206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Rocky Mountain RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 79 user reviews. Phone: (406) 848-7251
CGID7707

Rocky Mountain RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   8   9   9   8   3   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Ended up at this park by another campground being full, 3rd Monday of September, at 11:30 am. Nice park on a hill overlooking the town of Gardiner, a short walk down the hill into town for shops and restaurants. Steep entryway. Several options for sites, we got a pull-thru and did not have to unhook. Fairly close to neighbors and little privacy. Cell phone strong and their Wi-Fi worked good. Twenty four Cable TV channels worked good. Restrooms/showers clean and very nice. Laundry room has several washers and dryers. Two dollars to wash, $1.25 dryer for 30 minutes, expensive but worked fine, chair for waiting. Small gated grass dog area. Check out time 10:30 am. Staff was friendly and helpful, we were escorted to our site. The $42.69 I paid includes tax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$58
Even the nice view from the bluff and the gorgeous tile and granite bathrooms doesn't justify the $58 regular daily rate for a full hookup site with cable TV. If you can accept the excessive rate and really want to stay in town, you can have this park. Gruff staff, steep hill to the park, expensive laundry, many rules, only 24 cable channels at the "deluxe" sites, mostly no shade, but level sites with patch of grass. Verizon signal was fine so we didn't use their Wi-Fi. Final straw was checkout time of 10:30 AM, no exceptions. Won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
Wonderful RV park in Gardiner. Very clean. Wi-Fi worked all of the time. Office is very friendly and they have a great selection of gifts that are high quality. Very dog friendly. Wide sites. Quiet environment. Elk surround the park in the evenings. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This is a clean, well maintained park. Shower facility was very clean and well stocked, although the hand soap has to be the cheapest they could find...it was thin, didn't lather, and smelled funny. The laundry is OK. 2 dollars to wash and 1.25 to dry. There are small folding tables, but no chairs...so you have to find somewhere else to wait. One machine was broken while I was there. They do have a change machine and sell only Tide in the laundry products machine. The staff are nice enough, but that is all. They do have someone to escort you to your site and help you get in. The dog "park" is very small, but grassy and they do provide bags. The can for the bags did get full to overflowing one time while I was here. Trash cans are conveniently placed, but did tend to get full to overflowing. There are a lot of RULES and a sense that they MUST BE OBEYED. I think charging $10.00 PER NIGHT for an extra vehicle is outrageous....even for Gardiner. I am not real fond of the per person per night fee either. The rates are not exactly cheap to start with so all this feels like gouging. I did not stay in a cabin, but they are microscopically small and parking is rotten for most of them. I would stay here again, but I intend to look at the other RV park I Gardiner to see if I like it better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$59
This resort is great! It is close to Yellowstone. The facilities were wonderful. The bathrooms were like that of 4-5 star hotel. Put-put for the kids (needs a little updating, but still very nice. We had a deluxe site which gave us a large grassy area for the kids to play. Only thing that could make the stay better was having fire rings at each site. Currently they have just a community fire each night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$56
This is a nice campground with great views located on the top of a hill overlooking Gardiner. It's a little pricey, but everything is around Yellowstone. The owners were very friendly and gave lots of information on touring Yellowstone. When you make your reservation, you will be asked all every little detail, including the breed of your dog and the color of your tow car! There's a lot of variation on the size of the sites, but I think they know whether you can fit in what they have open. We had a "deluxe" site (which is all that was available) so it cost a little more. These sites are a little wider and have cable. The regular ones were pretty close together. They have the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen in a campground with tile showers with granite seats. There was good water pressure. There's a little fenced grassy dog park, and each site has a little bit of irrigated grass. They ask you to keep your dogs off all the grass except in the fenced area, so we had to carry our dogs to get there! It's right in the town of Gardiner, so you can walk to a restaurant or a Subway if you wish. The WiFi was pretty good, but would occasionally stop for a while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
So much work has been done at this RV park to improve the ambiance and make it a pleasant place for RVers! There are also new cabins in place, and they're still working on the park improvements. We stayed here two years ago, and this year requested a site overlooking the river. It's awesome! So quiet and close to everything we need. The one comment I will make is, the WiFi leaves a lot to be desired. In the morning hours, it's okay. At night, pretty slow almost to a crawl and is very subject to weather fade. If they fix their WiFi service, I will rate it higher. We will definitely stay here again in another two years when we return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$66
Way overpriced and they can get away with it because there is not much to choose from in this area. Sites were only OK, and one of the staff was extremely rude. We shortened our stay and they charged us $50, and it was not stated anywhere on receipt/info when we checked in. We ended up moving to a different campground and enjoyed that so much more. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$58
