206609 User submitted reviews online!!
Diamond Lake Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (541) 793-3318
CGID7686

Diamond Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
238
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   9   9   6   8   8   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This is the only location for large rigs visiting Crater Lake. The turns within the park are very tight for large rigs. The pull throughs also have very tight turns. The water and the electric are located at the front of the sites. The sewer is centrally located, but runs uphill. The sites are not level so plan to bring blocking. There is a great bike trail that goes around the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
Price paid reflects use of Senior Pass. A primitive, very large (238 sites), no hookups (water is available but the faucets have no threads) USFS campground on the shore of Diamond Lake. Be careful when making a reservation through Recreation.gov for this park if you have a big rig. Many of the sites are small, most are ridiculously sloped front to back, un-level side to side and hard to get into. With that said, we had no problems getting our 40 foot, no slide motorhome into a double site in the "H" loop, we also had no problems on the roads leading to our site. ALL sites have a "reserved" sign stapled to the site number post, even the site we were assigned for the night--strange! Sites are $21 for a double, $16 for a single. The park is dirty, trash in many of the sites, trash on the roads, and our fire pit had not been cleaned in what looked like forever. The newer bath/shower house near our "H" loop site was dirty, hair in the sinks, no soap to wash your hands--no dispensers, nothing. No towels to dry your hands and the air dryer did not work. Hundreds of trees have been cut in this park and just left laying, giving the park a very unkempt look. Could those trees not have been cut into firewood and the firewood sold to make money?? When we pulled into the entrance the female ranger on duty in the new gate house stuck her head out the window and said, "That thing will never fit in here, try Broken Arrow campground." As we have friends with a 40 foot, 4 slide rig who stayed in this park in September, 2012, we knew this wasn't true and persevered. The shower houses and the dump station have signs which read, "donations accepted, please help us keep this service." I take exception to this when the fees are so high for a site with no hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$9
Primitive forest service campground. Be careful about RV length when booking, because not all sites are as described. We had a campsite on the water and it was the best view we have ever had. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Nice RV campground close to Crater Lake. Very clean. Helpful office staff. Guys in golf carts at entrance are ready to guide you to your spot and advise how to back-in your space. WiFi is marginal and only fast enough to use in the morning when there is less usage. Spaces are close together. Trees are dense so best to use a tripod satellite dish as the roof mounted units may not have a clear view. Verizon signal OK, Sprint has no signal. Best to have plenty of fuel with you as the nearby service station was a dollar per gallon higher than Roseburg for diesel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$21
We LOVE Diamond Lake. We have been going here for 40+ years. There are 3 campgrounds around the lake. Diamond Lake Campground is on the east side of the lake and thus gets a lot of wind. It is a lovely ,well established park, but does NOT have any hook-ups. There are only a handful of pull-through spots; the rest are all back-in, many of which have a bit of a steep ramp to negotiate. In our experiences, June and July have relentless mosquitoes. They have ruined some of our trips. So now we go as early in the year as possible, when the campgrounds open in May or late in September and into October. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Very nice, next to beautiful lake with great fishing and bike/walk trail. Friendly staff, sites with lots of room. Only RV's, no tents. Would stay again. Plan to return next year but in summer, then is may not be raining so much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
Diamond Lake Campground is located 8 miles north of Crater Lake on the eastern shore of Diamond Lake. It is a beautiful location for a campground, but an odd layout. The campground is on two roads next to the lake and is very long. The sites have ample space, but could use some cleaning up. Ours was on a hillside and had numerous brush piles in the middle of the site. This was nice for our fire, but also housed rodents and bugs. The site across the road did not have enough cleared space for a tent at all. The campground does have multiple boat ramps for use by campers. The restrooms were clean and located close to the sites. The shower house was amazing. This was the nicest shower house I have been to in a National or State Park: clean, heated, multiple showers with privacy areas, hot water, and solar panels on the roof. This should be a model for other facilities. I must mention that the pizza parlor is within walking distance from the south end of the campground and makes wonderful pizza. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$12
While researching for the coming summer travels I realized that people were getting this campground mixed up with Diamond Lake RV Park. This campground is a Forest Service campground and does NOT have water, power, or sewer hookups. It does have a waste station with drinking water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$12
Beautiful lake campground. Come prepared with bug repellent, mosquito hood and/or bandanna so you don't inhale the gnats. Otherwise we had a great time. There is a nice hiking/biking trail around the entire lake. We are planning to return soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
This was a nice place to stay when visiting Crater Lake. This is an old campground that has been updated to accommodate larger motorhomes, fifth wheels and travel trailers. It is very quiet and rural with a few spots affording a semi-lake view. The owners are on-site (one pleasant and the other quite rude). We had no problems making online reservations and since this park is very busy, it's probably a good idea. The campground was full each night by 7 o'clock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$12
