214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (601) 854-6621
CGID7676

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   4   7   6   7   7   6   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Our pull-through site was so sloped and uneven that it was impossible to level. Initial water was rust-colored. Only positive was that we were able to get satellite reception and had electricity. Some roadway is paved . The gravel roads are very poorly maintained, lots of jolts as you travel them. No lighting to speak of. There's lots of work to be done in this park, and we won't stay there again until we're sure it's in much better shape than it is now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
The roads leading into the park are very narrow. The staff was friendly and our check in went smoothly but navigating the very narrow, rocky, uneven and poorly marked "road" within the campground was a nightmare with our 40 ft trailer. The first site we were given was not level and so narrow we were not able to open our slides. The site we finally managed to get our rig into was very rocky and sloped so badly we were afraid of falling downhill when exiting our front door, also our sewer connection was uphill. There are lots of trees which makes for a lovely park but very difficult to maneuver with a large rig. We were given a WiFi code, but not the name of the network so I was unable to use it. According to the office there are cement pad sites at the front of the park; I recommend anyone with a large unit to use those sites. The office did waive the activity fee as we had no children with us. Because the size of our rig we will not go back, but if you have a small camper and children it's a great park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
It was on our way to TX from GA and we thought it would be nice to stay and relax next to the water. Check in was friendly, a manager drove up to check on our site about 10 minutes into set-up. Sites are not level at all and could not auto-level, so had to manual level as close as possible. The water faucet at the site was leaking from the ground. We walked up to the office to let them know and they really didn't care. They said 'ok', didn't even ask what site we were or they were sorry. nothing. After buying some drinks we tired again to inform them of the leaking faucet the said there were about 13 other faucets that were leaking and it costs to much to fix them all at once. So they really don't care if water is flowing through your campsite. They advised to turn the water off or if it really bothered us we could move sites. We really didn't want to move to a different site to spend time leveling it again. We probably won't camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Camped here on the way to Gulf Shores, AL. Stopped on the way back as well. It was worth the 20 miles out of the way. The only bad thing about the place was the check in. Could be smoother and friendlier. Besides that, the park is beautiful. Tall pines and lake access. We stayed in a pull through, site 201, both nights and didn't have to unhook either night. Just had to pull up on blocks to level it out a little. Right next to showers. It is a big park, so a good walk to get to the swimming pool for the kids. Very nice pool with a good view of the lake. It has a water slide park area as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$46
Sites required extensive leveling. Appears most of the emphasis on cabins, pool etc. Although park was almost empty and the cafe was not open I was charged full price when I opted to upgrade to premium site. Even that site was not level We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$28
We stayed here as an overnight on our way to and from Texas. It just so happened to be the weekend they had the big snowstorm in January 2013 and we got blanketed in 6" of snow, which was beautiful! The park was overall nice, clean, most interior roads were gravel and in fair to good condition, with lots of surrounding trees. The sites were gravel and not very level. We are in a 40' DP towing a full-sized crew-cab pickup truck, so we definitely fall into the big-rig category. It was very hard to maneuver out of their 'big-rig' pull-through sites. We had to drive through sites across from us to get a straight enough shot out and down a road before we could leave. Luckily the place was fairly empty or we would have never gotten out. This is due to poorly planned, very narrow roads and the over-density of their site layout. If they would fix this, and stay on top of keeping the sites leveled, this would have been a 5 star/10 point stay, easily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$41
The entrance to the park is great, makes you think you're entering a amusement park or the like. The folks in the office were great and very knowledgeable. And, WOW, if you like camping in the woods, this is the place for you. Our campsite was down near the lake, back up in the trees. Pad was gravel dirt mix and somewhat level. No TV, not even over the air. WiFi was non-existent. Good thing we had a DVD player. Rained like crazy that night and getting out was a little slippery. We would consider staying here again. We camped in a Class A rig towing a car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
A great place for kids and families. Younger kiddos would really like it. As for me, the site was difficult to maneuver and the dust was awful. The park was pretty well maintained (though the sewer connection was broken). The employees were nice but the office staff was in a state of confusion the times that I was in the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Big family oriented with cabins and plenty of tent camping areas. Sites were dirt and gravel as were most of the roads. OK for a one night stay but unable to get satellite because of trees. No cable TV. Had good Wi-Fi. Would overnight again if could get a site with satellite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