Nice, well-managed park which is very close to the northern entrance of Yellowstone. The staff leads you to your site, which is helpful because there is a narrow road on the hill leading up to most sites. We camped here for a week.. The deluxe sites were tight, but adequate. Unfortunately, there isn’t much room to walk dogs, although there are two small pens for them. Cable TV reception was just okay, and the “local” stations are from California. Camp Wi-Fi was good as was our Verizon 3G service. Nice laundry and beautiful restrooms. The park is located in town, so it’s convenient to walk to restaurants. Elk visited the adjacent property twice while we camped here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$55
The site we had has full hookups and cable TV. The RR's are new so this was a big plus. Nice laundry facilities. Located 1.5 miles from the North entrance to Yellowstone. This was a great base camp for exploring all of Yellowstone. We stayed for 3 nights. Called them from the highway about 2 hours out and they were able to get us a good site. Sites are very well maintained. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$53
Sites are level, gravel, easy to make the turns, escort you to park, excellent laundry facilities. Pretty park, nice view of the mountains. We liked the owners, they were very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
This park is convenient to the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Staff was not the friendliest we have encountered, but sufficient to get us checked in. We were given a back-in site that was level; Wi-fi and cable worked well. The road to the upper level is steep and narrow, but once up it, the turns getting to our site were not a problem. We did see one motorhome in a pull-through on the front row get stuck on the turn to get back to the exit road as he was leaving. The exit road on the top level is also very narrow in places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Stayed in one of the large pull throughs that sits in the upper part of the park. Great view of the mountains out the windshield and the sites are long and wide. However, I could not pull through to exit because of the low branches on the three trees I had to pass, so I had to back out. Not a problem because the gravel road behind was very wide. The staff was friendly and helpful. I chose this park because of its proximity to the North entrance to Yellowstone, about 3 minutes. The park sits at the north end of the bridge that goes over the Yellowstone River and is in the middle of Gardiner. I will be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
This is a great place to stay. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our site had full hook ups and nice green grass. The view from our site out towards North Yellowstone and the Yellowstone River was awesome. They are very pet friendly. The pet area was fenced in with grass such as you'd find on a golf course. If we are fortunate enough to come back to Yellowstone some day we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
We loved our stay here. Very clean and well run park. Staff very helpful. They are strict about quiet hours and won't let people check in after quiet hours. We didn't quite make it there the first night like we had planned. They suggested alternative parks to stay at along the way since we weren't going to be in by 9:00 PM. This was no surprise because they state they don't check guests in after 9:00 PM to ensure everybody gets in before quiet hours begin. So we had to cancel the first night but on the other side: we really appreciated this practice while we stayed here because you get a good night's sleep before heading out on the day's activities the next day! The staff is very knowledgable about things to do in the area and how to plan your days here. We stayed 5 nights. Also really enjoyed swimming in the boiling river which is actually hotsprings just 2 miles from the RV park and in Yellowstone Park. We saw elk and big horn sheep go by us as we swam. Campfires were not permitted this time because it was so dry in the area. We didn't really miss that because we were so tired from all the daily activities. Did appreciate the complimentary miniature golf and then usually went straight to bed. Finally, The restrooms are the nicest we have ever seen at an RV Park! We would definitely recommend staying here. So close to Yellowstone Park. Just remember that you need to plan your arrival time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$51
We stayed at this park for 2 weeks. Great location for Yellowstone National Park, Tetons, and Beartooth highway. We really appreciated all the help the staff gave us in planning our days here and their friendly advice regarding activities in the area. They are extremely knowledgeable about Yellowstone and all surrounding areas. They even helped us plan things to do going home. The restrooms are to die for: clean, tile, granite. Better than home. Well run operation: quiet, no late check-ins disturbing you, dog park for the pets, no unruly neighbors. Really appreciated their attention to details. Will be back for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$51
Wi-Fi was basically not usable during my stay, the campground employee blamed it on a reboot caused by an intermittent power failure, this was not a big deal for me but may be a big deal to others. There is one major issue that must be considered before choosing this campground, which is the treatment of customers. I have never experienced an employee with as bad of a temper issue as I experienced at this campground and that is the reason for my low rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$51
We enjoyed our stay at this campground very much. The showers and washrooms were very clean. The location is excellent and the campground is clean and quiet. We found the owner and staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Would recommend to everyone. We will be going back in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$52
Spectacular location on a bluff over Yellowstone River and Yellowstone Park. We stay here annually. The park recently underwent a huge remake and the bathrooms rival any I have seen in five star hotels. Full granite and tile. Spotlessly Clean. Deluxe sites have grass and are plenty wide for a big rig. Standard sites are narrower, still have a strip of grass, but you are close to your neighbor. They have added some full service cabins that sit on a bluff overlooking the park. They are fantastic and gives us a place to invite people to come visit so that we don't have to share our rig. The park is almost completely full all summer long so get some reservations in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
