223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Diamond Campground and RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (719) 687-9684
CGID7712

Diamond Campground and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   10   7   9   8   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
Very clean and quiet. I backed in and rig was level. Wi-Fi station located all over the park and a good consistent signal. Staff very friendly and accommodate the best they can. I recommend this beautiful campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
The campground has lots of trees. It was tough to get level and have room for slideout. The park is close to town. The showers looked decent because they were individual rooms. However, we did not use them because they were not heated. Wi-Fi was poor. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
We stayed here at Passport rates for 5 nights and 7 nights at weekly rate. This is the third year that we have stopped here. The climate is great, good shade, good hookups. The staff was friendly and helpful. I played games at the club house with other guests [seasonals] that welcomed me to join in. It rained a few days while we were there. The maintenance men on tractors and box blades regraded the drives very nicely. The whole place was well kept. The bathrooms were always clean. The Wi-Fi was the best I have ever experienced in a RV park. We will return here if in the area again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
This is probably the best park we've stayed in. It lies in a wooded area and feels more like camping than being in an RV park. Our spot was a little tricky to back into due to some trees, but ours was the anomaly in our loop. The other spots looked easy to get into. It was clean and well-maintained, the staff is friendly, and the residents (all refugees from Texas who come here every summer) were friendly as well. The Wi-Fi was by far the best we've ever encountered. Strong signals and very fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This campground is built on a tree covered hill so maneuvering is an issue. Our pull through site was fairly level so I didn't have to use blocks under the tires, but did have to raise the legs a bunch to level front to back. And I had to pull in twice to get the trailer positioned correctly so the slide missed the trees on both sides. When finally done there was 3-6" of clearance. There isn't any pavement anywhere so when the roads are dry there is some dust, especially from those who don't follow the speed limit. Many seasonal residents, most are friendly, some not so much. They appear to have the larger sites so the rest are average. No cable and I was told that over the air was poor. Fortunately, our roof mounted dish found the satellite so we had TV. Many other residents had their dishes grouped together where there was an opening in the trees. WiFi worked very well for us. Staff was friendly. It was mostly quiet since we were away from the highway, except when emergency equipment left the station across the highway. We may return if in the area, but try for a better site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$19
The daily reflects the rate for an entire month. This is a wonderful campground situated in the middle of a pine and aspen forest. The pine trees are old and very tall, providing lots of shade with no low hanging branches. The down side to this is that satellite reception can be a challenge. When making a reservation, let them know if you have a dish and what kind (roof mount or tripod), and they will try to place you accordingly. One of the nice things about the park is the wildlife. During our morning walks with the dogs, you very often come across grazing deer. Unfortunately for us, there is no fenced in dog area to let the dogs run, but then there is a great bike/hike trail just outside the park entrance that runs along the road in both directions, and even goes all the way back to downtown, so everybody gets some exercise. The water pressure and electricity are excellent, but you have to pay extra if you want to run your air conditioning. Considering that most days were in the 70s and nights in the 40s, it is not a big deal. Over the air TV reception is also an issue; it is not that it is bad, it is just non existent. There are no repeaters in Woodland Park for Colorado Springs stations. The washrooms/showers are kept clean. There is also a full recycling container for paper, metal, plastic and glass. On the down side, the internet is slow (I’ve seen faster dial up), but this is ‘supposedly’ dependent on where in the park you are located (so they say). It is also hard to make the initial connection. Although an open system, the maximum number of allowed users is larger than the available pool. I suspect that the mortar and brick neighbors are taking advantage of the open system and also most RV’s have at least 2 smartphones and/or computers. On the bright side, the Verizon 4G reception is very good (we have an external antenna on the roof) so we used the air card most of the time. Another negative, if you are parked in the lower back section, there are houses that border the back of the RV park. They have dogs that bark a lot, at everything, howl late at night and early in the morning. It is annoying. We were here for a month and all in all, we would definitely stay here again. The rating would have been a 10 if it had not been for the internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
Nice park, but lots of trees, made getting our 40 footer into sites interesting, also may block satellite reception. Internet from CG was spotty. Sites need to be adjusted for level, we stayed in site 171, wheels were almost off ground to level. Lots of seasonals. AT&T was marginal, data non-existent. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
The lady at the front desk was HORRIBLE and rude. I don't know what her issues are, but each visit to the main office was unfortunate and filled with bad information. The roads through the campground were adequate, but the sites themselves are pretty close to each other. The claim that "No AC is allowed" is not 100% true. You can opt to pay an additional amount each day to run your AC - but of course the lady at the desk repeatedly told us, "It's 8500 feet elevation, and you don't need it; plus 30Amp service won't support it!" But of course we know that's not true, and it was 110 degrees, so yes, the AC was needed for our family. Overall a decent place, but the lack of facilities and high cost, combined with horrible customer service make me give it a 7. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Stayed four nights on Passport America. Interior roads are dirt and pine needles with a very little bit of gravel. Lots of ruts and trees to get around with a 60 ft truck/trailer combo. Was an adventure getting into and out of the site. One of the rules here is you can't use your A/C or electric heaters. Great electric power, good water pressure and no problems with the sewer. Wi-Fi was hit and miss. Very quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