GREAT park. wonderful staff. wonderful setting. Thanks so much for the great time we will be back in Sep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Was on waterfront site, recommend premium site. Excellent family campground. Very secure, many activities all day. Premium sites are walking distance from pool. Other sites OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This campground is great for families. We stayed one night as we were passing through. Our site was #202. It was a shady raised gravel pull through site with fire pit and picnic table. We are new to traveling in a motorhome and of all the campgrounds we stayed at on this,our first trip, it was the only one that we could not get our coach leveled. We probably could have asked for another site but it was getting late and we were tired so we didn't ask. Other than the leveling issue it is a beautifully wooded campground with lots to do if you have children along,we did not. We connected to Wi-Fi with no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2010
$60
We camped for 1 night just to visit family in the area and were charged the extra fee for the water park even though we had no intention of using those facilities. Outside "parties" were swarming the campground and running around at will and I guess they had bought water park admission and were holding giant birthday party's and gatherings. They should stop being a campground and just be a water park. Our site was flooded and not at all level even though there were dry level empty spaces available. But the worst was the woman at the desk who would not accept my husbands Good Sam emergency card for the Good Sam discount even though the member ID is the same. He tried to explain that he could go out and get the regular ID from my wallet but she would not wait. When I took the card back in after parking she said that he would have had to present it at registration. Outrageous behavior for a campground. We turned in our unused $24 plastic armbands the next day just to make a point. What a rip-off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
We were late getting to the park found the office closed a 5.00pm sign in and tried the gate code it did not work, fortunately a staffer came by and took us to a site. Not many camper in there at this time, lots of sites open. Ours was not level, and looks as if they have not even tried to level it since the park was opened three years ago. They seem to be catering to the cabin crowds now. If you have children and they like water parks this would be a good place to stay. we were charged 38.00 for a night unit was charged 24.00 each person was charge 6.00 dollars a night. Site are kind of close together. They put one next door to us that night, and the next day they place three more around us. I had hoped since our last visit there a year and a half ago they would have improved the campground, but they have not. Keep in mine the electric was good, water pressure, and depending on the site good sewer hook ups. Wi-Fi was not working for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Not worth it any more. We stayed here last year and really enjoyed our stay, but not this time. The sites we stayed at (same as last year) had grass that was very high and was not well kept. Never could connect to the Wi-Fi. The pool area was our biggest concern. The amount of day use people that are allowed to enter this site (YMCA, etc) really take away from the campground. I know it makes more money, but we only used the pool for a day and a half. The first day was fine because we went after all the day use people had left, but pool was still pretty cloudy. I guess because they have some many people using the facility they are not able to keep it up. Then on the second day everyone had to get out of the pool because someone had done' their business' in the pool. The final day we were planning on going to the pool, there were so many day use people, that we did not even bother and went to the movies instead. Unless they can get a balance between campers and day use people, and reduce greed, I cannot recommend this facility any longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$46
Very nice campground, the main attraction for kids would be the water park. The Lake is beautiful and the premium sites are very nice and well taken care of. I did find this park to be on the slightly more expensive side than others. Especially since they charge you an extra 6 dollar fee per adult per day for the use of the facilities. Plus they allow people who are not camping there to come in and purchase "day passes" so that they can partake in the fishing and water park. We ended up leaving a day early due to the water park being to crowded for my little ones. Overall nice park, little too pricey! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$58
Park has beautiful lake view sunsets. Price reflects 4 people, a premium site on Memorial Day weekend. Not cheap. The premium sites allow walking access to all of the camp facilities including the lake. Otherwise, plan on renting a golf cart or riding a bike (you may want to anyway because of the hills), because you will be a long way away. Has a nice pool area with slides and splash pads. Snack bar, crafts, movies, fishing docks, and other activities make this a great camp for the children. Staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative, if you can call it that, was the miniature golf course. It was in serious disrepair: balls got stuck in the tubes, the concrete borders were broken, and the carpet turf was coming up on some of the holes. The kids didn't seem to mind, but for a major holiday weekend you would expect it to be repaired. Overall, a great camp experience for everyone and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This is the best campground we have stayed at so far in our full-timing experience. We have teenage boys and they are hiking, swimming, fishing, watching movies, playing tennis and mini golf, doing activities, and much more. Of course the park is aimed at a younger audience with the Splash Pad and pool, but our whole family enjoys the amenities of this large park. My wife's family came to visit us for a week in a Ranger cabin and their five and nine year old's enjoyed their stay immensely. How wonderful it is to have this year round park available to us, we would never have guessed this gem would be in Mississippi! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$44