This is the closest RV park to the north entrance to Yellowstone, so that is its biggest draw by far. The sites are pretty close together (although to their credit, very level) for the standard sites and most do not have shade, so it is a scorcher during the day. I'd give the facility a 6.5, as there is no charm to the place at all. This facility is really all about location, location, location. The bathroom is better than average, and I would give it an 8. I have some issues with the integrity of the management and its staff, so be wary. They seem very nice up front but... caveat emptor. No doubt that this place will remain very busy and over-priced, but that's the price of convenience. If you can live without some of the creature comforts, (and don't have a mondo rig) go to another campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$43
Great Park! We stayed up top and had great views. Anyone going 45,46 or 48 is your best sites. Owners were nice friendly and available for whatever you might need. Yellowstone (and the best part of it) are minutes away. Lots of wildlife, deer in the park campground, moose in the midst of town. Would surely stay here again. Wi-Fi worked well and TV was good, only problem is it is Los Angeles time on TV so be ready to stay up late for a show. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Excellent RV park right outside the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Very nice level sites with full hook ups. Beautiful scenery from the park. We will recommend this park to everyone who wants to visit Yellowstone.The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. Sites large enough for big motorhomes.The park and facilities are just immaculate. We had a great time visiting Yellowstone, Gardiner, and staying in this RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$65
My friend and I were able to reserve a cabin on the same day we needed it. The manager, was very helpful both on the phone and at the park. We were delighted to stay in a bigger cabin with two rooms and plenty of lighting, two desks (for laptops!), a swing, and a picnic table. The smoke alarm battery needed replacing, and the manager kindly came to take care of it immediately from his home.The bath/shower facility at this park is brand new, all-tiled, and first rate. The office has a nice store. The view overlooking Gardiner and toward Yellowstone is wonderful. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$58
Best thing about this park is its proximity to the North entrance to Yellowstone NP. We had a deluxe site and it overlooked the doggy walk and a church parking lot, then the hills and park. It is all gravel, but the sites are level with a little grass in between. Roomy enough between sites and full hookups. Cable TV was ok, Wi-Fi was hit or miss. Laundry, toilets and showers were spotless and new. As another reviewer said, the entrance is a right turn on a hill, and if there are more than two RV's checking in, you may have to wait. We pulled into the next street above the park on the right, White Lane. Nice level street to disconnect the toad and you can turn around in the church parking lot at the end of the street. Not much choice for RV parks this close to the NP, and the other park in town seems to have a few concerns from other reviewers. I would stay here again in a deluxe site. Good grocery store on main street near post office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$46
CG roads and sites were mostly dirt with some gravel, thus very dusty. Utilities were reliable including excellent Wi-Fi. RR's were new. Just outside north entrance to YNP. Quaint town. Staff was terse and a little unfriendly: perhaps just having a bad day. Next time, for the price, just might stay in the park at Mammoth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$52
We had a "premium" full-hookup site, which offered more space in our "front yard" - well worth it, we felt, despite the fact that one is probably going to be away from the camper much of the day (touring Yellowstone). Friendly hosts, very clean, updated bathroom facilities - though the showers could use a bench or chair to help hold clothes/towels, etc. and to sit on when putting shoes back one. Nice little gift shop, and a small mini-golf course (free of charge to campers). Good location, as it's walkable to town (though returning will require a steep uphill walk) and convenient to the north end of Yellowstone. Great view from a few sites and cabins, overlooking the town of Gardiner and the surrounding mountain scenery. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
This is the site closest to the northern entrance to Yellowstone, but sites are very small, not well maintained, there is a walking area for pet, but not supposed to let them walk elsewhere. If you're a medium or small rig parked in between two big ones, it's very tight. Were not friendly. For us, the only thing it had going for it was the location closest to Yellowstone. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Sites are tight, but doable. Desk staff is all business, but person who led us to our site was friendly and an asset to the park. Cable is West Coast feed so everything is 2 hrs different so news is on at midnight. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$58
The park is up a fairly steep hill, just off the main street and highway, easy to find if you are watching for signs. If someone is checking in, and not pulled all the way up, you may have to stop on a steep hill. The climb is asphalt, but at the top, entering the R.V. park, it's gravel. We spun the tires a little coming in. The check-in process sets the tone for the stay in a RV park for me. The lady could not have been more somber and 'all business' no hi, how was the trip, where did you come from, nothing. After she checked us in and took the money, she started with the rules, lots of rules. I guess if want a friendly face, bring the dog in. The escort could not have been nicer and more helpful. Back in site, but ample room, sites are fairly close together, but you have a strip of grass and a nice white plastic table. Also a fire ring. It is quiet here, no trains, planes or highway noise. We were glad we chose this, as the other park is down off the highway along the river in a hole. You can walk down the hill to the town. There is a white van I have seen here transporting people, we were not told about that, so ?? about the van. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
