214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Pinezanita Tent & RV Camping was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (760) 765-0429
CGID7715

Pinezanita Tent & RV Camping

Camp Information
Sites
230
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   8   6   7   10   7   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$56
It started to go wrong, trying to make the reservation. The lady said the campground was full and directed us elsewhere. No place there either, so we tried to pass by. Full, she said, but after a while persisting, we were allowed to enter. About 10 empty sizes at the ground that night, all fine for our size. Those with shade were free, we were in the sun, next to a PortaPotty. They just do not want people for 1 night, but do not advertise it. People queing up for potty "toilets." Fishing pond ($5 US) without fish in the right size. Everywhere signs: Not Allowed To... WiFi only within a 50 ft distance from the office. New owners could turn the place in a nice Campground. To be avoided now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
There are good sites and there are great sites here, no bad sites and lots of shade. Some of the better sites do not have sewer hookups but it's easy to find the Dump Station. The signs are as big as a house and clearly say DUMP STATION. I'm not sure why they don't use stripes on the roads to guide you there: but that's their way. So you might get a site next to a huge DUMP STATION sign. Would have given this place and 8 or 9 if they actually had Wi-Fi. What they have is a "Hot Spot" at the office that has no range and therefore with no cable TV and no Wi-Fi at the sites you really are in the "dark" so to speak. In this day and age this seems inexcusable. The demographics of the place are mostly senior citizens: many escaping the heat in the Desert or in Arizona. (A pretty conservative group I might add). The owners allow people to leave their campers on site for a $270 a month fee. They limit use to 14 days per month. Not a bad deal if you like to save $$ on gas hauling your rig around. Not much for kids to do here with no TV or Internet except I saw a few Dads letting their youngsters drive golf carts and even sit on their lap driving around the park in the car. Put in real Wi-Fi and convert the mudhole they call a fishing pond into a swimming pool and this place could easily get a 10. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Pinezanita is a great park, quiet, peaceful and a nice escape from it all. The sites are of great size, electrical and water in each and sewer hook-ups in some, plus big shade trees, picnic tables and fire rings. It is a short drive to Main St., Julian and the wonderful little shops and eateries. The staff was very nice and helpful and stayed open late for registration for the holiday weekend. The office has firewood, toiletries, etc. for sale and movies for rent. Some of the spots are occupied by permanent residents, but their sites, as well as the rest of the park is well maintained and clean. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
We are new to RV camping and Pinezanita was our second trip. On there web site it says they have full hook ups, but didn't know this was only for full timers (another issue that we are learning about). We got a electric ans water hook up. A lot of this park is full timers, so you it looks like you drive through a mobile home park before you get to the RV park. The site we had was nice, next to an large open wooded area, great for the kids. Once I detached my truck and strategically parked it to block the view of the old fifth wheel that looks like it was parked there since the dawn on man, it wasn't to bad. The Julian area is beautiful and the park was very peaceful. The pond was not the prettiest, but kids still had fun "trying" to catch fish. The roads up to Julian are a little tricky, but good practice for us newer people pulling trailers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$65
We like this campground more than any we have stayed in to date and will definitely go back. Julian is a picturesque area and an enjoyable place to visit but there is no night life, they roll up the streets in the evening. Entry is a bit touchy as it is a sharp turn in a sharp turn with a steep grade but once in the park the site was very nice. Our pets were welcome and we have no issues with full timers as we have at some locations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
My wife and I camped here for four days with some friends and really enjoyed this RV park. There were plenty of trees around but was still able to get satellite reception in my spot. During our stay we saw some deer, wild turkeys and beautiful wild birds. The staff was great and helpful. The park is clean and well kept. They do have some outhouses around but to my surprise they were like new and kept clean with no odor. We had 30 Amp service with water and no sewer. When we got home my wife said were are going back again. It was a very relaxing time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This is a nice family park near Julian in San Diego County CA. Our site was quiet with lots of trees and shade. The park is like, well, a park, and that was very good. However, the facilities are not up to what you normally expect. Such as sewer hook ups. There were none. Unless you are a permanent resident. When I say permanent don't think of low level. What you have in this park is a bunch of weekenders or folks escaping the desert heat who have a trailer or RV here. Many have built patios and so on. There is also a large tent area. Also, there is a small fishing lake. If you like to look up at the stars you will like it here. We brought our telescope. It is about four miles from here to Julian. If you want to be in a park like setting this is a great place. Might be a bit cramped to get really huge class A's in. Spaces slope down and that blocks the noise from the road. However, there is some motorcycle noise on weekends. Julian attracts TONS of motorcycle riders on weekends. You can certainly hear when 40 Harleys go by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
Park was very clean. Roads were paved with pebble rock covering the camp sites. Camp spaces were level. We had only partial hookups, all the full hook up are taken by weekend campers that have their RV there full time. Bathrooms were clean as well as the dump stations. Overall the park is very well maintained. People were very nice and we all had a great time. We will be back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$28
Signed in and paid for two nights, and were given a choice of sites. We checked them out, and a few were very good size. Upon further inspection I realized that they were only water and electric, no sewer. Went back to office and inquired, and found out only permanent residents had sewer, and maybe not all of them. It gets pretty cold up there. The manager said that none of the campgrounds in the area have sewer hook ups. They had 3 dump stations but I didn't feel like dumping to start with and then dumping again before we left. He refunded our money and we went on our way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
Great location just 4 miles from Julian. Unfortunately Hwy 79 is right next to about 1/4 of the sites. Traffic noise was only noticeable when outside and was occasional not constant. Limited sewer hookup sites. We had problems with our air conditioning all weekend, might be inconsistent AC power. Most sites seemed reasonably level, but ours was way off. Our awning area was on a slope covered with gravel. However, the site was very long so we had a lot of space behind the RV. The sites follow the contour of the ground and the trees, which I like better than the new perfectly laid out sites. The best thing about this park is the mature trees and plenty of shade. Just make sure you reserve in advance and pick a nice site. We reserved late on a holiday weekend. There was a nice mix of tent campers, pop up trailers, 5th wheels, Class C and just a few Class A RV's. They allow fires, which is nice. There isn't much to do (no pool, no playground, etc). The streets are paved which led to a lot of kids riding bikes and skateboarding down the steep inclines. They have a large fishing pond but it was closed for renovation. The pond is not visible except from a few sites that seem to be taken by long term residents. There is only one restroom/shower building which requires a long walk uphill. There are only 3 men's showers and 3 women's showers for 230 sites? On the other hand, the showers were empty and clean when I was there. They do have 5 additional portable toilets located throughout the park. The camp store is very nice and offers WiFi internet, movie rentals, laundry, books, and a nice stock of supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com