Clean park - mostly friendly staff. Rates do not reflect the $6 charge extra for "the amenities", meaning pool area. You are charged this whether you use it or not. Wifi did not work - they were out of wood for the 5 nights that we stayed. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful, save for the overzealous attendant that tried to block our entrance to the place, even though we displayed a a current car pass. Seems he has a problem with us not wearing their wrist bands as well - we were told that by him that we needed to wear them at all times. Saw many people not wearing them, and we opted not to as well - I can see it around he pool area, as they have a large day pass business. But to be admonished and spoken to as we were while trying to get to our site was uncalled for. The premium sites were god, but the rest of the park appears to be unfinished - poorly marked gravel sites that flood with a little rain. Not enough bath houses for their cabins. Too much emphasis on the water park, and not enough on the quality of the campground. If they finish things, the price may be worth it - but I would suggest that they not charge everyone extra to use something that they might not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Fun! Fun! Fun! We stayed an entire week here for our vacation. Always something fun and exciting to do. They give "Activity Sheets" each day to let you know what is going on. Samples of activities are: sand art, movies every night at dark, raising the flag and pledge of Allegiance with Yogi, hayride with Yogi and much much more. The water park and swimming pool area is the best! There is a "cartoon cafe" where you can get a nice cool drink and snack. Nice store at Ranger's station with some cute Yogi gifts. Very Very friendly personnel. We were in the "premium" spots which is up on the hill and only about maybe 20 spots. They are extra $s but very well worth it. They are level, paved sites and very near all the action. Now, for the draw backs... in the regular campground (non-premium sites) very unlevel sites, all gravel and the dust will choke you! (but is much more affordable) Do not camp in this area if you or family has asthma. Also, we fought ANTS (and lots of them - very aggravating) the entire week. Other than that it was a great place and I promise you will not be bored. Oh yeah -- if you camp in the premium spots.. you have 2 BBQ pits, one that stands upright and one attached to the fire ring...could come in handy if cooking for a crew! Go... enjoy yourself... you will love it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
We stayed here over the labor day weekend and had a blast. Other reviewers complained about late night parties, must have been an isolated event. In the area we were at it was quiet by 10 pm EVERY night and campground personnel came around all night to police the area. It was a blast for the whole family and we will no longer camp anywhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This is a wonderful place for kids and adults. BEER is available in camp store as well as anything else you need. Great activities for all! Staff is GREAT and very helpful. it is quiet during quiet time and just wonderful overall. We will no longer go to the gulf coast of Alabama for vacations, we had more fun here than anywhere. We have a 13 year old son and he made lots of friends and had a blast. They have cabins also if you don't camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
This is a new Yogi Bear Park that opened in June of 2007. The pool with water park, game room, small cafe, and well stocked country store are excellent. They have golf cart rentals and a great sand beach. The big draw backs are dusty gravel roads and tight unlevel gravel sites. We were in a big rig, With our slideouts extended our steps opened down a red clay muddy hill. Small "bluff" area is made for big rigs, but these are a very limited number of sites. If you go get one of these sites. I think with time they will improve the other sites. The most serious defect was the lack of 24/7 security patrols. Too many loud parties well after midnight. Portions of this expansive park are so secluded a security patrol is a must. With site repair and widening the sites like the bluff sites, and effective 24/7 security patrol this park could attain at 10 ranking with no problems. The staff were all friendly and I think they will work toward these improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$14
Our favorite place to get away for a relaxing weekend. Offers swimming in the lake, fishing, small playground, tennis courts, and even has an air conditioned pavillion you can rent for family reunions, etc. Sites are roomy and level and easy to get into. This is a nice place to just relax and enjoy being out of the city. Too bad it is all about to change. The whole campground and lake area is about to be developed into a Yogi Bear campground which I'm sure will be nice, but not the same. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$12
This is a very nice campground for someone wanting a quiet peaceful stay. The campground is well laid out with easy access. Sites are level concrete pads with picnic table and grill at each site. The staff was very courteous and helpful. A great place to go fish or just relax for a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com