We stayed here while visiting Yellowstone, and chose this campground for the close proximity to the north Yellowstone entrance. The staff seemed somewhat friendly when we checked in, but the views and location made up for the attitude. The sites were well maintained, and the bathrooms were some of the nicest we've ever seen. The only problem was that all of the sites are watered each day, and on our last day our site was flooded. The staff was very understanding, and refunded our last day for the inconvenience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
Follow website directions and consult map. Don't rely on GPS to get here. It's easy, but up a steep hill. For an overnight this was a great park. If you are looping through Yellowstone without lengthy stops for hiking, etc, this would be a good location as there is only one RVP inside the park (may be full), and your only other external town with CGs is West Yellowstone MT, which is a bit out of the way. Manager was friendly, but seemed a bit edgy/paranoid about little things like double-checking my license plate, repeating their policy for shortening a stay (we only reserved one night) and which door through which I should exit the office. My son found some cute souvenirs and enjoyed mini-golf. Escort provided back-in spotting. The views from the upper level are spectacular. We could hit Wi-Fi routers for the upper and lower levels, both of which seemed fine to my YouTubing daughter. Cable TV worked in a noisy, snowy sort of way for about an hour and then quit completely, so bring some DVDs. Didn't use the showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$57
This is a great place to stay. The restrooms and showers are brand new and kept very clean. The couple who operate the park are extremely helpful and friendly. The views are awesome, and the park is well-maintained with level sights--unusual for this area. It is a great location for visiting Yellowstone (you can see the north entrance from the park). We felt very safe and secure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
I do not understand the negative comments. The sites are close, but still private. The campground layout is unique: once the staff gets you located, use your truck or tow car to drive around a bit. Our site was perfectly level. No problem with dust or wind. Sure, people leave early in the morning to see YNP wildlife, but that’s why people stay here. Good souvenirs in store with great discount. Spectacular views. The premium sites are worth the extra $$. But the “cable” TV! The network channels are out of LA; the few cable channels are on Mountain Time. There is no TV guide channel. To find out what was on when, we used the web to go to network channels in LA, then figured the shows were on an hour later in Mountain Time. We then went to look at non-network cable channels in Billings and came up with times for the cable shows. I wish RVParkreviews would come up with a way for people to rate cable at campgrounds. We have had “cable” ranging from 12 to 90+ over the past 4.5 years of full-timing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Price seems a little high, but it's the only show in town. SO quiet! New owners it appears, and they are working their tails off to bring this place up to snuff. New cabins going in, excellent WiFi, fair-sized RV sites, landscaping going on. Stayed for a week and would stay here again and again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Facilitywise this may not be the most luxurious of campgrounds. But, DO keep in mind that this is the Rockies: level ground is at a premium so expecting wide spaces is foolish. The staff here was more than helpful. We planned to stay 3 nights and ended up staying 5. The reason to stay here is to visit Yellowstone National Park, not to lounge around the campground expecting something like a Florida gated community. We really liked this campground and expect to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
The staff at this park is rude - I expect better of anyone who works in the hospitality industry. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
The sites are very close together, able to hear neighbor's conversation and coughing. The proximity to Yellowstone's North entrance is incredible! Some sites are oriented so that you see into the park. The downside to the proximity is that people leave early in the morning to view wildlife, so expect to hear people noises and cars at 5 am. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Also, the sites are somewhat level, however you will need to use leveling blocks. The sites have picnic tables, but is a "rule" that you can't but your grill on them. If you don't have a grill stand, this rules out grilling as it is too dusty to use the portable grill on the ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We stayed here while visiting Yellowstone and white water rafting in Montana. We booked a standard site knowing that it was small and we could not have a fire. We did use a charcoal grill with no problem. Yes, the site was very small but we have a small trailer. If you are in a large rig, pay for the bigger site. It would be worth it. If you are in a popup or small trailer and don't mind the fire restriction, the standard site is fine. The bathrooms were clean. The staff was very friendly and the store has a nice selection of souveniers. There is no sales tax in MT so it's a great place to shop. We also liked the shops in Gardiner and Flying Pig rafting. We spent 4th of July here and were able to watch a variety of fireworks from out site. The view was fabulous. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We lucked out and got a lower level campsite without knowing anything about the place. The upper level had cable TV and fire pits, etc., but the high winds kept them in constant peril. Our lower level site was backed up to the most spectacular views we've ever had: the little town of Gardner and the Yellowstone Mts. The tour bus we took of Yellowstone picked us up at our site. That said, the sites themselves were postage stamp size. You, litterly, sat under your neighbors slide-out. Not a bad thing when the winds were howling which was most of the time. A great jumping-off place to Yellowstone and beyond, but you wouldn't want to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
