which is on the water and we considered the best view in the campground. The park is a good location for day trips to Calumet, Copper Harbor, etc. Many sites are shaded and appear to be adequately. Cable TV was very good! sized. We would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com