We spend two nights at this campground. Overall the campground was very nice -- clean, quiet and lots of trees. We did not get a chance to use/visit the showers but the other restrooms were fine with flush toilets and running water. The park even has places to dump gray water after doing dishes outside most bathrooms for those tenting (trailers can use the regular dump stations provided). Unfortunately we found that IF we wanted to reserve a spot for the next visit, only some spots are reservable online -- the remaining spots are first-come first served. A minor inconvenience, but one we can live with. If visiting in the summer, please ensure you bring bug spray as the mosquitoes can be annoying -- we didn't have too many but there were some none the less. One other thing to remember, there are only TWO stores nearby to get any supplies (the closest store outside the immediate area is ~75-80 miles away) -- one is really small and the other is about the size of your average 7-11 market with some fishing/camping supplies thrown in. Please ensure you shop for food elsewhere before coming to Diamond Lake as the available food these stores have are the basic staples and not much beyond that. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
As a previous poster stated, this is the Forest Service Campground, not the RV Park. We had reservations here for 6 days; left after one since we were driven away by the mosquitoes. When we checked in, the fire pit in our site was crammed full of garbage (food and candy wrappers, toys, plates and cups, etc.), and the garbage bins were in plain sight 25 yards away. The restroom was filthy - toilet paper and trash all over the floors and sinks. I was afraid to walk in there until the next morning after it had been cleaned by camp staff. This is an enormous campground, which is in a lovely setting, but I fear its size is its downfall. Too many people, not enough staff to maintain it. I bet it's wonderful in the fall and spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
The park is beautiful! We would love to come back! Wish we lived closer! Most sites were attractive, large and private. Paved spurs made leveling a breeze. Didn't deal with staff as gatehouse was closed this time of year but facilities were obviously very well maintained. Restrooms and showers were the nicest and cleanest I've seen anywhere. Drive to Crater Lake was less than 30 minutes. Diamond Lake is quite lovely itself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
Nice long,level,sites and incredible stargazing. Convenient to Crater Lake. Friendly staff made it even better. Have already decided to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
We took the advice of a fellow reviewer and reserved G29. It is a lovely big and private site with lots of room to spread out. The lake was very high but we managed to get a couple of chairs near the water and sit with the dog (a Jack Russell) so she could swim and play. Then some jerk in a boat came and tied it up to a tree completely blocking the beach area for anyone else. The campsite is beautiful and we didn't miss the hook ups. It was nice to have the option to eat out just a 5 minute walk away (pizza etc). The nights were spectacular with the moon and the stars shining through the window in the roof of our trailer. Bike trails are excellent and the flowers and hummingbirds just amazing. It is well worth a visit. Crater Lake was o.k. but we are from Canada and after Lake Louise/Banff we are rather spoiled. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$14
What a view. A quiet shaded area with room to bike and circle the lake. The stars shine at night almost as much as this camping area. Worth not having electrical power to enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
Our fourth stop on a recent family vacation was at the beautiful Diamond Lake Campground near Crater Lake. This was just a great place to visit with young children. We had a waterfront spot(G29)with over 100 feet of private beach on a sub alpine lake that was 300 yards from a store and a pizza joint. It doesn't get better than that. Oh, I forgot to mention...beautiful Mt. Bailey looms in your view right across the lake. And you are only 20 minutes from Crater Lake. We just loved it. When you first go to Recreation.gov and look at sites it seems like a confusing jumble of loop after loop. What Diamond Lake consists of is one of the longest campgrounds I have ever seen. It runs for almost three miles along the eastern shore of the lake. You enter in the middle and then drive either south or north through a series of loops for over a mile each way. It takes a while to drive to each end unless you don't care about your fellow campers. It is not clear from the map, but the A and G sites are on the main road in each direction north and south, respectively. There are about six million great spaces in this campground. Almost all of the waterfront sites are outstanding. Our site was at the very south end. We pulled in at dusk and set camp to a field of stars and the shadow of the mountain. When we woke up we took a walk and saw a modest little green building down a trail at the south end of the camp. When we walked down the trail we saw that the building was the South Lake Store. It is a well stocked little store with plenty of ice cream, good basics, and even some fun stuff. But my son's jaw dropped when we noticed that next door was a pizza restaurant. He adores pizza. So for us, a well maintained wilderness-looking site a few steps from pizza and ice cream was pretty much nirvana. The south loops of the CG head towards the south store and pizza. The pizza was good and the beer was mighty fine. The north shore loops run up to the Diamond Lake resort with a full service breakfast-lunch-dinner restaurant and a lounge. Sadly, I didn't get a chance to visit either, but word of mouth was good. Both loops are part of one of the best bike trails you will ever find. Diamond Lake has a 12 mile paved loop around the lake that is a real treat. We rode through the campground looking at other sites and then along the shore to the resort. After the resort you ride along the lake for a long stretch with views of the lake and Mt Bailey and then jagged Mt. Thielsen. On the far side of the lake you ride up into the forest away from the lake in nice up and down stretches. Finally you descend into beautiful golden wetland meadows at the south end of the lake before you reach the store and campground. Just an awesome trail that is an easy 1-2 hour ride. A few impressions on other campgrounds at Diamond Lake. There are three other options. Thielsen View is across the lake. I thought the bike trail would pass through but it did not so I only saw it from a distance. It looked to be older forest and very nice, but I think being closer to all services is much better. Broken Arrow is in a nice stand of forest with a creek running through but is almost a half-mile from the lake. I rode through a bit of it. both could be fine options on a big weekend. I also walked across the road to Diamond Lake RV. As tent trailer folks this would not be the place for us. The park is in a pleasant enough meadow above the lake, but it doesn't have much of a view of either the lake or the mountains. Spots have little or no privacy and most campers seemed to be large Class A's. If you absolutely need the hookup then consider this. It is heavily reserved. But I would forgo the plug and camp on the lake. Diamond Lake has tons of spots to handle anything up to 40 feet. Sites may say 35, but we saw plenty of pull throughs with big rigs. OK--I guess I rambled a bit, but you get the idea. Great place, go there soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com