We stayed for three nights on a premium spot on the upper level of the campground. The site was gravel with lawn on both sides. We had a fire pit and a new plastic picnic table. We stayed with another couple next to our site. There was a large tree between our sites that provided ample shade and was a great place to sit and admire the view of the surrounding mountains. The view was spectacular in all directions. The Wi-Fi connection was fast and easy to hook up to. The staff that led me to my site was great. He made backing into the site extremely easy. While we were off exploring Yellowstone, my fresh water hose burst. The staff turned the hose off and told me about the problem so I could replace the hose. There is free miniature golf at the park. We enjoyed it so much, we played two rounds. We were given discount tickets for purchases in the parks store. The prices in the store were less than the same items offered in Yellowstone or stores in the town of Gardiner. The check in staff was very helpful. I was traveling with another couple who had made the reservations and put the deposit on their credit card. The check in staff credited the entire deposit to my friend’s site and allowed me to pay for the second site with my Good Sam Discount. This has been one of the few campgrounds on this trip that have been so accommodating. I enjoyed everything about my stay in this campground and would definitely return to this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
The Rocky Mt RV Park had one of the most crammed sites we have experienced. There was grass between sites but not enough to even put out a lawn chair. I could hold my arms out between rigs and touch both slides. The sites were long enough to park a 37' motor-home, tow dolly pushed under the rig, and a small car parked behind. We were in a standard site that overlooked the town and mountains, with a great view. The deluxe and premium sites were on the upper level and appeared to be a little larger but cost $10 more per night. It was very dusty when we were here since there is no pavement anywhere in the park. The only plus is it was very convenient to the north entrance to Yellowstone and there are many rafting companies in the town. I probably would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
This RV Park is in an awesome location for easy access to Yellowstone. The staff at check in were friendly and we were guided to our site and helped to locate the rig. The park has two levels and we were located on the upper level which we were very happy about as the lower level seemed more cramped and everyone entering or leaving the park would drive past those RV's parked down there. We had full hookups and all worked as advertised. If you are a big rig I would opt for a drive through site on the upper level. All sites are fairly close together so hope for a quiet neighbor. One word of caution, do not leave your awnings open if you leave the site unless you have automatic closing when the wind comes up, as it does most days here. Also, be prepared for the afternoon thunder storms. Despite being way overpriced, it's convenience to Yellowstone North entrance makes it worth considering. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
This campground is a LOT nicer than the other in the area. I've stayed at both and will return to this one on future visits. The negative comments about the owner are unfair. I've found her quite pleasant. In fact, when I mistakenly tried to use a 20% discount coupon for my purchase of gifts, (which was to be for clothing only, but I overlooked that part), she went ahead and gave me %10 off my purchase anyway. She also gave me the Good Sam discount when we weren't sure I was current or not. So yes, I'm "team owner". The guys that direct you to your sites are GREAT as well. We stayed in the larger sites which were very nice... if you want more room, spend more. My son and I enjoyed the miniature golf there as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Very nice campground with great view of the town of Gardiner and the north entrance to Yellowstone. THE campground to stay in if you want to visit Yellowstone and don't want to deal with the campgrounds inside the park which are always full. Make your reservations here and don't worry about a thing. You can easily drive into Yellowstone and see it all using this park as a base camp. We stayed on the upper level across from the dog walk (we have three beagles) and while the view from that point wasn't the greatest, they were good sites and easy to get into with full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$46
This is not much of a park. Unless you "upgrade" and park in the back of the parking lot you are crammed in together to the point that the awnings of the neighbor are within inches of your rig. The owner of the park could not care less about you. She is more interested in making sure that you spend money at her park. Don't get me wrong, it sounds great on the phone and her helper is wonderful. He made the stay bearable. But don't bother staying here. The facilities are not much. The only positive thing: it is close to the entrance to Yellowstone as promised. Recommend going to the Yellowstone campground down the street or somewhere else. Save yourself the frustration. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$46
If you don't expect much from an RV park you will be pleased. Very basic sites. We stayed in a "premium" site, but there wasn't much about it that was premium. Everything worked as it should have. Cable TV had 12 channels. Local channels were from LA. What's up with that? The guy who escorted us to our site was very friendly and helpful. The lady in the office? Well, not so much. Would we stay here again? Only if we couldn't find anything better. Surely, there is something better in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is one of the best cared for campgrounds we have stayed in. Has friendly staff ready to assist in any way. Grounds, shower and laundry areas are spotless. The Good Sam rate is shown. We stayed for five days, would hope to visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