We stayed here one night for a stopover. It's a lovely wooded campground with several seasonal long term campers who take great pride in their campsites. The long-term spots are spacious and nice. However most of the short-term sites are ridiculously close together, and proximity to trees makes positioning an issue. We could not use the sewer hook-up at all because of the location of trees. The bathrooms/laundry/shower were impeccably clean, though not all that large for the size of this campground. Very quiet location. For an overnight it was adequate but we would never use it for a destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Large campground with shaded sites that are a good distance apart. Extremely clean restrooms and showers. Showers are each in their own little room, allowing for added privacy. Staff very friendly and helpful. They gave us many pointers on things to see in the area and the best time of day to visit each. We stayed in a tent site that wasn't level, but staff assisted us in leveling our truck. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This is a somewhat rustic but pleasant summer park in the Colorado mountains. The park is located within walking distance of the small town of Woodland Park. For all the HOT WEATHER RV's, this park will be an answer to your prayer in the hot summer. The only negative for annual RV's is NO bird feeders of any kind allowed in park due to visiting bears. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Pleasant woman in office found us a nice spot for the weekend on short notice. We were given a map to our back-in, 30 amp, FHU site. We did have to use about 5 blocks in front to level our 30 ft Class C, to leave good room for the toad in front. Very peaceful, well-kept campground about 8500 feet in altitude. Dog friendly and people do pick up after their pets. The campground is rather heavily treed. We don’t bother with satellite, so not a problem for us. We could get 6-7 local TV channels over the air. No cable TV available at our site, but we had consistent dependable clean water and electric and a well-situated sewer. Multiple free Wi-Fi channels were available and easy to link to, usable although not blazingly fast. The Verizon access was very good. The very clean 4 bathroom/shower facility was plain and older, and busy from use by the approximately 135 sites indicated on the map. It was far enough away from our site that we never actually used the showers. I saw 4 washers and 6 dryers. Multiple longer-termers are here, but mainly noticeable by their nicely kept plantings and more-developed sites including some decks. No loud parties or ATVs ripping around. A little road noise was perceptible during the day but in no way troublesome for enjoying sitting outside. A good base for visiting the area including the town of Woodland Park about 1 mile to stores (nice bike path to town) and the surrounding area including Garden of the Gods and the Cog Railway. Their only discounts are Passport America and active military, neither of which we had. I enjoyed the serene pines and fresh air. Just a really nice quiet, clean, down-to-earth feel here. We would likely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
Rate reflects the family and friends rate. We stayed here as guests of friends who are campground hosts, they were really wonderful in finding us a spot during a very busy season. The park is very shaded, so finding a spot for satellite TV antenna location could be a problem, but hear the cable TV works great. This park is very quiet, and convenient to local services. Lots to do in the Woodland Park area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Price is Passport America for 5 nites. Large campground. Put us in the loop with long timers. Sites are close together, but you have full hook-ups. Pines and aspens galore, very cool. The Wi-Fi is awesome, 4 & 5 bars most of the time. Everyone is very nice and helpful. 18 miles west of I-25, very big climb to get here, but it is worth it in the long run. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Diamond is an excellent campground! The staff was very friendly and helpful and I noticed they do an excellent job of trying to leave empty spaces between the lots that are occupied. They have numerous free WiFi connections to select from and the majority of the lots are very level even though the big campground had a little hill on the backside. This is a great campground to park while you visit the Woodland Park/Colorado Springs area as many of my neighbors were doing. It's far enough from civilization to prevent worrying about somebody messing with your camper/RV while away. In the same light, there are no streams or rivers or much else to do in the immediate area. (We like to walk everyday so had to settle for walking around the campground a few times.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Wonderful campground in a very beautiful setting. Everyone was very nice and the park was very pet friendly. We had our 2 kids, who loved the play park and 3 dogs which enjoyed their long walks. Just try to get a spot away from the electric company, since there was a horrible smell from the freshly sealed electric poles they had in the storage yard. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Real mountain RV park, but very easy to get in. Staff was very helpful. We had a pull through next to the bathhouse. The site was not level, but it was a nice spot with a lot of trees and shade. We stayed three nights using a PA rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Diamond Campground and RV Park has extremely clean showers and bathrooms, and plenty of shade trees around the sites. It's easy to navigate into the campground and very quiet and relaxing. Everyone we talked to was pleased with their camping experience and so were we! We decided to stay a few more days then we originally planned. We had easy access to internet and full cellular service (AT&T). Water access is convenient and Buddy the yellow lab mix appreciates you throwing his stick when he sees you. We think he's a host dog. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Areas of the park needing upgrading. Areas with 30 amp service in poor condition. Did state they were in the process of upgrading to 50 amp a little each season. Several permanent RV's in the park. Annual seasonal sites of repeat returning customers littered with unsightly piles of possessions (should require a storage shed). They work daily on interior roads filling in ruts. Use of satellite TV/internet reception difficult. Sites are tight for larger rigs and difficult to maneuver. Staff very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
In the middle of the night we had an emergency with our infant. We went to the camp host to find out where the nearest hospital was located and to let them know our older children (including teens) were going to be staying. The camp host was rude and stated she didn't know where a hospital was located. Luckily we had noticed an ambulance service just down the road so we went there and they helped us out. There was lots of "stuff" around many of the camping sites that made it look run down and dirty. The road through the campground was rough with ruts. The bathroom/showers were filthy, and the dumpsters were full when we arrived and were never dumped the 4 days we were there. It did attract bugs and a variety of other wildlife. I would not recommend this location and will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
If you want satellite, cable TV and level sites, forget this campground. Lots of ruts from recent rains. They were nice enough to give me a refund because I was unhappy and dissappointed. The campground seemed to be mostly seasonal residents with lots of old stuff sitting around that never moves. We won't be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com