This is one beautiful campground! Don't worry if you can't get a "premium" site as they are all premium sites! The views from all sites are spectacular. The owners are first rate professionals and address all problems immediately. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$43
The price reflects the Good Sam discount and is for a full hookup, pull-through, deluxe site. The office staff were friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site and guided in. The hookups were well located and in good condition. The store was well stocked with camping supplies, gifts and basic food items. The bathrooms and showers were older but clean. The laundry had plenty of machines and was clean but the washers cost $3.00 per load. Our site was level but very narrow. There was not enough room to extend our awning. There was a picnic table but no fire ring. Only the premium sites had fire rings. The access roods were gravel but in good condition. There are quite a few sites suitable for big rigs, they are long enough but very narrow. The miniature golf course was in rough shape. This park is only a few blocks to the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park and it is an easy walk to town for shopping and dining. This park is great for it’s convenient location, but as a RV park is nothing special. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$43
A very nice park: neat, clean and very well maintained. We had a premium site which gives you some grass, a fire ring and a little more room. Owners are onsite and very helpful. This is a great base to visit Yellowstone from. We stayed 8 nights and will definitely return when visiting Yellowstone again. Note that the price paid reflects the weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$51
My husband and I reserved a premium site for two nights at $51 per night and paid one night ahead as a deposit. I called on a Thursday to make the reservation and was told I should have an email confirmation by that Friday. By the following week, I still had not received a confirmation or a phone call so called again and was told they had taken my email address wrong so I had to give it to them again. I don't know if I still would have had a reservation if I had not called a second time. The premium sites themselves were very nice and you had a good scenic view from every one. We sprang for a premiums site because we wanted a fire pit and the others sites did not come with them. When we arrived, a gentlemen from the office escorted us to our site. Even so close to town, the campground was fairly quiet and easy to get in and out with a 25' camper. We enjoyed the town of Gardiner because it was not as crowded as West Yellowstone yet still so close to the park. We would consider staying at Rocky Mountain Campground again but the cost might make us look elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
It has been completely revamped and modernized. Sites were enlarged to create a better atmosphere. The sites were level. There is 10% off for Good Sam and 15% off for returning guests. There is friendly staff, who provide an escort to site. There are newer hook ups. The WiFi worked great. They also have a camp cabin which looks new. Even though the campground was full there was absolutely no noise quite as can be. It is one of the better places I have camped, not to mention its 2 minutes from the greatest attractions on earth YELLOWSTONE. I love this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
We arrived after a day in Yellowstone National Park. We did not have a reservation, but were able to get a spot. We had a deluxe spot with nice grass, table and fire ring. We were escorted to our site. The Internet works fine and there is good AT&T cell service. The cable tv has only 12 channels. Looks like recent improvements have been made. Fresh gravel on the parking pad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Okay...If you really want to stay at the North entrance to Yellowstone then I would stay here otherwise try Fishing Bridge (inside Yellowstone) or another campground on the West side of the park. The internet service is terrible. Most of the time we could not get on at all. Very little services in the area which they did notify us of when making the reservation. The site we had was big but they kept watering the grass area which left all of our belongings wet. Laundry is outrageous!! $20 for 4 loads. It costs a quarter for 4 minutes of dryer time!! No playground or pool for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
I made reservations for three families camping back in the winter and the owner made a recommendation for the sites to stay in that were terrific. I found them very helpful on email in making the arrangements. We had a good stay here for a week. Since we stayed for a week there was a good discount. Although a lot of the sites were tight since we were a group of three things worked out fine. We were overlooking the Yellowstone river and looking onto Yellowstone itself. This campground is only 4 blocks from the Mammoth Hot springs entrance. The employee who directed us to our site was friendly and made a few suggestions for local eatery's. The location with the conveniences was a real plus. There was no shade on our sites so the couple of days we were home during the day and it was hot there was no place to go. Some of the sites were very tight. The wifi would drop out every so often. Overall this made for a pleasant visit to Yellowstone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$49
Location, Location, Location! This park has a great location! Very near the north entrance to the park, and as one posting noted, if you get one of the premium sites on the upper level, you will have a great view. On the other hand, even the premium sites are very close together and the non-premium ones are so close it looked like some people could barely get their slides out. With such demand for sites in and around the Yellowstone area, you can hardly blame them for "packing" the sites in. Other than that, the park was nice enough, but nothing spectacular. Verizon wireless card worked fine. We did not try the wifi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
We tried not to be offended with the lack of friendliness in the office/camp store. We got a premium site, with extra space and a campfire. Otherwise this campground is very tight. Our site was level. The bathrooms are old, but clean enough. The showers have that misty pins and needles spray and the shower I chose didn't drain properly. This campground is very close to Yellowstone National Park and so the bad points offset the convenience of being at the park in minutes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$51
I nearly cancelled my reservation here due to recent reviews and am very glad I didn't. The park is great. Views are incredible, with mountains in all directions. My site was a "premium" pull-thru which was more than adequate for my 45 footer. I don't use the campground restrooms, but I was curious after seeing two really bad reviews. They were very clean and well maintained. I asked the owner what happened and he told me a guest was upset about the rates and told him they were going to post bad reviews all over the internet. He said they told his staff that they needed to check out the wifi signal before they made a decision to stay so the staff gave them a wifi code. He said they then spent over an hour parked in the dump station (which is in front of the restrooms and phone) using the internet and the courtesy phone. When he went over to ask them what was going on, they went into a tirade over the price, said he would be sorry he was so greedy and raced off. During my 5 days here the staff was very friendly, extremely helpful and knowledgeable and everyone in the park seemed to be having a good time. I normally would give a park with gravel roads and pads no more than a 9, but this park got a bad rap with those recent reviews, so I gave them extra credit, hence a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
This was a very nice park with beautiful mountain views. Staff was friendly and very helpful, giving us suggestions on things to do in the area. The restrooms were fine. They are closed from 11-1 for cleaning,seems logical to me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
We needed an RV park to power our fridge as we had just come out of Yellowstone. There are not many RV parks in Gardiner but we went to check into Rocky Mountain RV Park. Initially we were ignored for an extend period of time. Then we were not greeted warmly and asked if we wanted to check in, we were ordered to move our RV up to the stop sign. The lady on the front desk was extremely rude and obnoxious. She told us the price ($50 - no cable, no WIFI, no sewer) and asked as to move our RV and come back. We moved our RV up to the stop sign. My partner and I were having a conversation as to whether or not we wanted to stay here and the man that was cleaning the bathrooms came over to us. He was talking loudly on his 2 way to the lady in reception and they were obviously talking about us. He asked us what we were doing and we responded that we were having a discussion and we would be into the office shortly. The man walked away making rude comments about us on his 2 way. After a brief look at the facilities (limited) we decided we did not want to stay in an RV Park where we had been treated so poorly. I did take notice of the pop up camper who were staying there and had to wait for 2 hours for the ladies bathrooms to be cleaned. And by cleaned, well... I would not call it clean. We left and DID NOT STAY AT THIS RV PARK. We stayed down the road - wonderful friendly service and half the price. Do not stay at Rocky Mountain RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This campground is the WORST in the USA!! There are too many negatives to point out: dirty rest rooms, problems with Internet service, VERY kid UNfriendly, VERY RUDE employees, horrible customer service...You get the idea. DO NOT stay here and I would stay AS FAR AWAY as possible... There are BETTER campgrounds in the area!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
A very nice setting for an RV park. We arrived early in the season, so some after winter maintenance needed to be done, but staff was very friendly and helpful. We would return to this park next time in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
This park has new ownership in the past couple of years, and the new owners have really done an excellent job bringing it up to, and beyond standard. They were very helpful, friendly, and just nice folks to be around. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
We were here early in the season. Sites were level. Gravel drive and sites. Great views of the mountains. Laundry was VERY expensive. Very close to Yellowstone north entrance. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
A nice park with friendly staff and a lovely gift shop. It is a good location for entry into Yellowstone, and only a two minute walk to the river. The park was clean, but a little difficult to maneuver around in a motor home when others are on the move as well! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
There are only two parks in Gardner and this sounded the best. It has a good location and a friendly owner. Bath and showers were fairly clean, but they had youth groups tent camping there and they were pretty sloppy (and dirty) in bathrooms. They have free miniature golf but nothing else. It was quiet at night so we slept good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$37
After a steep climb to the check-in, we were met by a friendly staff and led to our site. The sites are close together but adequate; with slides out there was no room for awning, but we're not here to stay in the campground. Good power, OK cable, and good free Wi-Fi. Gardiner's a cute little town, but stay away from the Chinese restaurant; the food was horrible and I've been in cleaner Forest Service outhouses. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
Less than 2 miles from the North entrance of YNP. Hosts are friendly and were available for our late arrival. We stayed 4 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
This is at the original entrance to Yellowstone Park, so the park is older. A mix of pull throughs, tents, cabins, tourists and extended stay, but managed fairly well, and clearly supervised as very friendly staff is visible checking on things frequently. Steep, tight entrance; recommend double-checking your parking brake! Roadways are also narrow with very tight turns (RVs were smaller 30 years ago). Sites are quite close together. Watch carefully when opening slides and awnings! Ground sprinklers seemed to be a constant hazard. We spent our visit tripping over one or another. A spectacular view of the Yellowstone River is below the park. Watch for wildlife. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This RV Park has the looks and feel of a campground with its simple RV sites laid out to conform to the hillside it is on. The sites themselves are not deluxe, but the park's location is captivating, with its views of the Yellowstone River and snow-touched alpine peak. This park is well-managed, with an golf-cart escort to your site, clean albeit older bathroom, and amenities such as wireless internet and cable TV. My biggest criticism is the steep price of $42 plus 7% lodging tax, only offset by Good Sam discount. The pet walk is also nothing to write home about, but par for the course for a park of this size. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$46
The staff was awesome! They gave great advice on our trip from the time of booking until our last day. They also have a pet sitting service which was very helpful. The campground itself was not great in that the sites are so close together it's uncomfortable. Our neighbors slide out touched our picnic table making it impossible for us to spend much time outside our trailer. We ended up having to set up our chairs behind the trailer almost on the road. The mini golf was fun for the kids and great because it was free but very old and in desperate need of some refurbishing. The bathrooms were clean but smelled terrible until you got used to them. The dog walking area was okay but I preferred to walk in the residential areas instead. The location of the park was good because it is walking distance to the main street in Gardiner and the river but it is in town and not a park in a wooded area. It is surrounded by private homes. The office was well stocked with souvenirs and treats for both humans and dogs! Because of the staff at this campground, I give it an 8 out of 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$44
The side road to this park is very steep. The sites are average size. This parks main attraction is that it's so close to Yellowstone's north entrance. It's a bit spendy but overall a nice park. We would probably stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This park is a great park for Yellowstone access. Our site was easily accessible,and the site escort is a great service. The sites have fantastic mountain views. The campground is located high on a bluff and overlooks the town of Gardiner and Yellowstone park. Staff was very helpful planning trips and giving tips on where to see animals. We saw both Grizzlies and Wolves! A great service was the pet sitting, our dogs loved not sitting in the car all day in Yellowstone. Wifi worked great. The roads and pads are gravel, but roads are wide and sites level. Very Quiet with no planes, no trains and road noise. We stayed 5 days and wished we could stay 50 more. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
At first glance, this park doesn't look like much. But, we were there for three nights and by the time we left, it had grown on us. The location and proximity to Yellowstone is awesome. The owners were friendly and not intrusive. A very laid back atmosphere. The sites are a little close together, though. There also seemed to be a constant wind which prevented awning use. The kids loved the mini-golf and the wildlife that came into the camp. Very nice rest rooms and good laundry facility. Cost was about $6.00 per load though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
New Owners have upgraded the park. New gravel roads, excellent access. Big Rig Friendly. About 5 blocks to Yellowstone North Entry. Animals are everywhere. What a treat!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This campground has great location, and was easy to get into with our 42' MH towing. Nice big pull-through sites. Very close to Yellowstone National Park. Very knowledgeable, friendly, hard-working owners. They were able to direct us to the best places in the park to view wildlife and other neat things to see and do. They were upgrading the park the whole time were were there, adding more grass and improving the site. Free miniature golf was a hit with the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
Owners were friendly and very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Great experience. The staff helped us plan fantastic Yellowstone tours. They knew all the drives and gave us great advice on how to spend our time. They helped us into our site and baby sat our rig while we had a tire replaced while we were in Yellowstone. The sites are a little close together (hence a 9 instead of a ten) but the views are fantastic, Mountains and rivers everywhere. There is direct access from the park to the Yellowstone trail network and it is a short walk to the Yellowstone River and some great trout fishing. Another post on this site indicates there is a charge for your tow car, but that is not true. We have a 43 footer with a tow and there was no extra charges. There was a triple rig next ro us with a dually, 36 ft 5th wheel and a 22 foot ski boat. They had plenty of room for the whole thing. The post regarding the laundry cost is correct, it is high, but the laundry was clean and it's the only one in town, so I guess the price isn't bad when the alternative is washing clothes in the river. The campground is very quiet. The roads are gravel, but wide and in good shape. We had no trouble getting our big rig in. We have already decided to return in 2008. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
I would have given this park a negative number except it is in fact close to Yellowstone. It is a dismal and barren park. Gravel roads, sites are way way too close. To get to the campground, you have to climb a twisting steep gravel road that would be a challenge to most off-road vehicles. Don't even try it with your tow car. It is on a river, but to see it, you would have to hang over the cliff on a pole. Be wary of the parking attendant who insists on directing you into your site because of "insurance regulations." He lacks talent and tact. You might find yourself backing over the cliff with his awful instructions. He won't let your spouse/partner help in any way. Like any good "tin"-star general, he probably would prefer just a salute and utter silence from both of you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com